Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Jasper

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.3

It was good to stay there Clean washrooms kind staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2017
6.3

Hostel is stashed up in the hills a bit outside of Jasper. Was a bit hard to get to, a cab costs you $20 from in town, so note that if you don't have a car. The hostel itself was clean and everything was in order. However the beds do not have powerpoints near them, and you also may or may not get a bag sized locker depending on which bed you are assigned in the large dorm. Also we were told that checkout had been changed from 11am to 9am because of planned maintenance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Fabulous hostel. 10 minutes from the main street in Jasper. The hostel provides towels and also has great amenities like earplugs and various foodstuffs to purchase. The hostel has lots of good maps on the walls for hiking. It also has good recommendations for places to eat and buy food that are budget-friendly. The hostel is eco-friendly with compost and recycling in the kitchen. The 44-bed dorm worked suprisingly well. The lights go off around 11pm and people were respectful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.9

HI Jasper has a great location, right in the woods, capturing the national park vibe you're looking for. I found the common areas comfortable with a lot of seating and plugs. The 44 bed dorm is fairly partitioned off, but at 22 beds was still the largest dorm room I've ever stayed in. Unfortunately there was a man snoring insanely loudly, another moderately loudly. That's always a risk with a hostel, but more beds = greater risk. Too bad because the bedding was very comfortable. Low ceiling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.9

Despite being in a 40 person dorm, I was able to sleep well. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge has a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding HI Jasper. We are glad you had a good sleep and enjoyed the atmosphere!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th May 2017
7.4

Beautiful setting, a 10 minute shuttle ride away from the town centre and right next to the Sky Tram. It has a well equipped and spacious kitchen/common room area, laundry room and lovely outdoor seating. Downsides are the showers are quite aggressive, with not much room to change and often soaking floors. The female dorm was not very spacious and the top bunks unstable and not comfortable. Also the WiFi is a little dodgy but then again you are in the mountains! Overall I would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review of HI Jasper. We are glad you enjoyed most aspects of the hostel. We do our best to monitor the floors in the washrooms and are sorry to read that you found the upper bunk unstable. Our front desk staff is always willing to address concerns regarding things like a floor being wet, or moving a guest to another bunk when possible.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
10.0

Great, well organized and designed, large, hostel up in the mountains outside of Jasper. Downtown is full of tourists in the summer, so was good to be able to get out of that. A town shuttle bus runs back and forth several times a day, so you can use that for grocery runs or to get to and from the train station. The staff is on top of everything: kitchen area and bathrooms kept clean despite the large number of guests! Fun too: campfire out back in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our mountain hostel and found the hostel to be clean and well organized.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th May 2017
3.1

Arrived with Brewster on a regular service from lake Louise about 7pm, hostel is someway from Jasper so no shuttle available Stayed in female dorm room with about 20 something beds, with 3 showers/toilets. The showers where just completely soaked with water all over floors & lots of toilet paper on floors. Maybe a mop should be left out to clean water up with. People where coming & going ALL night so very noisy. No one on reception for 1 hour when arrived 7.45pm

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at HI Jasper. Our staff do leave for a 30 minute dinner break during their shift. Outside of that 30 minute break, our staff are often doing a range of tasks around the hostel, such as laundry, tidying the kitchen and other housekeeping tasks. When away from the desk (other than their dinner break) there is a paging button left so guests can reach a staff member when required. We are sorry to see that you did not have a positive experience at the hostel, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time spent in Jasper and the other national parks.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
6.3

Poor location with lack access for parking. Not a very comfortable feel to the local. No food available for purchase on premises. Primitive, cramped accommodations.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you found the hostel to be not comfortable. We do have basic grocery items available at our front desk (dry pasta and sauce to cook your own dinner, some granola bars, granola etc.), however we do not have a restaurant on property.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th May 2017
8.0

Great hostel! I stayed 2 nights in the 40-bed female dorm & wasn't too sure about the size first, but in the end, it was very well organized. The hostel has a nice & chill atmosphere (no party-hostel), clean facility & is very well organized. Without a car it's kinda hard to get somewhere, though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review of HI Jasper. We are glad you found the hostel to be clean and well-organized, and that you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.