X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guest House Kaine Reviews

5-9 Susaki-machi Hakata-ku, Fukuoka City, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
263 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Good, solid hostel, about 20 min walk from the train station. Equal distance down town. Lockers are very small, the walls are paper thin and you hear everything. Shower is good, but it was quite cold during my whole stay at the hostel in January.


94%

Hope cooking could be done in the hostel. More space could be provided for the dorm room, but sufficient otherwise after much compromise from everyone in the room. The staffs are generally excellent! Location wise, we could walk to Tenjin, or Kawabata precinct. I even walked to Hakata to enjoy the cool weather, time required is only 15-20 minutes depending on whether it's brisk walk or stroll. Best: cheap good food available readily at Kawabata shopping acade!


91%

Packed with character and the most welcoming staff you'll meet. You will feel free to chat with the staff about your adventures in this cosy, intimate space. (English is fine) Interior Design layout uses space quite well considering it is a narrow building. I reccomend is accommodation for adventurers.


80%

Stayed here some time before taking the boat to Busan. It was a nice place, I love the Japanese futons so I was very happy to spend my last nights in Japan on a comfy futon. The staff were also super friendly, I expected a package but it didn't arrive on time, so they took the effort to send it to one of my later destinations. Super kind, much appreciated! The only thing that was a bit inconvenient to me was that there was little space to prepare my own food, but for a few days that was okay.


57%

Well, we found that the room is quite under estimated, since the lock is broken, the dust in the room, the bed that guest needs to make it himself, etc. This should be in a service package of any guesthouse/hostel/small hotel.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was easy to find, pretty close to metro station. So travelling around the city was easy. Nice accommodation with good rooms (private). Unfortunately no kitchen. Guesthouse was fully booked due to many events in town, so could only book one night :( Downside was some other guest returning (probably from the concert) in the middle of the night, taking a shower and drying her hair and washing her clothes ...which was way too loud. So had to tell her to stop, twice!


97%

Very nice small hostel. I felt very welcome there and had a good night sleep and a nice chat with the staff.


83%

Nice place to spend a night or two, it needs some renovations but the guys are working on that already. Overall a nice stay and very friendly guy at the front.


94%

If you want a cozy, quiet and traditional hostel stay in Fukuoka, you need not look further. This is like a mini/cheap ryokan - traditional tatami mat and futon dorms, traditional style tatami common/lounge room etc. The common room is a bit small but then again, this isn't a place to party compared to some other hostels, but rather a more intimate Japanese experience. I regret staying here for no longer than one night.


77%

A small hostel with traditional Japanese style! The male dorm room is a little bit small, and also a little bit noisy. But in general the facilities are acceptable, and worth the price. The staff are nice and helpful. Very good location, a few minute walk from subway station, and also very close to Nakasu, a place where there are lots of restaurants and shops, and there is a boat trip along the river which you can admire the night view of the city.


69%

Small room but warm place and very nice staff


60%

We are a young couple that booked a private room with tatami. The room was rather disappointing. From looking at the pictures on the homepage one would expect real tatami mats. However there were only thin artificial ones, which made the ground really hard and didn't even cover the whole room (two futons barely fit on the tatami).

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry if we weren't clear. The Tatami mats is real Tatami. It's Okinawa style 'Ryuku Tatami'. Thank you for your staying on this time! With regards, Kaine guest house

97%

We had a great time, small room just under the roof is the best! Ramen right around the corner.


100%

Tidy rooms, nice and helpful staff, quiet at night, Japanese style rooms, and all facilities one may need (lockers, fridge, city maps, air con, etc.). In addition, the place is really well located, as it is near the subway, airport and ferry port, a 25min. walk if you don’t have big luggage. On the other hand, there is a shopping arcade, some historical sites and nice restaurants around. Highly recommendable when visiting Fukuoka.




View all Fukuoka City Hostels

Please give us your feedback