Hostelworld.com

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers Located at 31 Yurugi-cho, , Nara.
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
Japan
Nara 630-8283 31 Yurugi-cho
93% 638
34.6869228 135.8333113
Guesthouse Nara Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • moneybag10107953
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.9

Secure and good location. Chill staff & hostel. Clean place. Value is okay. Bed: Moving around makes a lot of noise. At night I needed to blow my nose, reach for a tissue near my feet and every tiny movement made SO much noise I just could not do it without waking people up. At first I though "ah, it's fine it'll only take a second" but no it was so loud it was a definite nuh-uh not happening. Had to use shinobi techniques to get a tissue, so in a way staying here is a true Japanese exper

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
8.9

We enjoyed staying here. We would recommend. This guesthouse fulfills your need for traditional japanese housing. It was like traveling into the past. NC Ludington all the quirks of a 100 year old house. There is also a beautiful japanese garden complete with many butterflies in the center of the home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
9.1

The hostel is located very close to Nara Park and the rest of the cities main sites, without being to isolated. Very small hostel, I think 3 rooms, but I like that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
7.1

This is great for visiting Nara park. Not great if you want to go between Osaka and Kyoto. Female dorm is increadibly small even for a hostel. I had a good time here and would stay again if I were focusing only on Nara park during my visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st May 2016
10.0

This place was a great find! Everything was just perfect, the hostel itself is amazing if you want to experience a traditional Japanese place, the staff were the friendliest & most helpful we have encountered in Japan! Location is brilliant rights next to where you need to be! Kitchen nice & big with good equipment should you wish to cook, as the hostel is over 100 years old expect some creaks & noises but it shouldn't put you off staying here....A*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.4

Absolutely beautiful! The place is over 100 years old and in a great location. There aren't really locks on the door to you room but it's not really something to worry about. Remember, you can't check in until 3!!! But you can leave your bags and leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
9.1

I had a very good stay but this hostel looks pretty chaotic and messy when walking in. Perhaps, they can set a sapce for luggage so that it doesnt look as messy. They also had no computers that were functional for usage, which I thought was inconvenient. Otherwise, had a very good night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.0

Nice hostel in traditional Japanese house, nice staff. Dorm is a bit cramped but you have all you need there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.7

Nara Backpacker Guesthouse was super charming - set in a traditional Japanese house, we loved our stay here. Only downside, but they do warn you when you book: the walls are thin thin thin. Besides that, we loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andletmedance
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Best guesthouse experience to this day. I've been to some pretty incredible ones but that one tops them all : Incredibly beautiful place, lovely staff, good facilities, excellent location... seriously I am still wondering if I could find anything wrong but no, this is definitely my best guest house to this day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.