X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Greenpoint YMCA Reviews

99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
532 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

OK! ... but it is a pity that there were only two toilet bowls for so many people...

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Some staff was friendly, but more were not really interested in our problems. It was not a very clean room and we would not have wanted to walk around in it without shoes. floor smelled strange. when we came home at night and found a huge cockroach on the carpet. guy who came to kill it then said to himself that this cannot be, since that room was terminated 10 days ago. We left after one night and got all money expect the money we prepaid at hostelworld, was not the check, so 45 dollars lost.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

My accomodation at Green Point YMCA was during for 11 nights. I liked the place, it is about 30 minutes to Manhatan by subway, what is not so far. There is a very near subway station called Nassau Ave., what tooked us about no more than 3 minutes to arrive there. The hostel offered us a voucher to breakfast in a very near restaurant (in front of the subway station that we got every morning to our ride to Manhattan. It was good, I highly recommend the hostel! But remember it is simple!


37%

Very dirty place, staff is kind, bit nota helpfull. Se found a mouse in tão of ouro rooms!! Was terrible!!!

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good option for staying in NYC. Was really pleased as it is (relatively) inexpensive and very clean and safe. No frills at all but comfortable bed and does the basics very well.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The room is just ok, but that's what you pay. Great location, just one block from the subway. Safe neighborhood. Breakfast is served in a restaurant one block from the hostel. The food is basic but good enough.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great service, security, and amenities - got a TV, towel, and free breakfast, all which I wasn't expecting! All for a great price.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Long way to restroom at another floor.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It is about 3-5mins to subway Nassau Ave G line subway station, HOWEVER, the G train is not running frequently, takes about 1 hour to get to times square from the door of the hostel with waiting time. Men showers smell weird. Room was pretty decent, booked a single room and got a small double bed with TV in the room. I would stay here again for sure!


43%

Awful place, never go there unless it is absolutely necessary.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The room we got was very dirty. The carpet was dark from dirt. They have without any doubt a huge problem with hygienics (e.g. concering the bathrooms). There was always a strong stench in the bathroom and floors. We even saw blood spilled on the tiles in the toilet. This YMCA cannot be recommended to anyone. The NYDP has an office on the other side of the street. Hence, security in the area is good. Locks of the rooms were in an alarming state.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a good time over there. It's a little bit away from Manhattan, but It worths considering the price and the facilities.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

I thought that the staff was wonderful. They helped out as much as they could. The bathrooms were disgusting. One out of the two showers was broken and and there was toilet paper and urine over the floors consistently. The smell was overpowering even after having been just cleaned. The room I stayed in only had the lock on the door. As a single female on a floor with many men roaming...I felt a bit unsafe.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

a beautiful area of brooklyn, lively and comfortable, the staff was very helpful and friendly, the room bigger than expected and very clean. only critic: there was absolutely no housekeeping (fresh towels!) during our entire stay (10 days...)

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Ok place to sleep in but nothing else. The Staff was not very helpfull or polite.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Men's toilet and washroom on 2nd floor only so ask for a room on that floor only. Nearest Metro station is Nassau Ave just a few blocks away. Safe location, right in front of 98th Precinct so expect 7-8 NYPD cars parked right in front of hostel all the time. ;)


80%

Great place to stay. They have gym and pool.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Their security system was quite good and the hostel is located in right opposite side from the police station. However, the shower room was very unsatisfying.


74%

The beds were kind of uncomfortable, but well enough to sleep on for a few hours. Would have been nice to have fridges in the room. Wifi was really slow, but the whole experience was not a bad deal for the low price.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

I suffered very bad situation in this place .. And i found a black dirty mouse in my room and there were no wifi nor cell phone signals ...

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iraq
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback