Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3,062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3,062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel Located at 24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago.
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel
USA
Chicago IL IL, 60605 24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago
93% 3062
41.8759200 -87.6263952
HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
8.3

Pros: -great location downtown Chicago -short walk to bus stops and the El -short walk to pharmacies/groceries, parks, restaurants -no age limit, family hostel -price is great for the location Cons: -bring your own lock for the lockers -you can hear the El pass by, so get used to it quick -if you are a light sleeper like me, pray that your roommates are quiet during the night -$3/night extra for non-members -no plug in inside lockers Recommendations: -ear plugs -be social

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
8.3

Place is expensive. But I guess that's America, man. It also could have been better cleaned. I dropped my phone under my bed. When I dived down there to find it, I came across what turned out to be 56 cents in pennies and a package of potato chips/crisps. Surely even a lick and a promise of a cleaning job would have disinterred this detritus. For shame. Meanwhile, the showers were peachy keen in terms of hot water, but the sinks seemed to dispense only cold. Tough for shaving.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

I enjoyed everything about my stay at this hostel. It was my first time in a hostel and it I would Highly recommend it to other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
8.3

Pros: really clean, free breakfast, really spacious rooms and common room. Much more of a hotel feel. Cons: not very social, gets quiet quick, location isn't great to just walk around at night. I only stayed one night as a solo traveler, but if I stayed much longer, I'd probably consider another location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
10.0

Had an incredible time in Chicago. Love this hostel! Lots of great people and activities. Large rooms and spacious facilities. Friendly staff and perfect location downtown for access to the L, train to University of Chicago and Grant Park! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
8.6

I've only recently started staying in domestic hostels (have stayed in many international ones) and this place has the feel. There were many intl travelers, most young (18-late 20s) or families (a LOT of youth). The bad: The box spring was somewhat uncomfortable, the blanket had holes and rips, group activities not as well implemented (what is spare to share app??) The good: Clean, modern, roomy kitchen/lounge areas, roommates were a non-issue. Would try others if you want more social

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place! Worth every penny. Just needs friendlier p workers at Breakfast room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
10.0

highly recommended. will stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.7

Super super super nice place. The hostel itself is huge, and the rooms were very spacious and clean. We stayed in an 8-bed female dorm, the 8 beds were located in two separate rooms, which was great, we also had a kitchen, large bathroom and a little sitting corner with armchairs. Breakfast was super and included several types of pastry, cereal and fruit as well as juice or coffee. Staff was nice and knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
9.1

The location is totally perfect, it is walking distance to the popular spots in downtown Chicago. Also it was my first time trying hostel, and the room was nice and comfortable. I will totally recommend this place to my friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.