Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Los Angeles - South Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katiebellinuk4159
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2017
9.4

I loved the HI South Bay! It was exactly what I was looking for - a cosy, quiet spot where I would be able to sleep in the dorm at night without people coming in at all hours. I met some great people, and the views over the bay are spectacular. Not for people looking for somewhere close to LA or a party hostel and would definitely recommend having a car here as it is about a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.1

If you're looking for a relaxed hostel that's cheap and near a beach this is for you. If your looking for a party hostel and to meet and drink with new people, this is not for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

Spectacular views, best value, nice people and atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
7.1

Not for the youth.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
10.0

Fantastic What a lovely place to stay it should be open year-round

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
3.4

We regret a lot to have stayed there. It was not telling the truth in its introductions - no wifi in the dorm room, only in the lounge at rather low speed. It takes you at least 20 min walk to eat anything, if you don't drive, not even a 7-11 around you. I tried to save money by living there, but it cost me over 100$ with Uber since the place is so far from anywhere to visit, no public transpotation nearby. More to tell just no space. Don't come.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2017
10.0

Clean, cost efficient, near to bus facilities to take you Downtown LA and located next to nice views and Cabrillo beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dd_osna
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
9.1

I had a great stay. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.7

That was my best accommodation ever. The view was spectacular and breathtaking, beautiful place. It doesn't matter that the hostel is far from the city center because of the view. The rooms were super clean and the staff was really nice, just like the people who stay there. The breakfast was self serviced pancake mix, toasts and oats. I highly recommend this place for everyone. It was really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future! Thanks for the wonderful review.

  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.7

Just a great experience. Thank you so much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×