Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel Located at 24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago.
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel
USA
Chicago IL IL, 60605 24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago
93% 2933
41.8759200 -87.6263952
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

I have been to dozens of hostels around the world, this is by far the nicest one I have ever had the pleasure to visit. The best location in the entire city, with everything you need, and more !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
6.9

Great facilities and security, but a hostel with zero atmosphere. If you're a backpacker looking for a bit of celebration and nightlife, avoid HI hotels on the whole. They are fantastically positioned and offer great facilities but for myself, I would forego these for a bit of life in the building. Half of the people staying there were under the age of 18, and a number of them were above 30. It seemed that 18 to 30 year olds were in the minority. Very disappointing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.9

My sheets were stained, but since I was only staying a night I just covered it with the loose sheet and ignored it. Still, not a nice thing to find. The rooms were spacious and the bed was otherwise very comfortable. Location is very good of course.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

My apologies on the stained sheets. It is unusual for us to reuse stained linen. I'll speak to the housekeeping staff and use this as a retraining tool. I hope everything else was satisfactory?

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Clean, great location, great facilities. Such a big hostel, it's harder to meet people if you're looking to make friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

This was a good hostel that I found very clean and it was super secure with your key card being needed to enter most areas. The room was very big with large lockers available and the bed was super comfy. Also, free breakfast is advertised as continental...some muffins, a few bagels and an apple doesn't really make it continental in my opinion but it was still a nice extra to have.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

This is the BEST hostel you can find in the heart of Chicago! Walking distance to Millennium Park as well as many other historical buildings can bring you great convenience and fabulous experience. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you and thanks for the recommendation. Paul.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Amazing location, great breakfast! Really enjoyed my time here :) Only thing, don't stay here if you are a solo traveller hoping to meet people, it's not the most social hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you were unable to meet anyone. We try to create social events that are intended to bring people together. I am happy to hear you enjoyed other things we offer. Thanks for staying with us. Paul

3rd Jul 2016
9.4

Stayed at a 8 males room but we'd nicely surprised that it's further subdivided into 2 rooms of 4 so a lot of space and privacy. The unit includes a kitchen and dining tables. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the recommendation. Much appreciated. Paul

3rd Jul 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my stay and the hostel is very closet to buses and trains. It was also about 20 minutes away from attractions on foot. My only suggestion is that they provide more vegan friendly breakfast options- even if it is just a container of Smart Balance spread.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the suggestion. I will look into it with my staff. Hope you were able to enjoy some other items we offer. Paul.

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
6.9

Great location Breakfast was very low quality I did not have at all I stayed 4 days They did not clean daily the room Overall it was OK

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you were not able to enjoy the breakfast. I will speak with the housekeeping manager about daily cleaning. This should have occurred everyday. My apologies. Paul.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.