Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Monterey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
HI Monterey Located at 778 Hawthorne Street, , Monterey.
HI Monterey
USA
Monterey CA 93940 778 Hawthorne Street
93% 489
36.6152348 -121.9042325
HI Monterey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jan 2017
9.4

The place was clean. Good location. It felt safe. It would be nice if they had some drinking water available and the breakfast was a little more organized. Overall it's a solid place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Walking distance to local activities. Lots of parking. Secure front door and secure dorms. Clean, clean, clean. Staff is relaxed and friendly. Common room very spacious and comfortable with lots of natural light.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Wonderful place. Nancy and Tom were welcoming and extremely helpful. Facilities were very clean and comfortable. It felt like a second home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
9.4

No alcohol allowed here - which can be a turnoff for some but I think it creates a really unique social atmosphere for a hostel. My only extremely minor complaint is the water pressure in the bathroom is next-level low (shower is good though!). Not many people here during the week in November (to be expected). Staff is very friendly, three kitchen is pretty awesome, and the parking lot always has space. Everyone i met here had wonderful stories to tell. Great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.4

The location is amazing just 5 minutes from the aquarium, there is also a nice lounge area where you can rest. However I was disappointed by the room, there was a bad smell, as if they haven't clean the carpet for while which was not very pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

One of the bests HI Hostel I've ever been. Room are super clean, the bathroom is great, good breakfast, bedrooms with individual outlets and location is amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
8.0

Very comfortable beds, 8 bed dorm was relatively quiet. Coin operated showers were clean with plenty of towels. There wasn't a very social vibe, but I did visit in the off season. Close walk to plenty of restaurants and the aquarium. Free parking was a plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.4

Nice hostel. Good location close to Cannery row. Free parking. Comfy common room and comfy beds. Very clean. It was a bit quiet when we were there, but that might be due to it being off-season. Nice staff. Free pancakes for breakfast - yay! All in all, good value for money! Would go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
9.7

very clean, pleasant, and peaceful. Spacious and welcoming. I would definitely recommend it to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.