X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Montréal Reviews

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1173 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is good and all the staff are super kind!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci!! :) Nic, hostel manager

100%

Very good hostel! Clean, safe and friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grrrrrreat! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

91%

perfect for it's price, great for young people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope to be the best spot in Montréal for the young.... and for all! :) Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

77%

Have a good social bar / dining area. Very good location and breakfast. Rooms and beds could be updated....one bed was broken and room needs some repairs/updates.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! I will have the bed checked and fixed right now!! Thanks, Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

100%

I had an awesome time staying here. With the great activities organised by the hostel and the cool bar downstairs the it's a very social hostel. The knowledgeable and friendly staff were always ready with recommendations. An excellent place to stay.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very comfortable bed in my four-bed dorm. Room was really well ventilated. Lobby looked really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
cheers! Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

74%

I really enjoyed staying here! The staff were very accommodating and showed us where the best places to go were in the town. The hostel itself was pleasing to the eye and facilities did the job. One thing I would say didn't do it for me was the joining room because people would be going in and out all of the time. However, overall I would recommend staying at HI-Montreal. We had fun.


94%

-great staff who were able to provide excellent recommendations

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
it's easy! we love our job! :) Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

77%

Really big hostel with spacious rooms - but unsociable layout (my bed was tucked away in a corner so I couldn't see anyone else in the room - ok if you just want to sleep, but not the best for making travel buddies). Wifi pretty poor, ok downstairs but more or less useless in room. Bathrooms nice and clean. Can get noisy with crowds in the garden at night. Good bfast selection and great location to the old town. Good activities on offer each day, not v.sociable hostel otherwise good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave you feedback online. Sorry you could not socialize as much as you wanted despite our bar and our daily activities that are created precisely to enhance socialization among all guests… As for the WIFI, it should work super good in every corner of the hostel and I will definitely investigate to see what have happened and to ensure it works as supposed! Bon Voyage, Nicolas, hostel manager

100%

Very nice place to go, you can cook yourself and have a lot of space for it :) very good price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please note: only good cooks are allowed to use our kitchen facilities! ;)) Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

97%

Great hostel, great athmosphere, very nice staff. The bike tour was great, special thx to Gabrielle!

Owner Comment (Hide)
and I'll pass te message to Gabrielle!!! Nic, hostel manager

94%

Fantastic overall experience at the HI-Montreal! Location is great -super close to metro station- and atmosphere and facilities were great!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks and... Bon Voyage!! Nic, hostel manager

94%

I was very satisfied with the hostel. Location is really nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And it was great to have you staying with us! Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

100%

Everything is Goooood

Owner Comment (Hide)
GRRRRRREAT! ;) Nic, hostel manager

94%

I enjoyed my stay at this HI hostel. People were friendly, the food was good, I enjoyed the spacious bar and common room downstairs, and had everything I needed. And the price was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Beautiful! Tx! Nic., hostel manager

91%

HI-Montreal was very clean and in a pretty good location - close to enough downtown. Not exactly walking distance to clubs (especially if you're in heels!!), so I'd recommend taking a taxi. The hostel was great overall, except for the fact that my friend and I were charged a "booking fee" apparently from Hostelworld (said the receptionist) when we thought the payment was a deposit payable towards our stay. Be sure to read the fine print on this one!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour and thank you for leaving your feedback! Great to know that you had a good time with us. Regarding the clubs and bars, maybe we should have pointed to the ones that are nearby since we are located just 2 blocks from some of the best spots for nightlife in Montréal... Next time I suppose! ;) Bon Voyage, Nicolas, hostel manager

77%

Doors make loud slam when closing by themselves

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour and thanks for leaving your feedbacks! Sorry about the doors slaming! We normally check them on a regular basis, but I will make sure to fix the door of the room you were in right today! Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

94%

Very nice hostel, wonderful full equipped kitchen, one of the best I found while travelling, nice rooms. Sometimes lacks of atmosphere due to too many families and groups. Highly reccomended


97%

Would definitely stay again. Great location and great staff. Couldn't think of a complaint if I had to.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Nic, hostel manager

100%

great experience! Very lovely hostel. They were repainting while I was there so I'm expecting it to look even better. I also appreciated the cafe in the basement. I can't eat wheat and dairy so standard hostel breakfast never works out for me. At this hostel you can buy extra breakfast so I got eggs and home fries (you have to pay but it's super reasonable) so I left happy for the day.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback