X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2294 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Fantastic hostel in great location


80%

Im only rating very poor for facilities due to the lack of air conditioning. Rooms were like a sauna making it very uncomfortable to sleep.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are very sorry you were not able to sleep because of the heat. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our rooms but however we do provide additional fans at our front desk. Hopefully the heat does not keep you away from coming back and staying with us.

94%

Great location, excellent activities, could use ac

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, however we do provide fans upon request. You can also notify our front desk staff to switch you rooms. Usually our rooms in the 2nd and 3rd are not as hot as our othher rooms in our 4th floor.

100%

Friendly staff, clean rooms/bathroom, great location. Travel shop right next door, easy to book day tours. Great for 5 days or so. Cheers

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review about our hostel! Its always nice to hear from our guests that we have a nice friendly staff. We are happy we met your expectations for your stay and that you also enjoyed our wonderful location! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Great clean hostel, a bit more expensive than some but amazing breakfast and communal areas. Not a great atmosphere as the hostel is so big, but if you want somewhere more chilled then this place is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Al though we are a big hostel we do make efforts to provide activities inside the hostel for other guests to meet and interact. Other than that we are glad you were able to enjoy our facilities and our breakfast. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

86%

It's very close to the beach. I liked that. It's a bit pricy though like any other hostels in LA. The thing that bothered me most was that I am not allowed to drink alcohol inside the hostel. I should have known that HI (Hosteling International) hostels have no alcohol drinking allowed policy.


83%

It should be advertised on the website that the hostel is alcohol free. Breakfast is excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestion about our alcohol policy. We will take this into consideration in advertising our policy through Hostelworld. .

86%

Great location close to the beach! I was on the 4th floor and it was miserable hot up there. They had multiple fans in the room but it didn't help very much. It was difficult to sleep because it was so hot in the room. Other than that, great hostel. Would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms can get very hot since we have no air conditioning. Next time you can ask our front desk staff to accommodate you in a lower level floor and hopefully it wont be as hot as it is on the 4th floor. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon.

83%

Great location, a short walk to the pier and a few streets down from the main shopping area.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We hope you come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Bathrooms need a serious update!


100%

Will be staying once a week on business, and I could't be happier with choosing HI.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Were glad you chose us for your stay and we look forward in seeing you again!

94%

In my opinion really good. Good location and all that but still really expensive for a Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon.

77%

Staff was nice and helpful. Pretty good selection of events and entertainment. Location is very good - a few blocks to the beach, and in the middle of Santa Monica shops and restos. Downside to the central location is the noise. May depend on which side of the building you're on. Nice facilities, but not a ton of character -- a little sterile. Dorms were good, clean, nice lockers, bedside light and plugs. Bathroom facilities good and not crowded at all. Bike room was a nice bonus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are in a central location the noise can be loud especially with all the foot traffic and the cars. Next time you can ask our front desk staff to accommodate you in a room that is not facing the street. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

77%

Homeless people around, The room had bad smell (Due to people staying in the same room). Hostels in LA in general are somehow expensive.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really nice. Friendly staff

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review were glad our staff was friendly during your stay. Come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Room and bathroom Very clean. A little expensive, but the hostel is a corner away from Santa Monica beach and pier. Staff very nice and helpful. Good spot if you want to shop too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great when it comes to the beach, restaurants, and shops. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

43%

Very poor value for money. On arrival the staff were not very helpful. For the money I would have expected a better breakfast where we were not limited to 2 food items and I would also expect that the majority of the poor selection of breakfast items would not run out prior to breakfast ending (this happened on 2 of the 3 days we stayed). The showers whilst relatively clean practical. Water went everywhere outside of the cubical and there was no private dry space to dress other than the toilet

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We apologize if we didn't meet your expectations for your stay. Our breakfast is no longer limited to 2 items so now we have plenty of food for our guests to have. As for the showers we will bring this to our maintenance departments attention so they can take care of this issue. We hope you can give us another chance to stay with us so we can make it up to you.

89%

Amazing location and friendly staff. Easy to get to the other locations in la because of easy public transportation. I definitely recommend this accommodation though the price is not cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our rates change based on our availability. We suggest booking ahead of time that way you can get a lower rate. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful location. We're also glad our staff was friendly during your stay. Hope you can come back and visit us soon!

100%

A fantastic hostel. The location is literally perfect! LA is so big that is almost impossible to stay in just one area of the city and still get to experience the city life/hills and tourism/the beaches and piers etc. so this hostel is perfect for those wanting to visit the beaches and famous pier. The neighbourhood is safe and secure and much classier than Hollywood Blvd hostels. Great staff, clean rooms, easy access to transit. 5 STAR! Definitely would recommend if visiting Santa Monica/LA!!!


86%

Expensive have to pay extra $3 a night if your not a HI member so bear this in mind, noisy if your next to the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. If you are planning on traveling to other HI hostels, it may save you some money to buy an annual membership. Once you have your membership card, you won't have to pay the $3 non member fee. It does get a llittle noisy because of our location in the heart of everything. You can pick up some ear plugs at the front desk to ease this annoyance.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback