Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Guest House Bola-Bola Located at 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Guest House Bola-Bola
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 616-8152 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city
90% 422
35.0145656 135.7014539
Guest House Bola-Bola
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.9

It was my first time staying in Bola bola. This place is really nice and clean. There is no cigarette smell, and the staffs are friendly. Had a twin private room, clean, nice and cozy. The location is fantastic with walking distances to cafes, groceries and stations. Do note that there is no lift to the second level, to the private rooms, and the stairs are on the steep side. Overall a good stay and i would definitely recommend this place to anyone whom is looking for lodging in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.9

Great place to stay in Kyoto! Nice little Japanese house, tatami rooms, Kotatsu in the living room, etc. It may not look like it's in the center, but actually it's close to Arashiyama and Kinkakuji. Thanks to the Keifuku Electric Railroad this place is actually in a pretty good yet cheap spot for travellers. There's a really nice Onsen 天山の湯 within walking distance (open until 1am) as well that you definitely wanna check out once or twice during your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

Great host and hostel! Close to a JR line and resturant and shopping malls

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

We LOVED our stay at this charming house. Great to get a sense of life outside downtown Kyoto, and the owner was kind and helpful. We highly recommend the bathhouse nearby, but caution that Kyoto is otherwise a little sleepy after 5pm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
10.0

We enjoyed a lot our stay at this guest house and it's really worth to stay here. This guest house is a unique example of traditional outlook with all modern facilities. We wish to again stay in the future. Moreover, the owner of this guest house is a very nice, pleasant and helping person.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
9.7

The hotel is located at a sort of suburban area with a quiet neighbourhood. Easy access to Arashiyama and tram/train station. Everything is clean and neat. The owner is super friendly and helpful. He'll give you a warm greeting everyday and provides everything you need. However, sleeping on Japanese Tatami is quite a nice experience until some noisy guests came on the last day we stayed...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

We had a great stay in this wonderful and beautiful house. Our hosts made us feel really welcome and we enjoyed the stay a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Sep 2016
8.3

My second stay at Bola-Bola, this time travelled with my family. I just fell in love with this tiny little Japanese house and the neighborhood is filled with little gems (definitely check out the Welz bakery if you are staying here). Location is a bit out in the suburbs so plan your trip carefully because you will need to transfer bus to reach popular attractions. Still I think I will keep going back :) You will definitely get the feel of truly Japanese lifestyle here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
9.7

Nice place, the owner incredibly friendly and helpful, gave me detailed instructions and suggestions of places to visit. Also not too far from the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.6

Overall, this is a great place to stay. A minor complaint: the gentleman to was checking everyone in seemed to always be in a rush to get back into his own room, and kind of made you feel as though you were an inconvenience. Aside from that, it's exceptionally clean, safe, and reasonably located. I found his map at the Uzumasa station left something to be desired in terms of readability.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.