Hostelworld.com

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jan 2017
7.4

The building is beautiful but the facilities and services are pretty poor for the price. Location is close to sites, which is great. However, it was freezing inside, you had to use the special heated table to get warm. No breakfast, common areas closed at 11 and you needed to make your bed. All this is normally fine, but not when paying the rates for top service at most Japanese hostels. Could be amazing but it's not.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place! The owner was very helpful and gave us plenty of recommendations. The house itself is an old tea house converted to house guests awesome place for the cost

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, it had more of a 'genuine' Japanese feel to it. However, there were very few people when I went, so the atmosphere was a bit dead, apart from that the location was a really short walk from the park where the deers are.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
9.1

The beds are comfy with curtains and bathrooms are clean. Tatsu was the best hostel staff with amazing recommendations for where to go for what and the best places for food, sake, and views. The house is gorgeous and historical. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.7

The hostel is located only five minutes walk from Nara Park and the temples in and around it. The hostel itself is in a beautiful building that used to used for tea ceremonies. It's small and quiet, but there is a nice kitchen and dining area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.9

Very nice !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.1

A beautiful old house with a great Kotatsu in the common space. Very cosy and relaxed, lights out at 11pm also in the common room which is a bit annoying. Staff with good English and happy to help at any request. They also accepted to let me in depsite my mistake of booking the following night only.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
9.7

Nicest place I stayed in during my trip around Japan. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • belindaaa4628
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Such a beautiful old house, I would definitely recommend staying here. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is in a cool area as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.7

Great traditional place to stay. We were having difficulties to find the hostel. The directions were from a different station and we got terribly confused. Although, this was more our fault than anyone else's. Once you know where you are going, it is situated conveniently close to the station and all major attractions. Hostel is an old japanese house and gives you a good traditional feel. Staff are friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.