X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Montréal Reviews

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1275 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great atmosphere for meeting people, and the staff and activities were excellent. The kecard kept wiping itself though, when kept with my phone or not, so I had to get it renewed several times in less than a week

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'll see what's going on with the key cards and fix it if I can! Thanks for letting me know! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

91%

Nice hostel - pleasant staff and very clean, safe and secure. Could do with having power points / reading lights for each bed. Not in the most interesting part of town but metro station is a two minute walk away.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Nic, hostel manager

91%

I really liked the hostel. I've had an amazing four days and really liked the activities the hostel organizes. They do a lot of fun stuff to make you feel comfortable. The room was nice, bathroom was clean, there was a big kitchen! Overall, I really enjoyed myself!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! Thanks for the good feedback and hopefuly we'll see you again soon! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

86%

Stayed here for two nights. Staffs sre very nice and helpful. Meeting new people from different countries and with different age groups. It has many activities during the week. Plus the breakfast is very good given the price per night. Just don't have air conditioning which makes room uncomfortable in the summer time. And the room I stayed has very limited power outlets so it's difficult to charge your devices within a reachable range.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the comments. Indeed, there should be more electrical outlets in each rooms and hopefully we will manage to add some more in a near future. Au Revoir! Nic, hostel manager

83%

Nice and affordable place to stay. Conveniently located near the metro. Friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. My only gripe was the shower drain was clogged in the bathroom. Other than that, I had a pleasant 3-night stay in this hostel.


97%

The staff was very friendly. The location is great. It was a great place to stay when traveling alone.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
MERCI BEAUCOUP! :) Nic, hostel manager

77%

I was overcharged for my stay,IT WAS TAKEN FOR GRANTED THAT I WAS NOT A HI MEMBER,WHICH I AM. JUST AS WELL I CHECKED THIS. NOTHING IN LIFE SHOULD BE TAKEN FOR GRANTED. THE BED I WAS ALLOCATED WAS ALREADY TAKEN AND THE ONLY SPARE BED HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED UP.IT WAS NOT A GOOD START. MY DAY HAD ALREADY BEEN LOUSY AND THIS ALMOST TIPPED ME OVER THE EDGE. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. WORSE LUCK I CANNOT CLEARLY SHOW THIS IN MY SURVEY.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Well, the least we can say is that we could clearly have done a better job and I will make sure to pass the message to all the team! Hoping that the rest of your trip has been smoother and nicer! Safe Travels! Nic, hostel manager

83%

All was good but the non-members 5€ charge for every night not included in the final price is really annoying. However, it is probably the only bad thing of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to know that you had a good time with us! That said, I agree that not everyone know that we are a member based organization and we should do better work at spreading the word. Your comment is fully noted and will be passed to the marketing team! Au Revoir and Safe Travels! Nic, hostel manager

69%

The location is pretty good, a few meters from the subway exit. Public area is good but the room is kind cold feeling, might be the color of the sheets or the bed. People I met are cute. Breakfast is just something cant be put into mouth

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of the cute people you met: THANKS! ;) Nic, hostel manager

89%

Plug is not available on every bed.


94%

Nice place to discover Montreal

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!! ;) Nic, hostel manager

86%

very clean with a great central location! i've been to some hostels in europe that have age restrictions. This would have been nice as we had an old creepy man staying with us, I know you have the chance of getting this by staying at a hostel but still would've made us a bit more comfortable

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful! Every member of staff I dealt with gave a high standard of service, no-one let the team down!! The place was very easy to find too making the trip much less stressful!!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most of our team members also are backpackers... I suppose that we understand well the travelers’ needs when they come and visit! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

91%

Hi Montreal is the best hostel I've stayed so far. the location is great. It's close to the metro only 5 minutes walk. It's very convenient. The staff members are nice and helpful. I like that there are activities at the hostel every nights. it's nice just to hangout at the bar too. The 10 beds dorm I stayed was spacious and clean. the bathroom is spacious and clean as well. they have fridge to store your food and big kitchen to cook, Breakfast is good too. I definitely recommend Hi Montreal

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to hear your feedback. Hopefully you will gift us with another visit soon! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

97%

Great atmosphere in the center of Montreal: great deal

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic, thanks! Nic, hostel manager

94%

The stay at Hi-Montreal was very comfortable, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The only weakness was that the wifi was quite weak.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review the hostel... As for the Wifi, it is an ongoing and continuous battle to offer the best possible connexion! By trhe way, we are adding another modem connexion on the first week of April that should double our band width. Can't wait to see how fast that will be!! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

100%

Everything was great and especially staff in HI-Montreal welcomed each guests and I l love that they take care of guests very nice. If I have a chance to go to Montreal again, I will choose to stay in this hostel again.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arigato! :) Nic, hostel manager

97%

Everyone was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was great for meeting other travelers, & the hostel had organized activities everyday. The location was perfect--walking distance to lots of bars, shops, restaurants, etc. & only a two minute walk to the metro. Staff was very friendly and full of suggestions. They were also very accommodating and upgraded my friend and I from a 10 person room to 6 person room for the same price (and made sure we were in the same room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the feedback, Your description fits exactly the portrait of the hostel we want to be! Merci! :) Nic, hostel manager

94%

Breakfast wasn't up to much compared to other HI Hostels that I have stayed at. Other than that I can't fault it at all. Place was clean and most staff we spoke to were really friendly

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel has been one of the better hostels I've stayed in, compared to hostels all around Europe. The staff here was genuinely friendly and really made an effort to make the experiences of travelers better while in Montreal by making activity and dining suggestions. The rooms were very clean and secure and I never felt unsafe. The bar downstairs was amazing, being a fun and inexpensive place to meet other travelers and make friends. I would definitely recomend HI-Montreal to everyone!!!!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fabulous! Your comment just made my day... many thanks! Nic, hostel manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback