X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Banff Alpine Centre Reviews

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
719 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very nice and friendly stuff,and a good restaurant. The double room was a very small though for keeping two luggages in.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is very big and lots of guests there seem to be on a working holiday. Location is far up a hill and so it is difficult to get into town if you don't have a car. Also, this hostel should have a couple of water boilers in the kitchen so people may quickly boil water without using the stoves. They are cheap, quick, efficient, and don't take up burners. The electric burners they have now are slow and inefficient: it takes forever to boil water or to warm up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. I hope you took advantage of our free bus pass system (deposit required) to get in and out of the downtown area easily. We thinks it's worth it for our Mountain views and spacious grounds. My apologies regarding your experience in our kitchens. There should be at least one working electric kettle per kitchen and I will ask our Maintenance department to check the working order of our burners. - Kiki, AGM

100%

Had a great weekend stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki, AGM

80%

I only had one issue with the restaurant , Cougar Pete's . I believe that when you have a complaint about the food for reasonable things as a hair, that it should have been handled differently. I had said complaint and it was not handled the was that I thought that it should be. The waitress took my plate back after I showed her the hair, with no apology or anything. It was disgusting and I was not impressed.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Please accept my apologies for your experience in our cafe. I will definitely be following up with our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that you will stay with us again and give us another chance. Please contact me if you do so that I can ensure your meal is comped. - Kiki, AGM

83%

Nice and helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay.


91%

This stay was my first experience at a Hostel and I definitely will be back again.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Great to hear that we provided you with a positive first time hostel experience. - Kiki M, AGM

80%

Pro- Clean- really clean. Nice deck to chill Staff is honest- they found my wallet and turned it in. That blew me away Restaurant on site. A little pricey- but the fries I ordered was a huge portion. Con- I paid $117 for a 'single' that showed up as $50 when I did the search. Very misleading. I still had 4 beds in the room. They charged for breakfast. And $2.75 for coffee!!! Starbucks was cheaper. 2 Shower stalls for the whole floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping Supervisor and staff. My apologies for the misunderstanding regarding your room rate. The price is listed by Hostelworld as a per person price, but the total reflects double occupancy. - Kiki, AGM

100%

Great atmosphere, great staff, within walking distance to city center, quiet after hours. Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel. It's always great to hear such positive feedback about the atmosphere we provide and our staff. Hope to host you again soon! - Kiki M, AGM

77%

I enjoyed my stay at the HI-Banff. I love the common areas are nice to relax. I love the location away from town but you can walk to town and you also get a pass to use the shuttle.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel. A lot of families and older people...


74%

This place is a little way out of the town centre but you can get a free bus pass so it's easy to get in and out. I stayed here twice and liked it a lot, there's a good social vibe but it's not crazy and loud. The rooms are comfy and a good size and the staff were great. Clean too. Wish they did a free breakfast considering the price though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated. - Kiki M, AGM

43%

Shared room users were not considerate of other people sleeping... What so ever... I payed for 2 nights... I only stayed for one and did not get refunded for the second night. I chose not to stay because I barely slept. The girls in the dorm were so loud and not considerate of others. I couldn't believe I did not get refunded for my second night. I checked out before 11am so you'd think I wouldn't be obligated to pay considering my awful stay. Also, I was promised wifi which I did NOT have.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. My apologies for your experience in shared accommodation. We have a 24 hour Front Desk and night staff who are responsible for doing security checks to ensure our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am are respected. I will followup with the staff on duty during your stay. Did you share your experience with our Front Desk staff in the morning? It is our cancellation policy that we must receive notice before midnight the day before. - Kirsten M, AGM

66%

Too overpriced with the level of facilities you get. I would rather pay a little more, but get different level of accommodations. This is still a hostel, not motel with a private room and is expected to be priced as a hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The cancellation policy with 100% fee - is harsh as no bedding nor any other facilities were used by us

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our cancellation policy is up until midnight the date before arrival and is the same for an early check out because it is not guaranteed that we will be able to re-sell beds on the same day. My apologies if you were not informed of this policy, hope you'll stay with us in the future. - Kirsten M, AGM

80%

I'd definitely stay here again! I'd stay at any HI hostel as from experience it's always so clean and safe.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

As always we had a great stay at the Alpine Centre! Great staff, clean facility, amazing views, etc. However, there were a few negative points: - We had a private room, and all of our toiletries (deodorant, toothbrushes, tylenol, toothpaste, shampoo, etc.) and brochures went missing on the second day after the room was cleaned. - When ordering a drink from the bar (a vodka sour) I was told by an off duty employee to just order something simple and "get on with it".

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, it's always great to hear such positive feedback. Please accept my apologies for the negative points, I will definitely be following up on those points with our department heads.

94%

Nice all around in a beautiful location with very nice staff. However instructions to get there on the website need to be updated to tell you exactly where to get the bus and where to get off.


91%

Really enjoyable stay. The hostel was very clean and comfortable beds (no old spring bunks), each equipped with it's own light and power supply. The hostel is not in the downtown hub of Banff, but not far. A public bus service stops just outside and is free if you see reception for details. Excellent setting with a walking track right across the road, an indoor swimming centre, and convenience store. Also a restaurant at the hostel which provides dinner and breakfast for purchase.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the positive feedback about our hostel, hope to host you again soon! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74%

Overall this was a nice place - clean, nice staff, and nice atmosphere. However, the room was pretty cramped (6 guys squished into a room that would more comfortably acommodate 4) and the door to the room would slam shut, making for a disruptive night's sleep. Might be good if they adjusted the door closer so the door closes more quietly. Also, i encountered some rather rude guests. I almost think posting house rules might be beneficial - like be quiet after 10 pm, treat others with respect, e

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, your feedback is much appreciated and will be taken into consideration. Will definitely ask our Maintenance department to inspect all of our room doors and ensure they are back to closing quietly, I'm very sorry for the disturbance. Also we do enforce our quiet hours of 11pm to 7am through our 24 hour Front Desk, which includes a Night Cleaner/Night Security staff member. I will chase up their noise checks. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

80%

The hostel and staff were excellent! My only complaint would be about the wifi. I was in one of the furthest rooms from the main lobby and I couldn't connect or even see the network.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel. My apologies for the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi connection in your room. I will definitely be noting this for our IT department as we continue to work on ways to improve the coverage for the entire hostel. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Banff Hostels

Please give us your feedback