Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Austin

  • 2200 S. Lakeshore Blvd., 78741, Austin, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
10.0

HI Austin is great!!! Terrific staff -- love super helpful Josh . Staying for 8 nights. The hostel is so clean with fresh, good quality towels each morning and real attention to detail in common areas and rooms. Mattresses are also super comfortable and blankets are plenty warm for cooler Texas nights. Breakfast is good and staff frequently puts it out earlier than the 7-9 AM posted time (I'm an early riser). Used the washer/dryer which were inexpensive and took a fraction of expected time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your stay and review. I'll pass along your kind comments to Josh. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again, Kenny. (GM)

6th Mar 2017
7.7

HI Austin was decent for comfort and great for the atmosphere. I stayed for one night. I booked a 14 bed mixed dorm. I wish I booked a female dorm because it smelled liked balls in there. I didn't use the showers so I can't tell you how the showers were, but it looked clean. The bathroom was spacious. I didn't eat breakfast there so I can't tell you about that either. The atmosphere was great. People were friendly, staff and the people staying there. The common area has a nice open layout.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. I first want to apologize for the odor in the first dorm during your stay. As much as we do to try and prevent that - sometimes in the larger dorms it's very hard to control when we are near capacity. We'll take it under advisement though. Thanks for taking time to write about your stay and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks! -Kenny (GM)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.1

A really nice spot run by a friendly crew. The spot on the lake is beautiful. The hostel rents bikes- I wish I had known!! I asked about when i checked in but the clerk gave me no info. It's worth it to rent a bike as the hostel is a bit out of town center. Check out the Mexican family restaurant down the street too- homemade tortillas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for your kind review. I'm not sure why you weren't provided info on the bikes when you checked in. I 'm sorry about that. I wonder if the Mexican resturaunt your speaking of is El Pastor if so - it is delicious. So many tacos here!! Thanks again, Kenny (GM)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.4

The staff was phenomenal. They had ideal rules (quiet hours, no drinking in the space) to keep away the craziness, specially because myself and a colleague stayed during the SXSW weeks. It is a great last minute crash if you need a reasonably priced place in Austin. A 10 -15 minute bus ride or Fasten ride to the city. The only uncomfortable thing was rooming with folks (men and women) who either were alot older or alot younger than myself. YIKES.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay.

22nd Feb 2017
5.4

Showers were dirty and broken. Staff was nice but just there to give you a key. Kitchen was below average. Far from city but it was on a running trail on the river which was pretty. Nothing spectacular, disappointing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Awesome staff, location and room! Enjoyed our stay, would love to visit again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your review and staying with us. We'd love to see you back if you're in the area. Thanks again, Kenny (GM)

26th Jan 2017
9.1

It was so cozy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your kind words. -Kenny (GM)

24th Jan 2017
10.0

Lovely setting right on Lake Austin! Everything about this hostel was great for me - quests conversed with one another, a couple seemed to be working at their computers, the kitchen was well arranged for preparing dinner. Overall perfect for spending time with others and getting ample space to read or work and enough quiet for sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We all really appreciate it and hope to see you again. Thanks! Kenny (GM)

20th Jan 2017
10.0

The location is beautiful and convenient. The staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
6.6

It was an okay hostel, but we ended up going to another hostel to party and bar crawl. HI Austin is good if you're only looking to get sleep and get out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.