Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - South Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 98 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 98 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
HI Los Angeles - South Bay Located at 3601S. Gaffey Street, San Pedro, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - South Bay
USA
Los Angeles CA 90731 3601S. Gaffey Street, San Pedro
79% 98
33.7110428 -118.2936358
HI Los Angeles - South Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Mubfirst time in a hostel was a pleasant one. Comfortable room, kitchen for cooking, and laundry services were awesome. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.1

Great experience! First time staying at a hostel, and I'm so glad I gave it a try.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.1

Chill hostel with pretty location but very far from the LA you'll want to see as a tourist. An uber to Venice Beach will cost around $40.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
5.1

No wifi in dorms - only the main building which is far from the dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
9.4

Great place to stay. The park behind the hostel has an amazing view!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
4.6

Myself and two friends stayed here and didn't really look into the location before booking. It was very cheap and basically you pay for what you get. If you are planning on the LA setting close to tourist attractions and in general close to anything DO NOT stay here. It is a good hour out of the city and inconvenient. If you have a car this might have been easier. Very different from the HI hostels that we have stayed in on the east coast

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.0

We have been to heaps of HI hostels and all were rad. This place is not friendly, warm or in a good spot. Only good points are it's cheap, there's a decent kitchen and a Tv room. There's no vibe and nothing to do in the area. NOTE: you WILL need a car to get to shops/bars whatever. There's nothing close at all. The staff were OK, one of them just spent the whole time on the phone looking for other jobs. Mattresses were really uncomfortable. Also you can't drink... Period :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.9

Helpful and friendly staff but not the ideal location and some of the guests were a bit weird

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
10.0

I haven't felt this peace and relax since many years ago, I'm very lazy but this hostel made me recover my self, I even went to run in the morning. However, if you are planning to party and meet people, this is not your place, this hostel is like a summer camp for people who want to relax, it's located in a beautiful cliff with an amazing view to the ocean. Staff is unbelievable nice, beside a nice breakfast there is also free food (sometimes), just help your self. Very clean and 100% amenities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marijanbirus4120
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 55 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.6

The location is bad if you don't have your own car (if you want connection with Los Angeles). You can walk around for 2-3 days, check the beach and the Pacific coast. There were many bad guests in the hostel: very noisy at night, sitting on the sink (most likely druged) etc. Two roommates didn't care to be extremly noisy at 7 AM, one even agressive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.