Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Montreal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
HI-Montreal Located at 1030 Mackay Street, , Montreal.
HI-Montreal
Canada
Montreal QC 1030 Mackay Street
87% 1629
45.4940650 -73.5732450
HI-Montreal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Nothing bad about this hostel I guarantee!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
6.0

Place was decent. Our room smelt terrible. Figured out it was the pipes in the bathroom. Very murky and almost toxic kind of smell. We felt dirtier after taking a shower

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking time to leave your comments. Obviously, the room should be fresh and clean at all times and we have a dedicated housekeeping team looking after this. I'll will surely investigate what could have gone wrong and fix it immediately! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
10.0

Very well run, clean hostel, friendly helpful efficient staff, good sized kitchen/dining area, within easy reach of rue St Catherine. Staff multi-lingual. ATM on site. Near metro station. Depanneur(convenience store) locally within 7 mins walk. Good breakfast. No hesitation in recommending this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.7

I visit Montreal about once a month and this was the first time stay here. Was very happy with the hostel and staff. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.4

The front desk staff were really friendly and helpful, and free luggage storage which is good. The free breakfast is nice as is the downstairs area which is very lively if a little intimidating as a new guest. The dorms didnt look like the photos unfortunately, the 6 bed was very small and the lockers were even smaller ! the Bathrooms desperately need to be refurbished and as they are ensuite, you need to wait for the shower more than you would in a larger shared bathroom. OKay for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.4

Good location. Friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • prettystars20587
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Aug 2016
8.6

Perfect location right near lots of sights and walking distance to the subway station. I really enjoyed the convenience of the bar downstairs that served a little food. And their schedule of activities was a nice touch- I went on the pub crawl. Definitely a lot going on at this hostel and still very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a lot of fun while there. I met a nice girl from Toronto and a nice guy from Egypt to hang out with . The bed was comfortable. I had lots of nice roommates. The only complaint I had was that the first night I kept getting woken up by slamming doors. The second night I was the last one to go to bed in my room with six females, so I probably woke some of them up! The free breakfasts are good, they had a fun quiz game my 2nd night. I played pool too :) The veggie burger wasn't good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the review. I'll ;let the Chef know about the veggie burger! Happy Travels! Nic, manager

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
8.3

Great location! Close to public transportation via the metro, buses. Convenient access to MTL airport shuttle stops. Clean and friendly staff. However at $50 for one night in a 4 bed en suite, I didn't feel it was the best value for money. Also stayed at an AirBnb in Montreal on this trip. At $70/night for a fully furnished entire apartment the rate at the hostel seems overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.