Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 2882
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Staff were absolutely amazing! Unfortunately the wifi was quite slow and would sometimes time out and become unusable. Good decent sized rooms that were very spacious. The bathrooms were a little awkward with only a shower curtain to separate yourself from everyone else walking past. Overall it's a pretty decent hostel, location is amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
9.7

All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. Happy to stay there again.cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.3

The parking situation is great! The building straight across the road does overnight at 17.50US. Only thing would be the lack of air con or if there was aircon in the main areas it definitely wasn't set to cold. Would have been perfect if it had been winter!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location; the security is quite tight i.e. before check-in/after check-out there was no way to access dining area whereas reception area is spartan with no comfy waiting area; room and bath facilities are average (one of the shower stall was not working, fan in room was not working); staff are helpful except they are also always busy so waiting times can get long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yay! We are happy to hear your great thoughts about our hostel. Come back and visit us soon!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
2.0

Plugs in the room don't work

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We would like to apologize for the issue you had with your stay. We will notify your comment to our maintenance staff so this issue gets fixed right away.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.4

Really great place. Looked good and stayed clean. Only cons were the outlets above the beds all really sucked and mine didnt even work and there was no alcohol allowed on the premises which took away from the atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your stay. Regarding the issue with the power outlets above your bed, did you happen to notify this our front desk? Also our hostel unfortunately does not allow alcohol. We are working on obtaining an alcohol licence to host welcome receptions for guests. Hopefully this will create a better atmosphere. We hope you can give us another chance for your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel as most HI are! great location only a 2 min walk from the pier and 3rd street promenade! rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean. breakfast in the morning was great. lots of activities provided by the hostel. only thing i would say is the beds weren't the comfiest i've ever stayed in but also not the worst. i would stay here again and recommend to friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.0

hostel itsel is very nice, the rooms are nice too. just the bahrooms are dirty and not really enjoyable. otherwise the hostel was fine and the location is amazing, it's one block form the beach!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Our housekeeping team cleans our bathroom facilities on a daily basis. We will however take your comments into consideration as theirs always room for improvement. Other than that, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice place... occasionally went to toliet and wasn't very clean from last person... this could be improved!! Showers should get a clean a little more often than once a day due to the amount of people using them.. overall lovely place good size nice breakfast 😃

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Our housekeeping team does daily cleaning in our bathroom facilities everyday. We will take your comments into consideration as there is always room for improvement. We are happy to hear our hostel was lovely. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.