X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Guesthouse U-En Reviews

2-9-23, Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very welcoming staff and great atmosphere. Very close to the subway and train.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Greay atmosphere. First real hostel experience. Would stay again... no... will stay again.


71%

Short walking distance to large outdoor shopping strip and great restaurants. Staff was very helpful and friendly. For my first stay in a hostel, I thought it was a bit crowded but maybe that is standard for all hostels.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location, fairly close to the station. Area nearby has some good restaurants and is pretty quiet at night. Atmosphere and decor is traditional, good if you're looking for a more iconic Japanese experience. Everything was clean and well-kept, staff was friendly and helpful.


83%

Guesthouse U-En is centrally located.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a valuable comment. We are glad and happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to having you stay again some time!!!

94%

My wife and daughter had a blast at this hostel and would highly recommend it to others! The location was perfect and the tatami family room was great fun for us with the traditional sliding door. Very fun decoration and design in the common areas and bathrooms. Thank you for making our night there special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review. We are glad that you liked our Traditional Japanese style and have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit, you will stay longer days with us.Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

I loved everything about guest house U-En !! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and felt it was far to short! The staff were wonderful the place was immaculate and the beds nooks were great. As a shared space in a traditional house always remember your ear plugs for an undisturbed sleep. Thats my only advice! Oh and hang out on that swing chair in the communal space for at least one short daytime nap or book chapter.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Arigato gozaimasu for your valuable comment! It is good to hear that you enjoyed our hostel's atmosphere! Wish your journey in Japan has been great and fun. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

86%

Great atmosphere and staff. Unfortunately, the walls were very thin and some other guests were noisy during the night. But in general a wonderful place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that walls or paper doors are not sound-proof enough because of the traditional Japanese townhouse. We put the sign of caution for keeping quiet during the night in all rooms. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

97%

Definitely a great place to stay!! But some guests in the private rooms were really loud late into the night, and it really disturbed all of us who were sleeping in the dorm in the next room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that walls or paper doors are not sound-proof enough because of the traditional Japanese townhouse. We put the sign of caution for keeping quiet during the night in all rooms. Hope the next visit to our hostel will be more enjoyable. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

I thought this place was quaint. The staff was very friendly. My friend and I arrived rather late but the girl at the front was so nice. I had the room that had beds on the floor you had to make yourself. I rather enjoyed the change of pace. I would definitely stay here again :).

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We’re glad you mentioned our staff! We’d love to have you stop in and enjoy staying with us again sometime! Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

Beautiful building. Great facilities and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arigato gozaimasu for your valuable comment! It’s always a pleasure knowing when a guest loved their time with us! Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

One of the best hostels I have been. The capsule-style-beds were very comfortable. The staff is awesome in giving you recommendations. You also can rent a bike, which is definitely worth to see the beautiful side of Osaka.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our special bed type, and exploring Osaka with bike. We also really enjoyed chatting with you! thank you for the nice time. Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

Loved to stay here. was the best hostel we had in Japan. Already miss it! Thank you for having us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a great comment. We are so glad and happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always wish your journey has been great and fun. Thanks again. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

It was a really great time in U-en.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Osaka. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again.Guesthouse U-En crew

94%

Nice hostel in Osaka. Not far from train stations, but farer from subway. The staff is really nice and helpful and the decor inside is very traditional. It is a convivial place and the kitchen is also very convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thank you for a valuable comment. We are delighted to hear that you liked our facilities in our hostel. Hope to see you again on the next visit. Guesthouse U-En crew

74%

There's no elevator so it's kind of hard to carry large luggage up the stairs.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that we have only the stairs, but we are always happy to assist you if you need any help. Please feel free to ask our staff. Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

cool hostel in a old japanese house. staff is very nice . they also rent bikes (500¥ per day), always a nice way to explore a city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thanks for your staying at U-En twice! We are glad that you have enjoyed cycling around Osaka city. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

U-En has a great location that is a 15-minute walk from Osaka Station. The interior is beautiful, comfortable, and clean. My friend and I stayed twice in one trip, once in a private room and then in the dormitory room. Both were comfortable and had futon style beds. The only downside to the traditional style building is that the walls are thin so noise travels, but during our three nights total, it was nothing earplugs couldn't block. The staff are also super friendly and helpful! A+!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for the great review. We are delighted to hear that you liked our rooms and futon style! We miss you already :) Hope to see you again on the next visit! Thanks again for a valuable comment. Guesthouse U-En crew

71%

Friendly staff, clean and nice hostel, but unfortunately our room was smaller than in U-En's previous location. The new location, while close to JR loop line, has very little of interest in the area surrounding the hostel. Security could be better, our door was locked only by a 3-digit padlock and access to the back window was unobstructed from inside the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for your valuable feedback as it would help us to improve our facilities. We'll get a stronger lock on that door soon! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on the next visit! Thank you again. Guesthouse U-En crew

100%

Very nice place! Good facilities and friendly staff! There are many food stores and restaurant around! Train station also in walking distance! Highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Konnichiwa! Thank you for a valuable comment. Also we are glad you(architect&designer) liked our renovated house. We are very proud of the fact. :) Hope to see you again on the next visit! Guesthouse U-En crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Osaka Hostels

Please give us your feedback