X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Reviews

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2568 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Wifi didn't work in the rooms or the building

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We were having problems with WiFi but you'd be happy to know that this problem has been resolved. Our guests are now able to enjoy the WiFi hassle free.

97%

breakfast milk was disgusting, sorry!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nicest hostel I've stated in and perfect location. Only a five minute walk to everything. Only downside is the rooms have no air conditioning and is brutally hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Were happy to hear you had nice stay with us and that our location was enjoyable! Yes, unfortunately our rooms get really hot during the summer time but we are providing additional fans to help cool off our rooms. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

100%

great hostel!!!!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comment! Come back and stay with us soon!

89%

I really enjoyed my stay. The location is perfect! Breakfast was good - nothing fancy but was perfectly fine. The facilities were really great and I had everything I needed. It was a good mix of ages staying here too which was nice. Definitely recommend.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The 6 men dorm was small and really hot. There were two fans in the room but no AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Most of our rooms are average size maybe its the number of beds that make the room seem small. Unfortunately our rooms get really hot during the summer time. Fans are available to help out with heat, we do apologize for this.

71%

Very well kept in a location and Promenade . WiFi Slowakei and unreliable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We've been having issues with our wi-fi late we are trying to fix this problem since we know many of our guests rely on the internet to plain their travel needs. We are going to consult this with our IT department so they can fix our WiFi problem.

60%

Bad wifi; no air conditioner; always the same breakfast(but it is good( milk;cereal;fruit;yogurth;bread;cake) People too cold. The location is very good; although at LA you will need a car.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for addressing the issues that have to do with our hostel. At this time our WiFi has not been working properly but we are working with our IT department to get to the bottom of this. As for the rooms unfortunately it gets really hot during the summer time and we have no air conditioning. We are providing additional fans to help cut out the heat in the rooms,.

89%

Great Location and a great atmosphere. Only downside was the rooms were quite hot as there was no Air Con. Definitely will be staying again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere of our hostel and you liked our location. Yes, unfortunately during the summer time our rooms get really hot and we have no air conditioning. However we are providing fans to help with the heat. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

89%

The hostel is really well located. Next to the pier and 3rd street. As almost all HI Hostels, it is not a party hostel. The bathroom is big enough and always clean. The breakfast is good with toast, fruits and cereals.


94%

It was a really nice hostel thank you so much


100%

Fantastic hostel in great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a great review! We're Happy to hear you liked our hostel and its fantastic location. Come back and visit us soon!

83%

I love this hostel, the location is great!


80%

Im only rating very poor for facilities due to the lack of air conditioning. Rooms were like a sauna making it very uncomfortable to sleep.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are very sorry you were not able to sleep because of the heat. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our rooms but however we do provide additional fans at our front desk. Hopefully the heat does not keep you away from coming back and staying with us.

89%

Really good hostel, but so expensive for what you get


83%

The facilities and location were perfect for anyone touring LA and the coast, However there is no alcohol allowed in the hostel which really kills the atmosphere and makes it a far less social hostel than most.


94%

Great location, excellent activities, could use ac

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, however we do provide fans upon request. You can also notify our front desk staff to switch you rooms. Usually our rooms in the 2nd and 3rd are not as hot as our othher rooms in our 4th floor.

77%

Very clean, but HUGE! Modern building, but unfortunately there's no atmosphere. Still had a good time. Quite comfortable beds!


100%

Friendly staff, clean rooms/bathroom, great location. Travel shop right next door, easy to book day tours. Great for 5 days or so. Cheers

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review about our hostel! Its always nice to hear from our guests that we have a nice friendly staff. We are happy we met your expectations for your stay and that you also enjoyed our wonderful location! We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

86%

Great clean hostel, a bit more expensive than some but amazing breakfast and communal areas. Not a great atmosphere as the hostel is so big, but if you want somewhere more chilled then this place is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Al though we are a big hostel we do make efforts to provide activities inside the hostel for other guests to meet and interact. Other than that we are glad you were able to enjoy our facilities and our breakfast. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

(1564 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback