Hostelworld.com

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 390 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Guest House Bola-Bola Located at 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Guest House Bola-Bola
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 616-8152 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city
93% 390
35.0145656 135.7014539
Guest House Bola-Bola
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2016
10.0

Owner was very helpful, location is great for the train lines. Loved our stay and would definitely do it again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

had a wonderfull stay at Bola-Bola Guesthouse. the kitchen and commen area is so nice, we would move in ;) the guesthouse is not in the Kyoto center, but you can rent a bike for 500 yen per day and get around easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th May 2016
8.6

This was a lovely little guest house / hostel in a suburban part of Kyoto. It was great to stay in Ryokan style accommodation, and the host was very helpful. We had everything we needed and slept well, though it is right by train tracks and light sleepers may be woken by the gates blocking traffic every time a train went past. Also, it was cool being away from other tourists but a bit out of the way to be able to experience all of Kyoto. There is a fantastic onsen only about a block away!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
10.0

Amazing place, the gentleman was the most helpful for our wonderful time in Kyoto. Will recommend to all my friends going to Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
8.3

Traditional Japanese house, 5 minutes walk from the train station(JR). Host was the nicest, Recommended many things and helped with navigating. 10 minutes from arashiyama. Bike rental, and daily bus tickets available at the hostel. Great hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Host is amazing and really helpful. The house feels Japanese and relaxing. Yes there is a train coming close but not during night (0-6h) and is not so noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.7

It's a little off the beaten path, but guesthouse Bola Bola served me and my two companions well when we stayed there. We had the 3 person private room in the back of the house and it was NICE. Space was limited, but that's Japan. Showers were hot and clean. Bathrooms were clean. Rooms were safe. Plenty of food nearby (I recommend the bakery down the street). Getting to and from the train station is a pain. Mr.Haru is one of the most welcoming hosts i've met. Use BolaBola!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Had great stay at bola bola. Large rooms, great kitchen and bathroom facilities and in a quiet but active area. Staff were very helpful with lots of maps and info on places to see around the area. Definitely reccommend staying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

A little bit out of the way but worth it for the nice facilities and really nice, knowledgeable owner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bola Bola. The host was very friendly and spoke quite good english. He had lots of maps which showed local restaurants and convenience stalls. He even had information on bus and trains and brochures for local tourist spots. The room was large and spacious and the futons were great. I would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.