X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Reviews

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1906 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Ended up staying for 3 nights, very centrally located, good parkings near, near beach and 3rd str promonade. I would definately stay here again!


74%

No, own parking, I came at night, to find free spot was impossible there.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great experience staying at the hostel, rooms were good size, clean & staff were helpful. The atmosphere was good & I really liked the fact it wasn't a party atmophere but there were still activities you could join in on. Only complaint is thst the mattress was pretty uncomfortable!


100%

It is vety near to the beach


66%

Other occupants of room were untidy and had food in room. Rooms should be checked daily by staff.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was nice: excellent location, the Hostal is clean, the only thing that really upset me, was my roomates, they were really loud. Plus, my keys was always uncharging but the staff was very compreheensive about it, so it's ok.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Rooms have enough space! top location of the hostel!


89%

Large lockers in the room are good! The washrooms were large and clean, but the shower wasn't really hot. The breakfast was pretty good, and it was warm and welcoming. The location was excellent, and it felt really safe.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here 18 years ago, and then again last weekend. First class hostel across the board!

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

That's a very good hostel, especially the location that is so close to the Santa Monica beach. If you are afraid of where is kind of far away from Holywood, Disneyland~ don't worry, there are some tour agencies providing all kinds of tours. Actually Santa Monica is a wonderful attraction, don't forget to take a sunset tour on the beach if you hit there, that will be fantastic.


86%

Kind of expensive for a hostel, however its a Nice place.


80%

There could be a few more couches in the hallways or more lounge areas to hang out in.


77%

Best hostel coffee ever! Well worth $100 for a two-night stay (sarcasm).


100%

Great place. It fit my needs perfectly. I highly recommend it!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location of the hostel is very good, especially for going to the beach, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was nice, the only thing is that it is very expensive for a hostel even though it is a very nice one.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel and great location.


100%

On block away from the beach and a lot of bars and restaurants around, nice place.


100%

This hostel is amazing! Located so close to the beach, many bars, pubs and restaurants. The hostel itself is sooo clean, so many areas to relax in such as a cinema, computer lounge and outdoor patio! Bedrooms are small, but so comfortable and functional eg lockers.


63%

After checking out they will only let you leave your luggage in their storage for 2 hours - if it is even over by 15 mins certain members of staff will tell you to put it in the 24hr lockers. Some of the front desk staff are not helpful or even friendly when you approach them. If you want to mingle and meet travellers this is not the place to stay - Santa Monica itself is great though just don't expect much from this place socially.


89%

the kitchen could be better with more staff! there was for example just 2 or 3 kitchen kniffs or no free herbs or salt/pepper. the rest was great! friendly staff,clean and a good location!


(1254 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback