Hostelworld.com

HI-Jasper

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
HI-Jasper Located at Box 387, Alberta, Jasper.
HI-Jasper
Canada
Jasper AB T0E 1E0 Box 387, Alberta
81% 440
52.8516141 -118.1117820
HI-Jasper
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Friendly staff & clean. Just a bit too far from everything else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • athompsonuk5568
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
5.7

Not bad for a night or two. Pretty far from town and up a pretty big hill so hopefully you have a car. Beds were comfy with lockable drawers underneath but the mixed dorm smelled pretty bad (that typical sweaty-musty hostel smell) and it was pretty cold down there, particularly in the mornings. And that's in summer, so I can only guess how cold it is in winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.1

This hostel had a great atmosphere and huge common room. Beds were comfortable but did not have power outlets by them. Often times when going to the restroom, the floor by the toilets would be wet so I had to tiptoe around those areas. The location was okay for me as I had a car (5 minute drive to town) but for those without cars, I could understand the difficulties in getting to town (hostel helps by providing bus tickets to town).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of HI-Jasper! Just to clarify for future guests, we do not provide bus tickets. However, there is a shuttle bus that goes between the hostel and town which costs $5 each way.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
7.1

This facility is so run down that it is an embarrassment to HI. The steps leading from the parking area up to the hostel are in such disrepair that it is only a matter of time before someone gets seriously hurt. The unloading area looks trashy, like something from skid row. Inside the hostel, the staff are kind and helpful and people who are staying seem responsible and friendly. However, there are many things that need attending to and most everything is shabby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative impression of our hostel. We have improved the steps down to our parking area.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2016
8.3

I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel- I was mostly unsure of how it was going to go staying with around 40 other people in a dorm....But surprisingly, people were pretty respectful when it came to quiet time and the noise levels were at a minimum. It was clean, staff were really friendly and helpful, and I liked where it was located, quiet and close enough to town to not feel like you're isolated. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
8.0

I am satisfied with the clean linen, towels and toilets. It is slightly far from the village, but not a problem if you drive. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

8th May 2016
5.7

Firstly it was too hard to find it, who knows it hide at tram area that far away from town. The staff that checked me in told ok to get the bed next to the door, it was nightmare. I couldn't sleep because people kept in & out all night, plus the corridor light was on all the time. I couldn't get a plug to charge my phone because 6 persons have to share the only 2 plugs. Move to other hostel next day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
4.3

hostel is far from town, so going out for a drink is a no-go. charges for coffee and tea. no tv, pool tables, or liquor allowed so hostel gets very dull after dark. hostel does not allow shoes inside so walking around bathroom is a challenge trying not to get your socks wet. huge dorms with many beds, but small kitchen and common room area means that seats, elements to cook your food on run out quick ( make sure you don't bring something you need to cook inside and actual stove, theres only one)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Really lovely clean hostel with great kitchen facilities. Spent the night here for a weekend away but could happily have stayed longer. A friendly, cosy atmosphere. A little far out of Japser town centre but this wasn't a problem for us as we had a car, but I heard that there is a free shuttle for those without.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2016
9.7

Well kept hostel, excellent staff. Fridges were clean, kitchen table a bit sticky feeling. Very cozy quiet environment. Enjoyed the opportunity of a fire too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.