X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Chicago Hostel Reviews

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2384 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I had a top time here,only one comment and I feel it should be looked into.there was a large school group,a group of some sort anyway,and they ran riot.the teachers and parentsp,handlers had no control pover the kids.they were standing in the pool table,they were shouting all night,etc I had a word to one if the handlers and it gave me a blank stare,as if to say,they are only kids.surely the teachers etc gave taught them to have some manners.it was not good.


51%

It's a giant hostel machine with no feeling or atmosphere. If you need cheap lodgings I guess it would be fine. It's just not somewhere you would want to hang out. Definitely don't recommended if travelling alone.


94%

This was FOR SURE AN AMAZING SURPRISE! It was my first experience with Hostelling International and I was amazed by the facilities, so clean and cozy. The bed was more comfortable than my own bed at home. Besides the location (in the loop) makes easy for you to go walking to all main attractions from Chicago. The staff is friendly and open to help you with anything you need (even fixing a light bulb on a sunday afternoon). Come on and book it already, no regrets, I guarantee.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Enjoyed my stay at Hi-Chicago hostel. I would love to recommend my friends to stay there.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This hostel was very boring. The activities for young people started so early, not much atmosphere and you couldn't drink at the hostel. Needed pub crawls and more night events. Very old person feel.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The biggest hostel I've seen so far! It's really clean, good facilities, nice looking and the location is amazing. Breakfast is pretty good. I really can't complain about anything.


97%

Great nice clean hostel with some great activites and close by to the train system which is great


100%

Excellent hostel. One of the best i've ever stayed in

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Will definitely stay there again if I visit Chicago.


100%

Wish I cold have stayed longer...

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Hands down the classiest hostel I've stayed in, and I've been to hundreds of hostels around the globe now. Clean, friendly, safe, lively, well organised, good breakfast, great common area, free luggage storage, amazing location, information centre, laundry, self service kitchens... I stayed here half way through travels across America and this was the best stop for me to recooperate. Wish I could have stayed longer!


100%

My daughter and I stayed at the HI Chicago while we visited a college in the city. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The people and the staff were all great! We'll come back again! Thanks!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I have thoughts about the hostel's perfection, it's like they know what I want being a student. Everything I need as a student is there, washer, stove, shower, bed. The check in-out times are enough for me to rest from traveling. Thank you and thanks for the friendly customer service.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I loved Chicago and the hostel is in a perfect location!!! The wifi worked really well and the hostel activities were really good!


94%

Great place to be! I'd have loved bigger lockers but they are fine.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay! Location was great and price! Vey secure/safe as well. Like a hotel but with roommates. Definitely would stay there again.


97%

I got totally confused when the receptionist told me the deposit i paid online in advance was not part of the hotel fee. The invoice and receipt they gave me only covered the amount I paid when I arrived there at the counter. So what is that deposit (about $40) for? just online booking agent fee? Thank you very much if you can answer this.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's close to everything so it's really good, but the neighborhood is a little bit scaring especially at night


63%

My belt was stolen. I checked out and then an hour later realized that my belt was missing. I remembered that I left it on the bed and when I went back it was gone. The staff allowed me to go up to the room and look for my belt which was nice of them to do. They said that they would alert me if someone found the belt. I doubt that I will ever see it again. Always lock up your valuables. I don't trust anyone to steal from me for a second.


100%

One of the best hostels ever!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback