X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Greenpoint YMCA Reviews

99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
537 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great value in having full access to gym and classes. More privacy in the bathroom would be appreciated


83%

It's a YMCA, so you should know what you're getting: Facilities are clean and secure enough, and the staff is extremely friendly, but the rooms are spartan (to put it mildly), and mattresses can be pretty uncomfortable. You're paying for a tiny room of your own with a small television, a narrow bed, maybe a dresser. You'll have key access to a bathroom, though perhaps not on your floor. There is no elevator, so if you can't negotiate a few flights of stairs, this is not the place for you.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The gym and the pool are great. However, the guest room would urgently need some renovation. The 3rd floor has no bathroom - the way to the 2nd floor is long.


69%

OK! ... but it is a pity that there were only two toilet bowls for so many people...

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Some staff was friendly, but more were not really interested in our problems. It was not a very clean room and we would not have wanted to walk around in it without shoes. floor smelled strange. when we came home at night and found a huge cockroach on the carpet. guy who came to kill it then said to himself that this cannot be, since that room was terminated 10 days ago. We left after one night and got all money expect the money we prepaid at hostelworld, was not the check, so 45 dollars lost.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

My accomodation at Green Point YMCA was during for 11 nights. I liked the place, it is about 30 minutes to Manhatan by subway, what is not so far. There is a very near subway station called Nassau Ave., what tooked us about no more than 3 minutes to arrive there. The hostel offered us a voucher to breakfast in a very near restaurant (in front of the subway station that we got every morning to our ride to Manhattan. It was good, I highly recommend the hostel! But remember it is simple!


37%

Very dirty place, staff is kind, bit nota helpfull. Se found a mouse in tão of ouro rooms!! Was terrible!!!

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good option for staying in NYC. Was really pleased as it is (relatively) inexpensive and very clean and safe. No frills at all but comfortable bed and does the basics very well.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The room is just ok, but that's what you pay. Great location, just one block from the subway. Safe neighborhood. Breakfast is served in a restaurant one block from the hostel. The food is basic but good enough.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great service, security, and amenities - got a TV, towel, and free breakfast, all which I wasn't expecting! All for a great price.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Long way to restroom at another floor.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It is about 3-5mins to subway Nassau Ave G line subway station, HOWEVER, the G train is not running frequently, takes about 1 hour to get to times square from the door of the hostel with waiting time. Men showers smell weird. Room was pretty decent, booked a single room and got a small double bed with TV in the room. I would stay here again for sure!


43%

Awful place, never go there unless it is absolutely necessary.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback