X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2148 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel experience ever!!!!! amazing breakfast! nice staff! clean! location ! perfect!


100%

I had a wonderful stay at the Santa Monica Hostel. I stayed for four nights and wouldn't have chosen anywhere else to stay. It's a short walk (5 minutes) to the beach, and just a block away from the third street promenade! Lots of places to eat nearby as well. the helpful and friendly staff, group activities, and free breakfast were wonderful as well. Thank you so much for giving me such an amazing experience!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location right near Santa Monica pier/Third Street Promenade. Staying in Santa Monica is way better then staying in Hollywood/Downtown as the atmosphere is nicer. Staff were very helpful with providing directions and also provided bolt cutters for a padlock incident. Hostel organised a hike to Temescal Canyon on a Sunday which was amazing! They had great volunteers and it was all made super easy. Rooms were clean but a little hot. Just a fan in rooms, not air conditioning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome weather, beautiful beaches, and great food definitely help make the atmosphere nicer! The hike really is amazing, we're happy to hear that you loved it! We'd like you to know that we have several remodels under way that are going to open many spaces in the hostel and improve ventilation in the rooms. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review an please come and see us again the next time you're in LA!

86%

I had a great experience. Location was perfect, it was easy to walk to the beach, and the 3rd Street Promenade is a minute walk away from the hostel - tons of restaurants and shops! The staff was very helpful when giving advice about the buses in LA to get to Hollywood. The breakfast was a nice bonus! The lockers were also an excellent size to fit everything I had with me.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! Navigating public transportation can be quite the task in LA, we try to help out every guest as much as possible and get everyone to where they want to go! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed having breakfast with us and we hope to see you again soon!

86%

Generally a good hostel with friendly staff, however would be even better if the staff we're a bit more informed about local activities, events etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we move out of the cold months into the warmer season, local activities, especially outdoor events and their schedules change drastically every year. We're sorry that our front desk staff couldn't give you more informed answers, we hope that you'll give us another chance and spend a few beautiful days with us this Summer!

77%

I only spent one night at this Hostel but it was in an excellent spot not too far from anything! And super close to 3rd street promenade and santa monica place. The only complain was that I booked a 6BDRM dorm with ensuite but was put in a 4BDRM dorm with a shared bathroom. But like I said it was only 1 night so i didn't make a fuss. They had a comfy place to sleep at a great location with good WiFi :)

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that there was a mix up with your room arrangement, however we are happy to hear that you were able to get a good nights sleep despite the mistake on our end. We hope that you'll come and stay with us again so that we can not only get you in the right room, but show you a great time as well! Thank you for the feedback and safe travels!

89%

Great location. Dorms very hot with no aircon

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry that your dorm room was too hot. We do provide fans in every room and we encourage every guest experiencing heat issues to talk with our front desk staff so that we can fix the issue. We have several remodels under way that are going to improve the temperatures in the dorm rooms. Please come and see us again so that we can show you some of the improvements we've made! Happy Hostelling!

86%

Was one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The staff is very nice! Is a place I would definitely stay there again!

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's what we love to hear! We can't wait to see you again the next time you're in Los Angeles!

86%

Staff were brilliant, fab location for the shops, bus links and beach. The complimentary breakfast was vey good. They assign beds to each person in the dorm, which people don't stick to which makes it a bit of a pain come bed time, it would probably be better to leave it unreserved. A bit steeply priced in my opinion, but a good hostel overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing us a great review! You're absolutely right, when guests decide not to sleep in their assigned beds it can be a hassle for everyone! The idea behind reserving the beds is leaving the bottom ones open for our guests that have trouble climbing up and jumping down from the top bunks. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and we hope to see you again soon!

97%

Thx for the great time! I´ll definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're looking forward to it!

91%

Jättebra läge ett stenkast från stranden. Väldigt bra säkerhet med kortläsare överallt. Superbra tvättmöjligheter. Ganska dyrt som de flesta hostel i denna stad men ändå prisvärt. Frukosten är väl inte jättespännande och kunde vara lite bättre för det priset men den funkar helt klart.


83%

NOTE: ALCOHOL FREE HOSTEL!! Pretty much says it's all. If your looking for a fun time to social and meet others, don't stay here. If you would like a quiet place to stay then it's perfect. Great faculties, breakfast and beds. But if your up for a fun time, look elsewhere, no alcohol and too many common rooms, lack of social activities makes it difficult to interact and meet other travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true. We are an alcohol and drug free hostel. We want our travelers to have an awesome time and make some great memories but we also have the safety of everyone else and the cleanliness of our facility to keep in mind. However we do organize pub crawls, a club night, and other group outings that are all about cutting loose and meeting new people. Please come back and join us for one of these soon so that we can show you a great time!

83%

The atmosphere wasn't the best but the accommodations were very nice and the staff really accommodating! We had so much fun in Santa Monica we stayed one extra day!!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear that you had fun and that you were able to squeeze in an extra day of vacation with us! We'd like to hear what you didn't like about the atmosphere. When you can, please get in touch with us directly and share your thoughts!

86%

Its right on the beach, walking distance from the pier and endless shopping and restaurants. Pub crawl was fun and all the tours stop at the hostel. The rooms with en-suite bathrooms were spacious and clean. I do not suggest the VIP limo tour, unless you just want to pay $50 to ride there and back in a limo. But don't expect all the free drinks and club cover charges. The tour guide bought one cheap bottle of vodka for 20+ people and the clubs were all free entry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to see that you were able to enjoy one of our pub crawls and that we could help you indulge in a little bit of what Santa Monica has to offer. We're sorry to see that the limo wasn't up to par. You're absolutely right, one bottle of cheap vodka is not enough for 20 people! We're going to forward your feedback to the guys that run the club hop. Thanks again and we hope to see you the next time you're in LA!

66%

mattresses were not comfortable, they should be upgraded a little too pricey for a hostel in general especially for a private room, $129 and you don't get your own bathroom! overall nice facility, nice ambiance in the common areas, friendly staff, nice big kitchen

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. We'd like you to know that we do cycle our mattresses out regularly for new ones. We're sorry you found our prices unreasonable, and you're right, some of our private rooms don't have a layout that includes a bathroom. But any issues that any of our guests have with their accommodation can be resolved at the front desk. Thanks again for the review and please come and see us again soon!

86%

Fantastic location, in walking distance of most things. Brekky included, nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! We hope that you were able to enjoy one of our pub crawls or museum days. Come and stay with us again next time you're in LA!

94%

Amazing hostel, met some amazing people! Central, close to the beach and 3rd sheet prom, Venice beach and the pier! Def coming back here!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
One of the greatest things about hostelling is meeting people from all over the world. It's great to see that you had an awesome time with us, hopefully you were able to soak up some rays at the beach! Thank you for the awesome review and please come see us again soon!

86%

This is a very nice hostel, perfect location, clean and quiet. My only complaint is the price seemed quite high for a hostel. $55 for room of 4-6 beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and our lovely little city. We're sorry to see that you found the price unreasonable. We do offer 8-10 bed dorm rooms which are about $10 less per night. We want you to know that we strive to maintain an affordable rate for all of our travelers. Please come and stay with us again soon!

74%

Included breakfast is always good, although there wasn't heaps of variety. Kitchen facilities and general socialising areas were really nice. Bathrooms were okay but not great. My bed was quite uncomfortable but the location is fantastic if you want to see the Santa Monica area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! Get in touch with us directly and talk to us about what you'd like to see included in our breakfast! We'd also like to hear what you didn't like about our bathrooms, your feedback is important to us. Happy Travels!

86%

It's in a nice place with nice staff but it lacks an atmosphere. I'd say something like a BBQ in the courtyard would allow people to mix more freely rather than having people sit on opposite sides of tables at breakfast not speaking

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We actually do have BBQ nights, all you can eat pasta nights, pancake breakfasts, and a weekly schedule of outings that includes pub crawls, city tours, and museum days. We hope that you will come back again soon so that we can show you a great time!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback