Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Jasper

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
HI-Jasper Located at Box 387, Alberta, Jasper.
HI-Jasper
Canada
Jasper AB T0E 1E0 Box 387, Alberta
80% 448
52.8516141 -118.1117820
HI-Jasper
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Very comfy beds, clean linens, extra pillows. Girls dorm was sooo quiet all through the night! Kitchen supplies in good condition. Everything was great for a great price! Cleanliness was 4/5 because the out of the way things weren't cleaned - like light fixtures, baseboards, etc (suggest these should be done annually). Facilities were 4/5 because all smells from many people cooking varied foods were in the livingroom area as kitchen has no venting and is not separate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.7

Great place to stay. Can rent bikes from hostel. It's 1h walk from town centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
6.9

The hostel is not really for kids or .....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jimsoutside
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Nice place, friendly and helpful staff. Best to have a vehicle. Some stinky and story 'guests', but hey, that's hostels sometimes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.0

Great staff. Comfy beds and clean bedding. Fire pit outside - excellent place to chill with friends over a few beers and see the stars. Remote(ish)location. Brilliant for us as we had a car but heard other guests say they were having a tough time getting around without one. A peaceful location :-) Tough to have a decent shower due to poor water pressure/lack of hot water. Security is 'relaxed' - no key card access and no door on the dorm - only a curtain to the reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for all of your feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our remote location up the mountain!

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Friendly staff & clean. Just a bit too far from everything else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • athompsonuk5568
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
5.7

Not bad for a night or two. Pretty far from town and up a pretty big hill so hopefully you have a car. Beds were comfy with lockable drawers underneath but the mixed dorm smelled pretty bad (that typical sweaty-musty hostel smell) and it was pretty cold down there, particularly in the mornings. And that's in summer, so I can only guess how cold it is in winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.1

This hostel had a great atmosphere and huge common room. Beds were comfortable but did not have power outlets by them. Often times when going to the restroom, the floor by the toilets would be wet so I had to tiptoe around those areas. The location was okay for me as I had a car (5 minute drive to town) but for those without cars, I could understand the difficulties in getting to town (hostel helps by providing bus tickets to town).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of HI-Jasper! Just to clarify for future guests, we do not provide bus tickets. However, there is a shuttle bus that goes between the hostel and town which costs $5 each way.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
7.1

This facility is so run down that it is an embarrassment to HI. The steps leading from the parking area up to the hostel are in such disrepair that it is only a matter of time before someone gets seriously hurt. The unloading area looks trashy, like something from skid row. Inside the hostel, the staff are kind and helpful and people who are staying seem responsible and friendly. However, there are many things that need attending to and most everything is shabby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative impression of our hostel. We have improved the steps down to our parking area.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2016
8.3

I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel- I was mostly unsure of how it was going to go staying with around 40 other people in a dorm....But surprisingly, people were pretty respectful when it came to quiet time and the noise levels were at a minimum. It was clean, staff were really friendly and helpful, and I liked where it was located, quiet and close enough to town to not feel like you're isolated. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.