Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Honolulu - Waikiki

  • Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.4

The location was awesome for the price tag.... however, the lack of wifi in rooms was a bit disappointing - even in the common spaces is was very slow. The place had very little to offer in atmosphere and the front desk staff almost came across as passive aggressive on arrival. It seemed to be a bother that we were even there. A second fan in the room that reached both top and bottom bunk would have helped combat the 31deg humidity and assist with getting a decent sleep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
8.0

There are great things about this place: the cleanliness, the location, and the price. It's only a couple blocks from the beach. Unfortunately, the staff can be pretty rude and some of the people staying here give off bad vibes. Probably wouldn't return

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Abdifatahh_4081609
  • Somalia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
10.0

It was great place to be quite and wonderful I will back soon can't wait

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
6.6

Very rude and dry staff...very. I awoke 1 morning after the fan had broken and approached the Asian male employee saying 'Hi, How are you'. His reply was 'busy, what can I do for you'. Ummm....why the salty attitude we just met? Employees need service industry training, no Hawaiian spirit at all. It makes the hostel atmosphere dry af, and you have to make a real effort to make friends here from your room; very grateful for them otherwise would have been very lonely. Very clean establishment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.4

A huge thanks to Paul for our stay at HI a very enjoyable one. Last time we stayed here was almost 17 years ago. It low budget, no frills but the location is fantastic. We will be back with our 12 year old twins next year! Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Extremely clean, everyone was very respectful of lights out /quiet time. It's one of the best hostels I've stayed at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ozmaori
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Clean and tidy. Close to everything. The furthest you will have to go to the beach, bus stop or coffee and food is a block and a half. Secure facilities also and nice quiet hostel for those seeking a bit of peace after a long day of exploring. Loved it's no alcohol policy. Will definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.1

HI Waikiki ranks with the friendliest and most secure hostels I've stayed at only surpassed by the Lisbon Hostel at the Rossio station and Backpacker and Travel Centre in Capetown. Its only shortcoming are no breakfast or coffee and closing the common room at midnight, bad for insomniacs. Some organized activities for guests would also be nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Good: Great location (within 5 minute walk there are plenty of eateries, a supermarket, the famous Waikiki beach, and bus stop for buses to downtown and airport), free wifi, free towel, free beach gear to borrow, quiet environment (away from the busy main road and beach), low price Not-so-good: No air-conditioning, no lift/elevator, wifi restricted to lobby and kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.4

Very very well located Hostel and very clean. The wifi isn't available in the rooms, only in the common areas and our private room didn't really have access to daylight but it was very clean. There is no atmosphere and not really a place to make friends, but if you're travelling with someone else, this Hostel can be good. The location is perfect to take fully advantage of Waikiki and Honolulu.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×