X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guilin Travelling With Hostel Reviews

110-25, South Zhongshan Rd, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1050 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Planned on staying here for a week, but changed my mind. The girl at the reception desk was VERY friendly,and helpful in my travels both in and out of Guilin. She gave nice tips, and was always smiling. They even kept my bags safe for me when I was travelling somewhere else. The hostel offers breakfast and cocktails. Also you can buy cheap postcards which they will send for you. Nice hostel! One lesser thing was the bad lighting in the room though.. Lockers present in the room.


80%

Nice place with a nice lounge. Enjoyed staying in and picking a movie. Staff were very friendly. Needs a lick of paint and good clean aside from that I would stay again.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was perfect, close to the train and bus station as well as to the city centre. The tours they offered were little expensive, and they told us the tour guide spoke English, but he hardly spoke any English. The staff was kinda lazy and it took us great efford to get them talking. The bar and common area were good.


69%

This hostel was ok, It was clean enough and the dorm bed was comfortable. We had a bad experience with the bamboo tour, the girl at the counter told us that we had to come back from the tour by ourselves, and when we did, it was much longer than we expected. It took us like 4 hours and a lot of walking.The whole tour was a disaster. The shared space was great, with a tv, music and a restaurant, but there was always the family of the staff there, with a child. Not that great for the ambiance...


89%

The staff r extremely helpful, nice n friendly. Location wise; its just 5 minutes walking distance to the bank of china, bus n train station, and other stuff. If u r a muslim, there r around 8 halal restaurants and a mosque within 300m radius from the hostel.


60%

Some staff very friendly - girl on bar and reception man. Others completely rude and unhelpful, particularly regarding information about sights etc. Hostel looks nothing like the pictures- much more run down. Overall an ok experience and good value for what we paid. A lot of noise coming from outside both early morning and late night. Bathroom weird layout - shower right beside toilet and no shower curtain meaning everything got soaked after shower and drain was blocked so took ages to drain.


66%

Felt like the hostel belong to the staff not the guests.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,thanks for stay at our hostel. sorry to heard about the sitiuation. Due to was one of our staff’s birthday, we might a little bit excited during that Day. we're currently remedied these problems with our HOSTEL team. Our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. .-From helen

100%

Good place. We arrived at 1:30 am, and staff were there at the reception. Fantastic staff, really encourage guests to be social, made my trip to BeiJing so much better.. Very welcoming and helping! Rooms are clean and quiet, Would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at travelling with hostel . we are glade we were able to help to on your journey. welcome back anytime .-From helen

77%

Very near the bus station and easy access to pedesterian road just on foot.


83%

Very nice hostel well located (5 min walking to the bus station to go to Yangshuo, Rice terraces etc...). Staff is nice and welcoming, rooms are spacious enough and almost clean. Really good atmosphere of an international hostel, and great restaurant to eat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Glade to hear you a had great time at our hostel. every postive review is a great encouragement to our staff here at our hostel. .-From helen

80%

Nice common areas, very nice location next to river and just a few minutes walk from major bus and train stations. Room sparse but clean and comfortable, hostel itself is quite but a workshop/mechanics downstairs created some irritating night-time noise in my particular room. Staff extremely helpful and well informed. Nice range of postcards on sale!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,thanks for the postive feedback we're here at GuiLin travelling with hostel are very proud of our location location location which is located in the centre of Guilin . hope to see you again soon.-From Helen.

100%

The staff were very helpful and quick in responding to queries. The room was cosy and clean. Great atmosphere and fantastic place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. .-From helen

94%

The location is very nice, rooms are small but clean, and we really enjoyed the welcoming . The girl at the reception was very helpful :)

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks so much for your great feed back and your support to our work team.We are glad that you had a nice stay in our hotel,have a good trip in China and welcome back.

100%

Had an awesome stay here , the location is perfect plus the staff were really fun and friendly which made out stay enjoyable. I will definitely come back here if I'm back in Guilin.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. .-From helen

97%

My friends and I only stayed for the night but our room was great - very clean and air con provided which was ideal! The owner was so lovely and seemed genuinely pleased to have us which was really nice! Overall I would definitely recommend this place or stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at travelling with hostel . we are glade we were able to help to on your journey. welcome back anytime .-From helen

100%

It is the best hostel I stayed so far,the staff helped me a lot about the tour even i booked outside.They take care of everyone incase you meet some kind of scams.so happy with the staff and the room.I booked tour with the angency as well as the hotel,otherwise,I will stay here longer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for choosing us and give it such a good feed back . Hope to see you again . and Happy travells in China . -From helen

54%

Atmosphere is nice and calm but not like very happy. Staff is a family and really nice and helpful and good English. Downside were the cockroaches in my room and the bad wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,thank you for you stay at our hostel. sorry to heard about the dorm room sitiuation. due to a large number of guest that weekend we're a little under staff. we're currently remedied these problems with our house keeping team. on a positive note we're glade you had a great time & that our staff were helpful in your stay at our hostel here.- From helen

100%

The staff of the hostel was very nice and helpful, especially while figuring out where to go for guilin rice noodles or a Classical Chinese massage. Thank you very much for all the good advices and ideas what to do and where to go to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. .-From helen

91%

Great place, but a little different standard than the "Traveling With" hostels in Xi'an and Yangshuo. It's still an amazing price for what you get. Really close to the bus station, and lots of places to eat fairly close. They also upgraded us to a riverview room at no cost, which was great, and the staff were very helpful booking tours and for helping us explore Guilin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door.For the sitiuation you remind that the different standard than the "Traveling With" hostels in Xi'an and Yangshuo, due to Guilin travelling with is the first hostel we own, we may not clear how to build a stander, as we got some idear after guilin and nanning. so now we are on the way at the "Traveling With" hostels .-From helen

57%

Friendly but somewhat incompetent staff that makes commission on the tours they sell. If you're game to utilize your Mandarin, then set out on your own -- it'll work out to be about 30% cheaper than the hostel's offerings. Faulty outlets and shoddy bathrooms were standard here. Don't expect the lobby to have the AC on after a day of trekking in the humidity. Value for money seems about right, but you can definitely do better in China.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,thank you for you stay at our hostel. sorry to heard about the staff sitiuation. due to a large number of guest that weekend we're a little under staff, and that staff you talking before is a new person just working here for a few days. Thanks for your feed back. we're currently remedied these problems with fire and re training the staffs. Our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. .-From helen

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback