Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House Renjishi Kabuki

  • 670-5.Kakimoto-cho,Inokumadori Gojyo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2017
6.6

Host is very friendly and made us feel at home. Unfortunately only 1 shower for 8 people, this was way too less. Also it's quite a walk to the old part, approximately 30 min.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.9

The place itself might not be considered very secure since you could more or less walk in, see the bags right in the window etc - but since it's a safe area, nothing untoward happened. The man in charge of the place was very friendly and helpful; just know that there is incense burning at the reception area 'round the clock (if you're sensitive to that kind of thing), and that if you are staying in the female dorm you do have to walk out of the building to shower in the other half of the hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
10.0

The owner is such a good guy. He made us feel like home. The hostel is always clean, homey and organized. I like everything about it. Next time if I want travel to kyoto I would definitely stay there. Too bad I didn't have the chance to book second night this time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Amazing guesthouse. The owner is super sweet and really takes care of you. He is extremely helpful and very friendly. He provides various maps and pamphlets to help you plan your trip in Kyoto. Fairly cheap and near a lot of major bus/subway stations. Would definitely stay at that guesthouse on my next trip to Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2017
8.9

although the location is a little away from the center we had a really nice stay at this hostel. the man who runs it is superkind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Best place I've stayed in Kyoto, It's very clean and homely. the owner is one of the kindest people I've ever met. I was staying in the private single which was spacious and very comfortable, there's plenty of natural light coming in through the window to help wake you up as well which was great Many reviews say bathroom are In a separate room but this is only for people staying In girls only dorm, as they were just at the bottom of the stairs by my room. Look forward to staying again next year

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

All in all a great place to stay. Bunk bed was wider than anticipated and had a good nights sleep. Only downside was the lack of proper facilities. On the side of the private rooms there was 1 microwave oven and refrigerator. Utensils, glasses etc. were found on the first floor dorm side. If you are not cooking anything and don't mind a walk to get a glass for water I'd recommend this place :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
7.4

There was nobody at the hostel when we arrived so we had to wait outside for 15/20 minutes. However the host is a really nice and helpful. The female dorm has curtains around each bed for privacy and individual charging points which is very helpful plus great air con! The hostel was more like a home stay and always clean. I can recommend the 500Y bus day pass that the owner sells for getting around kyoto. There is only 1 shower for the whole hostel. Female dormitory not extremely spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

The guesthouse is really nice and, as many comments stated, what makes it perfect is the owner. He is really kind and makes you feel welcomed in Kyoto. I followed all his advices, including the onsen, and had a great experience. A sugggestion, you can rent a bike for 500 yen in the hotel just around the corner. Just be aware, the address in the email you will receive is not right, just follow the instructions that comes down below in the same email.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
9.1

Very friendly environment. About 20 minutes walking from Kyoto station. Would absoutely recommend to anyone traveling to Kyoto. If you are talking like me, remember to keep your head low. You may hit it on the door frames.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.