Hostelworld.com

Guesthouse U-En

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
Guesthouse U-En Located at 2-9-23, Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka.
Guesthouse U-En
Japan
Osaka Osaka 553-0003 2-9-23, Fukushima,, Fukushima-ku
91% 350
34.6946153 135.4865647
Guesthouse U-En
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Cosy and lovely guesthouse which provided me with everything I needed for a short 2 nights stay. Staff were really hospitable and even helped me to receive parcels. Great location to JR Osaka area and Universal Studios :) Would definitely come back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

Great guesthouse! The old building is amazing. Great staff. I loved the private twin room. Stayed twice, one time in the dorm that is also nice. Nice common area, nice music. Couldn't be better. Thanks for a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.0

A beautiful hostel in an old townhouse, every room is a treat to look at. However, because it's an old townhouse it was unfortunately rather noisy. Everything can be heard through those thin walls! They give you complementary earplugs, which is both a warning sign and a kindness. Handy if you've got a JR pass, since you've got to make some connections to get to the sights. Fukushima is a funky little district with lots of restaurants nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • a_bertossi1351
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.4

Would definitely stay here again when I return to Osaka! The hostel is in a beautiful restored old building, right nearby a main train station, yet in a more quiet back street. Our private double room rate was on par with bunk in a mixed dorm which is great value for a travelling couple. The common lounge and kitchen area has a great atmosphere to it and there's also a lovely cafe/bar if you prefer not to cook. Very nice shower/sink facilities and there was never a queue in the mornings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

I loved this hostel. I absolutely loved talking to CJ, great atmosphere. I am planning to stay here again the second I can get back to Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Location is fine. if u have luggage, u might consider to take it to second floor by hand. Men's tolilet is a little bit bad since u have to go anywhere on your bare feet. So it will be a little disgusting...lol Staff and rooms are great. There is kitchen, refrigerator, washing machine, dryer. Quite convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • agnesyylee7633
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2016
10.0

Only stayed for one night but would definitely have stayed longer if my itinerary had allowed it. Great atmosphere. Well updated facilities while retaining its traditional feel. One small criticism. The walls are thin (traditional paper screens) so you feel like there is very little between you and the person in the bunk in the adjacent room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
9.7

Just one word: GREAT! Located in a small alley, in a fancy area packed with little restaurants and bars, and to a walking distance to Osaka station, Guesthouse U-En is an old house with huge wooden beams and decorated in an artistic way. Staff is really nice and helpful and I really appreciated the smart design of the bedrooms. Although tagged as "dorms", they'll give you the felling of getting your own small bedroom with your personal space closed with nice curtains. Cool and cosy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.3

Although I only spent a few hours at this guesthouse as I came late and leave very early, I can definitely say that this guesthouse is really great. It gives you a warm feeling as everybody talks and have fun. The hosts are wonderful. I didn't know if I can check-in in time and sent an e-mail ahead and they managed it well. Plus, they are really friendly. You will feel like you are at your home, so cozy. The 'room' is ok for its Japanese style house and you have a built-in security box.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice hostel with a friendly feel, close to the station, with lots of restaurants & shops on the doorstep. We were staying in a 6x mixed dormitory room, and everyone had a good sized bed, and personal storage area with lock provided. Would have liked to stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Arigato gozaimasu for your staying at U-En! Thank you for mentioning our failities and great location. It’s always a pleasure knowing when a guest loved their time with us! It was a pleasure to have hosted you. Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.