Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Banff Alpine Centre Reviews

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained


772 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel and staff were excellent! My only complaint would be about the wifi. I was in one of the furthest rooms from the main lobby and I couldn't connect or even see the network.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel. My apologies for the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi connection in your room. I will definitely be noting this for our IT department as we continue to work on ways to improve the coverage for the entire hostel. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM


We had a drink in the bar and the staff member was not the friendliest. Although she served the drinks we requested she wasn't overly welcoming. We had one and soon left

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am very sorry for your experience in our Bar and assure you that our staff are usually super friendly, I will followup with our Food and Beverage Manager. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM


Everything are good. Just too expensive for a backpacker

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you feel we are too expensive for a hostel, unfortunately it's our peak season and comes with being in a National Park. We are competitively priced if you compare us to the other hostels in town. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM


Great staff! Everybody kept to themselves, and was friendly throughout our stay. Clean, top notch facility!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


This is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. I had a great room with a bathroom and a locker. The hostel was spotless. It's in a lovely location. A bit out of town but it's a quick bus ride or easy enough to walk into town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's so great to hear positive feedback about our hostel. Hope you took advantage of our free bus pass (deposit required) to get in and out of town easily. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM


I really liked my room, it was clean, the bed comfortable, the staff was helful and well informed, the location was perfect for pickup activities, the place was quiet and not crowded at all, i didnt get to socialize very much but it was just fine for me. I had a great first experience in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. It's great to hear such positive feedback about our staff and facilities. Even though you didn't get to socialize much, I hope you were aware of our daily activities and events. I really hope you will continue to travel and stay in HI hostels in our network. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM


Very nice hostel, but be prepare to walk. 20 minutes walk to downtown. But a very nice place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I hope you took advantage of our bus pass (deposit required) for free travel on the local transit system. Also hope that you enjoyed our Mountain views and saw some of the wildlife that has been on our property lately, deer, elk, even a grizzly bear! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

1 2 3 Next » last »
(47 results)

View all Banff Hostels

Please give us your feedback