X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI Europa Brugge Reviews

Baron Ruzettelaan 143, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
829 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Everything was clean and nothing out of the ordinary. A 10 minute walk from the bus stop, the breakfast is just bread and cereal, so don't expect it to be hotel-style continental. We only stayed one night, but my advice would be to just stay in Brussels and make a day trip to Bruges. Not much to see in the area.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff helpful and friendly .En-suite rooms basic but clean. Free breakfast was a bonus and very good. The Hostels location is excellent with free parking and a short stroll to the centre. Would definitely stay here again. Only downside is if you stay longer than 1 night there is no kitchen to use.


80%

Definitely a good place to stay in Bruges! Is a little bit of a hike from the center of town, but the atmosphere is very friendly and in general the staff was accommodating. Only complaint is that the Wifi doesn't really work in the rooms, and there were only two electrical outlets for an entire room of six people! Breakfast was great, facilities were clean, nice people. Would definitely recommend!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Great breakfast. MINUSES: Had to use tap water from the BATHROOM sink to then heat in MICROWAVE to make noodles (I was on a budget). Then had to ask staffer to drain said noodles of water in kitchen I was not allowed to use. Paid for use of cutlery/bowl!! This AJs should let guests use kitchen when so far from town. Too much money wasted on vacant spaces making hostel look even more dead than usual. Shower space filthy and apparently freezing anyway so did not use it. No lockers.


71%

More electricity plugs needed in the rooms!!!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Room smells not good. Location is a little bit far from center. Others are good!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nearly all was perfect during our stay, the unique reproach I can make is that the wifi is just working at the reception and in the breakfast room but not in the room, and that's not very usefull... :((( But the room was clean, the situation is not far from center and the breakfast was excellent. I can also say that the size of beds is a little bit too narrow


60%

I didn't really like this place, although I can't put my finger on why, specifically. Just... bad vibes. Also, the wifi only worked downstairs, and you have to log in again every time you close your device. And I found it very cold, for some reason. It's located just outside the main town, about a 10 minute walk. However, Brugge itself was beautiful, and this place didn't spoil the experience. But if I came back, I might try somewhere different. (One plus: the free breakfast was very good!)


80%

Nice place to stay.


83%

The hostel was big with lots of space for our bikes, but it still felt like a welcoming place. The arrangements for late returning to the rooms were useful. The beds were surprisingly comfortable (once we'd figured the sheets out)! The only thing I missed was the use of a toaster at breakfast but this is probably a bit of a British thing...

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a very good Hostel breakfast included...

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was just perfect.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel should make dining and living area smaller to encourage mingling between guests. The area was too big - which is good if you want to be private. Showers were low pressure the one time i showered there, at least for my stall. Breakfast selection was awesome.


86%

Nice place to stay! Short walk away from City Centre: not an ideal location, but hardly an inconvenience. Also only a short distance away from Brugge train station. Overall, great stay!


60%

Lockers had to be PAID to be used. Wifi was lost in the rooms, needed constant log-in and the password isn't easy to remember. Located quite a distance from the city center, and the entrance to the hostel is not very obvious, I only found it after seeing a hostel sign on the wall. Breakfast was good, I guess I was there during an off-period, therefore it was peaceful and quiet.


40%

I stayed in the hostel for just one night in a "6 female bedroom" (actually was connected with another 6 beds room - no doors between) and unfort the other side of the room was too lour during night(and you probably go for a day to Bruges, want some rest). Besides, you had to carry up your luggage through stairs and the worst thing, in my opinion, showers were mixed. For some reason toilets were door opened and you practically could see everything. Wouldn't stay again. Even for a day.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good hostel in regards to cleanliness; particularly enjoyed the sinks in the room. Just a few negative points - the bathrooms/showers closed from 10am-1pm which was extremely annoying, especially not getting told this on arrival; the 15/20 minute walk to the town central, breakfast was basic (bread but no toaster?) although free so can't really complain. The worst was the incredibly rude/unhelpful staff that should definitely not be working in the hospitality industry.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel! Provided breakfast was great, dorms were pretty good in terms of space with sinks as well. secure luggage storage which was a bit annoying, but there were small valuable lockers in the lounge. Would definitely stay here again!


94%

Very nice and clean hostel. A place to stay if you are looking for a quiet non-party hostel. The staff is very helpful and the bar is amazingly cheap


74%

Location was good, 10 minutes to city center and quite. But the environment was a bit sterile, not a great place to meet other travellers. But it's clean and quite, if that's what you're looking for.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback