Hostelworld.com

HI Monterey

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Really great hostel staff really nice and helpful. Only downside was there aren't lockers in the room but the staff will look after any valuables you have

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay!!!!! very clean, modern, common room is a good place to meet people. Only con - no lockers in our dorm. Recommend highly!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Do not come here if you want to party. It's a great hostel but caters for school trips and Boy Scout trips. Overall good but be on your best behaviour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff were incredible. They were very accommodating when a car incident meant that I couldn't arrive until well after check in closed. Through all that stress, their attitude meant I had one less thing to worry about. They were knowledgeable, patient and friendly. I ended up staying an extra night even though I couldn't cancel my previous booking because it was just so relaxing. Beds were comfy, kitchen was well equipped, breakfast pancakes were light and fluffy. What more could you want?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.1

Had a pleasant 2 night stay in Monterey. Helpful and friendly staff - happy to answer questions and offer suggestions. Felt safe with security codes for the front door and each room. Bathrooms were clean. Beds pretty comfy. Breakfast was nice, with pancakes cooked by the staff. Aquarium only a short walk and close to some nice food - I recommend Gianni's. No social atmosphere (to be expected in off season) but great lounge facilities. Overall, I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.4

The place was clean. Good location. It felt safe. It would be nice if they had some drinking water available and the breakfast was a little more organized. Overall it's a solid place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Walking distance to local activities. Lots of parking. Secure front door and secure dorms. Clean, clean, clean. Staff is relaxed and friendly. Common room very spacious and comfortable with lots of natural light.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Wonderful place. Nancy and Tom were welcoming and extremely helpful. Facilities were very clean and comfortable. It felt like a second home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
9.4

No alcohol allowed here - which can be a turnoff for some but I think it creates a really unique social atmosphere for a hostel. My only extremely minor complaint is the water pressure in the bathroom is next-level low (shower is good though!). Not many people here during the week in November (to be expected). Staff is very friendly, three kitchen is pretty awesome, and the parking lot always has space. Everyone i met here had wonderful stories to tell. Great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.4

The location is amazing just 5 minutes from the aquarium, there is also a nice lounge area where you can rest. However I was disappointed by the room, there was a bad smell, as if they haven't clean the carpet for while which was not very pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.