X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1971 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very helpful staff. Great communal spaces. Decent breakfast. Clean rooms. Two blocks from the beach, perfect.


80%

Toilets don't flush correctly. The room was smelly.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

without a doubt I think it's a bit expensive and very poor breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you felt that the breakfast is poor. We offer cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, cream cheese, boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee, tea. I think you will find that we are the best value for your money if you want to stay in beautiful Santa Monica one block from the beach. Unfortunately, superb locations cost a little more but only you can determine the value of that.+

86%

The location of this hostel is amazing, and it has everything you need, almost! It does lack that getting-to-know-people-feel that most hostel have. Its a very big hostel (260 beds i think) so i feels a bit more like a hotel, with shared room! A big downside is that they cant garantee that you share a room with your own group, you could get in a situation where you are in seperate rooms! But its a good location for shopping and beach time!


77%

Thank you for an nice stay.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel very close to many restaurants, stores and beach. Staff is convenient and safety place. However, first time I must pay for computer use in a hostel.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Typical HI hostel. Might need a little paint here and there but generally very clean. Nice size rooms, comfy beds and lockers for everyone. Excellent location between beach and shopping area in Santa Monica.


83%

Clean, nice place. Bit expensive, you could probably also book a motel for that amount of money if you're traveling with someone else. Excellent kitchen and very good location. Quiet hostel at night


86%

Breakfast could do with some varity. Wifi was good across the hostel. Lots of things to do.


91%

This hostels best asset is it's location - in the heart of santa monica which is one of L.A's nicest areas. Aside from that it's a pretty stock standard H.I hostel. Excellent facilities, security etc but lacks atmosphere.


71%

Not a place to party..no alcohol allowed in the hostel and people all on their phones ..no hostel interaction


74%

Clean, does the job and centraly located. Couldn't ask for better than that.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

No one tells you that you have to pay extra fees. That is not fair.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I know, surprises are a drag...but it is important to read the "Things to Note" section when you book on Hostelworld to avoid these surprises. Following is what you would see when you book for our hostel: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay $3 temporary membership fee per night upon check-in. Occupancy taxes are not included.

100%

Everything was great!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, helpful staff, good they have tours and stuff organised, nice breakfast too.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

if you are going to Santa Monica, this is the place to stay! The hostel is close to the Beach as well as the city. Planned to stay here for 2 nights, but ended up with staying for 8 nights. Already miss Santa Monica and the hostel! Met so many cool people at HI. If I should say something negative, it has to be the breakfast, wish it was more variety!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad that you loved us so much that you decided to stay longer! We live to hear these types of comments!

66%

Nice hostel, clean with spacious rooms and great location. Lacked atmosphere thought due to it's size... Not many people seemed to be mingling and didn't seem to attract the crowd who wanted to meet others. I wouldn't stay here if I was traveling alone and hoping to meet others.


86%

A good hostel, breakfast included which is nice. Great location really close to the beach and the walking street in Santa Monica. Had a great walking tour in Venice beach, thanks Ekin for that. Lots of things happening, and if you participate to the organized tours it's easy to get to know people. Otherwise I only got to know people in my own dorm.


97%

Awesome staff. Did the best they could to give us suggestions on where to go for a night out. Could we get the people in the courtyard to respect those who are sleeping in the am to keep the noise down? In the courtyard the noise bounces off the walls.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Really difficult to meet new people at this hostel! It The guests are not social at all. Seems that there a lot of group tours and people using it as a home, because they can't find anywhere else to live.. Don't choose the 10 beds room. lived with a group of Highschool girls and it was a mess.


1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(100 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback