Hostelworld.com

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers Located at 31 Yurugi-cho, , Nara.
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
Japan
Nara 630-8283 31 Yurugi-cho
93% 623
34.6869228 135.8333113
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.7

Nara Backpacker Guesthouse was super charming - set in a traditional Japanese house, we loved our stay here. Only downside, but they do warn you when you book: the walls are thin thin thin. Besides that, we loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th May 2016
9.1

If you are looking for traditional Japan experience, look no further. Location is quite far away from JR Nara station, but on the other hand close to parks and temples. My only concern was with feeling of security. Our private room had a lock on the inside, but you could very easily just slide open another door (no locking there) and go directly to porch, almost to the street. I understand, that this is Japan, but as European, it was quite a shock for me :-).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed this place. Met a lot of great people and found my stay very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
8.6

The hostel is very beautiful, in traditional japanese style and also has an amazing garden where you can look at it from the lobby and some of the rooms too! The location is not bad if you want to explore the city but it is quite a walk from the train station. So if u are visiting Nara for only one day, and have to carry your backpack and walk, it is not that great. Staff is friendly, speak english very well. Lobby and kitchen close at 23.00, then you have to stay in your room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.0

This is the cutest backpacker house that I have ever been to. We really enjoyed our stay in the old tea house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • a_bertossi1351
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Quaint little one night stay in Nara. Staff was very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed using the well equipped kitchen for home-cooked breakfast and dinner, there's a well stocked supermarket in the main market area of town. The house is old, so this isn't a place for sleeping in late or partying, you hear all the noise of others, but we weren't bothered during the night. The Japanese style heated floor table in the common area is the coolest thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.7

An old Japanese house. My best hostel experience in Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Honestly, this place was super nice. It is a super old house, so you need to deal with the downfalls of that fact (creaky floors; delicate sliding doors; constantly worrying about breaking something) but those things are okay. The location is awesome, and the atmosphere of both the neighborhood and the house itself is very peaceful and relaxing. At times it was so quiet in the house that I almost felt like I couldn't make any noise at all. But it's a beautiful hostel worth staying in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed here for 1 night. The staff was friendly and helpful. They watched my bags, since I was early and it was before check-in, so that I could go explore Nara. The rooms/beds aren't anything special, but clean and quiet, which is all you really need. Each bunk was equipped with an outlet and reading light. And each person had a locker with a key for personal belongings. The house is beautiful - 100 years old, but in the charming Japanese way, not in the run-down way. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
6.0

It's basically a traditional Japanese house adapted as a hostel. Don't expect nothing more. It needs desperately a restoration job because the place looks really tear down. It is located over a quiet street in a neighborhood far apart from the train station so follow the directions carefully because it's not easy to find.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.