X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Banff Alpine Centre Reviews

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
699 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Shared room users were not considerate of other people sleeping... What so ever... I payed for 2 nights... I only stayed for one and did not get refunded for the second night. I chose not to stay because I barely slept. The girls in the dorm were so loud and not considerate of others. I couldn't believe I did not get refunded for my second night. I checked out before 11am so you'd think I wouldn't be obligated to pay considering my awful stay. Also, I was promised wifi which I did NOT have.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. My apologies for your experience in shared accommodation. We have a 24 hour Front Desk and night staff who are responsible for doing security checks to ensure our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am are respected. I will followup with the staff on duty during your stay. Did you share your experience with our Front Desk staff in the morning? It is our cancellation policy that we must receive notice before midnight the day before. - Kirsten M, AGM

66%

Too overpriced with the level of facilities you get. I would rather pay a little more, but get different level of accommodations. This is still a hostel, not motel with a private room and is expected to be priced as a hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The cancellation policy with 100% fee - is harsh as no bedding nor any other facilities were used by us

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our cancellation policy is up until midnight the date before arrival and is the same for an early check out because it is not guaranteed that we will be able to re-sell beds on the same day. My apologies if you were not informed of this policy, hope you'll stay with us in the future. - Kirsten M, AGM

80%

I'd definitely stay here again! I'd stay at any HI hostel as from experience it's always so clean and safe.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

As always we had a great stay at the Alpine Centre! Great staff, clean facility, amazing views, etc. However, there were a few negative points: - We had a private room, and all of our toiletries (deodorant, toothbrushes, tylenol, toothpaste, shampoo, etc.) and brochures went missing on the second day after the room was cleaned. - When ordering a drink from the bar (a vodka sour) I was told by an off duty employee to just order something simple and "get on with it".

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. Please accept my apologies for the negative points, I will definitely be following up on those points with our department heads.

94%

Nice all around in a beautiful location with very nice staff. However instructions to get there on the website need to be updated to tell you exactly where to get the bus and where to get off.


91%

Really enjoyable stay. The hostel was very clean and comfortable beds (no old spring bunks), each equipped with it's own light and power supply. The hostel is not in the downtown hub of Banff, but not far. A public bus service stops just outside and is free if you see reception for details. Excellent setting with a walking track right across the road, an indoor swimming centre, and convenience store. Also a restaurant at the hostel which provides dinner and breakfast for purchase.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the positive feedback about our hostel, hope to host you again soon! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

Overall this was a nice place - clean, nice staff, and nice atmosphere. However, the room was pretty cramped (6 guys squished into a room that would more comfortably acommodate 4) and the door to the room would slam shut, making for a disruptive night's sleep. Might be good if they adjusted the door closer so the door closes more quietly. Also, i encountered some rather rude guests. I almost think posting house rules might be beneficial - like be quiet after 10 pm, treat others with respect, e

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, your feedback is much appreciated and will be taken into consideration. Will definitely ask our Maintenance department to inspect all of our room doors and ensure they are back to closing quietly, I'm very sorry for the disturbance. Also we do enforce our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am through our 24 hour Front Desk, which includes a Night Cleaner/Night Security staff member. I will chase up their noise checks. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

80%

The hostel and staff were excellent! My only complaint would be about the wifi. I was in one of the furthest rooms from the main lobby and I couldn't connect or even see the network.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel. My apologies for the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi connection in your room. I will definitely be noting this for our IT department as we continue to work on ways to improve the coverage for the entire hostel. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

77%

We had a drink in the bar and the staff member was not the friendliest. Although she served the drinks we requested she wasn't overly welcoming. We had one and soon left

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am very sorry for your experience in our Bar and assure you that our staff are usually super friendly, I will followup with our Food and Beverage Manager. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

86%

Everything are good. Just too expensive for a backpacker

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you feel we are too expensive for a hostel, unfortunately it's our peak season and comes with being in a National Park. We are competitively priced if you compare us to the other hostels in town. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

100%

Great staff! Everybody kept to themselves, and was friendly throughout our stay. Clean, top notch facility!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. I had a great room with a bathroom and a locker. The hostel was spotless. It's in a lovely location. A bit out of town but it's a quick bus ride or easy enough to walk into town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's so great to hear positive feedback about our hostel. Hope you took advantage of our free bus pass (deposit required) to get in and out of town easily. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

94%

I really liked my room, it was clean, the bed comfortable, the staff was helful and well informed, the location was perfect for pickup activities, the place was quiet and not crowded at all, i didnt get to socialize very much but it was just fine for me. I had a great first experience in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. It's great to hear such positive feedback about our staff and facilities. Even though you didn't get to socialize much, I hope you were aware of our daily activities and events. I really hope you will continue to travel and stay in HI hostels in our network. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

89%

Very nice hostel, but be prepare to walk. 20 minutes walk to downtown. But a very nice place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I hope you took advantage of our bus pass (deposit required) for free travel on the local transit system. Also hope that you enjoyed our Mountain views and saw some of the wildlife that has been on our property lately, deer, elk, even a grizzly bear! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

Neither computer nor ATM were working for the whole stay. I was the only customer, but still had to wait for half an hour for only one omlet. Even if the guy was new it is not acceptable to watch such an incredibly slow service.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding our computer and ATM, they are both serviced by outside companies and we are working on improving service for both! I will pass on your comments regarding service in our Cafe to the Food and Beverage Manager. I hope that enjoyed your stay overall and will give us another chance! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

91%

I love this place!


97%

Helpful front desk, prime location. Great, affordable place to spend the night and meet fellow travelers.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome hostel, cosy rooms and sweet views :) Only downhill is the social atmosphere... maybe we just had a off few days with anti social people... but apart from that this is the place to be!! Youll love it here! Free regular buses to the centre if you dont have a car :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and positive feedback. I'm really sorry you didn't get to experience the social atmosphere that is the norm of this place. We hope to host you again and if possible head on down to our Bar - The Storm Cellar for Friday Night Karaoke, our busiest night of the week. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

100%

This is the place to stay!! It was all around awesome and great amazing for the price! Even got randomly upgraded when I arrived. Awesome awesome awesome!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We also think it's awesome and a great deal for Banff. Hope to host you again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Banff Hostels

Please give us your feedback