X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2095 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Not enough activities for tourists on their own. Breakfast was very average and being in a room with 9 others wasn't an enjoyable experience.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Best part is the location -- right near beach, pier, 3rd street promenade. Cost $1 to get to from LAX via bus. Great hostel, although too expensive: including all taxes and fees it costs me $50/night as a non-member in a 6-bed dorm. Showers don't have heat options, it's just an on/off knob, so they are warm but not hot. Dorm rooms are great -- every bed has its own outlets and light. Wifi is good. Bonus points for charming open areas like a fireplace room and atrium. Decent breakfast.


100%

Very clean and professional. My favorite place in LA so far...

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It was an amazing experience. Awesome breakfast and awesome location. Simply amazing. Will come back fossho.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Here's breakfast is very very good!!!!!!!!!!! i love +_+ hahahaha most of part is good

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a really nice hostel, however it is a Hi-Hostel. As a Hi-Hostel they have figured out how to make everything so efficient and predictable that the hostel has no soul or character. However, the location is decent and the breakfast is ok. The hostel is a little on the pricey side. If you want a hostel that is actually interesting and not out to simply make a profit I wouldn't recommend this hostel. Also, the hostel is so huge and cold it is really hard to meet people.


100%

My stay was excellent while I was there. The staff were beyond helpful. The breakfast included (toast, mini bagels, yogurt, cereal and canned peaches) A minor suggestion to take this hostel a step higher assorted menu selections of both hot and cold breakfast. Waffle/pancakes, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and or pastry danishes. Those would mean the world to travelers.I loved the fact the hostel was literally a block away from the beach. Many of food places and store near by that came in handy.


86%

This hostel has great location for the value, right at the center of Santa Monica and near to everything. You can pretty much walk to most of the points of interest. Staff are very helpful and awesome. Hostel often organizes fun events at discounted rates such as hiking and sightseeing. They are pretty insightful about what to do in Santa Monica and the LA area. Had a great time there interacting with the staff and meeting up with the other guests.


100%

Very easy place to find, not far from Lax air port, staff are very helpful and friendly. Would be very happy to come back again.


89%

Nice and clean with several open common areas. A great location in Santa Monica. Really enjoyed my stay.


91%

breakfast is good and has a lot of activities to join. just 2 blocks from the beach. I will defintely stay here again if come to LA

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it! Fantastic staff!


94%

The location of hostel is very good!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really clean and fresh hostel.


86%

Its a really nice hostel, close to central Santa Monica and with big common areas. Really nice and helpful staff too!


97%

Loved it here- was great, staff were super friendly and location was tops...great kitchen and common areas!


77%

Better showers would really help.. And it's too expensive for a hostel..


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. So much that i stayed for longer than expected... and came back again!! Great location, only a 5 min walk to the beach and then a short walk to the shops too. Staff are extremely friendly and help in any way they can. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


74%

The shower could have been better. I can live without a strong water flow, but the water needed to be hotter than just above warm.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The location is one of my favorite places to visit and the local community is very friendly. There is convenient shopping for almost anything you may need.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback