Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Bola-Bola

  • 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Guest House Bola-Bola Located at 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city, , Kyoto.
Guest House Bola-Bola
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 616-8152 25-17 Horigauchi-cho Uzumasa Ukyoku Kyoto city
92% 403
35.0145656 135.7014539
Guest House Bola-Bola
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

Owner was very friendly and helpful. Location is central to many tourist attractions, owner has hand drawn maps that makes it very easy to get around. Very positive experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.3

This is a nice place if you want to experience the traditional Japanese lifestyle. The location is walking distance (10 min) from the JR station. It is a little far from the city center but buses will take you everywhere (bus station almost in front). The owner of the house will make you feel welcome and will help you to figure out the bus lines and how to get to the touristic sites. He rents bikes for cheap. Many stores nearby and I personally recommend the french bakery behind the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Really nice cute hostel. Had a private room. The owner is an older Japanese guy, really nice. Close to the bus and train. You can even rent a bike and cycle to Arashiyama in 10 mins. Lots of amazing home style Japanese eateries in the street just tucked behind. Met some nice people and the atmosphere is authentic Japanese style. I highly recommend it! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.7

This guesthouse is clean and quiet. It is in the suburbs of Kyoto but easy to find and close to many attractions. The owner is wonderful and very helpful! He even had hand drawn maps availAble at the JR train station to find the house, and one of the whole town showing everything one needs to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, very quiet, clean, super close to train station so getting there is easy and moving about not too complicated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • antjeoconnell3703
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
16th Jul 2016
10.0

a 10 minute train ride from kyoto station but easy to find in a non-touristy area. lots of tips regarding good food in the area. sparkling clean and very authentic. loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Our stay at Bola Bola was superb. The owner is super friendly and helpful. We stayed for 10 days and he assisted us all the time, recommendedd stuff to do, where to eat... The place is a old fashioned japanese house, so you will experience true culture. Overall it's great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.7

We stayed here for a week and It was wounderful! Location was great and easy to find, only about a 5-10 minute walk from subway station and has coin laundry and grocery store nearby. Traditional Japanese house which was very quiet and peacful. Owner was very nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2016
10.0

Owner was very helpful, location is great for the train lines. Loved our stay and would definitely do it again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

had a wonderfull stay at Bola-Bola Guesthouse. the kitchen and commen area is so nice, we would move in ;) the guesthouse is not in the Kyoto center, but you can rent a bike for 500 yen per day and get around easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.