Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Marin Headlands

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2017
10.0

Always enjoy my stays You guys the best !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.7

absolute gem in a remote area of the head lands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
8.6

I consider myself a tough reviewer who doesn't inflate ratings... know that the 8.6 I gave represents high marks for this little hostel. The bunk and room system was solid, the bathrooms were well-kept, and the kitchen was fantastic! I had a great time here, and I couldn't imagine a better value for the cost. Well done, HI Marin Headlands! I'll see you again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you kindly! I'm happy to hear that we were up to your standards and hopefully next time you stay, we're even better! Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.1

Definitely an older atmosphere, no young travelers around during our stay, 40+ and some families. That said, location is super unique and one of the only places to stay around. Lots of natural beauty around! I recommend a car.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • adibahasan
  • Bangladesh, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
9.1

So when we first went, we were honestly a little creeped out by how remote the area is. There is no service up there and will only get wifi once inside the hostel, which is extremely slow. However, as we got to the desk and got our cards sorted, we explored the area a little and it was picturesque! The staff were super friendly and helpful. The kitchen is usually quite clean and I loved that about the hostel. Everyone is respectful and the atmosphere itself motivates conversations to happen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad our staff helped to make you feel comfortable and that you had a pleasant stay! I totally understand how it can seem so isolated in the headlands and remote. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area! Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.4

Awesome stay! Very secluded location with beaches within walking distance. Great kitchen. Fun atmosphere. I will definitely be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.4

Great location in the Marin Headlands. Facilities include a game room, laundry room, free wifi, and a social room with a TV and piano. The staff is friendly and helpful, and there is lots to do nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
9.7

Charming, spacious, welcoming and relaxing hostel in a BEAUTIFUL setting just a short walk from the beach, awesome historical bunkers and batteries, and gorgeous sweeping views of the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco. Perfect for a getaway of reflection and long-term personal planning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
9.7

The staff was friendly and very professional during all encounters. Exceptional location for exploring the Marin Headlands and enough sights to keep a walker or bicyclist busy for a long time. The staff kept my bike in the basement for security and that was a hardship for them, but they did it cheerfully each time. This was a practice trip for staying in Hostels across Spain next week and staff answered all my questions with a smile. I will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
9.7

Fantastic location right in the Marin Headlands! You literally walk out to miles of trails and hiking and it's a super each walk to a great beach. Will definitely go back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.