Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2017
8.6

Kitchen facilities in the dorm floors (3 and up) didn't really have enough utensils to cook with and difficult to find your way around the main kitchen. The lounge area is big and comfy though, although can get a bit noisy, which can be annoying if watching tv. The breakfast is delicious and the staff always answered my questions with no problems and a smile on their face. The hostel is in downtown so very central to the Willis Tower and Cloud Gate & only a short walk to other areas of interest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Very recommended hostel! Would like to come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Aug 2017
9.7

Great hostel in a great spot in downtown Chicago - great value for money and staff were amiable and an amazing breakfast !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
8.9

Okay so this hostel is fantastic! The rooms are well cooled and huge, beds clean/comfy, breakfast is simply amazing and it is in a great location! However, according to staff it has recently been taken over and has lost much of its old charm. It is run like a business instead of the usual profit free Hostels. Also the laundry costs $2.75 per load which is beyond ridiculous and is more than double what everyone else charges so do your washing elsewhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Best ever hostel! Thank you very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • radeeyjd2148
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Very central place in Chicago. Clean hostel and good breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here if I go back to Chicago!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.6

My friends and I were here for 1 night and only needed simple accommodations, which Hi Chicago definitely provides. I booked 2 female beds in a 8-bed dorm and upon check-in, we were "upgraded" to a 4bed dorm. Sadly, they double booked one of our beds. We were told that we would be in the same room, but another woman already had her stuff in one of the bed we were assigned. We ended up in separate rooms, within the same suite:/. Also, don't try to park anywhere close to hostel (it's hella $$$).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

I have always had good experience with Hi brand hostel. Definitely worth it for the value of money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.7

I am in LOVE with this hostel. I will always stay with Hosteling International every time I can! Things they don't boast because they are too humble : Everyday there is a free activity like a historical city tour, discounted tickets for sites in the city, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Cleannnn facility, friendly staff, great location!!! In the middle of Downtown Chicago and close to train stations. Definitely would try out hostels now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.