Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Houston at the Morty Rich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Its my third time to stay at HI hostel and its always a great experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
5.7

Very dirty and the shower didn't working. The bathroom was very old. Breakfast was terrible. It is very far of everywhere. You can't walk to anyplace. Rooms smelled strange. To bad to be a Hi hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Our stay was ruined by a gentlemen who seemed to be a regular resident. He was very threatening and unwelcoming. The staff dealt with him well though. The air con was also on far too high in the main rooms

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.4

Didnt stay long enough to get a good vibe of the atmosphere or see if the wifi concerns are legit. Great location very centrally located for the sports venues. Nice old mansion

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel is a very big house, very good location and inside the decoration and distribution is okay. In general is a good place to stay, people are very welcoming. A member of the staff left the house, reception unattended and also not a very kind person, but the rest of the staff very warm and responsible. Also cleanliness was not that good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
9.4

Only stayed for one night, but seemed really nice. Good location, good atmosphere, and good vibe. Bathroom was maybe a little meh, but really nothing big. Didn't think I saw any type of power outlets around the beds? It's possible I could have missed it, but don't think so. But also seemed to be a great location. Would good back most likely if I was staying in the area longer again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
5.7

Beds were noisy when people turned over in theiir sleep.Was woke at 4 am by a noisy room mate coming in like a bull elephant.I slept badly Nightmare quality sleep for the price.With taxes plus 3 euros for non member its a rip off @39 $ total Breakfast was fine.no complaints there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.7

Very pleasant place. Desk clerks were exceptionally friendly. The rooms with the bunk beds are stark but adequate. You can't sit upright on the lower bunk which means you are more likely to go out in the common areas for relaxing, reading, socializing, etc. There was one small adequate bathroom (shower only) for our room. Only suggestion: if you don't want to stay in a co-ed room and that is all you see online, call them. There was plenty of room in the all-women room I was in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
9.7

A little far out of town but connected well via bus, really nice host with lots to do, clea , friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Pros: Location is great and there is a big locker to store your stuff. Cons: Facilities sucked. The shower inside the room was clogged; there is no mirror above the sink (to shave); downstairs has one, but the sink is too small. Also, the upper bunk bed does not have a charger outlet. And if you request to move to lower bunk bed, they won't give you it, even if nobody else is sleeping there. Expensive for a hostel. I will look elsewhere first if I visit Houston again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.