Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Located at 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
USA
Los Angeles CA 90401 1436 2nd Street, CA 90401
87% 3108
34.0140008 -118.4962821
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.1

I always stay here when I come to LA. It's clean, has the perfect location, and everyone is friendly. It's not the best hostel for meeting other people, but maybe that's because I've been here at the off travel season. I'll be back for sure though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad that you keep coming back and that our quality of service is always high! In the future, try one of our daily hostel events or tours, they are great ways to meet people!! We can't wait to see you next time!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
5.7

Arrived January 1st. Entire place smelled. No atmosphere. People and staff were rude. Rooms got extremely hot overnight Power outlet by bed did not work Bathrooms were disgusting and unsanitary

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you were so unsatisfied staying with us. Our staff and guests are usually all very friendly, so we apologize that you had a different experience. And did you happy raise any of these issues with our staff while you were here? Typically our housekeeping and maintenance staff can fix all of these problems immediately for you. At any rate, we hope you have a pleasant rest of your trip. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay(s), attentive (and patient) desk staff-have catered to my many annoying requests gracefully, and are very helpful if given the opportunity (except for that one guy...). PS-i wish I would've known about the coed dorms sooner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We are so thrilled to hear that the our staff was able to provide you with great service during your stay. We would love to see you again if you're ever back in LA! Safe travels!

27th Dec 2016
10.0

Best Hostel I've stayed in. Plenty of open space, awesome people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled that we gave you a great and memorable hostel experience! We hope to see you again sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
7.7

Nice area, clean rooms. The only thing i didn't like were the bathrooms. They didn't smell nice and the hooks for your clothes was outside of the shower, which meant anyone could take your things while in the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback! We are actually renovating all of our bathrooms next month! We are so excited! We'll take your comments into account on our new shower designs :) Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.9

It was a really great hostel overall, most essentials, nicely furnished, safe. Loved how large and equipped the kitchen was. Breakfast could be improved. Bathrooms overall did the trick. The hairdryers were not strong enough. The rooms were overall pretty good. The window wouldn't close in my room and it was really cold. They did offer extra blankets. It was kind of loud a few nights after 10 pm and I smelled weed in the hallway and really wish they'd strongly enforce the no-smoke/drugs rule.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for any discomfort you experienced while with us. Did you happen to get the chance to tell our staff about smelling smoke? We have a strong policy against drugs, and smoking in the building is very strictly prohibited, so had we heard about it, our staff would have taken care of the situation right away. Thanks again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

I've stay here twice, and my latest stay was amazing. I arrived at 12am and the guy on the front desk was so lovely, happy and kind (given the hour). He was so accommodating, changing my room so that i could have a bottom bunk for my last night before flying home. This was probably only possible given the time of year being so close to christmas. Brekky is good, cleanliness of facilities is really good as well. Great value for money. Perfect location & really easy to meet people. Will stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That's so great to hear! We are thrilled you've enjoyed staying with us, and we can't wait to see you again next time!

  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Wonderful place for it's value, just a few minutes of walking from Santa Monica beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us! Do come back and visit us again anytime :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.1

the breakfast is pretty basic. I would appreciate a little more variety there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are always trying to improve so we will definitely take your comments into consideration. We are glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again in your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.0

Staff were great! Showers were not so good but apart from that it was awesome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are so glad you have a good stay with us! Come visit us again anytime!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.