Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 3063
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
10.0

Overall great, no bar though which is a great way to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

maybe a larger variety for breakfast but other than that 10/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
4.9

This place is clearly trying to maximize the number of people through the door. It's jammed with travelers, but there are so few places to hang out that people can't be comfortable enough to speak to once another. Just two couches! Also the common areas are cavernous and loud. Kitchen was stressful. Beds were uncomfortable. It seems like the only folks having fun were the ones going clubbing till 2 am. Not my kind of place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Hostel is very high quality in terms of staff, cleanliness, facilities and location. Only drawback I could think of was the atmosphere was like a library! Very quiet hostel which wasn't for me. Overall great stay if you looking for something quiet, safe, and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

The absolute best location in Santa Monica - near everything especially the beach ! The hostel is comfortable but not luxury. The beds are cozy with nice pillows. My roommates were quiet and respectful. Friendly staff. Great group trips. Showers are lukewarm which is a bummer. The other huge downside: the breakfast is truly miserable with weird plastic wrapped bread slices and cornflakes as the only option- no fresh fruit. Fortunately there is plenty of great food in Santa Monica !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
8.6

HI Santa Monica was a fine hostel, the beds were not very comfortable though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. The location is perfect and is only a 40 minute train trip to downtown LA. The staff were lovely and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms clean and the communal spaces big and welcoming. Would stay here again and recommend this hostel in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.9

The place is great, very well located!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
6.3

Matrasses are terrible and worn down and they keep running out of toilet paper and don t fill up on time. Staff are friendly but not outgoing and don t really feel that when you ask them to do something, they do it. For a HI hostel I m quire disappointed. The bedroom i was in was really run down while the downstairs looks great. And there is poor ventilation in room. The first few days the weather was warmer and the room was unbearable even with a fan!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was really fantastic. It had everything you'd need, chargers/lights by the bed, large lockers, great free breakfast (although individually packaged slices of bread still bemuse me), lots of nice common areas. Really couldn't fault it. One of the best hostels I've stayed at on my travels. It is quite large so bare that in mind, depending on the atmosphere you're after. Location in Santa Mónica also great! Would definitely stay at other HI hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.