X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Banff Alpine Centre Reviews

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
609 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good hostel, with a location just outside the downtown area. Hostel has a bar, restaurant area which is convenient. Internet was fine, but overall the hostel felt overpriced (couple staying in a double room with shared bathroom). We might've been spoiled after staying in HI Whistler, as that was cheaper and more modern with a private ensuite.


91%

the hostel is so good~ I love the staffs there. everything is clean, and you can find everything you need there. you can also get the free buss pass. I strongly recommend you this hostel. btw, I looked the 4mixed room in HOSTELWORLD.COM; however, i got the mixed 6 room when I arrived there. I told them that the website shows 4 mixed. but they showed me that, the message they got from HOSTELWORLD was mixed 4 OR 6. Fortunately, they helped us to change into 4 mixed room at the second night.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Expensive, like everything in Banff, but cheaper than other hotels. Overall, everything was great, although the room was extremely hot due to the weather. One thing to note - if you do book here, double check the price you pay on hostelworld. They wanted to charge me for a higher rate than what I had confirmed on hostelworld due to their own pricing set up issues. I had to argue for the confirmed price both before arriving and upon arrival. Got the confirmed price in the end.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. All of our guest rooms should come equipped with a fan. My apologies for the pricing issues you experienced, this should be resolved now. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

77%

The fridge in the kitchen is actualy the whole room. so you have enter the room with strong wind into you and 3°c! The hostel is not enviroment friendly as it tries to be: there are many air conditioning working 0-24. The staff was fine and the bus ticket to the town center for free.


89%

Nice place, the only issue is the walk up the hill at the end of the day. I did like that you can borrow free bus transport cards from the reception


91%

Really nice hostel and staff were very helpful.


86%

Views were phenomenal and walk uphill from town makes a welcome stroll after dinner! The cafe and bar were handy and rooms well set out! Staff sometimes didn't look at you whilst talking to you, which was a bit out of character for the place.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel has excellent facilities and the location is ideal to explore Banff. My only problem in my stay was with the staff at the bar. A blonde australian woman gave me and my friend a terrible service, she was more interested in smoking outside than selling us alcohol.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you found our facilities to be excellent, but very disappointed to hear your comment about our bartender! Our pub is meant to be a great place for backpackers to meet other backpackers and our bartender (who is one herself) should reflect this. I'll share your comments with her. Again, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

71%

We three people stayed at Hi-Banff one night on Aug.02,2014. When I booked it I have already paid $13.78 for the non-refundable deposit, but when I checked in, the girl charged me $126.60 even I mentioned I paid the deposit. and I sent the email to require the refund, so far no any response! my reference number is 1569-113368531 Yan Liu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. I can assure you that your Hostelworld deposit was applied to your reservation and I'm going to send you a copy of the receipt. My apologies if this was not communicated to you effectively and I am also sorry to hear that you have not received a response via email. My apologies again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

Reception and staff very good. Cougar Pete's cafe poor. A choice of very few items over half of them unavailable. Regrettably bar also poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, I appreciate the positive feedback about our Front Desk staff. I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and apologize that so many items were unavailable for you. Would be great if you could provide us with some more information about what made the bar poor and how we could improve the experience. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

The third floor rooms were way too hot and the portable fan too noisy to keep on while sleeping. The doors needed sealing so they would be less noisy. The microwave oven in the kitchen needed more regular checking for cleanliness as they remained dirty for the 3 days we were there. The computers were not used when we were there, probably because they didn't have wifi connection. Lights seemed to be in short supply in the lounge area and limited areas to sit and write, unless you wanted to sit ou

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. My apologies that your stay was affected by the heat. I will pass on your suggestion regarding the doors to our Maintenance Manager and your feedback regarding the kitchens to our Housekeeping Manager. Our computer kiosks are managed by an outside company, we are working with them on a solution to the connection issues. Our second Marybelle Building has plenty of space in the lobby for sitting and writing. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

94%

About the only drawback of this hostel is the long walk up the hill if you miss the bus!


80%

Overall I was happy staying here and the staff were all very cool and helpful, but others looking to book here should be aware that the hostel is about a 15 minute downhill walk to downtown. That means every time you return to the hostel it's a fairly steep 10 minutes of uphill walking. I'm not one to complain about having to walk uphill a little bit, but after a long day of hiking or biking it kinda blows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for your review, thanks for sharing your positive views of our staff. I hope you took advantage of the bus pass we offer our guests for free travel on the local transit system? We like our peaceful location and the view of Rundle Mountain, but realize that we are out of the downtown core. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

100%

I would definitely recommend this to my friends and will stay here the next time I vacation in Banff. All amenities are outstanding, especially kitchen.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's great to hear such positive feedback about our amenities. We look forward to hosting you again soon! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

100%

Great hostel, well maintained and attractive. The presence of a restaurant and bar on the premises was welcome after a tiring hiks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I really appreciate you taking the time to review our property, great to hear about your stay and we love the food in our Cafe - Cougar Pete's and the atmosphere of our Bar - The Storm Cellar as well! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

The only let down was the Hostel is out of the main town of Banff, The bar was great with a fully involved karaoke night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass to alleviate the distance from town. We love our Mountain views and the peaceful atmosphere up here. Good to hear that you were involved in one of our famous Karaoke nights in The Storm Cellar bar. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

100%

Very much enjoyed my stay. The only concern I have, is that on my first night there was a lot of noise after 11:00pm. It should be posted that quite time is after 11:00pm and that people should respect the fact that others are sleeping. This is a very nice facility, with a great location.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's much appreciated. We do have signs posted that quiet time is from 11pm until 7am, I am very sorry that you experienced a lot of noise. We have 24 hour staff including Night Security who are responsible for monitoring noise levels after 11pm so I will followup with them regarding your stay. Hope to host you again soon. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

80%

I enjoyed the fact that it was quiet after 11 pm. I had to be up early. My other friends at other hostels didn't have the same experience.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you were able to sleep. We have 24 hour staff, including Night Security to ensure our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am are monitored. Hope to see you again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

94%

Amazing hostel. Ended up getting a 4 bed room to ourselves with a private bathroom as a free upgrade. Beautiful location - although 7km from town centre, but we had a car so it was not a problem. Great facilities and staff. Would definitely go back if I came to Banff again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your review of our hostel is much appreciated! Great to hear that you would come back, we'd love to host you again. I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass for deposit in case you didn't want to drive downtown and try to find parking. I agree that our location is beautiful - mountains all around and wildlife sightings help to make it a true Rocky Mountain experience. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

63%

The hostel is located outside of downtown Banff. It takes about 20minutes of walking to get into the "downtown" area. That's what you'll have to do after a party night, if you don't want to take a taxi, because there are no buses going up to the hostel at that time, which is pretty annoying. Breakfast is not included which is pretty bad considering the price per night...

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thanks for your review. I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass for a deposit to get in and out of the downtown area. We know we're out of town, but our Mountain views and wildlife sightings teamed with the peaceful surroundings make it worthwhile I think. Unfortunately we do not have control over the bus schedule, I'm sorry you couldn't catch the bus back to the hostel after a party night. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Banff Hostels

Please give us your feedback