Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Jasper

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
HI-Jasper Located at Box 387, Alberta, Jasper.
HI-Jasper
Canada
Jasper AB T0E 1E0 Box 387, Alberta
78% 491
52.8516141 -118.1117820
HI-Jasper
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Oct 2016
8.6

Very nice Hostel, to bad its so far away from town and the winter shuttle is just driving twice a day. But the rest is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you found the hostel to be a great place once you got out here. We do realize that the location can be a challenge for those without cars, though once you get here, it is nice to be up the mountain and nestled in the forest.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
5.7

Was a decent hostel overall, however there was no accommodation for limited access. I have a recently broken ankle and there were stairs from the lower parking level (snowy, and the upper was small, full, and inflexible on where you could park), stairs up to the hostel, and then stairs down to the washroom. It made my experience painful and frustrating. I wish there had been some more flexibility on the operators part to accommodate this. That aside, decent hostel other than no room security.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback and review. We do apologize that it was difficult and frustrating for you to navigate around the hostel. Though guests are permitted to use the upper lot for unloading vehicles, we can not allow any overnight parking in that lot. It must be kept clear so that emergency and service vehicles are able to access the property when needed. We do hope that you were able to enjoy your time visiting Jasper.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
8.6

A beautiful spot with lovely facilities! A little difficult to get to but perfect for a get-away and with great trails nearby. Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, and books and games for general use; only complaint is that the large dorms meant a fair bit of noise (and a number of snorers...). Would definitely stay here again (though possibly in a private room next time!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at HI-Jasper and found the facilities clean and easy to use.

8th Oct 2016
10.0

Brilliant place. Great place to meet fellow minded travellers. Location is wonderful. Easy to get to. Although later in the evening if you don't have your own transport it is quite a hike after dark. Otherwise it is the place to go. Jasper town is equally cool. Can't wait to return in the spring, and see the ground when it isn't covered in snow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so glad to read that you had a wonderful stay at HI-Jasper, meeting other travellers and exploring Jasper town. Looking forward to seeing you again in the spring!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
10.0

It was a very pleasant stay in the hostel, better than what I expected. Easy to check in and out, No trouble at all. I had enough of the extra blanket , made myself a very warm and comfy bed for the night. In all , it was an excellent stay !!!!!!! Just wish the female BR at the same floor of the dorm room, and or more of the private room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff are nice but hostel is quite far out of town, bathrooms are clean but hostel room has a really stale smell due to no ventilation. Common room area is nice, clean and Tody

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.3

You have to know what to expect. There is a 28 bed female dorm and a 44 bed male dorm, so expect it to be loud in the morning when everybody has their alarm clock and there will be someone snoring in the night. But if you aware of this the hostel is the best you can get for your money in Jasper (with showers). It is only a short drive to Jasper Town and to the surrounding mountains. It is definitely no party hostel since only beer and wine are allowed and you are supposed to be quiet at 11pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see that you were satisfied with your stay at HI-Jasper.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
6.0

The window was open in the women's restroom at night and it was only 10C outside. Toilet paper was not available in the mornings.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you found the washroom cold. When possible, we try to keep it open at least a bit to encourage air circulation. The window would certainly have been closed had we been made aware that it was cold in the night. We are also sorry to read that there was not toilet paper when you needed it. We do check the toilet paper many times each day to ensure it is full. Thank you for your feedback. I will ask our staff to monitor the temperature in the washrooms now that it is getting colder outside.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Sep 2016
6.6

Pros: staff are always helpful, location is out of town with trails right up behind the hostel, kitchen has multiple cooking stations, good showers. Cons: sleep is limited (30 bed female dorm) expect to be woken up early (5am!) by your fellow traveller. First set of sheets I got had a clump of human hair (clearly from the dryer but off putting). You really need car or you have to work in with limited shuttle runs last one from town at 5 . 15 pm. Maybe ok for 1or 2nights but not longer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of HI-Jasper. We are glad you found the staff to be helpful and the kitchen and bathroom facilities to be good. We are sorry to read about the hair on your sheets. We do try to notice anything on the sheets as we are removing them from the dryers, however we do occasionally miss the odd one. Your feedback is much appreciated.

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
7.1

Little bit lower quality comparing to other hostels in Canada....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.