Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Jasper

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
HI-Jasper Located at Box 387, Alberta, Jasper.
HI-Jasper
Canada
Jasper AB T0E 1E0 Box 387, Alberta
78% 460
52.8516141 -118.1117820
HI-Jasper
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2016
8.0

The nicest staff welcomes you and guides you through your stay in Jasper. There's almost thought of every eventuality in the hostel; shoe rack outside; labels for you food; recycling; outlets everywhere for chargers; self-serve coffee; tons of books, games, and not the least inspirational material. Would use it again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
8.6

There were seven people in our party. We all enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative on the two nights that we stayed at the Jasper Hostel was on the second night one guest in an adjacent room kept a few of us awake with his loud persistent snoring. We realize that is difficult if not impossible to control or prevent. We will very likely stay at a HI hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jul 2016
5.1

Basic accommodation, the female dorm has too many beds in it for any kind of comfort and there are not many plug sockets. We just stayed for one night so it was fine. The same hostel price in a city, where costs are higher would provide a breakfast, or maybe free coffee, more events etc. It's interesting to see how the lack of alternatives in the area result in complacency. Jasper area is amazing we did amazing hikes at my Edith Cavell, maligne canyon and lake. Saw bears, elk, moose and more!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to read that you did not find your stay to be comfortable. I assure you that our staff does the best we can to create a welcoming hostel, and are not complacent. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the Jasper area, and saw many beautiful places and wild animals during your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Very comfy beds, clean linens, extra pillows. Girls dorm was sooo quiet all through the night! Kitchen supplies in good condition. Everything was great for a great price! Cleanliness was 4/5 because the out of the way things weren't cleaned - like light fixtures, baseboards, etc (suggest these should be done annually). Facilities were 4/5 because all smells from many people cooking varied foods were in the livingroom area as kitchen has no venting and is not separate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the specific feedback as it helps us to make improvements for future guests.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.3

A bit out of the way if you dont have transport, but a lovely secluded spot. Huge dorm room was surprisingly spacious and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. It's true that we are a bit out of the way. As you mentioned, we are in a beautiful forested area of Jasper National Park. We are glad you were comfortable in our large dorm!

15th Jul 2016
7.7

Great place to stay. Can rent bikes from hostel. It's 1h walk from town centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.4

It was so cold during my stay in july. I catched a cold

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. The hostel spaces are heated year round, however it does get cold outside during the night, even in the summer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the mountains.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jul 2016
7.1

Had an enjoyable stay at this hostel. It was easy to get into town, but was annoying having to pay $10 every day, plus buses don't run past half 5 so you have to get a taxi if your doing a long hike, going for dinner or going out. The hostel was pretty basic, but the cleanliness was ok. One staff member was really lovely and helpful but another was very grumpy and unapproachable. Had a good stay here, and would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
6.9

The hostel is not really for kids or .....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that you did not find HI-Jasper to be kid-friendly. We often have families with kids stay who let us know they had great experiences here. We have sport equipment to use outside, games, books and puzzles to use inside and a campfire pit to enjoy in the evening. Please let us know if you have any suggestions that could have improved your stay.

  • jimsoutside
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Nice place, friendly and helpful staff. Best to have a vehicle. Some stinky and story 'guests', but hey, that's hostels sometimes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.