X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Edmonton Reviews

10647-81 Avenue, Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
285 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place to stay. Once I found it was welcomed. Get off at Universityand take the 7 bus. It was wasy though. Places to at and party right around the place that makes it nice


40%

Roommate smelled of weed and alcohol. Was very awkward to have a roommate doing drugs on daily basis and causing the room and my clothes to smell. Did not feel safe in my own room. Does nobody come in theRooms? the bathroom is shared among more than 20 people-- disgusting . I still can't believe there's only 1 bathroom per floor with only 2 stalls.. Worst HI hostel I have ever stayed at among the 30 or so I've been to. For a city the size of Edmonton to have such hostels is embarrassing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. If there is a problem with your room or roommate, please let us know and we will move you rooms. We are in the middle of a major renovation project, which we are very excited about and will greatly enhance our facility. Greg, Manager

100%

Hostels are the best way to travel now I want to move to edmonton

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

the wifi connection was very poor and depending on how late you shower in the morning there won't be hot water. Overall it was good, just those details :)

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to see you really enjoyed your stay with us. However, I'm sorry to hear our WiFi didn't meet your expectations. Thanks for letting us know about the hot water issue you experienced. We will look into that. Greg, Manager

69%

This hostel seems to serve different users as there are regular people who work outside of Edmonton and come back to the Hostel for work breaks. However, this makes it just as interesting to hear their stories. The facilities were all ok and clean! Staff was very nice but was not always well informed about Edmonton and how to use public transport there! The bike I hired was terrible.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you found the hostel clean and the staff very nice. I'm glad you met some interesting people, as we always have a good mix of domestic guests and international travelers. We do offer cheap bike rentals. I'm sorry to hear the one you rented didn't meet your expectations. Greg, Manager

97%

Great location

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

bad WI-FI connection


89%

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Edmonton: it's just one block from Whyte Ave and so you're in a really nice area for restaurants, bars, shops... The rooms and bathrooms were clean and I felt really comfortable. Also the staff was friendly and helped where they could. Thanks so much!


63%

The bunks were very low do don't expect much space if you're on the bottom. It was far away from the main attractions in Edmonton so you need a car to get around, but it was close to a super market and some restaurants. Decent sized lockers but no space under the beds to store anything extra.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We are located in Old Strathcona - the arts and entertainment district. Many of the other city attractions are a short ride on the bus, which you can catch one block from the hostel. If you happen to need extra storage space, we have a luggage storage room. Greg, Manager

83%

The hostel is in a great location. Just one block from Whyte Avenue where you will find grocery stores, pharmacies, gas stations, clubs, and restaurants. They have a big lounge where you can mingle with other travellers. They have a decent size storage in each room. My room's heater at the second floor didn't seem to work very well for a couple of nights. Inspite of the heater problem, I would stay here again and would recommend to my friends. Thanks!




View all Edmonton Hostels

Please give us your feedback