Hostelworld.com

HI-Edmonton

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
HI-Edmonton Located at 10647-81 Avenue, Alberta, Edmonton.
HI-Edmonton
Canada
Edmonton AB 10647-81 Avenue, Alberta
71% 334
53.5167873 -113.5058069
HI-Edmonton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Mar 2016
5.7

Just Enough is how I would rate the Hi-Edmonton. There was nothing wrong with it, but nothing right with it either. I go to hostels for the social piece, which did not exist. Where other hostels have nightly activities in the hostel or around town (karaoke, bar crawls, game nights) the Hi-Edmonton has a dry erase board that tells you what is going on. Once they had a wine and cheese night at the hostel, where the staff just left wine and cheese on a table and then walked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. During our winter season, we usually experience a lower occupancy. Due to this we currently only have two weekly hostel activities. As we move into our summer season, our hostel activities will be increasing. Greg, Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Feb 2016
5.1

- Only few backpackers , because of that the atmosphere was really bad - Staff is unfriendly compared to the staff in the HI Calgary and Vancouver

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to see we did not meet your expectations. I apologize that you had a negative experience when dealing with our staff. I have spoken to all staff and reminded them of the high level of friendliness and customer service that is expected from them. Greg, Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
7.1

It was good. No complaints. Clean rooms, good internet service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • enrighl5380
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2016
8.3

Just what you want, great kitchen facilities, warm room, clean building, 10% discount as they were renovating. Sky shuttle from airport dropped us to the door and an uber to the via rail station was $16. Walking distance to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
8.6

My travelling companion and I had a very pleasant stay here and will definitely do it again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2015
9.7

Could use art work on cafeteria walls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2015
6.0

This hostel had the vibe of a senior citizens center, minus the senior citizens. Absolutely no atmosphere and all the guests seemed to be locals, who were extremely standoffish. The hostel is still under repair also so there's that as well...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We do not allow anyone from Edmonton to stay at the hostel. We are usually quieter in the winter, which is our slower season. We are excited about our current renovations and the huge improvements they are going to make to the facility. Greg, Manager

21st Nov 2015
8.6

The stuff were really friendly and cooperative answering any questions. the hostel was safe and quite. I'll stay again. Thanks,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2015
8.3

This hostel is rough around the edges at this point but I hope the upgrades will make it more pleasant. Staff and security are good so that makes my stay ok. I still (as always) have a problem with having to pay per person even though we are a married couple with a single income so the money is coming out of one pocket. In the end staying at a hostel makes sense for individuals only; it is not couple or family friendly. We only stayed here because we know this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently under-going a renovation project, which will greatly update and improve all our facilities. If you stay in one of our types of dorm rooms, you do pay per person. However, we do have private rooms, which are designed for couples or family use, and are a set price. Greg, Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.