Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Massada

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
8.6

We loved the location and the pool, but the food was pretty horrible - especially dinner, considering the price they ask for it! As in, the salads tasted like they'd been sat there for hours and were starting to go sour - and shockingly, these same salads were then brought out again the next morning! :( Staff were quite lackluster, totally unlike the staff at the HI hostel in Ein Gedi who were engaged and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.7

HI Masada is a very nice place to stay and rest from the extraordinary hikes you'll be doing around. Staff is nice and welcoming. Swimming pool ideal for relaxing and swimming. It's in Masada away from all the confusion of Ein Bokek. The place has good public transportation connections to all around the Dead Sea.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel! Good food and perfect location for a hike to the Masada fortress!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.4

An excellent facility near the entrance to the Snake Path. Great for the backpack population!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed one night at the hostel, which is situated perfectly for the sunrise hike at the foot of Masada. I booked a bed in a dorm but ended up being upgraded to a room with two beds (where I was alone). The dinner was worth the money (approx. 20 USD) with a good selection for me even though I don't eat meat. Breakfast was also rich and plentiful in spite of Shabbat. The lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful! I could also drive my car to the parking lot inside the gates (felt safer

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hi Masada hostel for two nights. Our twin private room was very comfortable suite in fact, had a bathroom, small kittchennete and lounge area with two armchairs, small sofa and a flat screen TV. In the hostel they served us wonderful Israeli breakfast, the biggest choice of fresh vegetable, fruits, eggs, shakshuka, cold dips and cheese, whatever you dreamed of was there. As we stayed for two nights we had our dinner there too, delicious choice of meat and veg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Super clean, huge delicious breakfast, excellent hot shower, towel included. The staff were nice and helpful. The location right by the Masada is perfect for doing the sunrise climb and also for bussing to Ein Gedi or the beach. The bus stop is just 50 meters from the hostel. It's not a hostel atmosphere at all, more like a hotel. I recommend taking groceries for snacks and lunch. It's a good place to stay, overall I recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
10.0

The staff were very helpful at HI Masada and so courteous and explained all the information regarding the sunrise climb, as well as the staff in the dining room were extremely friendly and always smiling. The shared female rooms were spotless and this is the cleanest hostel I have stayed in throughout my travels in Israel. The location is amazing at the base of Masada and I was able to return within plenty of time to the hostel for an awesome breakfast before check out time at 10.00am

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
8.3

HI Masada is to hostels what KOA is to camping. They are really expensive (by hostel standards) but offer every possible amenity. It will be worth the price for most people and you just can't beat the location at the bottom of Herod's ancient city. Didn't interact much with staff except for Ilana, who never appeared to want to really extend herself to help. But I was only there a day and maybe this was uncharacteristic of her. But it made the place feel palpably less welcoming.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.