Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
8.9

Very nice host. Love the proximity to a very good onsen and to an amazing bakery for breakfast. The room is nothing special, but it is clean. A bit off the path, but easy walk to JR station if you have a rail pass and from there, you can go anywhere. Overall a great budget option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cocoliquote
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Très bonne auberge avec une ambiance traditionnelle très accueillante et chaleureuse. Un propriétaire très agréable qui avec des cartes faites à la main et ses bons plans rend le voyage plus agréable. Félicitations pour l'aménagement et les plantes. Attention cependant aux murs fins, si les autres convives ne jouent pas le jeu vos nuits peuvent se trouver raccourcies. Je recommande totalement !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Guest House Bola Bola was very understanding and accommodating when I had to change the date of my reservation. The house was quiet, clean and comfortable. Location was ideal for my desire to be close to Arashiyama and close to convenience stores, restaurants and public transportation. Thank you for your hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.9

This is a very cool neighborhood experience in a part of town that is slightly less dense and feels more local. The rooms and vibe here are very calming and down to earth, with a feeling of humble authenticity. Very chill and calm place for a 'city' hostel. I'd say it feels like a minimalist ryokan (no meals served or anything, plenty of places to eat nearby though). Easily reached by public train/public transport, and obviously fairly close to Arashiyama.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.1

The owner was very attentive and helpful. He provided great hand drawn maps and excellent recommendations for nearby onsen and a takoyaki restaurant. The facility is a little short and at 6'2" I had to stoop down to get through most of the hallways. Great for getting a taste of traditional Japanese housing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2017
9.4

This was a super beautiful traditional Japanese style home. It's a bit further from Kyoto station than I initially anticipated but the area was really beautiful, close to Bamboo Forrest and Katsura River.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.4

Beautiful old home, with easy access to everything you'd want to see (via bike or by nearby train line). Bike rentals at the hostel are half the price of most places. Rooms are comfortable, and not many people per room so it never feels cramped. The owner is laid back and informative if you have any questions. I'd certainly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.0

the house quite hidden, need sometime for us to find the guesthouse, the owner is friendly, but we did not speak much as he always in his area, which is in part of the house. the bathroom in ground-floor, our room is in first floor, there are railway track just behind the house, you can actually see the track if you open the back door, basic facilities is provided, the bathroom is equipped with shower foam and shampoo (towel not provided), the kitchen has coffee, sugar, etc which is nice,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Lovely guest house, lovely location! It's such a cute little place and in a very cute neighborhood. Some of the walls are quite thin so there might be some issues if fellow guests aren't controlling their volume, but we had no such problems during our stay. The owners provided us with maps of Kyoto as well as hand-made maps of the surrounding area. Super close to a bus stop that got us right into central Kyoto, and a very short walk to the train station too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Very well English speaking. Well prepared for guests (city maps, info., etc.).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×