X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guest House Kaine Reviews

5-9 Susaki-machi Hakata-ku, Fukuoka City, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
251 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The hostel was easy to find, pretty close to metro station. So travelling around the city was easy. Nice accommodation with good rooms (private). Unfortunately no kitchen. Guesthouse was fully booked due to many events in town, so could only book one night :( Downside was some other guest returning (probably from the concert) in the middle of the night, taking a shower and drying her hair and washing her clothes ...which was way too loud. So had to tell her to stop, twice!


97%

Very nice small hostel. I felt very welcome there and had a good night sleep and a nice chat with the staff.


83%

Nice place to spend a night or two, it needs some renovations but the guys are working on that already. Overall a nice stay and very friendly guy at the front.


94%

If you want a cozy, quiet and traditional hostel stay in Fukuoka, you need not look further. This is like a mini/cheap ryokan - traditional tatami mat and futon dorms, traditional style tatami common/lounge room etc. The common room is a bit small but then again, this isn't a place to party compared to some other hostels, but rather a more intimate Japanese experience. I regret staying here for no longer than one night.


77%

A small hostel with traditional Japanese style! The male dorm room is a little bit small, and also a little bit noisy. But in general the facilities are acceptable, and worth the price. The staff are nice and helpful. Very good location, a few minute walk from subway station, and also very close to Nakasu, a place where there are lots of restaurants and shops, and there is a boat trip along the river which you can admire the night view of the city.


69%

Small room but warm place and very nice staff


60%

We are a young couple that booked a private room with tatami. The room was rather disappointing. From looking at the pictures on the homepage one would expect real tatami mats. However there were only thin artificial ones, which made the ground really hard and didn't even cover the whole room (two futons barely fit on the tatami).

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry if we weren't clear. The Tatami mats is real Tatami. It's Okinawa style 'Ryuku Tatami'. Thank you for your staying on this time! With regards, Kaine guest house

97%

We had a great time, small room just under the roof is the best! Ramen right around the corner.


100%

Tidy rooms, nice and helpful staff, quiet at night, Japanese style rooms, and all facilities one may need (lockers, fridge, city maps, air con, etc.). In addition, the place is really well located, as it is near the subway, airport and ferry port, a 25min. walk if you don’t have big luggage. On the other hand, there is a shopping arcade, some historical sites and nice restaurants around. Highly recommendable when visiting Fukuoka.


74%

The hostel is good but the ladder for achieving the second door is very dangerous!!


89%

The best staff

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you very much! I really have a great time there!


97%

My first time staying at a hostel, and I never expected that it could be this nice. It's clean, cozy and has great service. Will definitely recommend this place!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This guesthouse had a very unique atmosphere, in that I felt a little like I was staying in ancient Japan. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the overall look and feel of the place was very welcoming. The location was perfect to access the subway, and easy for bicycling around to different areas. Nearby were lots of fantastic yaddai (street food vendors) where eating and drinking with locals was fun! The staff at the guesthouse were some of the friendliest I've had the pleasure of meeting


100%

Perfect Hostel!


91%

+ Nice guesthouse with traditional Japanese atmosphere. The way to preserve the old building by functional conversion is very well done. The location is very near both of Tenjin and Hakata area. Very convenient 'cause it's near subway and bus stop. - Futon and pillow are quite smelly, including the cushion or rug in the living room. - Floor drain in the Shower room was clogged. Water wasn't throughly flown well during taking a bath.




View all Fukuoka City Hostels

Please give us your feedback