Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Banff Alpine Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.6

Cool little hostel. About 20-25 min walk from town, or $8 taxi. Loved the insides. Seemed pretty chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.7

Perfection! The staff is extraordinary at this Alpine Lodge hostel, and staff makes or breaks an experience. The actual building is stunning log architecture with so many cozy coves, two common areas, wonderful little cafe, great coffee, fireplace, HOT SHOWERS. I've stayed in hostels all over the world, and this one is in the top 3! Why? The kitchen is a full restaurant - style facility with more than three cooking areas and multiples of work space with a walk-in refrigerator AND a dining area(:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Marilyn, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We really hope you can make it back again sometime soon - we loved having you here! Kind Regards, Zena- Front Desk

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Great little hostel in Banff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
9.4

Very professional and well organised. Bit of a queue for ladies showers. Could do with easy to find information about towel availability etc, but overall very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Vivienne, Thanks for your review! feedback is great, I am glad you liked our place overall, thanks for that. I appreciate sometimes there can be a queue for showers at peak times but over the 3 floors there is normally a free shower. Information on towels is on the bed tag we provide along with other info about the hostel, we will try make it more clear in future. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review, Adam

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Jul 2017
6.9

Comfortable beds though they are not super sturdy so do move/creak a bit when people turn over. Clean bathroom facilities with plenty of space to put/hang your things. The small cafe/kitchen serves nice food though it is on the expensive side and breakfast is not included. Would be great if they had more organised events on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Elena, thanks for your review we always appreciate feedback. Glad you found the beds comfy, I shall pass on your comment to maintenance to look at the beds to see if we can improve that at all. We find that in comparison to the rest of town the prices are on the cheaper side, our national park on Canada 150 is a expensive summer! We organise evening events in the bar throughout the week and have started more day ones too but people tend to be out hiking during the day so it is quiet about the hostel, Thanks again for your review, Adam

  • murrayheather612436
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Great place. Safe places to keep personal items. Was all clean and kitchen. Great they have things on through the night. Only worry is the price was almost twice of what it was to stay in a similar hostel thw next night that was much closer to the centre of town.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Had a fun stay- didn't get a ton of sleep as the beds were creaky and the pillow was too small. Everything else was as I expected.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.7

The cost on hostel world was 56 $ per person which said it included 18$ tax but when we went to pay the balance they charged us 69$ a person which is very expensive for a bunk in a dorm and 14$ more per person and no budging despite showing them the email with the price we were given. NOT HAPPY ABOUT THAT

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks so much for your review, we always appreciate feedback! We totally understand your situation and are sorry that you left feeling this way. Hostelworld can be a little unclear when booking as it quotes beds at pre-tax rate but the final amount on your email should be the price to pay including taxes. Furthermore our non member rate will add 10% on top of that as stated when booking. Please forward your confirmation to us at banff@hihostels.ca though if you still have it so we can take another look. Although expensive for a hostel we are still among the lowest prices in Banff during a busy Canada 150 year, I hope you can understand the pricing and at least had a enjoyable stay at our hostel otherwise and made the most of the national park. Thanks again for your review and for staying with us, Adam-Front Desk

  • jess_rogers936
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.7

Really nice & helpful staff. Enjoyed the outdoor seating area. Only minus is we got lost trying to find it doing circles of Banff town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are 5 minutes out of town so its definitely a good idea to check where we are before heading off to avoid getting lost in town!! We hope you manage to stay with us again in future. Kind Regards, Zena - Front Desk

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.0

I've stayed at different HIs before and this is definitely one of the best! Staff were friendly & helpful. The common areas were big & comfortable. We saw a live band performance at the bar & it was great. No free breakfast but for what we paid, it was big & delicious. You may need a car since free bus rides were infrequent. The only downside was that I was never able to connect to the wifi. Note that Hostelworld doesn't tell you the exact price to pay for non-members, it's ~10% more than listed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi , Thanks so much for your kind words about our staff and hostel! We are glad you had a great experience and made the most of our facilities and entertainment, we try our best to make this a great time in the Rockies for everyone. Apologies about the Wi-Fi, we shall take a look at where you stayed and see if there are any issues. Hostelworld is rather unclear with stating our member policy but it is on there, in future as it sounds like you stay in HI's rather alot, just book direct to get a accurate quote and better flexibility, we are always happy to help! Thanks again for your review, Adam- Front Desk

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.