X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guesthouse Bon Reviews

63-2 Kamimonzen-cho Murasakino Kita-ku Kyoto Japan, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Guesthouse experience was really perfect eventhough we have hard time at first time to find the location. The owner of guesthouse very helpful and informative and you can ask about Kyoto with him. Room and guesthouse in general very clean and quiet


86%

Fantastic traditional Japanese house in a really lovely neighbourhood. Comfortable and warm. The owner was very friendly and helpful!


94%

Absolutely lovely host who explained everything to us. He was the best. We stayed here for new years eve and it was very quiet in true japanese style! Room was cute and spacious, heater worked well. Close to buses. A good stay, thankyou!


100%

Great traditional Japanese Inn family run, will do anything to ensure their guests have a fantastic stay in Kyoto.


100%

We really enjoyed our stay & the beds were really clean & comfy. Our host was lovely & super helpful in all ways - he even dropped our luggage to our next destination. Our stay here really enhanced our Kyoto experience. Thank you ☺️

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This was my favourite hostel in Japan. Lovely host who gsve us lots of tips on where to eat/what to see/where to go. It's in a nice area just a bus ride from the JR station. Close to temples and sight seeing and nice restaurants. It was a nice quiet guesthouse I would stay here again next time.

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Taniguchi is those rare persons for whom people are more important than business. He's extremely kind and understanding. Thank you so much, Taniguchi-san!


83%

I didn't have much difficulties travelling in Kyoto because Bon has explained all that is needed from the first day on food suggestions, places and how to commute in Kyoto. The hosts, Bon and his wife are really hospitable and helpful. Had a really pleasant stay in Guesthouse Bon, my heartfelt thanks to the hosts!

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was our favorite place to stay during our 3 weeks trip in Japan. Taniguchi is the nicest and most helpful person you will meet in your life. He is so friendly and gives you a lot of good tips and help to get around in Kyoto, temples to visit and places to go for food (best places we've had food in japan). Room is spacious, beds good. Neighborhood is really quiet and give you an authentic feel of Kyoto. Hostel is really clean, rooms and toilets/shower/kitchen are cleaned regularly. Go here!


94%

Very cute and traditional (japanese style ( hostel. The owners are very friendly and ready to help. To recommend!

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It is a wonderful living in Japan type experience here and Guesthouse Bon. The host is very attentive and will give you routes and suggestions on sightseeing and travelling around. He will also give suggestions on food if you ask him.


91%

Owner is very helpful and takes the time to explain everything about Kyoto (bus, temples, food) and gives good reference of restaurants near close to his guesthouse. Good price also. Would definitely recommend! On the down side, you can hear everything going on in the guesthouse and lacks a bit of intimacy if you're a couple.


77%

Host, Taniguchi has been very helpful with providing my family guides and tips on how to get around to the nearest places for sight seeing. He is friendly and down to earth. His guesthouse was always with guests around during our check-in and check-out period for our 2N stay. Though the location may not be near to Kyoto station, one can still plan to visit those sight-seeing places nearby the guesthouse which are just within reach by buses plying just outside the main road.


100%

I have stayed at numerous hostels but I have never encountered the incredible hospitality and kindness that I found here. Kazo, the owner, treated us like family and helped us with everything wanted to do in Kyoto. He goes the extra mile to help every guest. The room was very clean, nice, and just like an expected Japanese room (tatami mats, futon). Bathrooms are very clean too. Kitchen facilities are all available and good quality I recommend Bon !

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderful place. Stayed for 6 days. Owner is very helpful and informative. Would love to visit again.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

A decent but quirky hostel, with a very interesting, kind and helpful host! The host really takes pride and puts effort into running the hostel and introducing Kyoto to the guests, which made the stay worthwhile.While we appreciated the clean toilets, the rest of the hostel is a bit old and our room had a bit of a musky smell. PS: There are no road signs along the way to the hostel so do bring along the map that the host carefully prepared for directions to the place, so that you don't get lost!


91%

Very hospitable host, extremely helpful for shrines and must see locations in Kyoto. Thanks for changing my euros over to yen!!!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice guesthouse! 10/10

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Thod was a real value for money, it was exceptionally clean and the owner was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this to a couples who are looking for affordable, clean and traditional Japanese accomodation.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We lived in a Japanese style house and we have a nice stay here! The owner can speak fluent English and told us a lot what's the surroundings and how to get there by bus in detail, it saved us much time for checking the complex bus route map in Kyoto. We have morning flight on KIX last day and the owner helped us a lot to catch the flight!


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback