X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Chicago Hostel Reviews

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2290 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Very unpleasant staff member. Unfriendly and went out of his way to upset us and tried to aggravate us.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel, close to everything. There is enough space in your room and things are clean and new. Totally recommend.


89%

This place was great. The room was massive (4 bed female dorm) and had it to myself most of the time I assume cause its winter and the low season. Lots of facilities and good location. Would most definitely stay again and recommend.


100%

Amazing hostel! will come back, highly recommended!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have traveled around quite a bit and have stayed in a lot of hostels, but this one was by far the nicest (and one of the cheapest too)!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! Great location! Great value for money!

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Down town, close to everything. Filled with art elements. Second floor is a nice place to make friends. Pretty cheap.


100%

I enjoyed the stay in HI Chicago! The room was clean and the staff are all very friendly and willing to help! Also, I really like their breakfast and coffee (provided all the day). It was awesome and I definitely recommend people to stay there!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean,convenient,casual,cool!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A new centrally located TV lounge with USB chargers makes for a nice upgrade. The information desk will also be on the 2nd floor, a great place to get the scoop on walking tours.


89%

The wifi is not bad, but could be improved. Sometimes I had problem in connections using the phone.


94%

Nice clean hostel, very clean, perfect location to discover Chicago, highly recommended, reception quite helpful and smiling people there, see you next time !

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good location. Lots of hostel-led activities, I appreciated that. Was mostly quiet and easy to deal with. Only problem was the wifi was pretty slow.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

excellent service and location, only downfall is the wifi. doesnt really work in the dorms


100%

I loved this hostel. It was very clean and the staff was super friendly. I highly recommend it.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends! Awesome location! What I didn't like was that the toilets in the common area were also used by the costumes from the coffee shop next door. So actually everybody could get in there...


77%

The hostel itself was pretty good although the room itself was cold, colder than everywhere else in the hostel. Also the bathroom situation was silly, one shower had extremely low pressure and you were required to hold the shower handle the whole time as the holder was over 6ftf and pointed at the other wall rather than down, the other shower had extreme pressure buy not very hot. And the exhaust fan while preventing too much steam left a freshly clean person shivering.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

AMAZING HOSTEL!!! Super clean (even the bathroom was so clean I could walk there in my socks). Bigger than we expected. The double room has a huge double bed plus a single bed above, and an ironing board, towels, desk, clean sheets, etc. There is a full kitchen and bathroom/showers inside the private area. Location smack in the middle of the city, just a few blocks from the Art Institute (where you can see the paintings from Ferris Buehler's Day Off) and all the metro stations. COME HERE!!!


100%

Had a great experience staying here.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay. Location was perfect, beds were comfortable and the complementary breakfast was an absolute plus. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback