Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse Tamura

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.1
Guesthouse Tamura Located at 1 Fushingazushi, , Nara.
Guesthouse Tamura
Japan
Nara 630-8301 1 Fushingazushi
95% 423
34.6789848 135.8332550
Guesthouse Tamura
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.7

This was a great place to stay in a wonderful town. It was all under 20 minutes walking to see just about every sight in Nara. The host was extremely kind and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. It felt more like staying in a home and you could sit at the table when you came back in the evening to talk about your day with guests. I really enjoyed my time at Tamura.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
10.0

I stayed two nights in a Japanese style room (with Tatamis) the Guesthouse Tamura. Tamura is a traditional Japanese house with a small garden. It is located right beside Nara Hotel where it is easily found. The rooms, including the wash rooms, are super clean, the facilities are very advanced and easy to use. Our host is a lovely lady who speaks fluent English. In addition, a traditional Japanese style breakfast is also provided for only 300yen. This guesthouse provides a family like environment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.3

Stayed here one night in the three bed female dorm. It is very hard to get to unless you have a map so make sure you know where you are going. The location is awesome, close to Nara Park and heaps of shops in walking distance. The place could use a communal kitchen but otherwise a pleasant stay. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, all the rooms have heating and plenty of storage space. I definitely recommend this place 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Great little spot if you are looking to spend a night in Nara. Very clean, friendly staff, great location! Not much of a place to socialize but if you came looking for party, you should be going to Osaka instead.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

I had a great time at this hostel. The couple running it are lovely and happy to have a chat. Also has a traditional breakfast which was great. Comfy rooms and good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Guesthouse Tamura is in the top 5 of my all-time-favorite hostel list! Fantastic location, Junko the owner is great, facilities galore and overall a very cosy stay. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Oct 2016
9.7

This was charming...it felt like you wete staying in their hime. Free fruit, cookies and so helpful. I came back from my day out and the lady had orinted out all my next onward trip, buses, timetables and maps.... truly amazing! And breakfast home cooked for 300yen...you reall cant go wrong. Brilliant location...what more can I say!!! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

Perfect little gem well located and run by a lovely lady who really looks after you and does a Japanese breakfast for a small extra fee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
9.7

This was a great place to stay! The staff were super helpful and had tons of resources for things to do in Nara (which was surprisingly more than expected), excellent traditional Japanese breakfast that I ordered, a Japanese bath, great location by lots of things to do. To scores.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel right near Nara Park. Junko san is an great host and the breakfast is delish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.