X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2301 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very well kept in a location and Promenade . WiFi Slowakei and unreliable


60%

Bad wifi; no air conditioner; always the same breakfast(but it is good( milk;cereal;fruit;yogurth;bread;cake) People too cold. The location is very good; although at LA you will need a car.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel in great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We're Happy to hear you liked our hostel and its fantastic location. Come back and visit us soon!

83%

I love this hostel, the location is great!


80%

Im only rating very poor for facilities due to the lack of air conditioning. Rooms were like a sauna making it very uncomfortable to sleep.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are very sorry you were not able to sleep because of the heat. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our rooms but however we do provide additional fans at our front desk. Hopefully the heat does not keep you away from coming back and staying with us.

89%

Really good hostel, but so expensive for what you get


83%

The facilities and location were perfect for anyone touring LA and the coast, However there is no alcohol allowed in the hostel which really kills the atmosphere and makes it a far less social hostel than most.


94%

Great location, excellent activities, could use ac

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, however we do provide fans upon request. You can also notify our front desk staff to switch you rooms. Usually our rooms in the 2nd and 3rd are not as hot as our othher rooms in our 4th floor.

100%

Friendly staff, clean rooms/bathroom, great location. Travel shop right next door, easy to book day tours. Great for 5 days or so. Cheers

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review about our hostel! Its always nice to hear from our guests that we have a nice friendly staff. We are happy we met your expectations for your stay and that you also enjoyed our wonderful location! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Great clean hostel, a bit more expensive than some but amazing breakfast and communal areas. Not a great atmosphere as the hostel is so big, but if you want somewhere more chilled then this place is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Al though we are a big hostel we do make efforts to provide activities inside the hostel for other guests to meet and interact. Other than that we are glad you were able to enjoy our facilities and our breakfast. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

86%

It's very close to the beach. I liked that. It's a bit pricy though like any other hostels in LA. The thing that bothered me most was that I am not allowed to drink alcohol inside the hostel. I should have known that HI (Hosteling International) hostels have no alcohol drinking allowed policy.


83%

It should be advertised on the website that the hostel is alcohol free. Breakfast is excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestion about our alcohol policy. We will take this into consideration in advertising our policy through Hostelworld. .

86%

Great location close to the beach! I was on the 4th floor and it was miserable hot up there. They had multiple fans in the room but it didn't help very much. It was difficult to sleep because it was so hot in the room. Other than that, great hostel. Would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms can get very hot since we have no air conditioning. Next time you can ask our front desk staff to accommodate you in a lower level floor and hopefully it wont be as hot as it is on the 4th floor. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon.

83%

Great location, a short walk to the pier and a few streets down from the main shopping area.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We hope you come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Bathrooms need a serious update!


100%

Will be staying once a week on business, and I could't be happier with choosing HI.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Were glad you chose us for your stay and we look forward in seeing you again!

94%

In my opinion really good. Good location and all that but still really expensive for a Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon.

77%

Staff was nice and helpful. Pretty good selection of events and entertainment. Location is very good - a few blocks to the beach, and in the middle of Santa Monica shops and restos. Downside to the central location is the noise. May depend on which side of the building you're on. Nice facilities, but not a ton of character -- a little sterile. Dorms were good, clean, nice lockers, bedside light and plugs. Bathroom facilities good and not crowded at all. Bike room was a nice bonus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are in a central location the noise can be loud especially with all the foot traffic and the cars. Next time you can ask our front desk staff to accommodate you in a room that is not facing the street. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

77%

Homeless people around, The room had bad smell (Due to people staying in the same room). Hostels in LA in general are somehow expensive.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really nice. Friendly staff

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review were glad our staff was friendly during your stay. Come back and stay with us soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback