X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel Reviews

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
370 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very nice and helpful staff.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Even though we didn't enjoy Waikiki so much, this hostel was a great find. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our private room with en suite was simple but all we needed as we were out most of the time.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, near than all buses. good hostel


97%

As a au pair on her travelmonth in need for a place to stay cheap and with good location this was great! Really friendly staff, friendly people living here, plus it feels extremely safe. Really close to the beach and shuttles to different activities. I got help with everything i needed. Really calm and nice hostel. I would most definitely recommend it!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a great place to stay. The street was a bit noisy but this isn't the fault of the hostel.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

We booked for 6 people in a 6 bed dorm on one booking and were split up. Unhappy! There are rules galore at this place, so don't expect it to be more than just a bed.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff is great - so friendly! Rocko invited us on hikes and firework night and Paul is exceptionally nice, very calm and down to earth and really helps out in every way he can. Beds are good, doesn't shake or make too much noise, when crawling up in the upper bunks. Kitchen is clean.


100%

since Paul has taken over as general manager the hostel has improved in all areas you need a combination freezer regrigerator

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Warning dry hostel no alcohol allowed!! We weren't advised of this before (or even when) we checked in and our beers were confiscated from the fridge! Great location near the beach. Clean facilities. Good wifi but only in common area!! Washing machines NOT available between 8am - 6pm and there is only one for the whole hostel! We had to pay for a laundromat despite staying a week. Staff were grumpy and apathetic.


100%

The bed in room 401 probably needs to be fixed ?

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

When the Kitchen, Great Room and TV room are finished with the remodel, things will be back to normal and convenient once again. We have stayed here three different times over four years. Great location. Great price.


80%

This hostel needed to have more pots, pans, plates, utensils, etc. as each room has a kitchenette, but none of them have dishes and cutlery, they are all just in the main communal kitchen, and they are very few. The third floor patio is phenomenal! The hostel room could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom. We had a private room. The A/C was great. The sheets for the bed were very nice and swanky. Overall, it would have been a great experience if it was cleaner. The staff were great!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I think the website for this facility should indicate the size of the lockers because I thought they would be big enough for my whole backpack but they were very small. The lounge area was nice, and I had lots of fun talking with the other hostelers.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Helpful staff and great location.


80%

Every thing was good. It would be better if we had Wi Fi in our room and also the security metal for our window was broken.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The booked two single beds were actually a bunk bed, rooms were not cleanded daily, WIFI did not work, hostel staff was rather interested in their private stuff than dealing with the guests. Very cheap and excellent loacation in Waikiki though.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aloha, thanks for pointing this out, this stuff is mentioned on our website, but sometimes people don't read through. There are pictures of the private rooms some have bunk beds others have a double, there are no single beds. Private rooms are not cleaned daily only dorms are. WIFI works only in the common areas.

86%

Fantastic location. Only wish they had a fan in the common room -- it gets too hot during the days there. :-)


40%

room didnt get cleaned once in 5 days. added extras onto bill on arrival but no mention of it prior.no air con,


69%

For the price and the location it totaly worth it. The rooms are OK, everyday a guy came to clean it. Some dudes from the staff are not too much friendly, but others are helpful. One of the only problems for me was that you can't drink in the hostel facilities, there are many bars around but it's not the cheapest places to buy a beer. I would recommend and maybe would stay here again.


71%

We stay 4 nights in a private room. Sec: No lockers and also the door couldn't lock. Loc: Perfect! Staff: It was just "OK". Not to much friendly (some guys) to say at least a "hello". Atm: It' s good. Clean: On common areas was fine, but our room wasn't so clean. The bathroom seems to was uncleaned and our linens was dirty with something like suntan oil. Also, never anyone get in to clean at least the rubbish bins! We use our linen! Fac: Poor condition of the Wi-Fi.


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback