Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

Nice family, good decoration for this time honored house, convenient to go into both the town area and to the mountains. The only thing that seems to bother is the train noise outside coz it's very near the train station. Would be ok with an earplug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay at Bola-Bola in January 2017, and would recommend it to travelers on a budget. This is a traditional Japanese house in a calm neighborhood. The walls are thin so the house is cold in the winter, but there are space heaters in the rooms. There is also a kotatsu in the living room. The kitchen is well equipped, the stove is a gas stove with two hobs, no oven. You can do laundry for 200 yen, and let them air dry in the back yard. The owners are friendly and helpful people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.9

A cute place. Convenient location for Arashiyama

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.9

It was my first time staying in Bola bola. This place is really nice and clean. There is no cigarette smell, and the staffs are friendly. Had a twin private room, clean, nice and cozy. The location is fantastic with walking distances to cafes, groceries and stations. Do note that there is no lift to the second level, to the private rooms, and the stairs are on the steep side. Overall a good stay and i would definitely recommend this place to anyone whom is looking for lodging in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.9

Great place to stay in Kyoto! Nice little Japanese house, tatami rooms, Kotatsu in the living room, etc. It may not look like it's in the center, but actually it's close to Arashiyama and Kinkakuji. Thanks to the Keifuku Electric Railroad this place is actually in a pretty good yet cheap spot for travellers. There's a really nice Onsen 天山の湯 within walking distance (open until 1am) as well that you definitely wanna check out once or twice during your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

Great host and hostel! Close to a JR line and resturant and shopping malls

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.0

The guesthouse is quite near (around 2 mins walk) to "Keifuku Electric Railroad" that goes to Arashiyama. We had a wonderful and great time staying at the guesthouse and the owner is really nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

We LOVED our stay at this charming house. Great to get a sense of life outside downtown Kyoto, and the owner was kind and helpful. We highly recommend the bathhouse nearby, but caution that Kyoto is otherwise a little sleepy after 5pm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
10.0

We enjoyed a lot our stay at this guest house and it's really worth to stay here. This guest house is a unique example of traditional outlook with all modern facilities. We wish to again stay in the future. Moreover, the owner of this guest house is a very nice, pleasant and helping person.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
9.7

The hotel is located at a sort of suburban area with a quiet neighbourhood. Easy access to Arashiyama and tram/train station. Everything is clean and neat. The owner is super friendly and helpful. He'll give you a warm greeting everyday and provides everything you need. However, sleeping on Japanese Tatami is quite a nice experience until some noisy guests came on the last day we stayed...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.