Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

GuiLin GreenForest Hostel (Railway Station)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
7.4

Love the staffs here. They are very helpful and provide a lot of service to us. Food of their cafe is nice! Toilet and room a bit dirty and old. But generally quite comfortable if you are looking for a cheap accommodation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Aug 2017
6.6

There was hardly anyone staying at the hostel, barely saw another traveller. The door didn't lock properly and one of the plug sockets was just hanging off the wall with open wires. Luckily this hostel was at least near the bus station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2017
8.6

Compared to most other hostels we have been to in China the staffs' English was really good and they were very helpful. All in all he hostel was really nice and good value for money although the bathroom facilities seemed quite old.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
8.6

Located walking distance to the town centre and very close to Guilin train station. The staff are great and you feel part of the family with the kids playing around you. Wifi a bit patchy and the hostel itself has maybe seen better days, but a nice place to stay for a few days. Not sure why, but seemed to have more foreign guests than the average Chinese hostel, which can help for socialising.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel was one of our favourites whilst travelling Asia. The staff couldn't be more helpful, especially with organising tours and recommending where to explore in Guilin, and the location is perfect. We felt very safe staying in the hostel. A great atmosphere for backpackers, with a communal area where the food and drink served by the hostel was delicious. Room matched the description given, very clean, good air conditioning etc. Overall this hostel made our time in Guilin very enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • haleyholty5179
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.0

Fantastic hostel! If you're not a really picky person and just go for the experience this place is amazing. I loved every inch of it. Great lobby to hang out in, pretty close to elephant trunk hill and the staff are really accommodating. Been to this hostel twice. First time I left a hat there. Emailed them and came back like two months later and they still had it saved for me. So great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.9

The hostel looks like it could use a loving hand, but I would not let that scare you off. The staff is amazingly kind and very helpful. They act like a happy family and it makes the hostel feel like a home. We where even at times quite dificult costumers with a lot of requests, but they always solved our problem with a smile. Most of the staff speaks English to an understandable level and what they lack in level they make up for in effert. I would definetly return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
3.1

Location doesn't make up for a night with no A/C and crushing-on-da-couch filled with rats and mosquitoes instead. Staff try to compensate w/ free breakfast but "NO coffee included" and end up changing rooms for a worse one. Cleaning standards r simply non-existing. How is that much rumble and noise happening when there's no windows in the rooms? WC flush malfunctioning and not enough room for taking a shower. Looks like there's no one in charge there but a full family just sharing their space.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, I am helen the owner here, thank you for you stay at our hostel. sorry to heard about the dorm room and the staff sitiuation here. I do my apologize for you we did not make you feel more like happy here. also wanted to say something for my staff and my family here, Our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home even thougt they just pass thru our door. the first night you stay in the mix dorm the A/C WORKS WELL, but the second night at mid night it stop running, and you did not let us know at the first time( if our guest need help ,just ring the bell), we Absolutely we helping u , but when my staff work on time in the morning and they find u at the sofa. and we still have try our best to make u feel more comfortable here but it seems that you did not want to let us know what you have thinking , but finally i still want to say sorry and do my apologize for u, our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. have a nice day.---from helen

5th Jul 2017
10.0

Great base for Guilin and Guangxi Autonomous Region with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. They also sell discounted tickets for local attractions and can book tours. Great value for 30RMB.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.4

The hostel is in a good location and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The bus stop to most of the attractions is right outside too so that's handy. There's an area to social in which is nice (beware of the mosquitos though!). The dorm rooms were a decent size but not the cleanest- we stayed there for three days and the bins weren't emptied and the rooms were cleaned and the shower isn't the best. But aside from that, it's pretty cheap and still good value!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×