Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Munich-City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
3.1

My overly priced private room was up about 1000 stairs and once inside, I was able to lay down on what felt like a plywood mattress. There weren't even any outlets in my room so I could charge my phone. The next morning I was able to book a room through Airbnb for half the price that was a million times better in every way. I do not recommend this place at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.9

I enjoyed my stay in Munich City Hostel. Although I thought that how can I sleep with 5 other girls in one dorm, it is me who made the most noise. The only thing that I did not like is the bath closes at 10:00, which is quite early. Because of that reason I returned too early to the hostel 2nd day and the 1st day I came late because of my flight and next day I wandered dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
7.4

Definitely a place to sleep but no to hang out. Make sure you read your booking carefully. My GF had booked it thinking it was a private room. She did however but for just one person. We had to pay extra once we got to the hostel. Great breakfast though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel seems kinda spooky and possibly haunted but dont let that fool you its actually really good. I had a room to myself, everything was super clean and tidy. Showers and toilet area clean. Breakfast is good and free. Staff were friendly too. Its a 5 min walk to ubahn and 3 or 4 stops to centre of town so not bad location wise. Downsides: wifi only in common area. Lots of kids on school camp- they weren't noisey though. Atmosphere of hostel is kinda like a school camp.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
6.3

Got a "single room" at the 5th floor with NO ELEVATOR. Room had a bunk bed. No soup or shampoo in the toilets. Shower, Wc and room in 3 different areas of the floor. Obvisously wifi would work only till the 1st floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
6.0

Good location but several unpleasant things. We ordered a room with a double bed, put were put in a room with two bunk beds. The building is four stories tall with no elevator and no internet in the rooms. You can only access it near reception and at the lounge area, which is a rather uncomfortable place. Showers went from cold to really hot randomly, and have working hours, from 6am to 22pm, meaning you can't take a shower after a long day if you get there too late.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Be ready to pay some more money when you come to reception. You can find this in description, but who reads it? (= Be ready, that "bath-rooms" are closing at 22:00. Bath-rooms and toilets are situated on the floor (not in room), but i never had to wait in queue. Breakfast is good for this price, but don't expect something special (but they pained eggs and added mini-choko-bunnies on easter day (= )

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
5.7

A very basic IYH/HI Hostel. Location-wise, very close to Backstage (which is convenient if you're visiting Munich for gigs) and to Nymphenburg Castle (if you're there just for tourism). Quiet during the nights, but gets fairly loud very early in the morning due to the families with kids. The price breakdown of my "single" room was very weird, with €10 for the bed and €25 for the breakfast, which is something you might want to keep your eye out for. Essentially, keep your expectations low.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Staff is friendly and the installations were always clean. The breakfast provided was also very good. My only complaint is that there is no WIFI in the whole building. There is WIFI on the reception floor but not on the other floors. If you rely on WIFI this hostel might not be suitable for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location, good prices, good staff. However the place really needs to be modernised, and the breakfast whilst edible is not that good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.