X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Chicago Hostel Reviews

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
2356 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Kimberly provided kind, savvy service in solving my WiFi problems.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is probably one of the best hostels all over the world. Location is in " The Loop" which is hearth of Chicago. You don't even need to purchase tickets to get famous places, you can simply walk to everywhere from that hostel. Only downside was the smell in the room. Other than that everything was perfect. Additionally they serve complimentary breakfast in the morning!

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

amazing place


91%

i was really satisfied staying in here!

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I wasn't expecting to have such a great time!! A good shower and matress after a walking day is all you need and the hostel totally provides you that. The place is very clean ad the rooms are huge, lots of space for your luggages.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is really the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Everything is perfect. I recommend it strongly, especially the male deluxe room. Great breakfast, great people, great facilities.


100%

Great stay there!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

(I am short but ) a hanger of woman shower was too high to reach. I think it is better to add a lower one.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Very unpleasant staff member. Unfriendly and went out of his way to upset us and tried to aggravate us.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel, close to everything. There is enough space in your room and things are clean and new. Totally recommend.


89%

This place was great. The room was massive (4 bed female dorm) and had it to myself most of the time I assume cause its winter and the low season. Lots of facilities and good location. Would most definitely stay again and recommend.


100%

Amazing hostel! will come back, highly recommended!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have traveled around quite a bit and have stayed in a lot of hostels, but this one was by far the nicest (and one of the cheapest too)!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! Great location! Great value for money!

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Down town, close to everything. Filled with art elements. Second floor is a nice place to make friends. Pretty cheap.


100%

I enjoyed the stay in HI Chicago! The room was clean and the staff are all very friendly and willing to help! Also, I really like their breakfast and coffee (provided all the day). It was awesome and I definitely recommend people to stay there!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean,convenient,casual,cool!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A new centrally located TV lounge with USB chargers makes for a nice upgrade. The information desk will also be on the 2nd floor, a great place to get the scoop on walking tours.


89%

The wifi is not bad, but could be improved. Sometimes I had problem in connections using the phone.


94%

Nice clean hostel, very clean, perfect location to discover Chicago, highly recommended, reception quite helpful and smiling people there, see you next time !

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(55 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback