Hostelworld.com

HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
HI-Banff Alpine Centre Located at #801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff.
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Canada
Banff AB #801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta
86% 819
51.1849519 -115.5486202
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chickbill
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
25th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel. It is a bit out of town, but you get a bus pass for free. Buses go every 40 minutes. It's location is gorgeous though! There is a good kitchen and a nice area to chill. Dorms are comfortable as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
9.4

Is a lovely hostel we came across one staff member who was very blunt and rude to us when checking in but apart from that was filled with lovely helpful staff and a great location just out of town but was so nice to be there out of the busy little town of Banff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am very sorry to hear about your check-in experience, our Front Desk staff are very customer service oriented so this is very disappointing and I will be speaking to the staff member involved. It's great to hear that this did not affect the rest of your experience with our great staff! I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required). - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

Really good hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. The bar is fun and the cheap rum and lasagne are great. The biggest thing with this hostel are the views, being on tunnel mountain means it's incredibly scenic as soon as you step out the door and the free bus pass makes up for any inconvenience getting to town. He only negatives are 1) unreliable wifi and 2) No breakfast included. Cheers for a good stay in Banff guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. We also love our location for the mountain views! We are continually working to improve our Wi-Fi and I hope that you enjoyed a reasonable priced and delicious breakfast in our Cafe, Cougar Pete's. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.9

A 20 minute uphill walk from town. Clean rooms, showers,toilets and kitchen.Real downside was the service. At check in the receptionist was about to show me around but saw a friend come through and bolted off with him after a big hug and personal conversation. The staff member who served me breakfast at the cafe said to my roommate 'Is my food or service bad? Because you haven't tipped me in 3 days'. Fair point but a very rude way to get it across.And to be honest the food wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass (deposit required) in case you didn't want to walk from town again. Great to hear your comment about our cleanliness and facilities. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the service you experienced. I can assure that this is not the norm for us and both staff in question will receive a warning and extra training. - Kiki, AGM

30th Apr 2016
9.1

This is a very nice hostel nestled in the mountains. The staff were great and very informative. The rooms all have lockers for your things and little shelves by the beds for storing your phone, wallet, etc. The wifi wasn't working that well for me but that might have just been the particular room. The hostel is about a 15/20 minute walk from the downtown but will give you a free bus pass to use for the duration of your stay if you so choose.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the positive review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. We are continually working on improving our Wi-Fi network, please accept my apologies that it didn't seem to be working well in your room. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Firstly welcomed by the most wonderfully welcoming people at the front desk!!!!! :D Then something happened to our car & Will went beyond duty to save our car! Managed to stay in HI-Jasper as well but not through Hostel World. People here are amazing :) Maybe increase the wifi signal by making the doors less heavy like the one in Jasper? Just a suggestion! But i really loved the vibe of the place! Thank you for organising the sunset tunnel mountain Earth Day hike on our first day! We love Banff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review and feedback about our hostel, staff and activities. It's also great to hear that you continued to stay at our network or hostels. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

The staff were always willing to help me with whatever I needed and always encouraged everyone to go down to the bar at night to meet other travellers. The room had enough space for all of us as well. By staying there we also get free access to public transit, so even though the hostel is up one of the mountains in the area it's really easy to get to town and back to the hostel. The walk down the hill into downtown Banff is beautiful though, so walk if you can!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for taking the time to leave such as awesome review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. We hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed the HI-Banff Alpine Centre in Banff. Pros: the sheets were clean, I felt safe the entire time, employees were friendly, and a free towel and locker were provided (bring your own lock though!). Con: it was a bit far from the downtown strip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback as our staff work really hard to provide a safe and fun hostelling experience. We also sell padlocks at our Front Desk and I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required), we think it's worth it for the mountain views. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
5.4

This was the dingiest, outdated, darkly lit hostel room I've seen in a long time. Staff were no ce, bathrooms were clean and decent but the room gave me the creeps. Bad lighting. Dingy, felt it needed a scrub and brighter paint job, light bulbs to see anything... Lake louise HI was rated the same and light-years ahead in every way!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for providing us with feedback regarding your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your room. We will definitely look into the lighting, cleanliness and possibility of a new coat of paint. I am glad to hear that our staff were nice and you were pleased with our cleanliness. - Kiki, AGM

  • Dembleton
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.3

Great place to stay! This is a great place to make base as you can access a lot from it. Jimmy and Lowie where the best front desk staff I've met. Super helpful and friendly. You should totally stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review, great to hear that our staff were super helpful. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.