Hostelworld.com

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
Guest House Bola-Bola Located at 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Guest House Bola-Bola
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 616-8152 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city
91% 380
35.0145656 135.7014539
Guest House Bola-Bola
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Host is amazing and really helpful. The house feels Japanese and relaxing. Yes there is a train coming close but not during night (0-6h) and is not so noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.7

It's a little off the beaten path, but guesthouse Bola Bola served me and my two companions well when we stayed there. We had the 3 person private room in the back of the house and it was NICE. Space was limited, but that's Japan. Showers were hot and clean. Bathrooms were clean. Rooms were safe. Plenty of food nearby (I recommend the bakery down the street). Getting to and from the train station is a pain. Mr.Haru is one of the most welcoming hosts i've met. Use BolaBola!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Had great stay at bola bola. Large rooms, great kitchen and bathroom facilities and in a quiet but active area. Staff were very helpful with lots of maps and info on places to see around the area. Definitely reccommend staying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

A little bit out of the way but worth it for the nice facilities and really nice, knowledgeable owner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bola Bola. The host was very friendly and spoke quite good english. He had lots of maps which showed local restaurants and convenience stalls. He even had information on bus and trains and brochures for local tourist spots. The room was large and spacious and the futons were great. I would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2016
9.4

Really clean hostel. Stayed in the twin room and it was huge. We were very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean with free amenities. I highly enjoyed the Japanese style guesthouse experience. Location was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2016
10.0

Remind guests to bring own towel to onsen to save money. Good advice on where to go around bola bola. Very comfortable stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2015
10.0

Very great experience all around! Heru was very helpful with showing us how to get around. He rents bikes and gave us a nice map of the area. Very nice traditional Japanese rooms and a hot shower with I'll kitchen! 7 minute ride to bamboo forest and 20 minutes to golden pavilion. 20 minute bus ride to Kyoto station. Only complain was some loud kids came in at around 12:30 and were very loud for a while.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Dec 2015
9.4

Very cute and cosy place, authentic Japanese atmosphere. Not exactly in the center but at a very convenient location, with shops, restaurants and stations nearby. Great place to stay if you want to experience the "real" Kyoto and not mind commuting for around 20mins to the tourist destination destinations. The owner is very kind and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for such a nice experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2015
8.9

we fell in love with the house. The owner also very helpful and their map were quite good. However during night we were afraid to make some noise due to the kitchen area is very close to other rooms and the atmosphere is very quiet at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.