Hostelworld.com

HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
HI-Banff Alpine Centre Located at #801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff.
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Canada
Banff AB #801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta
86% 807
51.1849519 -115.5486202
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Apr 2016
9.1

This is a very nice hostel nestled in the mountains. The staff were great and very informative. The rooms all have lockers for your things and little shelves by the beds for storing your phone, wallet, etc. The wifi wasn't working that well for me but that might have just been the particular room. The hostel is about a 15/20 minute walk from the downtown but will give you a free bus pass to use for the duration of your stay if you so choose.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Firstly welcomed by the most wonderfully welcoming people at the front desk!!!!! :D Then something happened to our car & Will went beyond duty to save our car! Managed to stay in HI-Jasper as well but not through Hostel World. People here are amazing :) Maybe increase the wifi signal by making the doors less heavy like the one in Jasper? Just a suggestion! But i really loved the vibe of the place! Thank you for organising the sunset tunnel mountain Earth Day hike on our first day! We love Banff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review and feedback about our hostel, staff and activities. It's also great to hear that you continued to stay at our network or hostels. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

The staff were always willing to help me with whatever I needed and always encouraged everyone to go down to the bar at night to meet other travellers. The room had enough space for all of us as well. By staying there we also get free access to public transit, so even though the hostel is up one of the mountains in the area it's really easy to get to town and back to the hostel. The walk down the hill into downtown Banff is beautiful though, so walk if you can!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for taking the time to leave such as awesome review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. We hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed the HI-Banff Alpine Centre in Banff. Pros: the sheets were clean, I felt safe the entire time, employees were friendly, and a free towel and locker were provided (bring your own lock though!). Con: it was a bit far from the downtown strip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback as our staff work really hard to provide a safe and fun hostelling experience. We also sell padlocks at our Front Desk and I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required), we think it's worth it for the mountain views. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
5.4

This was the dingiest, outdated, darkly lit hostel room I've seen in a long time. Staff were no ce, bathrooms were clean and decent but the room gave me the creeps. Bad lighting. Dingy, felt it needed a scrub and brighter paint job, light bulbs to see anything... Lake louise HI was rated the same and light-years ahead in every way!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Dembleton
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.3

Great place to stay! This is a great place to make base as you can access a lot from it. Jimmy and Lowie where the best front desk staff I've met. Super helpful and friendly. You should totally stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review, great to hear that our staff were super helpful. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

  • kelly_dossantos7788
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.7

Great hostel with wonderful views. A little out of town centre which makes it a quite place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We also enjoy our location for the mountain views. I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required). - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.0

Really lovely stay in Banff. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean. Lots of space to curl up and hang out with friends. It is a bit of a walk from the main street of Banff which is lovely in the summer but a bit annoying if the weather is bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Great to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our facilities. It's also great to know our staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. Hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required), we think the views make our location worth it. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
8.3

Great staff. I stayed in the new building and it was great. Very clean, social and warm. Lockers for snow gear outside and locker closet in room. Location is fine, buses come every 40mins to town, otherwise you can walk. I personally liked being away from the main centre surrounded by mountains. Small store, hot tubs and ice rink all nearby. Bar is good for quiet or big night. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it's so great to hear the positive feedback. We agree with you on our location, but hope you took advantage of the free bus pass system (deposit required) to get downtown and back easily. - Kiki, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
7.4

Quite noisy at night Wifi's weak

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Please accept my apologies for the noise you experienced. We have a security person who is responsible for ensuring our quiet times of 11pm to 7am are enforced and also employ the services of an outside security company. I will followup with our staff to ensure the correct procedure and checks are in place. We are always working to improve our Wi-Fi connection, it would be great to receive further feedback on the issue you experienced. - Kiki, AGM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.