Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Renjishi Kabuki

  • 670-5.Kakimoto-cho,Inokumadori Gojyo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • archie2468
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

The host was lovely and wanted to help us whenever possible. The room was typically Japanese which was a great experience. All the facilities were clean, and there was soap and shampoo to use. Era una experiencia muy bien para mí y mis amigos. El dueño era muy simpático y quería ayudarnos cuando teníamos dudas. Lo siento si mi español no es bastante, he olvidado mucho! El baño era limpio, los cuatros eran tradicionales, una buena sorpresa para nosotros.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.3

The host is very friendly and welcoming, gave us great advice for he surrounding area. The hostel is small but cost. The shared facilities are always clean and tidy. Unfortunately there is no shared communist area to meet other guests. Close to Kyoto station (easy 15 min walk). Lots of buses around the area to get around kyoto easily. I would definitely recommend this to other travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Owner was super nice and facilities were clean. Close to bus and train stops. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
6.0

The hostel is kind of far from everything and is a twenty to thirty minute walk to the nearest subway station. The common room area is just a small table with two chairs. So it would have been nice to have a bigger area to hang out and meet people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
10.0

The space is small and cozy, you won't shack up with 15 other people here. Host was very nice, gave me a big "Welcome Home!" In English every time I came back from touring for the day, so adorable. Price was inexpensive for the area. Nearby the amazing Nijo Castle and 30 minute walk to Gion District.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Mar 2017
6.3

For what we paid, the service was fine but if it's really small and we don't have a lot space to move (shower, bedroom, kitchen, ...). If you look for a place just to sleep, it's ok but don't expect any comfort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Mar 2017
10.0

I loved my stay here at Renjishi! It was great to get to know Haruda-san, the owner of the guesthouse, over breakfast in the morning or tea in the late afternoon. He is a very welcoming host! The place is very clean and cosy and I would definitely stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay at! About a 10-15 minute walk from Kyoto Station so its very convenient. I stayed in this hostel along with my younger sister and we loved it since it felt very welcoming and homey. The owner of the hostel provided us with maps and brochures of the area so it made it easier to get around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel & the welcoming atmosphere created by the sweet older gentleman who runs it! The price is the cheapest hostel I've ever seen, but nothing felt compromised-- security was good, location was good (quiet little street), bed was really comfortable, and everything was very clean. The hostel had a homestay feel to it, which I really liked. The hand-drawn maps provided by the hostel owner were both adorable and extremely helpful. I also loved having the sento just a few blocks away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
10.0

What a wonderful stay! The owner is so kind and as helpful as can be! The bunk room was full so he upgraded up to a tatami room for no extra charge! On top of that he gave us maps he had made of all the closest us stops and restaurants! Incredibly friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.