Hostelworld.com

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 3211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 3211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel! It's very clean and the location is excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Huge, plenty of room, great facilities and you cannot beat the location. The staff were super friendly and helpful. This will be my go-to stay in Chicago for the foreseeable future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel is awesome!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! So much better than all the other hostels I've stayed at in the US!! Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Great Location by the Loop (if you want more nightlife, look for something in River North - though here, it's only a $6 uber away). Always friendly & helpful staff, great free breakfast area, and very very clean. Rooms were spacious, even for 10 beds. Went with a friend, but made some new ones and would have felt comfortable visiting alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Hostel très grand mais sympathique. Les visites guidées permettent de rencontrer d'autres voyageurs facilement. Petit déjeuner inclus et correct ! Bon emplacement à 5-10 moins du centre et attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.1

I was impressed by this hostel as I was placed in a dorm room for the first night with a very difficult roommate who was also really sick. I told the staff the next morning. They let me transfer my gear to another room right away and let me get on with my day. Overall location is great for sights and downtown, but it is huge and probably harder to meet other travelers and good places to party, would choose other smaller hostels except Wrigley Hostel with terrible staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2016
10.0

A great hostel with some spacious rooms and nice facilities. Would definitely stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.4

It was my first experience in a Hostel, and could be better!! Everything was organized and clean. It gave the impression that everything was thought to facilitate the life of the traveler. The atmosphere was great, everyone was friendly and everything I needed was nearby. If I came back to Chicago or go to another city that have HI, I'll definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location. The facilities are good. Nice staff. The only problem was that you need an extra quilt to keep warm when sleep, and there was noise from the train at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.