X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Greenpoint YMCA Reviews

99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
496 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Keep up the effort to upgrade the facilities. Make some provision for inside, secure storage for bicycles, or allow members to carry their bikes to their rooms. I suspect that you may have bed bugs. In a high-volume place like the Y, this needs to be checked regularly. Wonderful staff: friendly, courteous, and firm.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Usually a good value, but a couple of things bothered me this time. First, they added a $2 fee "for use of the facilities" to the cost of the room, which I don't recall paying before. Then the water was shut off for most of the night, so the men's restroom was pretty stinky by morning due to not being able to flush the urinals. I understand if maintenance needs to be done, but maybe they should discount the room when an essential service like running water is not available.


77%

It ok for the money.


46%

It was bad the room was small and no a/c


69%

I was a single traveler and would say it is a good option. price is reasonable. good transport connection to manhattan. staff very good and professional. facilities are according to price i.e. average.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

an old building more that hundred years.run down and the rooms with no bedlights just the overhead.poor Tv receiptions. but above all,the bathroom and shower facilities on a different floor and DIRTY,often toilets out of order. A very unpleasant 6 days.never again.... Torre B.Isaksen'from Norway

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall I had a great stay. I forgot her name but the Manager on Duty at my time of arrival was very Helpful. I only wish you had bathrooms on each floor but I would definitly mark this facility as a great place to stay.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

One of the bathrooms was very dirty, one soap automat empty, the other not functioning. The lock in the room was almost broken.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Love the location, just a short walk from the G line subway stop and right across the street from an NYPD substation. Lots of restaurants and shops around. Reasonably priced. Room was pretty large, had a nice closet and chest of drawers. Clean but needs spiffing up. Drawbacks: clientele was a bit ragged. It seemed like everyone I ran into was living there as part of some social services program. Staff could be more helpful -- no one could tell me what the current Internet password was!


71%

Overall this is a good hostel, considering the price and the location. The floor I stayed on was badly in need of redecorating and had an odd smell. The room was very clean, and the bed comfortable enough though fitted with a plastic sheet. If you're on a budget and want to be walking distance (40 mins) from Manhattan, it's a decent choice. Also, the staff were nice, and there's a gym attached.


69%

It would have been helpful to know in advance the type of beds we would have in our room. It would also be helpful if the towels were automatically replaced whenever used.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location, safe. Place is close to transportation and many other food places etc. rooms ok not the best...beds sound a lot when moving, the share bathroom is not bad if you donnt mind getting out and going up or down stair to use it, unless your in 2nd floor. Other than that good place.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The facility has shared shower room and washroom. However, it is not available on every floor. I stayed on the 3rd floor and has to go to the 2nd floor washroom. Washroom on every floor is more desirabl.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Only disappointing thing was the bed.Very hard. All else was great.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Thank you for your hospitality.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff at the Greenpoint Y are always friendly, the place is a bit basic but it's also v cheap so you get what you pay for. You get use of the gym if you stay there too.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback