Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Houston at the Morty Rich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
5.7

Beds were noisy when people turned over in theiir sleep.Was woke at 4 am by a noisy room mate coming in like a bull elephant.I slept badly Nightmare quality sleep for the price.With taxes plus 3 euros for non member its a rip off @39 $ total Breakfast was fine.no complaints there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.7

Very pleasant place. Desk clerks were exceptionally friendly. The rooms with the bunk beds are stark but adequate. You can't sit upright on the lower bunk which means you are more likely to go out in the common areas for relaxing, reading, socializing, etc. There was one small adequate bathroom (shower only) for our room. Only suggestion: if you don't want to stay in a co-ed room and that is all you see online, call them. There was plenty of room in the all-women room I was in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
9.7

A little far out of town but connected well via bus, really nice host with lots to do, clea , friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Pros: Location is great and there is a big locker to store your stuff. Cons: Facilities sucked. The shower inside the room was clogged; there is no mirror above the sink (to shave); downstairs has one, but the sink is too small. Also, the upper bunk bed does not have a charger outlet. And if you request to move to lower bunk bed, they won't give you it, even if nobody else is sleeping there. Expensive for a hostel. I will look elsewhere first if I visit Houston again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved the Morty Rich! The hostel has so much character. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the outdoor and indoor sitting areas. Breakfast was good. It was clean. The pub crawl was fun. It's a great location with lots of restaurants, bars and stores near by. It's close to public transportation. I would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
7.4

It was a nice place but water pressure was low and certain areas smelled very bad. I felt a little unsafe. Other guests were very loud in the hostel at 2 am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
10.0

The Morty Rich is a fantastic hostel. I would definitely stay there again. The staff is friendly and very competent. The property itself is beautiful and located in a great neighborhood that offers plenty of choices for food, drinks, and shopping. The common areas inside the hostel are very warm and inviting. There are plenty of areas to sit alone or in groups. I would highly recommend the Morty Rich if you're going to be in the Houston area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

The Morty Rich surprised me by how modern and clean it is for a hostel. I only stayed one night (flight stopover) and was worried I mightn't see Houston due to limited time. But the neighborhood was lovely explore on foot and the hostel is quite close to museums and art galleries such as The Menil Collection. It is also close to a nice area that has good thrift shops. It was very easy to get to from the airport by taking buses (102 & 82). I would highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Great stay! Staff was very friendly! But pillow & bathroom wasn't very clean. Otherwise comfy bed & cool house!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Bad wifi and hardly any dishes. Other than that it was very good. I wish it had been warm enough to use the pool

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.