X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel Reviews

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
314 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A fantastic base in which to explore waikiki. It is secure, quiet, spotlessly clean and accommodating. However it is the staff who make this place - a credit to HI. Many thanks to Gonzalo, Rocco and Art for being exceptional.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Too hot for the lack of A/C. Fans in the room are honestly ineffective. Wifi only works in the kitchen.


97%

Mahalo to all the staff, including the manager, Angel. I am appreciative of your openness, kindness and availabilities. This is a recommendable hostel. In my travels around the world, I have always enjoyed staying at a HI. Honolulu is no different. All of you are doing a good job.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome time there. Great Staff!!!


63%

VERY BASIC. Great location. We booked into the hostel, waited 3 hours for our room to be cleaned. We then asked to see the room and were very disappointed. The facilities may be perfect for others but I guess our expectations were a little high, having stayed in some wonderful hostels around the world. The staff kindly arranged for the cancellation and we understood we would lose our deposit. We then checked into a hotel. The HI Hostel at Waikiki was just not for us. Thanks.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

They might charge you an extra $3 per night if you don't have a HI card. Most of the staff were fantastic however one particular guy who's name starts with a B.... has an attitude problem and he should not be working in a hostel. Not much of social vibe here but the wifi and location are excellent.


69%

Shame some of the staff couldn't be a bit more enthusiastic with their guests and actually provide a service u expect from a HI. However Gonzalo and Rocko are fab!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice place, friendly people and an excellent location

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everyone was super nice and helpful!! I'm definitely staying there again :D

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

No Wi-Fi in rooms

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

That location for that price is great! Well equiped kitchen, two big fridges, easy to meet other travellers. One small minus, the guest computer was out of order.


63%

Very dull and boring hotel. The atmosphere was quite depressing really. There is a no alcohol rule which of course tames the hostel naturally, but regardless the common areas were uninviting and had no social comfort.


69%

BAD - Kitchen had no boiling water service; I often saw THREE pots of water being boiled simultaneously on the gas stove. BAD - Staff had no real local knowledge, seemed to be short-termers like me. GOOD - Failed bathroom sink was repaired promptly

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great stay at HI Waikiki. The place is clean and in a great location. The staff were very friendly, especially Rocko who was really happy to help show you around other parts of the island in his free time. The downsides to the hostel were the lack of drinking in the hostel and the fact that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms but if you book with that information in mind then you shouldn't be disappointed!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff could be more helpful and kinder.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a fantastic hostel in a brilliant position. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Definitely will stay in this hostel next visit!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A great place to stay in Honolulu, unless you are looking for an expensive hotel! Just a 5-minute walk to the Waikiki beach. Nice staff to talk to. The only negative you might find is that there is no AC in the rooms, but given the climate of the place and the money you pay for the bunk, I don't mind it.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Overall not bad but very unhappy with the level of help provided by staff when I had all my valuables stolen from the beach and I needed help.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and people looking to have fun.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback