Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jessicaarmitage981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff were very friendly and helpful, had an incident with another traveller in our dorm room which staff dealt with outstandingly. Location was good, right next to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the buses into the city. Beds were fine but not the comfiest, also the sheets were strangely very loud and rustled. Would have been good to have doors in the shower rather than just curtains. Wifi was very good. Security was reasonable. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
3.4

Save your money! If there is another place to stay, stay there. This hostel has the weirdest vibe. The staff have been poorly trained in routine things such as giving a refund and proper customer service. The bunk beds need every single screw tightened. I could feel the girl below me every time she moved. The rooms are dirty and stink and the carpets are old! There's no security lock on the bathroom. I would never stay here again and checked out early!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you feel that way. Could you elaborate on your problem with the refund? It seems like your early check-out and refund was pretty routine, our staff seem to have accommodated all of your requests as according to our policies and you were in fact given a full refund of the night you did not stay. In the future, you might be more comfortable in a private room with ensuite private bathroom if you are looking for more privacy and security than the large economy shared room with shared bathroom facilities that you booked. Have a great rest of your trip!

9th Feb 2017
9.4

Good hostel, great location in Santa Monica. Santa Monica while far nicer is quite far from Hollywood though so bare that in mind when booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We loved having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.3

The location is really good and you have 3rd st with all the shops and 5 minutes to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our awesome location! Have a great trip and we hope to see you again soon!

4th Feb 2017
8.6

Quality facilities. I loved the fireplace. The kitchen was big and good. Location--super close to beach and Santa Monica pier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! I love that fireplace too, so cozy! It was our pleasure hosting you, we hope you'll come back and visit us again sometime! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.9

Excellent location, helpful staff, good wifi/kitchen/breakfast. Absolutely terrible showers though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for your review! We are actually upgrading our showers at the end of this month! We are so excited about the renovation. We hope you can come back and experience the new hostel when everything is complete! In the meantime, safe travels and enjoy your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Jan 2017
10.0

what a great hostel. The free breakfast is really good. Staff really nice.he location is just perfect on 2e street in santa monica. Save area, main street with a lot of shop/ restaurant re Just a min walk,a lot of good an nice restaurant and bars around the hostel. Everything is in walking distance. just 5 min walk to santa monica pier and beach. Metro 5 a 10 min walk. take to blue bus to the LAX airport from santa monica for 1,25 dollar ( 45 min busride)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! That is just what we love to hear! It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope you'll come back and visit us again sometime! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.9

Definitely recommended! Everything great - outstanding location, beautiful designed common rooms, healthy and plenty breakfast, friendly, funny and helpful staff. Beds and cupboards could be modernized, nevertheless comfortable, clean, secure. Restrooms, as in almost every hostel I have seen, need to be cleaned up more frequently and interior could be adapted to a travelers needs, e.g. broader shelves. Besides that, it is great to have free hairdryers and fresh towels. Great Value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

mattresses were ridiculously uncomfortable, had the worst night of sleep in my entire life on them. Also, when I attempted to go to bed at a reasonable time there was excessive noise throughout the hostel, and when I requested for it to be reduced I was shut down. I also noticed a large amount of alcohol being consumed although it is an alcohol-free hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you had such trouble sleeping. We do have quiet hours that we try to enforce, though they begin at 10pm. Our staff did do a walk through after your complaint, but was unable to find any excessive noise, so we apologize if it continued afterward. Finally, while we are an alcohol-free facility, it can be difficult for our staff to constantly monitor all of our guests' activities, and sometimes we miss things like this. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will try to be more vigilant in the future. We hope you have a great rest of your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
8.3

luggage store should be for free

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we do offer free luggage storage for a few hours after check-out, but unfortunately, as we have very limited storage space, we only offer $5 lockers for 24-hours of storage at this time. Thanks again and we hope you have an amazing rest of your trip!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.