Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our, too short, stay here. The building is beautiful and staff very friendly and helpful. It's not very near the train station but is a few minutes walk to the deer park and temples - definitely recommend a stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Friendly staff and great location near Nara park. This is an old Japanese tea house.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Really lovely place to stay. Very chilled out atmosphere, owner was really helpful and I loved the garden.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, the garden was a nice addition

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
6.3

Nice building, although a bit tatty, cramped and dark. Staff were friendly perhaps overly so, very keen to please and chat and almost felt a little invasive (sorry!) but perhaps this was because I was tired and hungry, and all I wanted to do was eat and lie down. Also staff gave me some misdirections (perhaps language barrier) but luckily I used my map so it wasn't an issue. Shower was good, but everything felt like t could do with a deep clean and tidy. Beds not particularly comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Loved the house itself- 100 years old! Yo (sp?) who worked there gave really thorough recommendations. Walking/biking distance to all the sights. Best part was the atmosphere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.7

Beautiful old house in Nara. It's a short walk from the train station, and from the parks, but also in a quiet area. This place is just... so beautiful. You can sit in the common area and look out over their peaceful little garden. I highly recommend staying here. The staff is excellent, informative, friendly, and their English is great. Security is basic, but in Japan things are very safe and I never felt worried.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andletmedance
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Still to me the best guest house in Nara, for absolutely all the right reasons : good location, wonderful house, super friendly staff... what else ?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.7

I stayed with here with my best friend for one night, during the golden week. We stayed in a private room for two with shared bathroom. The place has a really nice, unique and traditional vibe, and it's really close to the Nara Park and Nara Kintetsu Station. The staff was really helpful and friendly, we got a lot of recommendations from him. Definitely will come back to this place if we visit Nara again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
8.6

Good price for what youe getting. Very cool to try a house over 100 years old. The staff member there at the time, forget his name, long hair, worked the overnight shift, really great and very knowledgeable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.