X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Greenpoint YMCA Reviews

99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
472 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I killed a cockroach. :)


89%

I have stayed in two YMCA´s before Greenpoint: Vanderbilt and Flushing. The nicest surprise was Brooklyn,beautiful area. The facilities are great, just the pool I could not use, as it was Summer and it was always booked for the kids. Staff was mostly nice, cordial, cleaning was okay, and the voucher to get to the Cafeteria was truly nice, as the cafeteria itself. I ahd a superb time. I love YMCA and the price is really afordable.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Pros The use of the gym and classes was great. Bathrooms were fairly clean. Cons Stuffy room with no opening window. No common area to relax. No kitchen.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It clean and safe place to go.The people are helpful.good places to eat and bar are fun too.


94%

I got a clean private room , in a cool location at an incredible price. What more could I ask for? Oh, and in another review, someone complained about plastic sheets. Wrong, those were covers on the mattresses and they help prevent bed bugs. The sheets were white cotton. There is someone at the front desk to buzz you in at all times and the police station is across the street, so security is fine.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The place is fairly dirty, especially the bathrooms. It would also be good to have a men's and women's bathroom on every floor! Great location though and good staff.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The big problem is the water and the toilets. In rooms, there are no washbasins. We are obliged to go to the common toilets would be what only to wash himself teeth. OK. But I was for the 3rd level, and for this level, only the women had their shower-room! The men had to come down at the 2nd level to use toilets or rise to the 4th level. Those of the 2nd level were acceptable, but those of the 4th level were in a dreadful state. Here is the big problem of center YMCA of Greenpoint.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It was ok for went you pay for. The rooms are clean.the people are helpful


97%

I really enjoyed staying at Greenpoint YMCA. The hostel is located in a great district: lively, though not too loud, many cafés, bars, restaurants, and shops are nearby, and it's a short way to Manhattan, Downtown Brooklyn, and Queens. The staff was very nice and welcoming. Still, being used to European hostels, I missed a kitchen area - maybe it's possible to at least provide an electric water jug? Nevertheless, it was a great time in NY - thank you Greenpoint YMCA-team!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

A/C in room never worked. Water was out for more than 24 hours.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Keep up the effort to upgrade the facilities. Make some provision for inside, secure storage for bicycles, or allow members to carry their bikes to their rooms. I suspect that you may have bed bugs. In a high-volume place like the Y, this needs to be checked regularly. Wonderful staff: friendly, courteous, and firm.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Usually a good value, but a couple of things bothered me this time. First, they added a $2 fee "for use of the facilities" to the cost of the room, which I don't recall paying before. Then the water was shut off for most of the night, so the men's restroom was pretty stinky by morning due to not being able to flush the urinals. I understand if maintenance needs to be done, but maybe they should discount the room when an essential service like running water is not available.


77%

It ok for the money.


46%

It was bad the room was small and no a/c


69%

I was a single traveler and would say it is a good option. price is reasonable. good transport connection to manhattan. staff very good and professional. facilities are according to price i.e. average.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

an old building more that hundred years.run down and the rooms with no bedlights just the overhead.poor Tv receiptions. but above all,the bathroom and shower facilities on a different floor and DIRTY,often toilets out of order. A very unpleasant 6 days.never again.... Torre B.Isaksen'from Norway

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall I had a great stay. I forgot her name but the Manager on Duty at my time of arrival was very Helpful. I only wish you had bathrooms on each floor but I would definitly mark this facility as a great place to stay.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

One of the bathrooms was very dirty, one soap automat empty, the other not functioning. The lock in the room was almost broken.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Love the location, just a short walk from the G line subway stop and right across the street from an NYPD substation. Lots of restaurants and shops around. Reasonably priced. Room was pretty large, had a nice closet and chest of drawers. Clean but needs spiffing up. Drawbacks: clientele was a bit ragged. It seemed like everyone I ran into was living there as part of some social services program. Staff could be more helpful -- no one could tell me what the current Internet password was!


71%

Overall this is a good hostel, considering the price and the location. The floor I stayed on was badly in need of redecorating and had an odd smell. The room was very clean, and the bed comfortable enough though fitted with a plastic sheet. If you're on a budget and want to be walking distance (40 mins) from Manhattan, it's a decent choice. Also, the staff were nice, and there's a gym attached.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback