Hostelworld.com

HI Austin

  • 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Austin Located at 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin.
HI Austin
USA
Austin TX 78741 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741
87% 494
30.2450172 -97.7234101
HI Austin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th May 2016
10.0

Nice place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • somethingsarah
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.1

Friendly staff, easily accessible amenities, and welcoming atmosphere! While it is not directly downtown, I would absolutely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.6

really enjoyable and will return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Awesome! Next time I come back to Austin I'll be coming here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
9.1

Very convenient, comfy, clean, and laid back atmosphere. Motif is appropro funky, hip-Austin. Located directly on Lady Bird Bike Trail/Town Lake. Safe, secure bike-housing area with lock availabilities. Nice commons area to mingle with other hostel guests. Travel/tour maps and guides available. Free wireless. Shared room with five other females, and had no uncomfortable feelings at all. Everyone respected each other's space and privacy. Only negative was lack of AC output in room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

The location was amazing overlooking the lake. You could sit in the Lounge chairs and watch the rowing teams go by or leisurely read a book. The only complaints I would have were apparently the AC was not working in my room so they had a couple of fans but in TX in the humid spring that is no help so it was an uncomfortable night of sleep. I have also stayed at other IH facilities that have offered more amenities such as individual lights and electrical plugs for each bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
7.4

The place is great, next to a river. Rooms are big and beds are comfortable. They have lockers for your belongings. The main downside is that it's in the middle of nowhere, so no big parties around, which makes a very quiet place for a tranquil night of sleep. Think twice if you are a party freak. The showers are a bit annoying, releasing very little amount of water, just a hairline if you want hot water. But apart from location and shower, the place is really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
6.9

Great location and price. Unfortunately both myself and traveling partner got insect bites while we slept. :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
9.7

First hostel I have ever been in and had a great time. My only complaint was the bed had a been-used-too-long-groove in it but that was figured out and I slept pretty well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Kenneth! I'm super glad you enjoyed your first stay at a hostel! Thank you for pointing out the old bed - I've brought that to the attention of our property manager. I hope you get to hostel more in the future - come back and visit us again soon! Leigh - FD Lead

  • leeharding862735
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel, it's a nice walk along the lake heading downtown into Austin, the staff helped me with my questions, met some great friends in the common rooms and loved the kitchen. I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Lee! Thanks for staying with us - I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself while you were here! Glad to hear that you'd come back again - we hope to see you soon! Leigh - FD Lead

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.