X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Montréal Reviews

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1261 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

All was good but the non-members 5€ charge for every night not included in the final price is really annoying. However, it is probably the only bad thing of the hostel.


69%

The location is pretty good, a few meters from the subway exit. Public area is good but the room is kind cold feeling, might be the color of the sheets or the bed. People I met are cute. Breakfast is just something cant be put into mouth


89%

Plug is not available on every bed.


94%

Nice place to discover Montreal

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!! ;) Nic, hostel manager

86%

very clean with a great central location! i've been to some hostels in europe that have age restrictions. This would have been nice as we had an old creepy man staying with us, I know you have the chance of getting this by staying at a hostel but still would've made us a bit more comfortable

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful! Every member of staff I dealt with gave a high standard of service, no-one let the team down!! The place was very easy to find too making the trip much less stressful!!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most of our team members also are backpackers... I suppose that we understand well the travelers’ needs when they come and visit! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

91%

Hi Montreal is the best hostel I've stayed so far. the location is great. It's close to the metro only 5 minutes walk. It's very convenient. The staff members are nice and helpful. I like that there are activities at the hostel every nights. it's nice just to hangout at the bar too. The 10 beds dorm I stayed was spacious and clean. the bathroom is spacious and clean as well. they have fridge to store your food and big kitchen to cook, Breakfast is good too. I definitely recommend Hi Montreal

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to hear your feedback. Hopefully you will gift us with another visit soon! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

97%

Great atmosphere in the center of Montreal: great deal

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic, thanks! Nic, hostel manager

94%

The stay at Hi-Montreal was very comfortable, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The only weakness was that the wifi was quite weak.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review the hostel... As for the Wifi, it is an ongoing and continuous battle to offer the best possible connexion! By trhe way, we are adding another modem connexion on the first week of April that should double our band width. Can't wait to see how fast that will be!! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

100%

Everything was great and especially staff in HI-Montreal welcomed each guests and I l love that they take care of guests very nice. If I have a chance to go to Montreal again, I will choose to stay in this hostel again.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arigato! :) Nic, hostel manager

97%

Everyone was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was great for meeting other travelers, & the hostel had organized activities everyday. The location was perfect--walking distance to lots of bars, shops, restaurants, etc. & only a two minute walk to the metro. Staff was very friendly and full of suggestions. They were also very accommodating and upgraded my friend and I from a 10 person room to 6 person room for the same price (and made sure we were in the same room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the feedback, Your description fits exactly the portrait of the hostel we want to be! Merci! :) Nic, hostel manager

94%

Breakfast wasn't up to much compared to other HI Hostels that I have stayed at. Other than that I can't fault it at all. Place was clean and most staff we spoke to were really friendly

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel has been one of the better hostels I've stayed in, compared to hostels all around Europe. The staff here was genuinely friendly and really made an effort to make the experiences of travelers better while in Montreal by making activity and dining suggestions. The rooms were very clean and secure and I never felt unsafe. The bar downstairs was amazing, being a fun and inexpensive place to meet other travelers and make friends. I would definitely recomend HI-Montreal to everyone!!!!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fabulous! Your comment just made my day... many thanks! Nic, hostel manager

86%

Overall great hostel BUT as I've stayed in a Standard 2 Bed Male Dorm, my opinion is mixed. The room was way too small to be honest. You just have enough space to put 2 luggages in your room, then you can't live in it anymore. I recommend this type of room only if you travel really light.


94%

Staffs are hospitable and polite. Clean rooms and breakfast was awesome☺️

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour and thanks for the positive feedback! It has been a bunch of people lately mentioning that they really liked the breakfast we offer, so now Pierre, the restaurant manager at the hostel, is going a little too proud about it.. Bahhh, I guess it is well deserved! ;) Au Revoir! Nic, hostel manager

100%

Fantastic staff, very friendly and accomidating! Highly recommended!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woot Woot! Thanks! ;) Nic, hostel manager

77%

staff are not usually in the front desk. His make me feel less warm when living in the hostel

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything went fine, we paid for 10 dorm and slept in a 6 dorm. Very nice hostel, breakfast is tasty I can really recommend :)

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of Pierre, the bistro and breakfast manager: THANKS! :) Nic, hostel manager

89%

I had a good stay and friendly staff and tell you where everything is and dorms clean and hot considering it was freezing out here. Also the flyer bus leaves you a block away. A block away is also the metro stop

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! I'm happy you enjoyed your time with us! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

57%

Was excited for the HI however when we arrived we felt very unwelcome. At 3:40am a staff member walked into our room and turned the lights on, talking loud to allow another roommate into the room which was very rude and there were no apologies for the disturbance. Staff were very unhelpful with activities to do in the city. Not a place to go if your young and want to have fun and go out. It would have been a much better stay if staff were nicer :( breakfast was excellent, rooms were clean.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, My sincere apologize for the poor welcome you experienced. We normally do a good job at welcoming warmly and professionally all guests staying with us. That said, it is also true that every now and then we fall short for various reasons and we know that once is already one too many. I have passed your message to our front desk team, and we will ensure to avoid any similar situation in the future! Hoping you could still enjoy our dear city of Montréal! Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback