Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Houston at the Morty Rich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2017
6.3

The location is perfect. A block away is a busy street with shops and restaurants! The house is pretty. Nice communal spaces. Feel there were a few things needing to be taken care of (downstairs shower has only scalding hot water, broken toilet upstairs, water damage on second floor). They clean the sheets, but not the bathrooms as often. The staff is friendly and around 24/7, which is good because there were a few interesting people passing through. Moved to a female only dorm just in case.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.1

The staff at Hi Houston is the best in the business. I've stayed in hostels all around the world and these folks are insanely professional & friendly. The hostel is in a 100 year old home, beautifully decorated, clean, & has great amenities like pool and well, a pool! The only negative is the lack of daily events. Anything works, game night, bar crawl, baseball game, hell do a beer pong tourney for all I care. I'd take a not so clean and lively hostel over a clean and kinda boring one, most days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
7.4

Nice staff, towels were available a couple hours after check in, location was good - a lot of restaurants, Walgreens and Starbucks around the hostel, bus stop right next to it; arrived very early and were allowed to have breakfast, leave our stuff there and chill in the house, check in wast just at 3pm as the beds were still occupied until then Pool was dirty, no locks available for lockers, TV outside the room was very loud (until 11pm), beds squeaked, hole in the ceiling, broken window

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, Thank you for your feedback and letting us know where we need improvements. We are looking into taking care of these various situations and correcting them immediately. We are in the process of improving our A/C unit so that is why the whole is in the ceiling. Here at the Hostel we try to make the necessary improvements for the comfort of our guests. We hope the this does not deter you from coming back. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you, Management and Staff Team.

6th Jul 2017
8.9

Good hostel that's close to restaurants and bars! Nice and friendly staff! I stayed in a room that has a bathroom attached. Water from the shower came out very low and little. Everything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We pride ourselves in being eco-friendly and preserving the flow of water and waste are important to use. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Management and Staff Team

5th Jul 2017
9.4

One of the best HI hostels I've stayed at. Rooms need AC though, because it was pretty warm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your response. We hope to see you again soon.

4th Jul 2017
9.7

Thank you for excellence

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon. Thank you, Management and Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

Very nice staff and cleanliness was great! Good location and breakfast was ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Moura, Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Management and Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.7

The hostel was very nice. It was my first time staying in one and I enjoyed it. I know in the room I stayed in there were some structural things that needed to be fixed but overall it was a nice safe clean place to stay and I will definatly come back if I'm in Houston.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
7.1

No air con in the room - just a fan. That meant room was really hot. Otherwise, great. Staff especially are fantastic

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest, Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We did share your concern and comments with the staff. We hope our short coming did not deter you for staying with us again. Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again. Thank you, Management and Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2017
10.0

HI Houston was perfect. Had all the facilities you need plus a bunch of extras. big safe for storage was really great. friendly staff, and incredibly tidy hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.