Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Jasper

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bsanchezvilar818
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2017
7.7

Price vs quality was just fine. Washrooms weren't that clean when arriving after 8am, but anyway it was acceptable. Quiet time begins at 11pm and that was a bit early for us, but people seemed to be comfortable with that rule. Shared spaces were ok as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at HI Jasper. Our staff do our best to tidy the washrooms between cleanings during the day, however they do get a lot of use by guests. We are sorry to read that you found the quiet time to be too early. Unfortunately, the layout of our building with the sleeping areas quite close to the dormitories, requires that we set a quiet time so that guests are able to sleep. We hope that you enjoyed exploring the National Park.

20th Jul 2017
5.7

The place was ok. The bathrooms were definitely the dirtiest I have seen my past 2 months traveling in Canada. Had a lot of families at the hostel. Definitely have to have a car! Thought I could get by without one but, I ended up renting a car in town. In Banff, you did not need a car.the large dorm was not that bad! Everyone was respectful. People did seem to get up early and go to sleep early. No free coffee! What is that?!? Also, need to bring groceries up with you. Very basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.1

Security is non existent, front door isn't locked, and there was no door to dorm room so anybody could walk in. For a 44 bed room it actually was quite nice. There were walls sectioning off groups of beds making it quieter. Showers were excellent, and I never had to wait for a shower/toilet. Kitchen/couch area was great with lots of seating. Be warned this hostel is up the side of a mountain and removed from town...not the easiest walk, but okay if you have a car.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
12th Jul 2017
6.6

Hostel lacked lockers and sufficient charging ports in the dorm rooms, and the washrooms were pretty average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay at HI Jasper. Each dorm bed does have a large lockable drawer beneath it for guests to store their belongings. Unfortunately our older building has fewer electrical outlets than more modern buildings. To address this issue, we have installed numerous power bars throughout the building, in the dorms and common areas, so that guests can access electricity for charging devices etc. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Jasper National Park.

5th Jul 2017
9.7

Excellent place to explore from. Superb staff, facilities and great place to meet like minded travellers. Location is good, although a little way out from town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience of HI Jasper. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Jasper and were able to meet people during your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2017
6.9

Location not very good! I tried to walk up the hill to the hostel, but was a struggle! There is a shuttle bus that is quite expensive, and only runs til 5:30pm ish so can't stay in town very late. Taxi costs $20, so pretty expensive! Other than that, hostel has good facilities - big kitchen and a good common area. Easy to meet people to go on hikes with! Also hostel organised a paddleboarding event which was awesome. Apart from location, was good. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay at HI Jasper. We are sorry to read that you found the walk up to the hostel to be a struggle. Our location up Whistlers Mountain is 7km out of town and is a challenging walk, however it also provides beautiful forest and mountain views, and a quieter location out of the town site. We are glad that you enjoyed meeting people to hike with and that you were able to take part in our paddleboarding event!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
8.3

There was a problem with the bathrooms. This morning two out of the three toilets were out of commission. The hostel was full but there weren't enough Functioning toilets. Otherwise everything was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear that about the toilets not functioning well during your stay. We have since had a plumber come in to address the problem. We are glad that otherwise you enjoyed your stay!

23rd Jun 2017
9.1

You have to take off your shoes when entering the Hostel. They allow slippers and flip flop which i thought was a really good policy. There are hot showers and the towels are near the front desk. I stayed in the female dorm which i recommend for my lady friends because there are less people staying there. I would suggest the staff to put up images showing no shoes since a good about of the people staying there doesn't seem to understand English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.3

It was good to stay there Clean washrooms kind staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be kind!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2017
6.3

Hostel is stashed up in the hills a bit outside of Jasper. Was a bit hard to get to, a cab costs you $20 from in town, so note that if you don't have a car. The hostel itself was clean and everything was in order. However the beds do not have powerpoints near them, and you also may or may not get a bag sized locker depending on which bed you are assigned in the large dorm. Also we were told that checkout had been changed from 11am to 9am because of planned maintenance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. Being an older building, ours does not have plugs located near each bed. We do provide lots of powerbars located throughout the hostel for guests to use for charging devices. Most beds do have lockers underneath, and the few that do not, have lockers located beside the beds. In the case those are not sufficient, there are also lockers located just outside the door to the dormitory that can be used. We are glad you found the hostel to be clean and in order for the most part and hope you enjoyed your visit to Jasper National Park.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.