X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Lisbon Centre Reviews

R. Andrade Corvo, 46, Lisbon, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
287 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

This hostel was clean and worth the 15 or so euro a night we spent, so cheap! It isn't a hostel to meet people, though, if that's you're intention. No kitchen, a small community area, and no internet connection in the rooms make this hostel boring and not as awesome as others. You do get a locker, but bring your own lock. Folks up front are really helpful. Short walk to city. Overall good if you need a cheap, clean place to stay.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

3 of 4 showers in ladies bathroom dont work, the drains are full of hair and other things so if your shower takes around 2 minutes, then you have water up to your ancles with all this hair and things floating around. Gross. I liked the place before I tried to get a shower. Running naked around with all my belongings between broken showers on incredibly slippy floor is just fun to watch not to do yourself:o) Feels like the housekeeper left on holiday and never returned.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is in a great location - very close to the city centre, the Marques de Pombal (where the tour buses around Lisbon leave from) and the metro. The staff were brilliant- very friendly, very competent and welcoming. I only have one complaint about the noise but otherwise great stay. :)

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very well located in the centre of Lisbon just near a metro station and a bus stop. Helpful staff!


57%

The location was great and was right by the metro. The down side was they made us wait until 3:30 in the afternoon before we could go up to our room , and the staff member who was working was not very helpful at all. Paid like 5 euro to use a dryer that didn't even work and their washer was broken so we had to wash our clothes by hand in the bathroom sink.


94%

Wall switches for lights could do with labelling what each switch is for to avoid confusion.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff members were very attentive and helpful, they spoke English, Spanish and French along Portuguese of course. There was just problems with the juice machine for breakfast. But nothing that would make me move to another Hostel, although I did want to get closer to city centre, but for the money there was a good place to stay - and access with the metro was awesome.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staffs are very friendly and helpful. The

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to stay. Very local. Close to underground. Staff were always happy to help. However a few things to fix regarding bathrooms. Doors that won't lock and poor shower pressure.


69%

I spent just one night and everything was ok. I think the dormitory is very small, fortunaly there was just one girl in that night. Breakfast was simple but good. Wi fi just the common area, even if it hard to call it like that as it is just the entrance of the hostel. The receptionist wasn't very friendly, she seemed to be pissed off by info requests


80%

Good hostel, location right next to metro stop, we had a fine stay.


69%

The website says that there's a kitchen, but it's only for breakfast, guests can not use it for cooking. The internet conection works in the entrance area, not in the common area or in the bedrooms.


51%

The facilities were very dirty and we had to ask for a bed cover as only the blanket without any cover was provided. Breakfast was veeeeery simple. Most of the staff (with some exceptions) was not very helpful in providing information (maybe due to the lack of English skills). The location is great, the hostel being close to Marques de Pombal from which you can walk down to the riverside or take a metro anywhere. Walking down the avenue is very safe and the atmosphere is great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

An excellent hostel for the price that we paid' cheap and chearful.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A good hostel for a good price, the staff is nice and the hostel is clean. I just wished the bunk beds were a bit sturdier as they sway every time you turn around (at least mine did) and you can wake up the other person (or they can wake you up).


83%

Great place, excellent location. Beds could've been comfier and the showers were a little But overall it was a fantastic place to stay.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, confortable and nice decorated.


74%

This concerns HIs in Portugal in general (I stayed in 4) , and the HI Centre in Lisbon in particular. Several negative points(1) Members should always have the choice between women n men dorms. (2) Each individual dorm bed should have its own bed lamp and plug. 2 plugs for a dorm aren't enough! (3) Wifi is often accessible only in the common areas, which in Lisbon Centre is really small (4) It has no kitchen where members can prepare their own food. BUT the staff is generally very helpful.


77%

Great location. Metro station just outside and direct bus lines to the city centre pass by. If you like to walk, you can get to the city centre in 25 mins. The place is nice and clean. The staff was very sympathetic to my ignorance of their beautiful language. Don't expect to meet many peopke as it is not a place to hang around when Lisbon awaits.


86%

It's the perfect hostel for the lowest price possible at Lisbon, covers all your needs and basics.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Lisbon Hostels

Please give us your feedback