Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Banff Alpine Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2017
8.6

Nice hostel to spend a few days in. Place was generally kept clean and secure. The staff were very helpful and friendly, with plenty of advice for the area. While the hostel is a bit far away they do offer a bus pass that gets you into town and back for free. Overall a place I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
9.7

Staff and cleanliness were great. The restaurant and bar personnel where very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Sep 2017
8.0

Nice hostel, it is overpriced but it's the location you are paying for. Rooms are good and nice areas to sit and hang out. Kitchen is fine, although the walk in fridge smells terribly. Free bus shuttle into the town is great and the staff were happy to help us with booking trips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
9.4

Great hostel, very comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Not located near downtown if you want to go out to the local bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2017
9.4

Awesome people at reception

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Alex, Thanks so much for a kind and positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and the staff helped make your trip a special one, Hope to have you back one day, Thanks, Adam

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2017
8.0

Overall, a great stay here. Pros: Good facilities, organized events each night, really beautiful for a hostel with great common areas/outdoor seating, plenty of showers. Cons: It is far from town (25min walk), no breakfast included, the food at the cafe isn't great. I do like the hostel and would recommend if the cons don't bother you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
6.3

Was very noisy after 11:00 pm. People also coming in to room at 1:00am making beds talking turning on lights. I wouldn't stay there again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ron, Thanks for the review we appreciate the feedback to help continue to improve. I am sorry your stay was affected by a few individuals, unfortunately all we can do is control noise in the building after 11pm in the hallways and main building however we can do very little about guests in the room without someone informing us at the time of the incident. As a hostel you may always run the risk of a disturbing room mate but hope this didn't affect your experience in Banff too much as it is an amazing place. Sorry you feel you can't come back as this seems like a one off occurrence but nope it hasn't putt you off HI Hostes as a whole, Thanks again, Adam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
6.9

There was absolutely nothing okay about spending $210 a night for an 8x10 box with a double bed in it. This is a hostel, not a hotel. The price is completely unacceptable by normal hostel standards, then you throw the tiniest room I have ever rented from a hostel into the mix and I was beyond disappointed. It may be the 'cheapest room in Banff,' however, I found a room across the street that was 5x bigger, had it's own facilities, hot tubes, water slides, a sauna & 2 pools for $50 more a night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Andrew, Thanks for the review we appreciate the feedback good and bad, I'm glad to see the staff were good and welcoming during your short time here. I am sorry to see this, For some people cost is everything and they just need a bed for the night and in Banff this year in particular the prices are very high throughout town and we have to be competitive, however if this is not what you had in mind when you booked online we fully understand. We are glad to see you managed to find accommodation more to your liking across the road and I can see we gave you a full refund which I hope means you didn't leave the hostel too disappointed with your experince, I hope that you enjoyed your stay in Banff, Thanks again, Adam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
8.0

Got upgraded to a female-only dorm upon arrival, yay! The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. These are the cheapest accommodations you will find in Banff during the busy season, and you can take a bus right into downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Anna, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for taking the time to review our location - we appreciate the feedback. We hope you can make it back again soon! Kind Regards, Zena - Front Desk

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2017
8.6

A bit far from DT and banff ave, but they provide a free shuttle pass which is super handy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Caitlin, thank you for taking the time to review our location - we appreciate you taking the time to do so! We are located on Tunnel Mountain - about a 15 minute walk from the downtown area. As you mentioned, we do provide free bus passes to all of our guests - really handy if you don't have a car or can't be bothered to walk! Kind Regards, Zena - Front Desk

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×