X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Calgary City Centre Reviews

520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
714 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I am delighted with my stay in the Hi Hostel Calgary, all of the staff were very friendly, the breakfast is wonderful, the in Internet access fantastic, over all a very enjoyable stay.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for leaving us a review ! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our free breakfast and internet access. I will be sure to let the staff know that you were happy with everything. We hope you can stay with us in the near future. Thanks! Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

100%

One of the best hostels we have stayed in so far. Great facilities and close to everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review ! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities and location while staying with us. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your travels and hope that we can see you again soon! Thanks! Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

89%

Overall a good experience. Staff were amazing and the secure storage definitely came in handy! Perfect location right by the river and downtown. Will stay here again!

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ! Glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our day storage and explore the area. The river walk is so beautiful in the summer time. I will pass your kind words on to the staff here. It's nice to hear that you plan to stay here again and we look forward to seeing you. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

Location was great, staff were friendly and hostel was always kept clean and inviting.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review ! We agree that our location is great, especially during Stampede! I will be sure to let the staff know of your kind review. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

NICE hostel and its right near downtown. Staff are great and make sure you make the most out of of Calgary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review ! We pride ourselves on our great staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We hope that you are able to come visit us again soon. Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

91%

Great hostel. Very clean. Nice kitchen. Free breakfast!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ! We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities. We believe a free breakfast is very important when traveling. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

80%

There was a guest in the hostel who was in Calgary to work long term rather than a traveler on vacation. He was a pest and ruined my stay. Hostel should be reserved for genuine travelers.


97%

good, clean place to say. they had some lemon and cucumber water out in the lobby which was refreshing because I rented a bike from them and spent the day biking. top notch staff, will return for sure!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ! We are glad that you enjoyed our fresh fruit water. We have found it to be very popular during this extra hot summer! It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our new bike rentals. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

100%

Wonderful time in a really friendly atmosphere. Perfect breakfast to give you the strength to rent a car and go explore Rocky Mountains. The team is really great, ready to help you with trip ideas. Especially a perfect city center location for lovers of city life and just steps from the Bow River, just perfect. Canada's best youth hostel for me, I RECOMMENDS! a French friend.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Within walking distance of everything. I had issues with my laptop but luckily they had free computer and printing service. Each bed had its own light which was nice. I loved the free breakfast, but I wish it could have started earlier cuz I had to leave pretty early in the morning. Otherwise great experience

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the suggestion and will look into it. Additionally, our staff would be more than happy to give you a muffin, banana, or other breakfast item to go, if you need to head out early on! Hopefully we will see you again. Regards, Jason Wong, Manager

80%

Friendly, accommodating staff and an eclectic mix of international cohabitants. Sociable layout with great indoor/outdoor spaces. Well maintained and frequently cleaned. East Downtown location is very convenient with attractions close by and easy access to c-trains in all directions from City Hall stop (Some tram noises into the night). Everything you'll need as a base in Calgary. Would happily return.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the staff and the atmosphere within the hostel. We work hard to keep the cleanliness at the highest standard and we're glad that you took notice. It's wonderful that you took advantage of the free train just down the street! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Jason Wong, Manager

100%

Relaxing atmosphere, quiet and very clean. I was especially impressed with the guest's laundry room that has a TV in it. Also the backyard has hammocks and free use of BBQ. The staff was top notch. It is located close to the free train station and lots of construction near the hoste

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that guests have been enjoying the hammocks and BBQ with all the nice weather! Additionally, we're very happy to hear that you took advantage of our central location near the free train station. We can't wait for the changes that will come from the construction to make the hostel's surroundings even more convenient and buzzing! We appreciate your compliments on the staff. Happy Trails Jason Wong, Manager

97%

Great location, staff were extremely helpful, love the free breakfast. Close to the train station and downtown. I thought the construction going on around might be a problem but it was not.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! We're happy to hear the construction was no problem and can't wait to see the changes that will make the hostel's already convenient location even better! Happy Trails! Jason Wong, Manager

100%

I really like this hostel. The staff are super friendly who always will help. They had a BBQ event when I was there but if you are looking to party this is not the place. Lots of great selections for breakfast. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review. We are so glad to hear that you liked your time here and got to enjoy our BBQ and free breakfast. Thank you for complimenting our staff and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Jason Wong, Manager

57%

The staff were not friendly however Breakfast was really good. Just an average hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find our staff to be very friendly. We strive very hard to be as helpful and customer focused as we can. It is always nice to hear that people enjoy our free breakfast. I have sent you an email personally to get some more information regarding your stay. Happy travels and we hope that you may be able to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Cassandra Moore Assistant Manager

71%

Not the friendliest Hostel I've stayed at (I've stayed at rather a few). There wasn't a warm all-in-it-together feeling and felt much more like a commercial enterprise. The free Breakfast wasn't too great either. Aside from that, the beds were comfortable and clean, and the Security in and around the building were above the standard I would normally expect to see at a Hostel.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Casey921
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review on Hostelworld. We're sorry to hear this was your experience. We currently have weekly events such as BBQs and pasta nights for our guests to encourage socializing and friendships. We're also looking to increase the number of group activities planned. Thanks for bringing this to our attention and saying our security and beds were above the normal standard. We hope you're able to see an improvement during your next stay! Safe travels, Jason Wong, Manager

97%

amazing stuff the nicest I've experienced in Canada apart from the Cambie. breakfast also amazing so much choice. the place was supper clean gests were friendly . I played pool most nights just chatting to people. I would definitely recommend it to any one. its so close to city so it very easy to get to and close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review ! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit us again in the future! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

80%

Not a bad place for a nights rest.


91%

There isn't much in Calgary but this hostel is a nice place to meet people and stay Its warm and has all the facilities All facilities available and staff are nice, helpful and genuine A suggestion of TV in the kitchen as this is the only place guests can drink otherwise the room downstairs is the TV and pool room to socialise there are people staying here who are also looking for jobs, so a good place to make contacts for that

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the facilities. Thank you for your feedback regarding a TV in the kitchen. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Thanks, Cassandra Moore- Assistant Manager

97%

Friendly atmosphere and great location. Close to everything you need. Would recommend to a friend!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Calgary Hostels

Please give us your feedback