Hostelworld.com

Guest House KURA

  • 39, Suzaka, Suzaka city, Nagano prefecture, Japan, Nagano, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Place, setting, and host was absolutely amazing. Will recommend to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.7

BOOK NOW! Such a genuine Japanese experience, highlight of my two week vacation! The location was perfect for the snow monkeys and away from the city- so peaceful. Can't go back to Japan without visiting Marina and crew! They even let me borrow snow gear for the trek- 100% needed! Loved every second of this stay and people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

I loved my stay! The snow was high when I arrived and I was tired, but I was given such a warm welcome and offered dinner with the staff in the cosy living room. Although very few other guests, a great place to exchange culture/chat with the staff&locals and this made my stay! Cold in bedrooms but staff did everything they could including a heater and heated blanket to keep guests warm. Location is unique and although a small walk to the station, a lovely town worth a visit off the beaten track.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
10.0

500 characters isn't enough to describe how amazing this place is to stay. The staff (Marina and Oga) went out of their way to make us feel at home and enjoy our time in Nagano. By the time we left we felt as though we were part of the family. They even made sure our baggage was delivered to the next hostel! This kind of service is rare, and it's experiences like these that make us want to come back again and again. We hope to stay again here soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.3

Really enjoyed staying at this traditional Japanese ryokan style hostel. There are also some modern facilities provided there such as modern toilet, shower, laundry and kitchen. The host was a very welcoming and warm lady. She made helpful suggestions of places to eat in the area as we got in quite late and even went through the trouble of helping us to print the train timetables to make it easier for us to get to our next destination.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Lovely owner with lots of great information about the area. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
10.0

Amazing experienced!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us! Hope you had a good trip in Japan!!

3rd Nov 2016
10.0

if you want to forget the craziness of Tokyo or Osaka, if you only want to rest and live like a Japanese in the mountains, this is the right place, from here you can go to snow monkeys, walk in the mountains, and try the best Ramen in Japan, ask the Staff: where did the mexicans go for Dinner? Amazings views and on winter you can go for Ski. Just go and feel the magic of another Japan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
8.0

Very nice and comfortable Japanese style accommodation. The staff dropped out luggage at the station for us. Only one shower got the entire place could be difficult during peak season. Also awoken by people speaking loudly from around 5am-8:30am (not sure if guests or staff). Don't miss the coffee and tart!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us! We are very sorry that the other Japanese guests were very noisy from very early in the morning. We heard about it from other guests, but we didn't realize that noise at that time, so we couldn't stop them talking. We are very sorry for that. And thank you so much for your recommendation about coffee and tart! The other guest from Canada, he tried coffee the next day! Thank you so much! Thank you again for staying with us!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
9.7

My boyfriend and I stayed at Guesthouse Kura for just one night and we had the best Japanese guesthouse experience in 2 months of travel. Marina is a brilliant host and welcomed us warmly into her beautiful traditional house. We were invited out on a hike around the mountains which was a special experience we'll never forget! Cannot recommend this guesthouse more highly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.