Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Austin

  • 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
HI Austin Located at 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin.
HI Austin
USA
Austin TX 78741 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741
89% 548
30.2450172 -97.7234101
HI Austin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.7

Great facilities- kitchen and bathroom were great and breakfast was good also. The only down side was there were a lot of varying ages and not much of an atmosphere so wouldn't recommend for solo travelers. The staff are also a bit odd and not overly helpful or friendly. It's in a super location along the lake, it's really pretty and lovely for evening walks. A bit of a hike from the centre but the buses are really convenient and close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.4

It's a great place. Staff is very helpful - I liked every one!!! Once in awhile someone was away from the desk, but that happens, they literally run to help when you ring. - I did recommend the hostel to a friend's friend, and he is over the moon because of the location and grateful for the reco. I always stay with y'all when I'm in Austin. HI is consistent and I respect your Texas operations a great deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.9

Great spot, on the water, friendly staff, good overall!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. I'm so happy our staff were helpful and you enjoyed our location. We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.4

It was Great,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thank you for your positive review. We take all feedback seriously and work to make appropriate improvements. We hope to see you again. Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel in itself was great. Clean spacious rooms and common area. It is a bit of a trek from the city centre (a 20 minute bus ride) but placed on a beautiful part of the lake. The gentleman that worked at the hostel were wonderfully helpful and welcoming, however the two ladies that I met who worked their were very unhelpful, unapproachable and seemed like they really didn't care.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.6

The staff at the hostel were friendly and really kind. One staff member in particular was so sweet after I reported some food stolen. He offered to reimburse me, which was so kind. The breakfast was really nice and the space was well maintained over looking the water. Having lived in Austin, the E Riverside area is not the best, so please remember to take out any visible belongings, and don't walk alone at night. I would recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hibhibs
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved my stay at HI Austin, the staff were all great (loved leigh & Liz in particular) and I felt I could come to them with any problems. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy and they all came with lockers which were a reassurance. The bathrooms were kept clean and the breakfast was nice (and free!), with the hostel amenities on offer catering to various interests. The location was excellent- right on ladybird lake and the hiking trail, with buses and cheap fastens running downtown

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ella_t24
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Jul 2016
9.4

Beautiful location on the lake/river, 5 minute walk to the bus stop to catch a bus into downtown, takes about 10 mins. Some dodgy people near the bus stop area so just be aware of your surroundings. Staff were great. Great kitchen. Great free breakfasts. Great activities like kayaking and paddle boarding on the river. Very clean. Free BBQ and beers one night which was awesome. People were friendly. Only problem was one girl had her laptop stolen from her dorm room, the staff were helpful though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Nice hostel. A little far from town so I would recommend making use of their bike rentals or renting a car. Staff are friendly and helpful- especially Diego who provided us with lots of information on what to do and where to go in town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

It's been an amazing stay at HI Austin. The only little thing that we didn't like was that I had to tell the girl in the reception to bot talk so loud at 11.30 at night. It's suppose to be quiet at 10 pm and she should know that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.