X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guesthouse Mary Reviews

Mostarska 2b, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
103 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Lovely family-run accommodation that is clean, safe and has everything you will need. A short walk to Lapad beach, restaurants and supermarket. A bus ride or pleasant but longer (40 min) walk to the old city. You will be very well looked-after. Highly recommended- we would definitely stay here again!


97%

We had a great time here. The room was perfect for what we needed and the hosts were lovely. The location was a pleasant surprise - Lapad is such a great part of Dubrovnik. We walked, within 5 mins, to a promenade lined with excellent bars and restaurants (which were cheaper than the Old Town too), and at the end of the promenade was a beach. The local beaches are gorgeous - we spent our time at Copacabana and Cava beach (at the Coral Beach Club). The old town is a short bus ride away (10mins).


89%

Friendly staff! We got really good information about the city when we arrived. Easy to travel by bus or walk to a street with a lot of restaurants. When you had to walk back you had to go uphill, but we had a Nice view because of that on the city and harbour from our balcony.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place run by Mary's son and wife. Lapad is a great location as it is just a quick 10 min bus to Old Town, with lots of cafes and restaurants and the beach nearby. We even got a transfer to the airport for a cheaper fee than a taxi. Thank you for your hospitality, we really enjoyed our stay :)


94%

The hosts were very accommodating and helpful, and offered suggestions about where to go, how to get there, and even included maps. The only thing that I would say was a minor negative was the fact the website states Air Conditioning, but upon arriving, not every room has it and with high temperatures and high humidity, that wasn't the most comfortable of stays. Everything else was amazing. Thank you for the drinks, figs, and conversations!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very nice stay at this guesthouse. The family who owns it was very welcoming and helpful! The room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view! The location was great for catching a bus to the old town and conveniently close to the harbor of going on a cruise. Would highly recommend staying here.


80%

I was expecting air conditioning based on the hostel world icon, but my room didn't have AC. That was disappointing.


63%

The hosts were very nice and helpful. Overall a good experience, however there are many negatives that makes you think twice about coming back. The hostel description was misleading about the AC, as my single room did not have AC and it was unbearably hot. The location is quite far from old town, and you need to take the bus, but the bus fare adds up if you're planning to party. The nearby beach is very pathetic, as it is rocky and completely packed with tourists.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Frank,thanks for nice words,We helped you like all other guest with advices and infos as much as possible to make your holiday better,However you just showed that you are NOT the kind of guest who has interest and money to plan good vacation as you spend all your time on sunbed our terrace .In description of your room,it is pretty clear what is included and you had fan- you could book private Apartmant with AC we have it in offer.Next time just look google map when you plan to go somewhere

86%

The hostel is not in old town Dubrovnik, it is in a more neighborhoody place, but it is a great location. Our room even had a view and we were able to watch fireworks from old town. The hosts were accommodating. The woman who initially greeted us did not speak English but she brought us some orange juice and called her son to communicate. This was a very nice place to stay if you're interested in a private room, the shared bathroom was not a problem and never occupied when we were there.


89%

Very welcoming and helpful staff.mlocation is brilliant for exploring all parts of the city

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Apartment wasn't too far from old city, just a 10 minute bus ride with the bus just across the road. The people running it were extremely nice and helpful with advice on how to get around and anything we needed. Very clean private room with bathroombathroom and air conditioning. Also thethey gave us a ride from the airport for a much better price than taxi.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly and helpful owners, good location on a hill close to Lapad beach

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

A lovely place to stay in Dubrovnik! Very clean and a 2 minute walk to a bus that will take you anywhere you want to go. It is also a short walk to a beach area and lots of shops and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!


91%

Nicky and his family were great. The hotel itself was very clean and nice and had a great view. You can arrange for them to pick you up from the airport for less than you would pay for a cab. Overall, I recommend staying here.


97%

Great vibes, fabulous air conditioning, enjoyed our stay!


91%

Thank you all for your hospitality and help for me, while I was staying there. I can recommend your's place everyone who need's a nice place to stay. Thanks!! Petri from Finland

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This place was amazing ! Mary who is the mother who owns it was delightful we arrived and she bought out figs and wine and juice for us ! He son was seriously and excellent host he was like a proper tour guide explaining everything and showing us where the cave bar was good restaurants etc. The room was clean and quiet with a wonderful view I highly recommend ! A bit of a walk to town, but the bus is cheap and takes 8 mins. Guesthouse Mary is near the beach and great restaurants! Stay here!


86%

In relation to facilities it has what you pay for. But my room was nice and clean. The family who own the house make it worth the stay. Very nice people and they have their own Allotment. I've never eaten so many freshly picked figs! Bus stop is right outside and only 10 minutes to the old town. Fantastic view also!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Guesthouse Mary is the perfect place if you want to spend your holiday in Dubrovnik! It is near to the bus stop,supermarket and the Lapad center! Mary and her sons are very kind with the hosts and the room was very clean! I suggest to everyone to stay in this wonderful guesthouse!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed at Guesthouse Mary during peak tourist season. It's in a perfect spot on a quiet peninsula of Dubrovnik, with a simple hop-on-hop-off bus to Old Town which means you can explore the city during the day and escape to relaxing beaches and quieter restaurants and cafes at night. Nick was an amazing host who went out of his way to make the trip as enjoyable as possible. Would definately return

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Dubrovnik Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback