X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Banff Alpine Centre Reviews

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
633 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Internet access could be improved in the bedrooms ...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's much appreciated. Just wanted to let you know that if you were staying on the third floor of our Main Building we did have a technical issue with one of our access points that has been fixed. Hope to host you again soon. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

83%

Had a good time staying here. Very nice hostel good area


94%

The staff is friendly and the guy on Tuesday morning , Oct 7/2012 was very helpful who booked the Airporter and made the flight confirmation. Although the location is a bit far from Banff townsite, a free bus pass was given out to guest for unlimited travel in town with C$5 refundable deposit. The bathroom is clean and spacious. The atmosphere is well balance, not too quiet and not too noisy.


89%

Nice accomodations, good facility, and friendly staff. I had a good stay. Saturday night quiet time could have been better when the kids got back from the bar and continued partying in the halls until 3AM.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, always great to hear positive feedback about our hostel and staff. Please accept my apologies for the noise you experienced during our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am. We have 24 hour staff at the Front Desk, including a Night Cleaner/Security person who is responsible for doing regular security checks. We also employ an outside security company to assist in these matters. I will be sure to followup with our staff and retrain on noise checks. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

89%

Everything was pretty good.no complaints.


83%

We had a car so it made it an easy location for us. Nice and quiet, pricy for a hostel but it is Banff. It certainly beat camping in the rain and cold!


74%

To much noise at night!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, I would like to apologize for the noise you experienced at night. Please note that we have a 24 hour Front Desk including a Night Cleaner/Security who is responsible for doing regular noise checks and ensuring our quiet times of 11pm to 7am are enforced. I will followup with our staff to ensure these checks are being done. I would also like to recommend our newer Marybelle Building, which is much quieter without the Bar. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

77%

Good hostel, with a location just outside the downtown area. Hostel has a bar, restaurant area which is convenient. Internet was fine, but overall the hostel felt overpriced (couple staying in a double room with shared bathroom). We might've been spoiled after staying in HI Whistler, as that was cheaper and more modern with a private ensuite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt we were overpriced, we do feel that we are competitively priced for the busy tourist season in Banff. Great to hear that you have also stayed at our property in Whistler. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

77%

Lack of organisation and communication about breakfast, normally at 7:00 am, the first day it was finally at 8:00 and the day after 9:00 with no previous information! So do not wake up early... When there is a group, we have to wait for the breakfast, it is not normal !!! And the breakfast is different between group and private reservations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting a review, please accept my apologies for the confusion at breakfast time and I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager. We will definitely aim to ensure there is better communication next time a group is inhouse, sorry again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

91%

the hostel is so good~ I love the staffs there. everything is clean, and you can find everything you need there. you can also get the free buss pass. I strongly recommend you this hostel. btw, I looked the 4mixed room in HOSTELWORLD.COM; however, i got the mixed 6 room when I arrived there. I told them that the website shows 4 mixed. but they showed me that, the message they got from HOSTELWORLD was mixed 4 OR 6. Fortunately, they helped us to change into 4 mixed room at the second night.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hostel. It's so cool to hear such positive feedback about the staff, cleanliness and facilities. Also great that you used our bus pass and would recommend us! My apologies for the 4 bed dorm confusion, but I'm happy to hear it was sorted out for you. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

77%

Expensive, like everything in Banff, but cheaper than other hotels. Overall, everything was great, although the room was extremely hot due to the weather. One thing to note - if you do book here, double check the price you pay on hostelworld. They wanted to charge me for a higher rate than what I had confirmed on hostelworld due to their own pricing set up issues. I had to argue for the confirmed price both before arriving and upon arrival. Got the confirmed price in the end.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. All of our guest rooms should come equipped with a fan. My apologies for the pricing issues you experienced, this should be resolved now. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

80%

I think the only thing missing is a great big common room, the main hang out is the lounge as you walk in, but this isnt very big. That would help improve Banff HI Hostel as it helps people meet. There is a sort of common room down next to kitchen but people watch tv and it isnt very social. The bar is small and no one really goes in it. But it is a nice place, I would stay again.


77%

The fridge in the kitchen is actualy the whole room. so you have enter the room with strong wind into you and 3°c! The hostel is not enviroment friendly as it tries to be: there are many air conditioning working 0-24. The staff was fine and the bus ticket to the town center for free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Just wanted to let you know that putting in the walk-in cooler was actually environmentally advantageous, as it uses much less energy than the numerous smaller fridges we had before. We checked this out with our electrician before we went ahead with the change. Now our guests never run out of fridge space. Good to hear you took advantage of our bus pass. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

89%

Nice place, the only issue is the walk up the hill at the end of the day. I did like that you can borrow free bus transport cards from the reception


91%

Really nice hostel and staff were very helpful.


86%

Views were phenomenal and walk uphill from town makes a welcome stroll after dinner! The cafe and bar were handy and rooms well set out! Staff sometimes didn't look at you whilst talking to you, which was a bit out of character for the place.


97%

The hostel has excellent facilities and the location is ideal to explore Banff. My only problem in my stay was with the staff at the bar. A blonde australian woman gave me and my friend a terrible service, she was more interested in smoking outside than selling us alcohol.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you found our facilities to be excellent, but very disappointed to hear your comment about our bartender! Our pub is meant to be a great place for backpackers to meet other backpackers and our bartender (who is one herself) should reflect this. I'll share your comments with her. Again, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

71%

We three people stayed at Hi-Banff one night on Aug.02,2014. When I booked it I have already paid $13.78 for the non-refundable deposit, but when I checked in, the girl charged me $126.60 even I mentioned I paid the deposit. and I sent the email to require the refund, so far no any response! my reference number is 1569-113368531 Yan Liu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. I can assure you that your Hostelworld deposit was applied to your reservation and I'm going to send you a copy of the receipt. My apologies if this was not communicated to you effectively and I am also sorry to hear that you have not received a response via email. My apologies again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

Reception and staff very good. Cougar Pete's cafe poor. A choice of very few items over half of them unavailable. Regrettably bar also poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, I appreciate the positive feedback about our Front Desk staff. I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and apologize that so many items were unavailable for you. Would be great if you could provide us with some more information about what made the bar poor and how we could improve the experience. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

The third floor rooms were way too hot and the portable fan too noisy to keep on while sleeping. The doors needed sealing so they would be less noisy. The microwave oven in the kitchen needed more regular checking for cleanliness as they remained dirty for the 3 days we were there. The computers were not used when we were there, probably because they didn't have wifi connection. Lights seemed to be in short supply in the lounge area and limited areas to sit and write, unless you wanted to sit ou

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. My apologies that your stay was affected by the heat. I will pass on your suggestion regarding the doors to our Maintenance Manager and your feedback regarding the kitchens to our Housekeeping Manager. Our computer kiosks are managed by an outside company, we are working with them on a solution to the connection issues. Our second Marybelle Building has plenty of space in the lobby for sitting and writing. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Banff Hostels

Please give us your feedback