X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Santa Monica, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2066 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

breakfast is good and has a lot of activities to join. just 2 blocks from the beach. I will defintely stay here again if come to LA

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it! Fantastic staff!


94%

The location of hostel is very good!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really clean and fresh hostel.


86%

Its a really nice hostel, close to central Santa Monica and with big common areas. Really nice and helpful staff too!


97%

Loved it here- was great, staff were super friendly and location was tops...great kitchen and common areas!


77%

Better showers would really help.. And it's too expensive for a hostel..


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. So much that i stayed for longer than expected... and came back again!! Great location, only a 5 min walk to the beach and then a short walk to the shops too. Staff are extremely friendly and help in any way they can. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


74%

The shower could have been better. I can live without a strong water flow, but the water needed to be hotter than just above warm.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The location is one of my favorite places to visit and the local community is very friendly. There is convenient shopping for almost anything you may need.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Hostel team is very helpful. Location is excellent! But, at the Hostel's bathroom was a huge cockroach.


94%

Nice stay, comfy beds, clean shower and awesome location. The only negative I found was that there wasn't a good atmosphere. It was very quiet and people kept themselves to them selves.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I could not sleep well because of someone's or something's making noise.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The place has a friendly, helpful bunch of staff.


91%

Very clean, comfortable hostel in the perfect location only a block from the beach. Close to restaurants and all Santa Monica tourist activities. Facilities were great. I was hoping to participate in some hostel activities but seemed most were getting canceled, I think because there weren't many people around. A bit of a loud area with construction on the street outside but we were warned of this and I'm sure at a normal time that this isn't a problem. Overall it was a great hostel!


94%

Such a shame that you can't drink alcohol in the hostel... Would be way better if you could!! Other than that everything was GREAT and the staff were all so helpful :)

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The breakfasts were full of sugar... too much in my opinion, and not enough selection of cereals (I hate cornflakes). Otherwise it was a really great experience.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best and cleanest places to stay in the area, and very convenient to the beach.


94%

Very helpful staff, great location and perfect alternative to staying in downtown LA. The breakfast was great and there are plenty of cool spaces to relax. Would highly recommend.


83%

Very well located, it's at the heart of San Monica and very close to the beach! The facilities are very nice and clean. The rooms are okay.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all Santa Monica Hostels

Please give us your feedback