X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Edmonton Reviews

10647-81 Avenue, Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
299 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Checked in at the same time as a bruised up/bleeding middle aged man was dealing with the staff, felt a bit weird as a first impression. Had some drunkards screaming in the hallways, but they weren't backpackers partying - they looked like hobos. The room was very clean however and the beds were comfortable. The atmosphere was zero from the couple hours I spent in the common room. Not memorable, but the staff and the rooms were good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you found the hostel very clean and comfortable and that the staff were friendly and helpful. However, I'm sorry to hear of your first impression. We do accept all ages, however, all guests must have valid photo ID to check in. We do allow drinking, but we have a no alcohol, quiet time starting at 11pm. Greg, Manager

69%

Need to be more clean and need air conditioner

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear our cleanliness didn't meet your expectations. I have spoken to our Housekeeping department and reminded them about our expected high standards for cleanliness. Greg, Manager

66%

Hostel was very basic, rooms looked like they have seen better days. Common area was nice though. Both street and hostel was under construction so there are no laundry facilities and limited kitchen etc at the moment. Staff were average, would have wanted some more information about ongoings for Canada day but they didn't seem too informed about the happenings more than the fireworks. Felt safe, good value for money, would stay there again if I go back to Edmonton.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you felt safe and found us good value for your money. We are currently undergoing renovations, which we are doing in phases so to have minimal impact on our guests. Due to our current phase, we have a temporary limited kitchen. We will be renovating all guest rooms and areas.Greg, Manager

54%

The wifi was poor. The bathrooms were very small. Showering was a pain. The staff did not communicate well when it was time to leave. Not the best experience. The only positive I take away from it was a couple new friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. Our entire WiFi system was replaced last year. Our checkout time is 11am. Greg, Manager

100%

Great place to stay. Once I found it was welcomed. Get off at Universityand take the 7 bus. It was wasy though. Places to at and party right around the place that makes it nice


40%

Roommate smelled of weed and alcohol. Was very awkward to have a roommate doing drugs on daily basis and causing the room and my clothes to smell. Did not feel safe in my own room. Does nobody come in theRooms? the bathroom is shared among more than 20 people-- disgusting . I still can't believe there's only 1 bathroom per floor with only 2 stalls.. Worst HI hostel I have ever stayed at among the 30 or so I've been to. For a city the size of Edmonton to have such hostels is embarrassing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. If there is a problem with your room or roommate, please let us know and we will move you rooms. We are in the middle of a major renovation project, which we are very excited about and will greatly enhance our facility. Greg, Manager

100%

Hostels are the best way to travel now I want to move to edmonton

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

the wifi connection was very poor and depending on how late you shower in the morning there won't be hot water. Overall it was good, just those details :)

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to see you really enjoyed your stay with us. However, I'm sorry to hear our WiFi didn't meet your expectations. Thanks for letting us know about the hot water issue you experienced. We will look into that. Greg, Manager

69%

This hostel seems to serve different users as there are regular people who work outside of Edmonton and come back to the Hostel for work breaks. However, this makes it just as interesting to hear their stories. The facilities were all ok and clean! Staff was very nice but was not always well informed about Edmonton and how to use public transport there! The bike I hired was terrible.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you found the hostel clean and the staff very nice. I'm glad you met some interesting people, as we always have a good mix of domestic guests and international travelers. We do offer cheap bike rentals. I'm sorry to hear the one you rented didn't meet your expectations. Greg, Manager

97%

Great location

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

bad WI-FI connection


89%

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Edmonton: it's just one block from Whyte Ave and so you're in a really nice area for restaurants, bars, shops... The rooms and bathrooms were clean and I felt really comfortable. Also the staff was friendly and helped where they could. Thanks so much!




View all Edmonton Hostels

Please give us your feedback