Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.7

This place is so excellent! The price tag seems a bit high after traveling outside of the US for a long time, but really it's a great value for the money. The staff is excellent. I'd recommend this place to any and everyone coming to Chicago!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel was an overall amazing experience. I would especially recommend it to anyone who is only there for a few nights, and is alone under the age of 30 (like university students). Breakfast in the morning was such a treat, the staff was incredibly helpful, and the rooms were clean and safe. The location was great, but it is right by some train tracks so if that kind of noise bothers you, bring ear plugs. Overall, I loved it here. Wi fi is free and AMAZING SIGNAL too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Everything was perfect. Only downside was the sound of the beds but aside from that loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Great location for exploring Chicago. The hostel organises a range of activities that let you learn more about the area, or experience some of Chicago's cultural identity. The rooms are quite large and comfortable and the communal spaces are very well set up. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
9.4

While sleeping a flea bite my arm and forehead. Other than that it is a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
9.7

its one of the best hostel that i stayed in the us, its right in the center of the city, very well organised, the hostel has lots of activity access, i definetely recommand this hostel if u want a short trip in chicago

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
9.1

Right by the train tracks. Be sure to request a room as far from the tracks as possible, or be prepared to be woken up every 20 minutes by the train rumbling by, brakes screeching as it stops at the location. Other than that, great hostel for the price, nice to have the beds in a separate room from the living room/kitchen/bathroom area within the suite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
9.7

Very clean and good location. Overall good experience. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

Easy to found the hostel after got off the subway. Reception are always busy! You got to queue up if you need something. Staff are nice and friendly and helpful, especially Ashley, she was very patient to answer my questions and point it out all the tourist attractions, much appreciated. Management should appreciate staff like Ashley, made guests felt very welcome! Chicago is my favourite American city! I like tall buildings, beautiful parks, everything is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th May 2017
8.9

I was in a 10 bed room, it was great! Very big room, plenty of space. Hostel is clean and has a fab vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.