Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • masumi_0501
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.1

I like shower rooms in this hostel. Very large and easy to use. Also, I enjoyed events that was held every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Good location in Chicago downtown. Good value for money. Don't forget your padlock because they don't give you one if you ask for. Good place to stay for one or two nights But the breakfast was awful...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.1

As my first experience for staying at a hostel, HI Chicago was definitely one of the best choices for me. The hostel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just a few steps from a couple of CTA (the metro in Chicago city) lines. My friend and I (both females) walked around the area of the hostel late night and it was way safer than I imagined. The hostel has a pretty cool lounge with a pingpong table and a pool table, plus the free breakfast provided was very decent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
9.7

The first and best hostel I have ever stayed at. Very clean, tidy and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sheetalsharma511
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, right in the heart of the city. Awesome breakfast and spacious rooms. Toilets could have been cleaner. Rest all is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
9.4

Great location and offered great events. I particularly liked the fact that there were lockers available on the 1st floor as well as in the rooms. I'd definitely remember to bring a lock. The lobby a pretty nice place to socialize. I recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
9.7

There was some kind of group full of kids that stayed there, for 18 plus hostel, felt like a daycare, kids were running around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aarciniega
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever been!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Staff was attentive and knowledgeable! The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Shampoo and body wash are provided in the showers. Continental breakfast is offered every morning. The location is central to most places in downtown Chicago! The blue and red line CTA were the most accessible. I have no complaints about this place at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel! It's very clean and the location is excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.