Hostelworld.com

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 2784
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in a good location. The staff could be friendlier and perhaps explain things about the hostel rather than just hand you a sheet and say your room number is on there. Leaving you to figure out what floor and where it is. The breakfast in the morning is a bit lacking. Each slice of bread is individually sealed in plastic which is just wasteful, the apples are prepackaged slices rather than just having apples left out which again is very wasteful. Otherwise no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We like to hear that you enjoyed our location. Regarding your comments about the staff and breakfast selection, we are sorry and we will take your comments into consideration and figure out ways to improve because we want to try and make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible, thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Great stay and lovely staff. It was almost like a hotel, everything was brand new! Definitely get what you pay for!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and staff, we try our best to make your stay the most enjoyable and fun as possible. We hope to see you again in the near future, thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

great place to spend a night...met some Brazilian fellows who were traveling California & had lots of interesting stories to share..I felt very comfortable with them & slept very well...the location is perfect...close to everything. ..pareked at the Civic Center & was at the Getty Villa in 15 minutes. .even with traffic. ..was in downtown LA in 20...the great location of the hostel really made my visit very easy, hassle free, & enjoyable....recommend highly..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our Hostel here in Santa Monica, and it is great that you were able to make friends and feel safe and comfortable at our place. It is awesome that you were able to do see all of beautiful Los Angeles in a short amount of time and we hope you come back and and visit our great city and Hostel once more.

  • charlieleahy
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
9.7

24hr desk, central, good facilities. Only complaint is the bathrooms are a bit basic but they are spotless.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments on our facilities, we appreciate it and glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Regarding the bathrooms we will bring it to our staffs attention and take into consideration, thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.9

Lovely staff, had everything you need, felt safe and comfortable beds :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love to hear that you enjoyed our awesome staff and you were able to to have everything that you needed here. Hopefully you come visit our great staff and Hostel again.

9th Jun 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, convenient location and I felt very safe staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review and we are glad to hear that you loved the atmosphere here at the Hostel and we agree that this is a great location. Your safety is our number one priority and we hope you will come back soon and visit us!

  • zaileia
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel!! Right by the beach and the shops. Very big, lots of space and many rooms so great atmosphere. Had a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

A hostel in a fantastic location to access Santa Monica as well as Venice beach. The travel store next door made booking activities so easy and there is a cheap shuttle to the airport at the end of the street. The bathrooms were the only thing I would say were average as they weren't always that clean. Otherwise this place is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you were able to find things do around Santa Monica and Venice Beach. The starline tour is very convenient and helpful for our guests to want get to know the city of Los Angeles. Regarding your comments about our bathrooms, we will notify your comments to our housekeeping staff as we always want to improve on cleanliness.

3rd Jun 2016
8.6

Had a great stay at this hostel, the only problem was the showers: the one in our room was boiling hot (no way to change the temperature), and the one from the restrooms in the hallway was not great either. I could take a shower but the water was still really hot. I hope they will fix this issue, aside from that, I'm really glad I stayed here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Regarding your comments about the water temperature in our showers we did fix this issue. We will notify your comments to our maintenance staff to make sure the water temperature is adjusted. We apologize you had to experience this issue during your stay. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
4.9

Great location, but that's where the positives end. Our group of Australian guys in our 20s have hostel hopped around the world and know what makes a good hostel experience. The atmosphere is the key. There was a complete alcohol ban which SHOULD be clearly disclosed prior to booking! Lastly, someone needs to tell the staff to smile once in a while and the maids to stop barging into our rooms without our permission. Not to mention stealing our belongings.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We would like to apologize for the following issues you had with your stay. Your comments are valuable to us and we understand your concerns, we strive on what needs to be improve in our hostel. Regarding your comments about our Alcohol Policy, most HIUSA hostels don't allow alcohol. We are currently working on obtaining an alcohol licence to host welcome receptions at our hostel for guests. We hope this will increase our social atmosphere within our hostel as we really want create great connections between our guests. Also regarding your comments about our staff, they are usually very smiling and friendly towards all of our guests. We are sorry to hear you didn't feel the same. In regards to our housekeepers going to your room, in order for us to keep up with our daily operations our housekeeping must enter rooms to make beds and maintain cleanliness. As for your stolen belongings, did you happen to report this to our front desk staff? Unfortunately we are not responsible for lost or stolen items.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.