Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a lovely stay at HiChicago the other week! The rooms were really clean and big, with lockers for storage. The free breakfast is a nice touch, and being free you can't really complain! Staff really nice and helpful when you have questions. Overall, fantastic stay and would go back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel that's super spacious and has great facilities. The dorms a little big with 10 people in them so sleeping can be a little difficult with so people coming and going at different hours. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel, central location, clean and nice facilities! Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.9

I usually stay at HI and hardly ever regret my decision. This time I opted for this Hostel and it turned out to be a better choice. Pancakes and Waffles with Coffee served every morning, Staff was super friendly and helpful. I saved a lot of money and time by staying, I truly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
10.0

An all-around perfect hostel. They hosted an excellent presentation from local high school kids, and it was really interesting to meet local kids and hear about their experiences.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent location in the Loop, with free wifi, free breakfast, free towel, and reading lights and power socket at each bed. However some rooms are facing the L train track so it may be a bit noisy from 5am to 1am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome, super location near the Blue Line ( LaSalle Station) . Super Value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • masumi_0501
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.1

I like shower rooms in this hostel. Very large and easy to use. Also, I enjoyed events that was held every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. It is much appreciated. Paul

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Good location in Chicago downtown. Good value for money. Don't forget your padlock because they don't give you one if you ask for. Good place to stay for one or two nights But the breakfast was awful...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. It is much appreciated. Thanks for pointing out the padlock, we do sell them on through a vending machine. Sorry you felt the breakfast was awful, we try to provide something for everyone to enjoy for starting the day. Paul

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.1

As my first experience for staying at a hostel, HI Chicago was definitely one of the best choices for me. The hostel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just a few steps from a couple of CTA (the metro in Chicago city) lines. My friend and I (both females) walked around the area of the hostel late night and it was way safer than I imagined. The hostel has a pretty cool lounge with a pingpong table and a pool table, plus the free breakfast provided was very decent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. It is much appreciated. Our location is definitely great and we try to make the hostel as "cool' as possible. Paul

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.