Hostelworld.com

HI Los Angeles - South Bay

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 53 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 53 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
HI Los Angeles - South Bay Located at 3601S. Gaffey Street, San Pedro, Los Angeles.
HI Los Angeles - South Bay
USA
Los Angeles CA 90731 3601S. Gaffey Street, San Pedro
80% 53
33.7110428 -118.2936358
HI Los Angeles - South Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Sep 2015
6.3

My pro's: friendly, upbeat, welcoming front desk staff My con's: Location very from Los Angeles on the metro and difficult too arrive too by metro. Very dark and inadequately lighted area after sunset. Thieves, thieves ate my food the night before departing and the person had no consideration to open my package food and leave it in the cabinet with there nasty fingers on it. Upon my 2 night my bed was occupied had to sleep in the library

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • d4wnsmit8818
  • Zimbabwe, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2015
8.6

Great hostel, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Only thing is it was far away from downtown LA. The bus to the hostel runs infrequently. Everything else was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2015
7.7

Staff upon check in made me feel like I had significantly inconvenienced her and interrupted her day. Location is quite remote but once you arrive there is a beach and a grossery store withing walking distance. On the whole, a nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Aug 2015
8.3

This hostel is really lovely, it's just extremely far from central LA. Staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2015
7.7

Nice place stay a from chaos of LA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2015
5.7

Perhaps it's because the US isn't geared towards backpacking, but it found it dreary and old, averagely maintained, and way out in the 'burbs away from any form of shops, including decent supermakets, restaurants, etc. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2015
10.0

Very friendly staff....amazing location overseeing the ocean. The food was great due to the holiday - breakfast options are good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your positive review. We hope you visit us again!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2015
9.4

A lovely place in a nice neighborhood. The staff are friendly and helpful, the common areas and rooms were clean and the view is pretty! The location is not so good, but nothing that can't be solved if you have a car or don't mind taking the bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.