Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Monterey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel is great. I slept well with a nice bed, and it's located near the aquarium and cannery row. Easy to access. Also, breakfast was good. It is not only pancake but also some kind of bread, fruits, and cereals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
6.9

V. nice communal room with TV. Spacious hostel in good location. However, disorganised breakfast routine with poor selection of food - there are pancakes, but the wait isn't worth it as breakfast already quite late start at 8am... and though said to finish at 10am, there was nothing left for my roommate by 9.35am. Also, there are no lockers... everything is just left on the bedroom floor. Mattresses way too soft - backache by 2nd night. This hostel is more expensive than others that are better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.9

Very happy with my first stay in a hostel ever. The staff were especially warm and inviting. I would definitely come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

I enjoyed the place very much. I will like to return to Monterey HI again in the future. I was impressed by providing the breakfast, cleanliness, and how instantaneously the front desk took care of the robbery attempted outside of the premise, plus the Monterey police department responded to the matter promptly and swiftly. I felt very secure and happy to be there. Thank you to all front desk people for the excellent services. Reminder Need sign "Leave Item As It Found!" Thank U

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
10.0

Can't fault this hostel. Only stayed 1 night but it is a lovely place with a huge common room, great kitchen and nice facilities. The internet is super fast and beds comfy! Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel was one of the cleanest I've stayed in with a large, open common area which was nice but it was almost too big as it meant that all the guests were so spread out. There was very little atmosphere, to the point where the common area was silent and it felt more like a library. There was also only one shower upstairs which wasn't enough. The location was great though as it was only a short walk to Cannery Row.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bladezboy4693
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.7

Stayed in the big 16 people room. It wasn't as bad as I thought. Clean and beds weren't squeaky. Pancakes in the morning are lovely as the reviews say and communal area is airy and pleasant. Showers are good but tap pressure in the toilets are poor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kate_walker18223
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2017
7.4

The hostel was lovely and airy and in a great location, the staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel doesn't have many rooms but the room we were in was large so you didn't feel too cramped (8 bed female dorm). All would have been perfect apart from there being no lockers for valuables and our room which should have been secured with a keycode wasn't working so anyone could access our room but it was a lovely environment so we didn't feel unsafe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

This is superb hostel. Bed is very comfy and shower booths are clean. Staffs are very nice and breakfast is better than I expected. Pancakes are so good. Common area is very well designed. I'd love to come back to this place for sure. For budget travelers, it's superb.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ckinney9237263
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Clean, comfortable place, very conveniently located - within a few minutes' walk from the aquarium.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.