Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Calgary City Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.4

Really great hostel, staff were lovely, everything you need including green palring amd hair dryers to borrow, good security, clean, no complaints. The atmosphere was nice but no one really seems to mingle but we were only really around 1 night. Great hostel and would defo return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.0

Location felt a little strange surrounded by construction sites, but still close to downtown. Staff were great, facilities clean and of good quality. Good breakfast. Atmosphere was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ndrwplndrn453
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing Place will come back again for sure!!!! Definitely worth it! Ive met sooo many people here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
7.7

It was a pleasant stay, with fun activities and breakfast was always good. It might be better for it to be on a little longer though, as sometimes there was only one shower in use on the entire floor. The WiFi was absolutely shocking, not just me but everyone would be disconnected without any reason. The kitchen was well equipped, but sometimes the sinks would be dirty, and unfortunately a lot of people were unable to read that you were supposed to dry your dishes, as well as washing them.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI Thomas, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review us. We really value your feedback. Sorry to hear that people did not clean their dishes, we find it can be a struggle in the hostel. We hope you enjoyed your stay nevertheless and hope you will be able to stay with us again! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

17th Jul 2017
9.4

The staff are amazing - In my room one guy snored loudly (I had earplugs thankfully), another got so angry about it that he stormed off. However, the staff handled it brilliantly and moved the upset guy to another room. It was also the member of staffs first night shift alone and he helped me sign up to HI. He was super friendly even with technical difficulties. The location is right next to the main part of Calgary and security is top notch - I had to ring a bell to get in!!! Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.7

The HI Calgary City Centre hostel is truly wonderful. There were many people from all different parts of the world, and everyone was really friendly. The bathrooms and all other rooms were cleaned regularly (as in multiple times daily). The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were decent. The location is great; it's really close to downtown Calgary and the Stampede grounds (which is what we were there for). I would recommend staying there. It's as good a hostel as it gets, and worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Graham, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during Stampede. I will be sure to let the staff know of your kind words. We hope you can stay with us again soon. Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Jul 2017
7.1

Helpful staff. Comfortable bunks, however they could have been improved if they had individual reading lights and charging outlets. Bathrooms were okay though the cubicles were very small and there was no where to put things while you went to the toilet. Rooms were quite basic and could do with an update/fresh paint or etc. Decent breakfast- toast, fruit, cereals and coffee. Would be great if there were more daily events organised.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your helpful feedback. It is great to hear what our guests would like to see us improve on. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will visit again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
9.1

Lovely clean hostel with knowledgeable staff. Visited during Calgary Stampede so I assume prices are inflated, would definitely return another time if rates are more reasonable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.4

Really nice modern hostel. Friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Great facilities. Although the beds aren't particularly comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our updated facilities. I am happy to hear that the staff were helpful and accommodating and I will let them know your appreciation. We hope you can visit us again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.9

The hostel had a good free breakfast. The beds were comfy and there was aircon in the rooms. The showers were good. The staff were helpful. There wasn't much atmosphere or events for meeting people. The location was okay, not too far from the city or bus station. The city is quite spread out though so takes a while to get anywhere. Seemed a bit expensive as Calgary did not seem to be a big tourist destination (apart from for the Stampede which was not happening whilst we were there)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and all our facilities. You may be happy to hear that we do have 5-6 different activities per week running now at the hostel. I hope you can stay with us again and participate in some. Happy travels! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.