Hostelworld.com

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers Located at 31 Yurugi-cho, , Nara.
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
Japan
Nara 630-8283 31 Yurugi-cho
93% 613
34.6869228 135.8333113
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • a_bertossi1351
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Quaint little one night stay in Nara. Staff was very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed using the well equipped kitchen for home-cooked breakfast and dinner, there's a well stocked supermarket in the main market area of town. The house is old, so this isn't a place for sleeping in late or partying, you hear all the noise of others, but we weren't bothered during the night. The Japanese style heated floor table in the common area is the coolest thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.7

An old Japanese house. My best hostel experience in Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Honestly, this place was super nice. It is a super old house, so you need to deal with the downfalls of that fact (creaky floors; delicate sliding doors; constantly worrying about breaking something) but those things are okay. The location is awesome, and the atmosphere of both the neighborhood and the house itself is very peaceful and relaxing. At times it was so quiet in the house that I almost felt like I couldn't make any noise at all. But it's a beautiful hostel worth staying in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed here for 1 night. The staff was friendly and helpful. They watched my bags, since I was early and it was before check-in, so that I could go explore Nara. The rooms/beds aren't anything special, but clean and quiet, which is all you really need. Each bunk was equipped with an outlet and reading light. And each person had a locker with a key for personal belongings. The house is beautiful - 100 years old, but in the charming Japanese way, not in the run-down way. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
6.0

It's basically a traditional Japanese house adapted as a hostel. Don't expect nothing more. It needs desperately a restoration job because the place looks really tear down. It is located over a quiet street in a neighborhood far apart from the train station so follow the directions carefully because it's not easy to find.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
10.0

A great intimate hostel! Looks like it was a house--very traditional. The staff was super friendly and helpful, everything was extremely clean, and the location was right next to Nara Park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Mar 2016
10.0

Beautiful and cozy hostel located directly to Nara-park (5 minutes walking distance). Stood for one night in a private room which I found very comfortable. Also the staff (host's name was Chisato) was very helpful and gave very good recommendations for sightseeing and places to eat in Nara. Very much enjoyed my stay and definitely would like to come back when in Japan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.9

Really nice hostel with a beautiful garden and hot area under the table. Only had one bathroom but the staff were all really helpful and the location is right next to the park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
8.6

If you want a good place for showe and sleep, thats the perfect place, cozy and very quiet! Clean and not far from the station as well. We had a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • richardmcdonnell6022
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
8.9

It's right up near deer park which is great but it's also a bit of a walk from the train station. If you have a bag it's pretty long. The place was amazing though the young lad working there was an absolute legend. The house was lovely and clean. Beautiful house to stay in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.