X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Calgary City Centre Reviews

520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
727 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

All round very good except........rooms 101 102 and 103 get pretty warm in summer and only have fans and not A/C. Staff did apologize for this and are working on it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review Roger. Sorry to hear that you had a warm room. We are getting the new windows installed in the next few weeks which will allow us to have a/c units in all the rooms! We hope you will be able to come stay with us again and enjoy the new cool rooms. Thanks again! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

100%

I love staying at this hostel as it is super great value for money and the location is really close to everything which makes it my first choice every time!!! :D

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review Adele! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. We are proud to offer our guests such a great location and value for money. We hope you will continue to visit us in the future. Thanks! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

100%

Enjoyed the free breakfast and parking.


100%

Very nice staff. Good facilities. Great location. Clean. Free breakfast :)


74%

This is my second stay at this property. Definitely an improvement on last time, I found staff to be more attentive and friendly. Security is good, with a contactless card entry system on all accommodation doors. Probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed at a fair few! Free Tea and Coffee is nice, sometimes the option for cheap meals. Good WiFi, and it's free! Could do with some more group activities, I love a good pub crawl!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving us a review Dane! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us again. We think our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff are excellent and I will be sure to let them know of your great review. Thank you for the suggestion of a pub crawl, that is definitely something we will be looking into! We hope you can stay with us another time. Thanks! Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

The staff was kind, helpful, patient, and understanding of travelers and a need for flexibility. The atmosphere was calm and welcoming, clean and orderly. At dinner time, all the guests find their way to the kitchen, where everyone cooks their different choice meals and gathers together to hear about each others' plans and adventures.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best HI Hostels I've stayed. Loved every single thing about it. Not all the staff members were always willing to help us, but, would stay there again without hesitating. All my thumbs up for HI Calgary City Centre.


100%

I am delighted with my stay in the Hi Hostel Calgary, all of the staff were very friendly, the breakfast is wonderful, the in Internet access fantastic, over all a very enjoyable stay.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for leaving us a review ! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our free breakfast and internet access. I will be sure to let the staff know that you were happy with everything. We hope you can stay with us in the near future. Thanks! Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

100%

One of the best hostels we have stayed in so far. Great facilities and close to everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review ! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities and location while staying with us. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your travels and hope that we can see you again soon! Thanks! Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

89%

Overall a good experience. Staff were amazing and the secure storage definitely came in handy! Perfect location right by the river and downtown. Will stay here again!

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ! Glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our day storage and explore the area. The river walk is so beautiful in the summer time. I will pass your kind words on to the staff here. It's nice to hear that you plan to stay here again and we look forward to seeing you. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

Location was great, staff were friendly and hostel was always kept clean and inviting.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review ! We agree that our location is great, especially during Stampede! I will be sure to let the staff know of your kind review. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

NICE hostel and its right near downtown. Staff are great and make sure you make the most out of of Calgary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review ! We pride ourselves on our great staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We hope that you are able to come visit us again soon. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

91%

Great hostel. Very clean. Nice kitchen. Free breakfast!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ! We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities. We believe a free breakfast is very important when traveling. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

80%

There was a guest in the hostel who was in Calgary to work long term rather than a traveler on vacation. He was a pest and ruined my stay. Hostel should be reserved for genuine travelers.


97%

good, clean place to say. they had some lemon and cucumber water out in the lobby which was refreshing because I rented a bike from them and spent the day biking. top notch staff, will return for sure!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ! We are glad that you enjoyed our fresh fruit water. We have found it to be very popular during this extra hot summer! It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our new bike rentals. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

100%

Wonderful time in a really friendly atmosphere. Perfect breakfast to give you the strength to rent a car and go explore Rocky Mountains. The team is really great, ready to help you with trip ideas. Especially a perfect city center location for lovers of city life and just steps from the Bow River, just perfect. Canada's best youth hostel for me, I RECOMMENDS! a French friend.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Within walking distance of everything. I had issues with my laptop but luckily they had free computer and printing service. Each bed had its own light which was nice. I loved the free breakfast, but I wish it could have started earlier cuz I had to leave pretty early in the morning. Otherwise great experience

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the suggestion and will look into it. Additionally, our staff would be more than happy to give you a muffin, banana, or other breakfast item to go, if you need to head out early on! Hopefully we will see you again. Regards, Jason Wong, Manager

80%

Friendly, accommodating staff and an eclectic mix of international cohabitants. Sociable layout with great indoor/outdoor spaces. Well maintained and frequently cleaned. East Downtown location is very convenient with attractions close by and easy access to c-trains in all directions from City Hall stop (Some tram noises into the night). Everything you'll need as a base in Calgary. Would happily return.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the staff and the atmosphere within the hostel. We work hard to keep the cleanliness at the highest standard and we're glad that you took notice. It's wonderful that you took advantage of the free train just down the street! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Jason Wong, Manager

100%

Relaxing atmosphere, quiet and very clean. I was especially impressed with the guest's laundry room that has a TV in it. Also the backyard has hammocks and free use of BBQ. The staff was top notch. It is located close to the free train station and lots of construction near the hoste

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that guests have been enjoying the hammocks and BBQ with all the nice weather! Additionally, we're very happy to hear that you took advantage of our central location near the free train station. We can't wait for the changes that will come from the construction to make the hostel's surroundings even more convenient and buzzing! We appreciate your compliments on the staff. Happy Trails Jason Wong, Manager

97%

Great location, staff were extremely helpful, love the free breakfast. Close to the train station and downtown. I thought the construction going on around might be a problem but it was not.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! We're happy to hear the construction was no problem and can't wait to see the changes that will make the hostel's already convenient location even better! Happy Trails! Jason Wong, Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback