Hostelworld.com

HI Monterey

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
HI Monterey Located at 778 Hawthorne Street, , Monterey.
HI Monterey
USA
Monterey CA 93940 778 Hawthorne Street
93% 413
36.6152348 -121.9042325
HI Monterey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved my two nights here at HI Monterey! This is a clean and nice hostel with a very friendly staff and good accommodations! The common area is brand new and has very nice seating throughout the large space. Met so many great people at this hostel and there's also lots to do in the area especially because it's so close to cannery row and the aquarium! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2016
9.4

I chose this hostel as it was perfectly placed between the big Sur and San Francisco and I wasn't disappointed with the location. Also there's a carpark behind the hostel which guests can use for free which was perfect for me. Everything was clean and breakfast was a good selection. Good hostel for anyone who is driving the Pacific coast highway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2016
8.6

I tend to use hostels more for sleeping than for interacting. However, given the value and the location (just down Cannary Row, head south for beach prettiness), I would highly recommend this hostel if you are a Hosteler and are staying in Monterey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Andyboffins
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2015
10.0

the assistant is friendly. the atmosphere in hostel is so amazing. I like the piano in the living room of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Dec 2015
10.0

An excellent stop along our drive from SFO to LA. Would highly recommend. A very "clean" hostel in both senses of the word - the coin tokens for the shower are a great green initiative. Free breakfast (pancakes)!!! Next time I drive highway 1, I'll definitely be stopping again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2015
8.0

facilities were great. plenty of new appliances in the kitchen including dish washer and various stoves. huge tv and games to play with. we were given a code and while it worked, the door itself didn't actually lock. there were also no locks on site to use on the lockers. there weren't many people and my friend and i basically had the room to ourselves so we didn't bother with getting more secured but still disappointing. staff were friendly with their suggestions on how to get around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
9.7

Fantastic! The staff were amazing. They made cookies spontaneously and made morning pancakes. Hostel was very clean and well presented. Stunning. I'd certainly stay again if I found myself in Monterey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2015
8.6

The hostel is very family freindly but therefore a little quiet if you are travelling with friends. Overall very nice and good facilities and kitchen! Helpful and freindly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jnwlms
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Nov 2015
8.6

Hard to be negative about this place in any way, it's a pretty small hostel but perfectly good. I don't think any lockers are available, or at least we weren't offered them, and my buddy had his phone charger stolen but they replaced it out of the hostel's own pocket straight away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brodybaby3724
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Nov 2015
10.0

Perfect hostel close to everything you need nice staff and amazing breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.