X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2568 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We would definitely stay here again!

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comment! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

100%

I would like to comment on the staff! All the staff were absolutely amazing They never hesitated to help with any enquires we had The went above and beyond there call of duty to accommodate any needs or enquires we put past them! Very friendly and understanding of my son who has autism! What can I say! Well done to all involved! Thanks for making our holiday a memorable time Kindest regards Rosie & Josh

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! We are so amazed to hear our that staff made your stay memorable. We do have a great and friendly staff and we are glad we were able to provide you with all the help you and your son needed. I will notify your great comments to our staff because they will be happy to hear your kind words. We hope you can come back and visit us soon!

86%

There were no wash cloths in the room; it would have been nice to have some in the shower room. The people at the desk were very nice! I especially appreciated the man who answered me very honestly about safety walking late at night in relation to the homeless people.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is in a great location, the staff was very helpful to get our room and even put our party in a 4 dorm room that was very nice to inform us that there was still rooms ave label ; and the staff was very nice and helpful we came up to celebrate a b day and we had a very nice time and made great memories thank you for all the hard work the hostel staff puts in every day i do enjoy my stays with the hostels very much thank you Cemile


83%

Fantastic front of house staff, very welcoming and helpful when I had a question. Location is amazing! Just 2 blocks from Santa Monica beach!!

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location Wifi completely unusable, too slow, websites hardly load Bathrooms quite dirty and old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are constantly finding ways to better improve our hostel so your suggestions are valuable to us. We will notify your comments to our IT department about our WiFi. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon.

77%

Over all, I enjoyed my stay. But wifi was VERY poor! And non of the computers were working, which made me nervous because you have to slide your credit card to use the computer, which I btw find weird that you have to pay to use them.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately you do have to pay for the computers in order to use them. We do apologize if our WiFi was not working at the time of your stay. We will notify your comments to our IT department.

91%

This hostel is absolutely amazing, location is 100% I definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear about our hostel being amazing, it just means that we are doing a great job! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

83%

Staff were very approachable especially Bevin. The WiFi however was terrible

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our staff and Bevin will be happy to hear about your great comment! Also we do apologize if our Wi-Fi was slow during your stay. We will notify the WiFi issue to our IT department. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

97%

The place is great, excellent location and service, the stuff is really nice and helpful. You can go anywhere in Santa Monica by foot, or take a bus to any of the interesting places of LA just around the corner. Great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear we met your expectations for your stay! Come back and stay with us soon!

100%

It was cool!

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location very near to the beach and the pier. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. Clean and tidy. Sadly, the WiFi was slow to the point of utter uselessness and the 'free breakfast' was a tiny box of cereal, with optional slices of apple. H.I. say they aim to help young people travel. Which travelling young person can afford $50 per night for 10-person dorm? It costs a couple $100 per night ($600 per week) to stay in separate rooms. Wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Use AirBnB.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are constantly finding ways to improve our hostel so your suggestions are valuable to us. We will take your comments into consideration.

74%

The hostel needs to add a social event every night and throughout the days, i found the hostel was large but very antisocial. And ive stayed at multiple HI hostels and out of about 10 of them this is the only one that dosnt have air conditioning! You desperately need it!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms do not have air conditioning and the only source of cool air are the fans we provide. We will take your comments into consideration about adding more social events for our hostel.

94%

Lack off ac makes the rooms hot and unbearable .. And the in the rooms are to skinny. You could just sleep without a madras

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms do not have air conditioning and the only source of cool air are the fans we provide.

100%

Great hostel, only complaint would be no air con, was soooo humid which made it hard to sleep at night. Loved the atmosphere and facilities were great and clean.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • xRhi8980
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms do not have air conditioning and the only source of cool air are the fans we provide. We are happy to hear that we created a great atmosphere and enjoyed our facilities our hostel has to offer. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

91%

No A.C way to hot. Only stayed 1 out of the 5 I was supposed to because there was no A.C. Other than that good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately our rooms do not have air conditioning and the only source of cool air are the fans we provide.

86%

Right next to the Santa Monica Pier and wonderful, modern hostel. Staff were super helpful as well; needed a taxi to LAX at 5 in the morning and we told him at 4:50am as Uber surged. The lounges were fantastic to chill in and the outside indoor piece was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations about our hostel and wonderful location! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

89%

Staff weren't the best. Although they were helpful when you asked for something they weren't particularly friendly compared to the other HI hostels I've been to on my trip. But nice facilities. They need aircon in the rooms though - it gets unbearably hot at night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about our staff not being friendly during your stay. Our staff is usually very friendly to of all our guests. Also unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our rooms but we do have fans.

100%

In General it is Perfect to Stay....a Lot of possibilities to do! The only Problem is The Heat in The Rooms- no AC which Makes it Hard to breath- but you will survive your Stay thou!✌️😄

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning but we do provide fans. Besides the heat we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

66%

No A/C, can't sleep very well at night because of extreme heat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our rooms and the only source of cool air would be the fans we provide. We do apologize for the uncomfortable nights sleep.

(122 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback