Hostelworld.com

HI-Calgary City Centre

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
HI-Calgary City Centre Located at 520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary.
HI-Calgary City Centre
Canada
Calgary AB T2G 0J6 520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6
89% 800
51.0462776 -114.0520763
HI-Calgary City Centre
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Very friendly and helpful staff, they go out of your way to make hell you out, like above and beyond what would be expected of their job description. For example, I had a plane to catch early, so they put out the continental breakfast a tad early so that I was able to eat before leaving. Lovely place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Hi-Calgary was a great hostel. The lockers are huge!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.4

Great stay. I only stayed one night but I was able to borrow the free bicycle to see downtown, complimentary with helmet and bike lock. The bed was comfortable with a night light. There's a locker but you'll have to bring a lock. I only had one other roommate in the dorm for six so I didn't bother. Shower, towel and linen were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
29th May 2016
9.1

Very modern, new and clean. Large lockers in dorm rooms and beds not too squeaky. Lots of different spaces to chill - huge kitchen/lounge/reception/games room etc - which meant that most areas were pretty quiet. Fine for us, but wouldn't work if you were after more noise and action. Great recommendations from staff (go to Simmons Building for great coffee and amazing bakery!). We only stayed one night so didn't do any of the activities but appreciated the info on airport transport etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for the weekend. Great location with its accessibility to public transportation. The building was clean and the staff were all very friendly, willing to answer any questions I had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Wonderful place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.6

Great cheap option for a Calgary visit. Clean rooms and the bathrooms were the best that I had seen in a hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Was a bit noisey from other guests at night, some party people outside really late.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
25th Apr 2016
7.4

Overall, I would say I really enjoyed my stay at HI-Calgary. Probably the cleanest hostel I've ever been in! Very spacious kitchen and TV room. Although, I would say that if you're a solo traveller, this hostel really didn't have much nightlife atmosphere and was much more focused on chilling out and winding down at the end of the day rather than having any party atmosphere. I guess it depends what sort of stay you're looking for! Aside from that, I enjoyed HI and would recommend it 😀

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! You will be pleased to hear that we are now offering 5 events per week throughout the summer months! We hope to create more options for guests to mingle and socialize with one another. Hope you can come back and stay with us again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
10.0

This place was probably the best in the whole Alberta if not the whole country. I was at the beautiful park next to it and I went jogging every day, and since it is in the heart of Calgary I didn't even need to take my car I could simply walk a few minutes and I was surrounded with the best restaurants and bars. But that's not even just that the place it self is such a wonderful atmosphere and very service minded personal ready to help you with a smiling face weather it is day or night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've ever stayed in hands down. Pretty good value for money too with all the facilities that they offer and how close they are to the city. Staff very helpful with knowledge of grocery stores and good pubs to go to as well. 👌

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us a review! It's always great to hear how people enjoy our many amenities and central location. i will pass your kind regards on to the staff. Looking forward to you staying with us again soon! Thanks, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.