Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 2941
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Awesome breakfast. Massive lockers. Dazzling tv room. Great staff. Although Beds could be a little bigger...other then that I would recommend this hostel to any sort of traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
8.0

Pros: Location is just perfect, crawling distance from the beach and pier. A walk along the beach to Venice is wonderful. Lots of places to eat around and very close to public transport from LAX. Plenty of activities to do with fellow travelers, like pub crawls or movie nights. Big lockers are provided, easily fits a big backpack. Building is really nice, lots of places to chill. Dorm had its own bathroom. Cons: The dorms were a bit of a let down quality-wise, very squeaky and narrow beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.1

Great location and the common facilities were nice, however, the dorm itself was quite unpleasant. It was noisy throughout the night, very stuffy and the only fan was incredibly loud and difficult to sleep through. Not the best hostel for meeting people either but the location is a real bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.3

really good hostel! I came to ask if I could store my backpack and the guy was able to check me in early. plenty of showers and toilets, enough space in the rooms and all bunks have a plug socket and lamp which is a really nice feature.a stones throw from santa monica pier and walking distance to Venice beach which is amazing. also me and 2 other girls got dropped back from our tour 2 hours early at 4.30am and there was a nice lady on reception who let us sit in the lobby for as long as we liked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.3

I stayed in the middle of Sept for a week and overall it was a good stay. There are lockers in every room and entry to the hostel is keycard only. Location is great - 2 mins from the beach, and Santa Monica is all walkable - but if you want to explore the rest of LA the buses take about an hour to get to Downtown/Hollywood. There are plenty of social spaces and activities almost every day. But it is expensive and if you want to use the luggage storage after checkout you have to pay $5 after 1pm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Very nice place. However quite large place which make it more difficult to meet people. I was staying on 4th floor and the wifi connection was really bad!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

The hostel is in a graet location, he is big and very clean. The breakfast is nice and the atmosphere is cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • storvi
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Highly recommend. Staff awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
3.1

First of all. They charge more that it says on the hostel world website. I bought a $43 dormitory and payed $5 in advance on the website. but when I got there the desk girl sayd I need to add additional $3 for "you don't have a membership in hotel international" (WTF) + $5 for "hostel tax fee". When I buy a $43 bed I don't expect to pay additional $8. Its just steeling my money. On top of that , they don't allow to be in the shared area after 22:00 and the lockers has no locks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

The overall experience was good, great location, security was high with key only access and lockers (take your own lock). However, the shower wasn't very clean and the breakfast was very. Toast, one type of cereal and orange juice no variety.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.