Hostelworld.com

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
86% 2659
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Really nice place, well located right next to the beach. Good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.9

It was really worth the cost, the only thing that was annoying was the construction noise, but it was very min.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location. Right near places to shop and very close to the pier. Easy to find from LAX. Would stay again if I were to return to Santa Monica.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing place! Gracious staff & the planned events are awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for review. We are happy to hear our staff was gracious during your stay. Also its great to hear you got to join our activities. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

16th Apr 2016
10.0

I loved my stay here! From the comedy show, to the discounted bike rental, there was plenty to do at a great deal, and the location couldn't be any better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We delighted to hear you loved staying with us and that you also enjoyed our activities and our great location! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.0

The location is awesome! Everything was fine. Except that we booked 2 beds in a 10bed female dorm and we had the choices to get separated or sleep in a men's dorm (but then together). Since one of us was underage we couldn't be seperated. We had to take the men's dorm. Next time I would prefer to get what I booked. But we were to tired to argue when we arrived.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience in sleeping in a room that you did not book. When guests book more than one bed we always try our best to keep them together. However depending on our availability of beds and check in time some times guests will have to sleep in separate dorms. Again we would like to apologize for this issue that you had to experience. We hope you can give us another chance to stay with us soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.1

Perfect location, only two blocks from the beach and in the centre of shops and restaurants. Room was good, if not a little hot. There is a fan but it didn't really cool the room down much. I found that it wasn't a very social hostel but has a nice seating area downstairs. Shared bathrooms are adequate and have hair dryers but the water is either too hot or too cold depending on how many other people are showering, and you can't change this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.9

Never stayed at a Hostel until this trip to the USA and this was my second and was extremly good. Very clean, great location in the city and seemed very secure, I would highly recommend it for anyone of any age to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience staying at our Hi-Hostel. We are located in a great location that is close to shops, restaurants, bars and even the beach. We are glad you got to enjoy it. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location-right in the heart of Santa Monica and just in between 3rd Street Promenade and the beach. Lovely and clean all round, however a slim choice for breakfast was a bit of a let down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location. We are very close to the beach and the 3rd st promenade, our location is sure impeccable. You'd be happy to know we have made some adjustments to our breakfast, however any feedback from our guests can help us make more room for improvement.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
8.0

overall, I enjoyed my stay. The facilities themselves were impressive. Loved the location and its proximity to shopping and the beach. The only drawback was the front desk staff. They were cold for the most part and absolutely expressionless. I even greeted them with a smile and tried to initiate a friendly interaction but they really didn't reciprocate (the graveyard lady seemed nice though. Being warm with guests can greatly impact there impression of a place. That was my only negative.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear your thoughts about our staff. We definitely agree with your comments about having friendly staff and giving a great impression of our hostel. Usually our front desk staff is always very smiley and friendly towards all of our guests. Again, we would like to apologize for this.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.