Hostelworld.com

HI-Montreal

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Wonderful place. Very homey. Great bar downstairs with a bar crawl some nights. Awesome staff. Went to a trivia night at a bar and then Kareoke. Great stay. Clean place. Secure lockers. Good showers. Towels and sheets provided. Def recommended. Only downside was parking. Had to pay for an underground lot in the hotel one block over. Cost me 30 for the night. Crazy. Supposedly street parking somewhere but I couldn't find it. But overall highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.1

Pretty good place but doesn't quite match up to some other hostels. The weekly activities weren't all that great (maybe because of the time of year) but that's not necessarily a problem if you already have plans for the city. Good central location and the free breakfast is always a plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the review. Good to know that you had a good time while staying with us. And for our Australian friends, I would like to highlight that we just added Vegemite to our free breakfast options... It should be pretty exclusive to Australian, since I am pretty sure that no one other than Australian will be using it! :) Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.7

I truly got what I expected wish I would of met more of the people there part of it was my shyness and well I couldn't speak any other language but English but was a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

GRRRREAT! The best part of staying in a hostel is to socialize... and our team from all around the world makes sure to be inclusive of everyone! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
6.6

This would be a great hostel if it weren't for the staff who act like its their house and the paying customers are inconvenient guests. The staff crowded around the bar making it near impossible for guests to sit there. Those working in the kitchen did not wear shoes, one was smoking an e-cigarrette, and one put on some horrendous dubstep and danced behind the bar. Overall, it was like we had entered a student flat and we weren't invited. The room was great, just a shame the staff ruined it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback of your experience. I’m glad you were happy with your room, though it seems your experience at the bar was a drawback. Our staff do like to party from time to time and the bar being tiny, I understand it can feel intimidating to find a place amongst everyone there. However, rest assured that we do ask our staff to treat everyone as equals and I’m very confident that they do; I am sure you would feel the same should you give us another chance on a quieter night. Regarding the barefooted staff, this should not happen and as the bar manager, I will make sure that this won't happen again. Happy travels! - Maxime, food & beverages

23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Hostel is only blocks away from train station. Free breakfast , cheap price and staff are friendly. Price advertised is deceptive on Hostelworld from Thursday to Sunday(more expensive when added). Rooms have no air circulation including the toilets as windows are sealed. Rooms were smelly due to lack of air unless front door was open. Overall an okay place to stay on budget. They have activities for most nights and the common area in basement is kewl

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to see that you had a great experience at the HI-Montréal. As for the air ventilation, I can assure you that all rooms are connected and freshened by a central air system. I’ll make sure to check on what could have gone wrong with the ventilation in the room you stayed in. Other than that, I’ll pass on your good words to the team! :) Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

18th Jan 2017
8.9

Good location near everything. Jordan's city walk was excellent and fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great! I'll let Jordan know about your kind words! He is really passionate about his new city walk All the best. Nic, hostel manager

17th Jan 2017
8.9

clean, secure, well organized, well priced, great location. I'm going to assume that the slightly exasperating sounding clerk when I checked in is more a fluke than not. I accidentally bent my really flimsy keycard and got scolded before getting a new one. But overall, good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bonjour Tania, Thank you for your comment. We always make sure to have the friendliest staff ever. I will have a talk with the front desk team. Thank you for letting us know. See you next time, Gabrielle, Assistant Manager @ HI-Montréal

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Auberge parfaite mais petit déjeuner très léger avec seulement du pain bagel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

.... du pain bagel certes, mais aussi de la confiture, du beurre, du beurre d'arachide, différents types de céréales, des œufs à la coque, du lait, du jus, thé, café, chocolat, bananes, pommes... Il manque bien un peu de bacon, y nous travaillons justement à trouver une façon d'en inclure à la formule offerte! Bonne continuation, Nicolas

1st Jan 2017
8.6

Great location, good facilities, excellent wifi and a free breakfast. The only thing I would improve are the dorm beds. Renewing them to ones that allow more privacy would make the experience near perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.9

We had a private room, I didn't stay long enough but the few people that we met were great. Our room was very quiet and clean. Our room was basic but fulfilled all of our basic needs. Highly recommend for a trip to Montreal, a few minutes walk to the train, metro and even Ste-Catherine st.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.