Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guesthouse U-En

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Mike_Prescott13
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2017
8.9

Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. First time I had stayed at a hostel alone and found it a great start. Close to the tube and easy to get to Dotonbori and Nara

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Dominic_Khong
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.7

This was my 3rd time staying here and like the other times it was great! I was in japan 7 months ago when I first stayed here and decided to come back and was greeted with the super friendly staff who were also so helpful. The place is really nice and clean and it's pretty much got everything you need even a cute cafe downstairs. The location is awesome since it's really close to 2 JR stations which makes getting around really easy. This place has such good vibes and it's now my go to in Osaka.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
10.0

This was my first trip to Japan and Guesthouse U-En was a great place to start! The staff is very friendly and the accommodations were good. I went in the late spring and the rooms were neither too hot nor cold. Showers and bathrooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2017
8.3

This hostel was cool, it had everything you needed and it was in an easy location with coffee, bars and restaurants around with easy access to trains. The common room is great for meeting people. The only downfall is the sleeping area and beds... The mattress is so thin that you are literally sleeping on the floor, inside a capsule box environment for 5 nights I found extremely uncomfortable and abit claustrophobic at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SimSalaBim
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
10.0

I can't praise the staff here enough. My time at this guesthouse was so pleasant. The staff are incredibly accomodating and helpful with insights to places to go. Their english is very good. They also helped me out of a few tight spots. Great location, close to two stations and easy to get around once I got my bearings. Wonderful atmosphere downstairs and comfy enough beds. I was slept well. It's true that noise carries in the bed cubicles but that didn't bother me. Thanks guys Will visit agan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
10.0

We enjoyed our stay quite a lot. I particularly liked the atmosphere and feel of the place. Beds were comfortable (women's dormitory). You get a safety locker right next to your bed which makes access to it easy and private if needed. The restaurant downstairs offers a great curry, too. Staff were very smiley and helpful. Would recommend and visit again if I ever go back to Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a great short stay at the hostel. Perfect location and atmosphere. It's a pity I stayed for only a short period and didn't get to socialize that much, but heard that it's a great place to meet friends and travelers. The room can be a little bit stuffy as the air doesn't circulate that well during the night - but in general the place is clean and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • travelingt0m5022
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2017
6.0

Nice cafe area on main level and friendly staff. Common area in hostel popular and people actually hanging out there. Dorm room was hot and stuffy - no circulation of air. The dorms are capsule style with beds right next to each other. Not necessarily a bad thing if walls between beds are good, but not so much here. Having people on all sides of you snoring and paper thin walls, they might as well be in the same bed as you. Location is ok - close to Fukushima line but a 15 min walk to subway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

I loved the traditional Japanese design of this hostel! It was gorgeous. The staff were helpful and there was a cool cafe/bar downstairs. Facilities were good too. I just stayed one night before going to the airport. It's a 5 minute walk to the nearest station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

Great little hostel. Beds are comfy, location is fairly good, facilities are good and everything is well maintained. Good for a short stay! Would recommend relaxing atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.