Hostelworld.com

Greenpoint YMCA

  • 99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
Greenpoint YMCA Located at 99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York.
Greenpoint YMCA
USA
New York NY 99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222
77% 595
40.7255700 -73.9572800
Greenpoint YMCA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2016
4.9

- Windows which cannot be closed properly (hole in the plastic cover beside the "AC" system), which means that during the night you freeze - dead/squished cockroaches in the common showers - one of the worst bed I've come to experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
7.4

The place is fine but there are no common spaces to meet other people (even to obtain some hot water in the morning), just a gym and rooms. Wi-fi worked very well and employees are nice. Even though the neighborhood is ok (greenpoint) the location is not very good if your intention is spending most of your time in Manhattan for sightseeing. The lower price in lodging (compared to manhattan) vanishes when costs in transport are taken into consideration.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Perfect. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me......I cannot remember the young man's name, but I appreciate the customer service he provided. I will be

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mara_moita4480
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
4.9

People working there were nice. The price of the room is to expensive for that place. My room was clean but my room stank, the window was broken and fixed with adhesive tape and the air system was really noisy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
10.0

Location is amazing! In the heart of Greenpoint and an easy 10 minute walk to Williamsburg, meaning tons of amazing restaurants, bars, and show-spaces close by. Also several nice parks. Hostel across from police station, so felt very safe. Staff was super friendly. Breakfast included at classic diner down the street (tip, voucher is for coffee and breakfast sandwich, but they'll let you apply the amount to larger breakfast if you ask). Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
9.4

For the price, the accommodations were great. I had a single room that had plenty of closet space & the shared bathroom was very clean & well kept. Just beware, if you have any luggage you'll have to carry it up a few flights of stairs because there is no elevator. But the location was ideal. Surrounded by plenty of shops & stores on Manhattan ave & the G line train on greenpoint was a 4 minute walk. Only 25-30 min to Times Square. I'll definitely come here again next time I'm in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
9.7

The staff was friendly and helpful. Outstanding value for the location. I will always stay here when I visit Greenpoint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2016
4.6

There were people smoking in their rooms, you could smell it in the hallway and no one did anything about it. Someone was very drunk, and apparently on drugs, not even able to walk and was sitting on the stairs at the entrance. The receptionist meant: 'He told me he is not feeling well." No comment on that. Then, some staff would not even respond to a 'hello' or offer help when they see you walking in and out with three suitcases. Unbelievable!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
8.0

The room was clean, perfect for 2 nights but the heater made really weird noises like someone was knocking on the pipes and it happened really randomly, in the middle of the night for exemple. The mattress made a plastic noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2015
6.3

Room was like a prison cell. Bed was awful. The mattress was painful to sleep on. The TV was all fuzzy. The WiFi didn't work in my room. A truly awful place to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.