X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Jasper Reviews

Box 387, Alberta, Jasper, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
347 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

average hostel, unfortunately far from town but close to some trails; good dormitory and facilities but not very warm around and poorly lit though; for sure great value for money!


51%

NEED PRIVATE ROOMS. LOCATION IS KINDA FAR OUT OF TOWN. UNLESS THAT IS WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR. STAFF COULD BE MORE FRIENDLY, FOUND THEM TO BE STAND OFFISH. NO OUTSIDE BLANKETS SHOULD BE ALLOWED AS WELL. OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS OKAY, BUT NOT GREAT. DORMS WERE NOISY & CROWDED. CHEERS.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not really good security. They have a rule that I didn't like it... Shoes off in the hostal. You can not wear your shoes. I think is expensive 30 dolars/night to sleep with 24 people. ( no breakfast) Bathrooms not clean.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

All good except location and certain water from sink taps running too slow

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

It can't be that hard to drill an efficient lock on a toilet door... 2 out of 3 (in the entire hostel) broken?! One of the stovetops was broken too. Would be nice if they offered shuttle rides to and from the city (even at a cost) as a flat rate of $18 into town isn't fun. Sleep is awful if you end up next to someone snoring (not hostel's fault) but beds are squeaky enough to keep everyone up anyway. Bring ear plugs and eye mask as there's only one light switch in the 40 bed room...


66%

バンフからブリュースターのツアーバスでジャスパー入りし、こちらのホステルに2泊しました。ベッドが10台以上並ぶ様は圧巻で、寄宿舎を彷彿とさせましたが、施設自体は綺麗で居心地は良かったです。ただダウンタウンからは徒歩圏外です。山の中腹にあり、坂道が続きます。体力に自信がある方や、ハイキング好きの方には良い距離かと思われますが、ジャスパー到着当日にスーツケース等引きずって行く場所ではありません。ダウンタウンから出ているシャトルか、タクシーを利用できます。シャトルは片道$5、タクシーは$15ほどでした。周りには特に何もありませんが、ホステルからウィスラー山のゴンドラまで少し坂を歩けば辿り着けます。

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great stay, very comfortable. Excellant kitchen facilities and nice common room area to hang and meet other people. Would stay again!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Bathrooms esp the showers were not appetising - water pressure was awful and that was if you could get all jets of water going in the same direction Locationwise - on a positive note it was pretty and close to the sky tram. It was frustrating being so far from town and the last shuttle left at 5:15 or 5:45 - couldn't get dinner in town, needed to finish exploring earlier than I wanted to otherwise I'd need a taxi. Dorm room size was interesting - sleeping in a room with 30 or more people.


74%

It'snot clean comparing to other hostels in Canada. Especiallybathroom and showerroom.. I think...!!!


86%

The staff was great; obviously the building is old and has some challenges. I would have like to see the kitchen faucets work better - knowing the trades, for less than $100.00 in parts, struggling with getting them to work well would be a thing of the past.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Its a fair way from town, thats the biggest drawback, and last shuttle bus (which is $5 one way) is 5:15 in the summer!) taxis are expensive, so either have a car or if your lucky, hitch a ride. I stayed a week there and was lucky to meet someone with a car so we could do all the best hikes which were about 1hr away by car. The hostel is pretty basic, the huge dorms are interesting...here is a tip...BRING EARPLUGS... guaranteed there will be at least one snorer and many people moving about.


51%

Doors not locked. No shoes inside, get to walk through muck in the kitchen. Supposedly no cooking in kitchen before 8am but then huge groups get to ignore this rule and make enough noise to wake the dead. No breakfast. $8 return to get to town. 2 toilets and 3 showers for 35+ women. Second part of 40 bed dorm smells disgusting and has no windows. And to get to the toilet it is upstairs, then over, then down again. Ridiculous set up. Common room ok if music is quiet otherwise no talking possible.


66%

Women had to walk far to use the bathroom, was annoying in the middle of the night. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm and clean. Why cant you use your own pillow though?

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A little far out of Jasper, which could be a problem without a car, but I loved feeling like I was really outdoors. Was actually refreshing to be out of town. Overall I had a fantastic stay. The atmosphere at HI Jasper is really great - I felt at home as soon as I arrived and hope to return!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Just about excellent location for Hiking up the mountain! From the downtown it's quite far... Good spot to meet other people from all around.


94%

I loved this hostel! The beds were comfortable and considering I was staying in the 48ppl dorm room the noise level was really great. The facilities were great! The only thing which wasn't so great was how far the hostel is from the Jasper town, but alas that can't be helped. I would recommend this in a heart beat!


83%

Great location, near town and hiking trails.


51%

I accept that 40 bed dorm is never going to be good but I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night. The bathroom was filthy and lacking in privacy. There was no door to the bathroom and showers had only curtains. Given that the facilities are far less comfortable than most HI hostels I don't know how they justify the price. They could stand to throw in a free breakfast or something. Stay at a wilderness hostel instead.




View all Jasper Hostels

Please give us your feedback