Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 2839
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Jul 2016
7.1

Great great location in Santa Monica. Quite amazing in such expensive place. The big issue is the room. Aweful and noisy fan! I could not sleep until one guy finally stopped it! But of course it was hot like hell after that... A pity because the location and the patio could have made this place fantastic

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.6

amazing location for Santa Monica! staff were helpfull and the dorm rooms were very spacious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.3

Amazing locations and staff are very helpful. But sadly it's let down by the restrooms. 3 toilets and only one door closes. And showers no where to put ur clothes but out on be common area. Not very practical.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Great location! Good vibes. Would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
6.9

Close to beach was convenient if you plan to swim in the ocean like I do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.3

Myself and some other guests had trouble with a really aggressive guest in our room who we, and hostel staff suspected was on drugs. I thought being an alcohol/ drug free hostel she would be removed, however she wasn't and after abusing me she was able to not only stay, but in the same room. This really upset me. A bad end to an otherwise lovely hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
6.9

Towels had yellow spots and black hair on them (not my hair), same on the blanket (black hair) Had a crazy woman in 8person room with weed I guess (strong smell in the room for a while) we (friend&I) told the staff but nobody did anything. The woman cursed us out that we were too loud & I was moving & talking while I was asleep in the night (as if I could change it) so she got very upset & yelled at us. The staff said they would send people to check on woman & stuff! Nothing happened. Thumbs up

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.7

Hostel itself was average, but location was excellent and the hostel had a nice outdoors area. The breakfast layout included slices of bread that were individually wrapped in plastic - one slice of bread per plastic wrapping - obviously not very environmentally responsible. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice, a little expensive but guess are paying for location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

This place was absolutely fantastic!..so well done and I will definately be back!..the location is flawless as well!..one happy traveller..thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We are always so excited to hear when our guests loved their stay with us. We are looking forward to having you back and thanks again for your awesome feedback!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.