Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI Chamounix Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
HI Chamounix Mansion Located at 3250 Chamounix Drive, West Fairmount Park, Philadelphia.
HI Chamounix Mansion
USA
Philadelphia PA Pennsylvania 19 3250 Chamounix Drive, West Fairmount Park
83% 464
40.0039596 -75.1964054
HI Chamounix Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Very clean, beautiful big kitchen, friendly staff, beautiful living room and grounds. . You will need an extra mattress pad (like a small inflatable camping mattress) because the beds are very hard and uncomfortable. It would be nice to have a bench in the bathroom to sit and change clothes. Also some drapes in the bedrooms to block the early morning light. Overall very nice and inexpensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

I loved the mansion! It's a beautiful place to stay, it's clean and quiet. My only dislike is how thin bed bunk mattresses are making the bed a hard one to sleep in. Other than that staff is super nice and we were able to drive a couple miles and have a nice dinner and enjoy a bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.3

Great place. Awesome ambiance. Wish they didn't lock you out during the day, but it is a 200 year old building. Really, really enjoyable experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to spend little on housing. It is dorm style, beds are a bit hard. Thicker mats would make a great improvement. Free pancakes every morning. I love it. I stay about 3 times a year. The staff is very helpful, kind and considerate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mitchger
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jun 2016
6.3

Very difficult to reach in the middle of nowhere. The bed was unacceptable and there's nowhere to charge your phone. I couldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SirDaniel
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

Gtsy place! I stayed her before and it is treat, quiet and a Huge Kitchen. They need a New TV. IU

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

The beds are a bit hard but the people are lovely and helpful and it is truly a beautiful piece of history. Not for people who like the modern city but it was a lovely place to stay just out of the city without the hustle and bustle. Perfect for people who are out all day and just want a cheap place to shower, sleep, eat and relax :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.1

The Hostel is safe but it's very far out from city center. The facility is clean and staffs are nice. It's worth the money, just have to be prepare for the walk from bus stop to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
7.7

The place is far from dowtown so the location would not be excellent but the place itself is quite clean and organize and there's a security guard over there. The place has a curfew though so u should be aware if want to hang out at night and the bed is not comfortable at all. It was a good stay though for the price I paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2016
5.1

If you don't own a car, the quickest you can get into town by a bicycle (they supplied one for free which I rode into town - on the way the chain snapped and the back tyre popped) or bus is just over an hour. This makes it very difficult to go out into town at night. The rooms smell dusty and damp, and it took me almost 30 minutes to check in. Very old facilities. Dryer broke. However, scenic forest walks were great close by. The hostel did not attract many people under 40 while I was there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.