Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2017
9.4

Beautiful old home, with easy access to everything you'd want to see (via bike or by nearby train line). Bike rentals at the hostel are half the price of most places. Rooms are comfortable, and not many people per room so it never feels cramped. The owner is laid back and informative if you have any questions. I'd certainly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.0

the house quite hidden, need sometime for us to find the guesthouse, the owner is friendly, but we did not speak much as he always in his area, which is in part of the house. the bathroom in ground-floor, our room is in first floor, there are railway track just behind the house, you can actually see the track if you open the back door, basic facilities is provided, the bathroom is equipped with shower foam and shampoo (towel not provided), the kitchen has coffee, sugar, etc which is nice,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Lovely guest house, lovely location! It's such a cute little place and in a very cute neighborhood. Some of the walls are quite thin so there might be some issues if fellow guests aren't controlling their volume, but we had no such problems during our stay. The owners provided us with maps of Kyoto as well as hand-made maps of the surrounding area. Super close to a bus stop that got us right into central Kyoto, and a very short walk to the train station too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Very well English speaking. Well prepared for guests (city maps, info., etc.).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.0

This place was not my favorite hostel in Japan. We felt alone there and the place had a strange atmosphere. It is close to the railway crossing and you can hear the danger bells ringing every so often, which has the effect of making us feel on edge. Seeing another guest as we crossed paths going around a corner made me jump. We booked a 4-bed private for 2 people and it was just the right size for us. The stairs are really steep and creaky. The toilet/shower is outside and cold in April.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.6

A friendly and quiet place to stay in Kyoto at a reasonable price. If you think old style hostel rather than guest house you won't be disappointed. This traditional house situated in a suburb is clean but old which gives it an authentic feel. The owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed here three nights and had a great time. It was cold one night (March) but there is a heater (air conditioning unit) in the room. Local bath house (Onsen) is excellent and plenty of places to eat nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

quite close to Kyoto main JR station. Owner is friendly, nice and quiet neighbourhood and just round the corner to the samurai/ninja theme park

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

Nice family, good decoration for this time honored house, convenient to go into both the town area and to the mountains. The only thing that seems to bother is the train noise outside coz it's very near the train station. Would be ok with an earplug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay at Bola-Bola in January 2017, and would recommend it to travelers on a budget. This is a traditional Japanese house in a calm neighborhood. The walls are thin so the house is cold in the winter, but there are space heaters in the rooms. There is also a kotatsu in the living room. The kitchen is well equipped, the stove is a gas stove with two hobs, no oven. You can do laundry for 200 yen, and let them air dry in the back yard. The owners are friendly and helpful people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.9

A cute place. Convenient location for Arashiyama

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.