Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chamounix Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
HI Chamounix Mansion Located at 3250 Chamounix Drive, West Fairmount Park, Philadelphia.
HI Chamounix Mansion
USA
Philadelphia PA Pennsylvania 19 3250 Chamounix Drive, West Fairmount Park
80% 515
40.0039596 -75.1964054
HI Chamounix Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

What a wonderful gem tucked away on the outskirts of Philadelphia! I'm spreading the word to my friends and family and definitely plan to return when visiting Philadelphia in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
10.0

I was very pleased to spend a night at HI Chamounix Mansion. Quiet place, historic building, furnished appropriately. Nature park around. Friendly staff/ Would advise anybody who visits Philadelphia - or has it on their way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
9.4

Enjoyed this hostel! The location was convenient and quaint, but I drove which made it easy to get to. The staff was cool and chatty. There were plenty of common rooms to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • klambe
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Sep 2016
7.1

Understood the 11-4:30pm lockout however staff constantly making a point of it between 10am-10:50 was irritating, especially whilst trying to eat breakfast in peace. Staff were just quite rude as though they were unhappy being there. Unique hostel however, the location is a bit far out from city, but the surroundings are nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.9

The hostel staff was mostly friendly. The kitchen was huge and really welcoming. Also, the hostel was really clean. However, this place has 2 drawbacks- 1. It is located a little outside the city. So by public transport it takes almost an hour to reach the city. And the last 20 min to the is not accessible by buses. One can only walk. Inconvenient if you have bags as the road has some ascent and descent also. 2. The curfew time from 11 AM- 4:30 PM is very inconvenient. You can't stay in at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
7.7

I spent a single night at this hostel. The location of the hostel is very picturesque but hard to reach. As I was arriving late at night I ended up getting a cab from the greyhound station which was priced at $40. When I left the next morning I tried to use public transport which is quite complex and inconvenient if you don't already have a pass. I think this is a good hostel if you are spending several days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Very lovely mansion, i was expecting it could be haunted as it d have been much better for an adventure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.7

This is an old mansion so expect an old facility. The location is away from the city however it is set in a huge park which offers miles of walking paths and beautiful scenery near the river. It was strange to be locked out of the hostel for 5 hours each day, not something I've come across before. And the beds were pretty bad. The staff were nice and helpful and the kitchen was huge.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.4

The mansion and the grounds were nice. Kitchen area a bit funky. Sleeping quarters was acceptable, but I nearly gagged by the body odor of my bunkmates and wish I'd have thought to bring earplugs for the snoring. And there was no AC so it was totally uncomfortable to sleep and I ended up sleeping 4 hours on an uncomfortable couch in the common area just so I could get some kind of rest. I ended up getting a refund for the second night and stayed elsewhere. Other than that, it was awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
4.0

They kick you out from 11-4 PM for cleaning the hostel which means your not able to stay in. the staff wasn't very friendly they were in bad mood most off the time because they had so much work. as an example i wasn't done with my breakfast till 11:10 and they would really give me grief for it. you need one hour traveling for getting to the city which in though is really enjoining. so i've you have the chance i would stay in a different place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.