X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Calgary City Centre Reviews

520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
689 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The staff were not friendly however Breakfast was really good. Just an average hostel.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not the friendliest Hostel I've stayed at (I've stayed at rather a few). There wasn't a warm all-in-it-together feeling and felt much more like a commercial enterprise. The free Breakfast wasn't too great either. Aside from that, the beds were comfortable and clean, and the Security in and around the building were above the standard I would normally expect to see at a Hostel. I didn't like the fact that the price we received on the booking confirmation was not the actual price.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Casey921
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

amazing stuff the nicest I've experienced in Canada apart from the Cambie. breakfast also amazing so much choice. the place was supper clean gests were friendly . I played pool most nights just chatting to people. I would definitely recommend it to any one. its so close to city so it very easy to get to and close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review ! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit us again in the future! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

80%

Not a bad place for a nights rest.


91%

There isn't much in Calgary but this hostel is a nice place to meet people and stay Its warm and has all the facilities All facilities available and staff are nice, helpful and genuine A suggestion of TV in the kitchen as this is the only place guests can drink otherwise the room downstairs is the TV and pool room to socialise there are people staying here who are also looking for jobs, so a good place to make contacts for that

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the facilities. Thank you for your feedback regarding a TV in the kitchen. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

Friendly atmosphere and great location. Close to everything you need. Would recommend to a friend!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Was clean and easy to get around downtown from here. Only problem was there was no real social atmosphere or planned activities etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review Courtney! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found the hostel to be clean and we will pass on your kind words to our housekeeping team. Thank you for your suggestion of having more activities, we are planning on having more activities planned for the future. We hope you can stay with us again soon. Best Regards, Cassandra Moore Assistant Manager

80%

Overall not too bad but the noise of the level crossing right next to the hostel means you don't get a very good nights sleep. They need to soundproof the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review Chris! We are located close to the free-fare zone of the C-Train line which although very convenient can sometimes be noisy. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy your travels. Best Regards, Cassandra Moore Assistant Manager

91%

Very clean and great free breakfast. The reception was always helpful, even went as far as booking trips for us, calling taxis and printing tickets for free and always offering great advice. Will be coming here 100% on my return.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fast wifi

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The reception staff was polite and you guys kept our stuff in the storage room which is really appreciated as we had out way back in the evening. The location was downtown, which was good, but the only negative thing about Hi- Calgary is that, there were so many homeless people around the hostel, which makes it very uncomfortable to go out at night or any other time of the day. Also, the lower wardrobes were open from behind which does not make sense locking them, as anyone can steal in dorms.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Glad that you enjoyed the central location of the hostel and the friendly staff. We are 5 minutes walk to downtown and within every major cities around the world, there will always be homeless people hanging in the core. Rest assured that our central location is safe. I've checked the lockers in the room that you've stayed in and all of the lockers are secured to the wall. Regards, Jason

94%

Great people, location and atmosphere. Thanks for the great stay.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great secure room, one suggrstion i can make is clean water glasses in the couples private rooms but other than that stay was fantastic.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks Jason its been a pleasure!




View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback