Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Montreal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Hostel was all box tickably jim fine and dandy . Was almost on the verge of committing a highly favourable (according to other room residents) murder due to 'Jason the snorer of good christ I didn't realise it was possible to make that much noise' but refrained due to apparent social disapproval towards said act. Fabulous but bring earplugs / a bucket of sleeping pills.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for the� interesting review! We do firmly believe that everyone, be it a snorer, has the right to live a long, long life!  Happy Travels, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
10.0

I spend two days in here, it is a small one bedroom . It is old fashioned design but clean. I mean for the price it is a good hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thabnks for the review. It was great seeing around! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

18th Feb 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel. Located about 30 mins walk from the old city. Towels and soap were provided for free. They organize daily activities such as walking tours and local events which is a great way to meet travelers. The bar is always open, has affordable beer, delicious food and breakfast is free. Parking not advertised but there is affordable underground parking at 1250 Rue Guy. Cons: The pillow casings had a few hairs on them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, So good to read that you had a great time. Thanks for sharing it. Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

7th Feb 2017
10.0

Wonderful place. Very homey. Great bar downstairs with a bar crawl some nights. Awesome staff. Went to a trivia night at a bar and then Kareoke. Great stay. Clean place. Secure lockers. Good showers. Towels and sheets provided. Def recommended. Only downside was parking. Had to pay for an underground lot in the hotel one block over. Cost me 30 for the night. Crazy. Supposedly street parking somewhere but I couldn't find it. But overall highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for this awesome review! As for the parking, we just had several massive snow storms, making things a bit tricky to find parking spots... Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Lovely staff and just an overall great atmosphere. Tries to involve everyone and there's always something going on. Will definitely be coming back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.1

Pretty good place but doesn't quite match up to some other hostels. The weekly activities weren't all that great (maybe because of the time of year) but that's not necessarily a problem if you already have plans for the city. Good central location and the free breakfast is always a plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the review. Good to know that you had a good time while staying with us. And for our Australian friends, I would like to highlight that we just added Vegemite to our free breakfast options... It should be pretty exclusive to Australian, since I am pretty sure that no one other than Australian will be using it! :) Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.7

I truly got what I expected wish I would of met more of the people there part of it was my shyness and well I couldn't speak any other language but English but was a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

GRRRREAT! The best part of staying in a hostel is to socialize... and our team from all around the world makes sure to be inclusive of everyone! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
6.6

This would be a great hostel if it weren't for the staff who act like its their house and the paying customers are inconvenient guests. The staff crowded around the bar making it near impossible for guests to sit there. Those working in the kitchen did not wear shoes, one was smoking an e-cigarrette, and one put on some horrendous dubstep and danced behind the bar. Overall, it was like we had entered a student flat and we weren't invited. The room was great, just a shame the staff ruined it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback of your experience. I’m glad you were happy with your room, though it seems your experience at the bar was a drawback. Our staff do like to party from time to time and the bar being tiny, I understand it can feel intimidating to find a place amongst everyone there. However, rest assured that we do ask our staff to treat everyone as equals and I’m very confident that they do; I am sure you would feel the same should you give us another chance on a quieter night. Regarding the barefooted staff, this should not happen and as the bar manager, I will make sure that this won't happen again. Happy travels! - Maxime, food & beverages

23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Hostel is only blocks away from train station. Free breakfast , cheap price and staff are friendly. Price advertised is deceptive on Hostelworld from Thursday to Sunday(more expensive when added). Rooms have no air circulation including the toilets as windows are sealed. Rooms were smelly due to lack of air unless front door was open. Overall an okay place to stay on budget. They have activities for most nights and the common area in basement is kewl

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to see that you had a great experience at the HI-Montréal. As for the air ventilation, I can assure you that all rooms are connected and freshened by a central air system. I’ll make sure to check on what could have gone wrong with the ventilation in the room you stayed in. Other than that, I’ll pass on your good words to the team! :) Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

18th Jan 2017
8.9

Good location near everything. Jordan's city walk was excellent and fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great! I'll let Jordan know about your kind words! He is really passionate about his new city walk All the best. Nic, hostel manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.