Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Guilin Travelling With Hostel Reviews

110-25, South Zhongshan Rd, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1072 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The staff is amazing. They have a nice common room and the location is also great. The beds are too hard and the bathroom needs some improvement. Overall nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,thanks so much for your feedback,we are very pround of our hostels location and we will try our best to improve the service to make you feel home during your stay,have a good day.


The hostel was very good, in a great location. Our room was very nice as well. The common room is also nice (though there is a cat wandering about, and my spouse is allergic - so it was a problem for us to stay there for long periods of time). Overall we liked it, and we already booked another night on our way back from Yang Shou!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your feedback,and we are happy to having you in our hotel,we were very sorry about the cat distrubed you,have a good voyage in China and welcome back.


Staff were the best I had on the whole China trip and helped me beyond the call of duty. They arranged a fantastic trip down the Li River to Yangshoe, took me to the best massage place and introduced me to the best street eating place where I returned to try the different foods. Made my time in Guilin great.


Just perfect. Mona was nice:)

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Worst hostel I stayed in china. Toilet not clean, bed not confortable and the staff was little dump. At least was cheap. Stayed just for a night and I dont reccomend you stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ,sorry about you did enjoy your stay in Green Forest Hostel,and thanks for you feedback by the way.We have many clients they really loves our hostel and give us their lovely feedback,we would improve our service to prove the value ,have a good day.


We just loved our stay here. The.staff is the best and the common room.so relaxed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Liset,we are so greatful for having you in our hotel,and thanks so much for your lovely feedback.We are a great team to make you feel home during your stay,enjoy your voyage.


The hostel had a very friendly atmosphere, the staff there were also very helpful. We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Guilin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi SIU,thanks for your great feedback,we are happy to have you in our hotel,and your lovely comment.Welcome back anytime,:)


I have been hosteling for over 40 years and I think that the Green Forest Hostels (also stayed in Yangzhou) are the BEST! I went back to Guilin G.F.H. after visiting the rice terraces and again after Yangzhou. I wish they were throughout China. Guilin GFH could have better lighting in the bedrooms, especially at the desk but they do have international sockets. Their staff are fantastic and the location is perfect. Top marks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello,happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thrught our door. welcome back.


Really nice staff, quite helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Franck,how are you?Thanks for your great feedback,have great time in China and welcome back to Guilin Green Forest Hostel


Green Forest is always the best choice no matter which city it is. I hope they gonna open more hostel since they really know how to create a nice atmosphere. We had a very good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maxi.Thanks for your awsome feedback.Now we do open more hostels,like Xi'an,Chongqing,Guilin,Nanning,Dali these cities have Green Forest Hotel.Have great time in China and welcome back anytime:)


Very nice hostel, with really nice and helpful staff (all of them! thank you, girls!), and a cool common area where they even taught me how to play Mahjong! ;) I came back for another night here after going to Yangshuo. Xie xie, and 'til next time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ,thanks so much for your feedback,and we are so glad that you have great time in our hostel.And welcome back to our hotel anytime,and play the majiang too.


What I especially enjoyed about this hostel is the helpful fluently English-speaking staff, its proximity to the bus- and train station and their mahjong table in the lobby!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the postive feedback we're here at guilin green forest hostel are very proud of our location location location which is only 10 minutes walk from the train station 5 minutes walk from the bus staion. hope to see you again soon. helen


We stayed in the double bed ensuite room. The room was nice, good soft beds but the heater could be better. The hostel had a good communal area and the laundry service was for free! Staff helped out great with writing down our next stop in Chinese so we could buy train- and bustickets ourselves. If staying in Guilin, this is excellent hostel with good value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi,glade to hear you a had great time at our hostel. every postive review is a great encouragement to our staff here at guilin green forest hostel


Great for an easy night in guilin

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello , thanks for the postive feedback we're here at guilin green forest hostel are very proud of our location location location which is only 10 minutes walk from the train station 5 minutes walk from the bus staion. hope to see you again soon. helen


Not the cheapest place around, the level of cleanliness is very poor, the room had a funny smell, very poor wifi connectivity, not so friendly staff...I'm not going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thank you for your stay in our hotel and very sorry about you did't have a great time here with us.And we would try our best to prove our value.Welcome back any time.


Nice hostel but a bit noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for choosing us and giveus feed back . we will do our best to prove ourselves at any time. Hope to see you again . and Happy travells in China .helen


My 3rd time at this hostel. Budget twin ensuite room had good beds and free heat (not a given in these parts of China). Excellent location close to train station and main bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the awesome feedback . we are glade we were able to help to on your journey. welcome back anytime .


just average, nothing more or less

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for choosing us and give us feed back, sorry to heard about you did not have a grate time here. see our huge numbersof feed back, most of our guest have a awesome experience in our greenfroest hostel. and any way thanks again for your feed back, we will keep the hard work and make here more comfortabe for everyone. have a nice day. helen


This Green Forest has nothing to do with the one from Yangshuo. The common area is nice but the staff is not very friendly. I am really afraid of cats and they had one in the common area which was playing around, I was watching a movie and I couldnt move because of the cat, I asked them to take the cat out of there and 2 mins after it was back, I had to leave and stay in my room. Besides, we paid for the best room: it was old, w/bad shower, smelled a LOT like deep-fried food... Bad experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for choosing us and give us feed back, sorry to heard about you did not have a grate time here. sorry to heard about the room sitiuation. we're currently remedied these problems with our house keeping team. and any way we will do our best to make here more comfortable for everybody .thanks again for your feed back and have a nice day . helen


This was the 2nd time I stayed here. Had a budget twin room that was excellent value for money. Also, the staff here was amazing when I lost my wallet (and passport) on a tour bus. They helped me communicate with the tour company and bus driver and gave me directions on how to hopefully retrieve my wallet in the middle of the night. A super helpful girl from the staff actually volunteered to go with me on a crazy expedition to find the bus and my belongings! Thanks so much! Saved my vacation!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,girl thank you for choosing us and give it such a good feed back . looking forword to having you back again . Happy travel .、

(667 results)

View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback