X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Montréal Reviews

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1248 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The stay at Hi-Montreal was very comfortable, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The only weakness was that the wifi was quite weak.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review the hostel... As for the Wifi, it is an ongoing and continuous battle to offer the best possible connexion! By trhe way, we are adding another modem connexion on the first week of April that should double our band width. Can't wait to see how fast that will be!! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

100%

Everything was great and especially staff in HI-Montreal welcomed each guests and I l love that they take care of guests very nice. If I have a chance to go to Montreal again, I will choose to stay in this hostel again.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arigato! :) Nic, hostel manager

97%

Everyone was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was great for meeting other travelers, & the hostel had organized activities everyday. The location was perfect--walking distance to lots of bars, shops, restaurants, etc. & only a two minute walk to the metro. Staff was very friendly and full of suggestions. They were also very accommodating and upgraded my friend and I from a 10 person room to 6 person room for the same price (and made sure we were in the same room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the feedback, Your description fits exactly the portrait of the hostel we want to be! Merci! :) Nic, hostel manager

94%

Breakfast wasn't up to much compared to other HI Hostels that I have stayed at. Other than that I can't fault it at all. Place was clean and most staff we spoke to were really friendly

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel has been one of the better hostels I've stayed in, compared to hostels all around Europe. The staff here was genuinely friendly and really made an effort to make the experiences of travelers better while in Montreal by making activity and dining suggestions. The rooms were very clean and secure and I never felt unsafe. The bar downstairs was amazing, being a fun and inexpensive place to meet other travelers and make friends. I would definitely recomend HI-Montreal to everyone!!!!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fabulous! Your comment just made my day... many thanks! Nic, hostel manager

86%

Overall great hostel BUT as I've stayed in a Standard 2 Bed Male Dorm, my opinion is mixed. The room was way too small to be honest. You just have enough space to put 2 luggages in your room, then you can't live in it anymore. I recommend this type of room only if you travel really light.


94%

Staffs are hospitable and polite. Clean rooms and breakfast was awesome☺️

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour and thanks for the positive feedback! It has been a bunch of people lately mentioning that they really liked the breakfast we offer, so now Pierre, the restaurant manager at the hostel, is going a little too proud about it.. Bahhh, I guess it is well deserved! ;) Au Revoir! Nic, hostel manager

100%

Fantastic staff, very friendly and accomidating! Highly recommended!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woot Woot! Thanks! ;) Nic, hostel manager

77%

staff are not usually in the front desk. His make me feel less warm when living in the hostel

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything went fine, we paid for 10 dorm and slept in a 6 dorm. Very nice hostel, breakfast is tasty I can really recommend :)

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of Pierre, the bistro and breakfast manager: THANKS! :) Nic, hostel manager

89%

I had a good stay and friendly staff and tell you where everything is and dorms clean and hot considering it was freezing out here. Also the flyer bus leaves you a block away. A block away is also the metro stop

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! I'm happy you enjoyed your time with us! Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

57%

Was excited for the HI however when we arrived we felt very unwelcome. At 3:40am a staff member walked into our room and turned the lights on, talking loud to allow another roommate into the room which was very rude and there were no apologies for the disturbance. Staff were very unhelpful with activities to do in the city. Not a place to go if your young and want to have fun and go out. It would have been a much better stay if staff were nicer :( breakfast was excellent, rooms were clean.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, My sincere apologize for the poor welcome you experienced. We normally do a good job at welcoming warmly and professionally all guests staying with us. That said, it is also true that every now and then we fall short for various reasons and we know that once is already one too many. I have passed your message to our front desk team, and we will ensure to avoid any similar situation in the future! Hoping you could still enjoy our dear city of Montréal! Bon Voyage, Nic, hostel manager

80%

The hostel was close to the metro stop, however a bit far from the Old Port and the main shopping district. The staff on site were wonderful and really helpful, and the kitchen and bar area was great - with a pool table and tv. The only downside was that the kitchen was closed from 2-4pm, which made making lunch inconvenient. Also, I stayed in a 10 bed dorm and we had one bathroom, which was not really enough for 10 people. Otherwise, the hostel was really low cost and had a great vibe to it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Thanks for the comments. Regarding the kitchen closure during the afternoon, I know it can be annoying when you need it, but really, it's the best we could find to ensure a thourough cleaning and to keep it safe when the flooring is all wet. That said, we'll look again at how we can do it faster to limit the closing period. Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

89%

Not enough shared toilets, only 2 in whole hostel which is inconvenient when someone is in the ensuite of the dorms. But the breakfast was awesome, staff were helpful, wifi was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour and thanks for the feedback... I guess that is an issue we really have to work on quickly since you are note the first person pointing at it... Well, let's act and fix it! Nic, hostel manager

97%

Professional bilingual staff. Classy ambiance. Veritable bar & kitchen area, lovely music, perfect volume, stylish. Soundproof bedroom walls. Convenient indoor payphones. Internet good. Private bathroom & shower in bedroom; home-like. Very clean: witnessed cleaning & maintenance routines, gloves & spray-bottle, vacuum. Cleanliness was noticeable. Fluffy towels, crisp linens, like new. Heavy dark curtain great for sleeping. Very satisfying breakfast with variety. Resources abundant. Classy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That is one of the most pleasant comment I had the chance to read lately!! :)) MERCI BEAUCOUP!! Nic, hostel manager

94%

The hostel was great, the staff was nice. They had an answer to all questions asked. Very affordable stay for one night or even more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Nic, hostel manager

54%

Room was very basic - just bunk beds, table and chair, beds don't even have night lights. Lockers are too small - even regular size backpack won't fit in, and mine was broken and useless anyway. Bathroom was small and crappy, filled with stuff, including towels, from previous visitors. Shower handles are poorly designed and do not easily produce needed water temperature. Rooms can be very cold at night, thin sinthetic blankets are useless - 2 of my roommates got sick. Kitchen, breakfast were OK.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Well... the least we can say is that we weren’t up to your expectations and I would like to apologize for it. Indeed the rooms are rather basic but we do put a great deal of energy into keeping all into good maintenance condition as well as pristinely clean. I am sorry if it wasn’t and I’ll pass the message to the maintenance and housekeeping team to avoid any similar situation in the future. Hoping you could still enjoy our beloved city of Montréal! Nic, hostel manager

89%

We kind of had a pretty strange room mate who made our stay little bit unconfortable and unpleasant.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know. We do our very best get avoid people that are too weird but some just seem to slip through our vigilance. Make sure to let us know if it ever occurs again so we can take the appropriate measures on the spot! Safe travels! Nic, hostel manager

74%

Stayed in a private twin room for two nights and the room was very small. Lucky that we stored our baggages somewhere else or we wouldn't be able to keep our baggages in the room. The private bathroom, although understandable given its price and downtown location, was super tiny that we could barely turn our body while in the bathroom. The location was very nice though, very close to the shopping district and many restaurants around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Indeed, rooms are not spacious, but as we like to say: quality over quantity! :) Happy to hear you still had a good time with us! Au revoir, Nic, hostel manager

77%

Guy bartender was really cool, told me some cool bars on Crescent St. To go that night after he closed, the location was perfect for the hockey game at the Centre Bell I was in montreal for.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
...and as a little reminder.... WE SELL HOCKEY TICKETS!!! and for a rather cheap price! ;) Au revoir, Nic, hostel manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback