Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel, with lots of facilities, very clean. Location is GREAT, only 5 min from the Santa Monica beach. Highly recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.4

No meaning to pay more for having the toilet in the room, the sink, shower and toilet are all separate and the sink has no door. I was using the shared showers/toilets, much better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location, one of the cleanest hostels I ve ever stay in. Goof vibe. Definetly a place to stay in Santa Monica

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel right in the middle of Santa Monica the better part of LA. Don't stay in Venice beach, Santa Monica is far cleaner, nicer and there's way more to do. I've stayed at upwards of 100 hostels and this is one of the best. Clean, comfortable, safe and not noisey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again sometime on your future travels! Have an amazing rest of your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place at the heart of st monica. Recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
9.7

The staff was very courteous. The rooms were clean as well as the bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again sometime! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

I had a wonderful stay in the Santa Monica hostel. The facilities are exceptionally clean. My few favorites were having proper wifi, a comfortable common space, and having the beach close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities we have to offer! Come back and visit us again anytime! :) Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.1

Great kitchen, one street up from Santa Monica pier, or one street the other way for third street promenade and Santa Monica place (awesome shopping and dining). Friendly staff, nice lounge areas. Very happy would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback! We are glad you had such a great stay! Come back and see us again sometime! Have a great rest of your trip in the meantime :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel and great location. Most people staying here were a little standoffish doing their own thing. I did meet a couple friends so it is possible. The events were great hosted by the hostel. I did have one issue where an associate told me the hike was canceled because of rain earlier in the week. When I woke up the next morning the hike was still on. So this left me a little frustrated because I started to make plans for that day. However, I did go on the hike and it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we really appreciate it! We are sorry for the mix-up in regards to the hike, though we are glad you were still able to attend it! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels in the meantime!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location and communal spaces. Breakfast is limited but fine. Main issue was with noise as the room doors make quite a ruckus!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for bringing this to our attention! We have informed our maintenance department about the doors and they will be addressing the issue presently! We are glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay and we hope to give you a better experience in the future! Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.