Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
6.3

Nice building, although a bit tatty, cramped and dark. Staff were friendly perhaps overly so, very keen to please and chat and almost felt a little invasive (sorry!) but perhaps this was because I was tired and hungry, and all I wanted to do was eat and lie down. Also staff gave me some misdirections (perhaps language barrier) but luckily I used my map so it wasn't an issue. Shower was good, but everything felt like t could do with a deep clean and tidy. Beds not particularly comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Loved the house itself- 100 years old! Yo (sp?) who worked there gave really thorough recommendations. Walking/biking distance to all the sights. Best part was the atmosphere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.7

Beautiful old house in Nara. It's a short walk from the train station, and from the parks, but also in a quiet area. This place is just... so beautiful. You can sit in the common area and look out over their peaceful little garden. I highly recommend staying here. The staff is excellent, informative, friendly, and their English is great. Security is basic, but in Japan things are very safe and I never felt worried.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andletmedance
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Still to me the best guest house in Nara, for absolutely all the right reasons : good location, wonderful house, super friendly staff... what else ?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.7

I stayed with here with my best friend for one night, during the golden week. We stayed in a private room for two with shared bathroom. The place has a really nice, unique and traditional vibe, and it's really close to the Nara Park and Nara Kintetsu Station. The staff was really helpful and friendly, we got a lot of recommendations from him. Definitely will come back to this place if we visit Nara again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
8.6

Good price for what youe getting. Very cool to try a house over 100 years old. The staff member there at the time, forget his name, long hair, worked the overnight shift, really great and very knowledgeable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.4

Definitely recommend this hostel! The house itself is old and beautiful with a lovely garden, location is perfect. Ryo, our host, was helpful and charming, and made us feel at home. We stayed in a four bed female dorm, which was cramped but very comfortable. We loved it so much that we decided to come back later on on our trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great location and great staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.7

good location and nice staff who are willing to help

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Pepe and Yo are extremely welcoming and knowledgable of the area. This guesthouse has an atmosphere all of its own, being a 100 year old Japanese style building with garden, but it's also a very sociable guesthouse. Beds are comfy, showers are warm and clean. Free tea and coffee as well as full use of kitchen. Located just 5mins from Nara park and restaurants. If you plan to overnight in Nara(which you should) then this is the perfect place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.