Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse Nara Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2017
8.6

Good price for what youe getting. Very cool to try a house over 100 years old. The staff member there at the time, forget his name, long hair, worked the overnight shift, really great and very knowledgeable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.4

Definitely recommend this hostel! The house itself is old and beautiful with a lovely garden, location is perfect. Ryo, our host, was helpful and charming, and made us feel at home. We stayed in a four bed female dorm, which was cramped but very comfortable. We loved it so much that we decided to come back later on on our trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great location and great staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Pepe and Yo are extremely welcoming and knowledgable of the area. This guesthouse has an atmosphere all of its own, being a 100 year old Japanese style building with garden, but it's also a very sociable guesthouse. Beds are comfy, showers are warm and clean. Free tea and coffee as well as full use of kitchen. Located just 5mins from Nara park and restaurants. If you plan to overnight in Nara(which you should) then this is the perfect place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • niniepous6293
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
26th Mar 2017
10.0

The house is 100 years old, it's beautiful, with a garden at its center and a warming table (don't know what it's called), and it's so Nice to sit there and relax, when you've been cold all day. Staff is very nice. It's close to The deers park and really cheap. A great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is really beautiful. Very traditional, gorgeous garden, it really feels like your in old fashioned Japan. However because it is old, some of it is kind of cold. But perfect location and great value for money so Id 100% recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
9.4

Very traditional house within walking distance to Nara Deer Park. Good atmosphere so would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.9

I absolutely adored this hostel. The space is really special and the staff were lovely. The shared area became like a family gathering every evening with a great mix of nationalities. The garden was gorgeous and I would love to see it in different seasons. I almost booked a fourth night just to stay with the amazing Kotatsu they have. The bathroom/toilet/sink are basic but the shower is hot and does the job.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Lovely garden, cute little kotatsu, a very cozy place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

It's a lovely hostel, 100 years old, used to be a tea house. It's super quaint and cute, beds are super comfortable. Only 2 showers and bathrooms but there are very few beds in the hostel so it doesn't get crowded. Atmosphere wise, there's pretty much none. It's very quiet and calm, so if you are looking to make friends this might not be the place. Otherwise is great, super close to the park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.