Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Guesthouse Bon

  • 63-2 Kamimonzen-cho Murasakino Kita-ku Kyoto Japan, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
Guesthouse Bon Located at 63-2 Kamimonzen-cho Murasakino Kita-ku Kyoto Japan, , Kyoto.
Guesthouse Bon
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 603-8217 63-2 Kamimonzen-cho Murasakino Kita-ku Kyoto Japan
93% 352
35.0452945 135.7472929
Guesthouse Bon
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
9.7

The guesthouse is a but in the north, but close to it there are beautiful temples and shrines! Very helpful owner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place to stay and a great host. Good little kitchen stocked with some essentials like coffee and tea. The host is really accomadating and the place is filled with an awesome atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
9.7

The wonderful host of Bon Guesthouse has his warm, kind, helpfulness and consideration hospitality. The location is nearby Daitoku Temple which is lovely to have a morning or evening walk. Many little interesting local shops and convenient stores within a few minutes walk. We a family of 5 enjoyed very much staying here more like a local than those tourist places. This is a safe and peaceful place. Transportation is very easy and convenient with host guidance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Tamiguchi-San and his homestay/ hostel is a wonderful place to base yourself out of in Kyoto. He is a lovely man who goes out of his way to help and orient you. I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • romansoko5592
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

Had a great stay at Bon Guesthouse! The place has a very homey feel, since it really is a traditional Japanese house, and good amenities. It's a bit away from the centre, but close to some of Kyoto's biggest tourist attractions, and great if you want a quiet and chilled-out area. But the real highlight are the owners- in Japan, a country full of kind people, they still overwhelmed me with their amazing hospitality. They gave great sightseeing tips and showed me delicious food nearby, too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
5.1

The toilet and shower room facility is extremely small and most of the time, didn't give you a clean feeling. The host runs a small restaurant just next to the hostel and he isn't as helpful as I imagined to be. The room is clean anyway. Has in-room air conditioner while the noise is so loud that you have to turn it off to get some sleep. All in all, I should choose another hotel to stay next time in Kyoto.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
8.6

Very lovely guesthouse near the Golden Pavilion. The owner is very friendly. He even bought me sushi for dinner when I sprained my foot. Overall, a very peaceful stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.3

Guesthouse Bon has been the best stay of our trip through Japan. Kazou is a really nice host and will do everything he can to make you comfortable. He has some excellent tips for the city and his English is very good. The location of the guesthouse is outside the city center (30min busride on average), therefore we would recommend this place only for those who spend at least three nights in Kyoto. There are very cheap and good restaurants nearby and a really good sento (public bath).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice place run by a super-friendly owner who also speaks English very well. Location is a bit away from the center, but since public transport connections are good this is not a huge problem (unless you want to get back several times during the day). It is a guesthouse with quite affordable rooms (even single rooms), a nice combination of an older house and sleeping arrangement without lacking modern amenities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.7

Despite it being 100 years old, the guesthouse was well furnished and modern. The toilet was clean and hot water was available all the time. This place is also extremely close to Kinkakuji, Ryoenji and Arashiyama. During my stay, I rented bicycles from Mr Taniguchi for only 500 yen and was able to explore those attractions easily. Mr Taniguchi also showed us numerous cheap and delicious local eats around the area which I fully appreciated. 10/10 would recommend and come back again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.