Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 745 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

It's a lovely hostel, 100 years old, used to be a tea house. It's super quaint and cute, beds are super comfortable. Only 2 showers and bathrooms but there are very few beds in the hostel so it doesn't get crowded. Atmosphere wise, there's pretty much none. It's very quiet and calm, so if you are looking to make friends this might not be the place. Otherwise is great, super close to the park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, located in a pretty quiet area, super close to Daitokuji Temple, after seeing those must see places, it is a great escape to spend some time in this temple. The owner of this hostel is more than friendly, he helped me in every possible way during my time stayed there. I would highly recommend this place and I definitely would say here again if I come back to Kyoto in future : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.1

Location is great, near Nara park, staff is helpful and kind! House is good and you can see the history here! Recommend people who visit Nara to stay !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jan 2017
7.4

The building is beautiful but the facilities and services are pretty poor for the price. Location is close to sites, which is great. However, it was freezing inside, you had to use the special heated table to get warm. No breakfast, common areas closed at 11 and you needed to make your bed. All this is normally fine, but not when paying the rates for top service at most Japanese hostels. Could be amazing but it's not.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place! The owner was very helpful and gave us plenty of recommendations. The house itself is an old tea house converted to house guests awesome place for the cost

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, it had more of a 'genuine' Japanese feel to it. However, there were very few people when I went, so the atmosphere was a bit dead, apart from that the location was a really short walk from the park where the deers are.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
9.1

The beds are comfy with curtains and bathrooms are clean. Tatsu was the best hostel staff with amazing recommendations for where to go for what and the best places for food, sake, and views. The house is gorgeous and historical. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.7

The hostel is located only five minutes walk from Nara Park and the temples in and around it. The hostel itself is in a beautiful building that used to used for tea ceremonies. It's small and quiet, but there is a nice kitchen and dining area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.9

Very nice !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.1

A beautiful old house with a great Kotatsu in the common space. Very cosy and relaxed, lights out at 11pm also in the common room which is a bit annoying. Staff with good English and happy to help at any request. They also accepted to let me in depsite my mistake of booking the following night only.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.