Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Austin

  • 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
8.9

The staff is friendly. The facility is nice but it needs to be cleaner. There are flies and gnats in the kitchen and in the seating area and its super gross. No one wants to be trying to put their food together in the kitchen or eat in the dining room and have bugs flying around them and landing on them. Its so so gross. The shower curtain in the bathrooms are gross and covered in nastiness. They need to be cleaned or just straight up replaced. Th cleanliness is my biggest complaint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • alexegan093754
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.9

HI Austin had a great vibe. It was right next to the Colorado river so paddle boarding and kayaking are easy to do, plus the view at sunset is amazing. Met some really cool people there, staff are super nice and go out of their way to make sure you have a fun stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th May 2017
9.7

Super cool hostel! I really enjoyed the vibe here. Free breakfasts were really good, location is so beautiful (right by the lake), staff were friendly and understanding too (were happy for us to arrive at 3am). I would definitely stay here when I visit Austin again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chanjwill9715
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th May 2017
7.4

Not bad. The men's bathroom was undergoing renovations. Understandable but we would have appreciated an advanced notice via email. Kinda far away from downtown Austin but very quiet here if you just want to chill out. Atmosphere was very quiet since it was Memorial day weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
8.0

Good hostel, very high price specially on weekends. I doesn't have hostel atmosphere at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Location is a long walk (2 mi.)to Historic District, but staff was super nice and helpful., Daily breakfast was tasty and filling. Bathrooms were a small challenge during remodeling, but really not an issue with a positive attitude. Guests were generally courteous and interesting. Not a party hostel (you can actually sleep at night).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for your stay and your kind words. We hope to see you back again. Thank you!

  • sebastianbyron
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
7.1

Very modern and well put together hostel. However as found with most Hi hostels the atmosphere is dead. The common areas are too spacious which in my opinion makes it intimidating for people to socialise! If a party is what you are looking for count this hostel out! Location is great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
5.4

Wasn't very impressed with this hostel, other than Josh at reception who was absolutely lovely. The property was riddled with fruit flies and a horrible smell throughout, showers and toilets were not cleaned properly and the entire property has a sticky and dusty layer. The kitchen was ok but again, not cleaned regularly. One of the days the receptionist left the front door open and left to do some work around the hostel letting strangers walk in and out which left us feeling uneasy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for sharing your comments with us. I do apologize for your experience here. I can tell you that our showers and restrooms are going through renovations as we speak. Thanks again for letting us know what we can do better.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
7.4

The Location was great and the staff was friendly. Wasn't the cleanest and their breakfast was pretty much close to nothing, but for the price it was a great place to stay for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
7.7

I stayed there for a night and the hostel was comfortable. Not the best hostel I have stayed at but it was good for one night. It is a bit far out of the main party area so it's best if you have a car. However, it is next to a lake that you can have a morning run. I wish they have ensuite bathroom. Overall, it was good for a one night stay but I wouldn't stay there longer than that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you back again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.