X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guesthouse U-En Reviews

2-9-23, Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
73 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I really enjoyed the experience. There was nothing I was overly dissatisfied with, but it does require a little bit of trust to leave all your luggage in a room that is being shared by a maximum of 12 people, but I was never truly worried about it. Shower/bathroom facilities were clean and homely and the kitchen/community areas were comfortable. The staff understood English and were good resources for places to go, food to try, and navigating the JR trains for our adventures in Osaka.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A brilliant hostel. Very cheap and with great facilities. The staff were lovely and really helpful and it was in a quieter part of Osaka but very easy to get everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great review. Thank you for your warm comments on reception staffs, our facilities, and our location. It was a pleasure to have hosted you. We will be happy to see you again when you come back. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

94%

I had a wondeful stay! One of the best hostels I have ever been to!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnnichwa. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us although you only was able to stay for a short night. We remember you looked great in Japanese Yukata. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us. Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

All staff are very nice and helpful. The location is just a minute walk from subway. The common room also nice which full kitchen facilities. Only one thing that bother our stay was the smell of the japanese mat in our triple room. Overall is awesome, really recommend!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a valuable comment. We are glad you liked our common room in our hostel. The smell of tatami mat is the rush straw Igusa which is said to have an relaxing, we think it had been little strong because of the humid days.. we'll be careful on it hereafter. Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

80%

We stayed in a Japanese-style room, and it was a great experience. Everything was very authentic. The staff was also very nice and helped us find everything we needed. Since it is in an old building, it smells a little strange.


97%

We stayed in U-En for one night. The hostel is near the Fukushima station. The atmosphere is pretty good and the staff are helpful and considerate. There are several soft sofa in the lounge. I like the lovely night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnnichwa. We are so glad that our facilities, atmosphere, large cushions made your stay enjoyable, although you only was able to stay for a short night. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us.Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

This hostel was more like a traditional ryokan, an absolutely beautiful place. The staff were delightful and friendly, and the place felt very cosy. 3 mins walk to Fukushima station, and some good bars and restaurants nearby. Loved it here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the high rating, we appreciate that so much! We all enjoyed talking with you, You are such a nice and friendly person. Hope we can have another chance to host you soon. Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

80%

this is my first time lived in hostel,i think it's very good and clean

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us.Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

97%

Amazing hostel! Great places, extremely clean, staff was so friendly and helpful. It is rather on the quiet side, not a huge hustle and bustle type of place (several families there). Not that that's a bad thing! Depends what kind of atmosphere you're looking for. I found it really chill and relaxing. Loved it. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review!! We are glad you enjoyed our environment and atmosphere. Thank you for staying with us, we would love for you to stay again if you come back to Osaka!! Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

91%

Very welcoming staff and great atmosphere. Very close to the subway and train.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a valuable comment. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. Also we’re happy to know that you found our all staff friendly! Looking forward to having you stay again some time Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

Greay atmosphere. First real hostel experience. Would stay again... no... will stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your, and would love to have you come stay with us again. Again, thank you for your warm comments. Guesthouse U-En crew

71%

Short walking distance to large outdoor shopping strip and great restaurants. Staff was very helpful and friendly. For my first stay in a hostel, I thought it was a bit crowded but maybe that is standard for all hostels.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnnichwa. We are glad that you have enjoyed shopping and foods around us. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us.Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

80%

Good location, fairly close to the station. Area nearby has some good restaurants and is pretty quiet at night. Atmosphere and decor is traditional, good if you're looking for a more iconic Japanese experience. Everything was clean and well-kept, staff was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comment!! It was really nice to see you and we are so happy you enjoyed staying with us here. We are delighted to hear that you liked our Japanese style. Thank you!! Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

83%

Guesthouse U-En is centrally located.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a valuable comment. We are glad and happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to having you stay again some time!!!

94%

My wife and daughter had a blast at this hostel and would highly recommend it to others! The location was perfect and the tatami family room was great fun for us with the traditional sliding door. Very fun decoration and design in the common areas and bathrooms. Thank you for making our night there special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review. We are glad that you liked our Traditional Japanese style and have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us.Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

I loved everything about guest house U-En !! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and felt it was far to short! The staff were wonderful the place was immaculate and the beds nooks were great. As a shared space in a traditional house always remember your ear plugs for an undisturbed sleep. Thats my only advice! Oh and hang out on that swing chair in the communal space for at least one short daytime nap or book chapter.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Arigato gozaimasu for your valuable comment! It is good to hear that you enjoyed our hostel's atmosphere! Wish your journey in Japan has been great and fun. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

86%

Great atmosphere and staff. Unfortunately, the walls were very thin and some other guests were noisy during the night. But in general a wonderful place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that walls or paper doors are not sound-proof enough because of the traditional Japanese townhouse. We put the sign of caution for keeping quiet during the night in all rooms. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

97%

Definitely a great place to stay!! But some guests in the private rooms were really loud late into the night, and it really disturbed all of us who were sleeping in the dorm in the next room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that walls or paper doors are not sound-proof enough because of the traditional Japanese townhouse. We put the sign of caution for keeping quiet during the night in all rooms. Hope the next visit to our hostel will be more enjoyable. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

I thought this place was quaint. The staff was very friendly. My friend and I arrived rather late but the girl at the front was so nice. I had the room that had beds on the floor you had to make yourself. I rather enjoyed the change of pace. I would definitely stay here again :).

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We’re glad you mentioned our staff! We’d love to have you stop in and enjoy staying with us again sometime! Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

Beautiful building. Great facilities and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arigato gozaimasu for your valuable comment! It’s always a pleasure knowing when a guest loved their time with us! Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Osaka Hostels

Please give us your feedback