Hostelworld.com

HI NYC Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Very nice Hostel, clean and cool facilities. Room was a little smelly, guessing it was caused by one of our roommates. Located close to subway, a little far from downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Its such a great hostel! Let's you easy move to every were! Nice place to meet people and always have plans to do and know the city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Clean and quiet. Beds were typical and everything was clean which was awesome. Staff was also super helpful. Location isn't great if you're not going to columbia- but I still think it's worth the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with our hostel and its staff. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and generous feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
7.7

Room a bit stuffy and cramped for 10 people, heating on very high and limited ventilation made for a rather uncomfortable night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hostel. Everyone here would like to wish you the best in your future travels. Come back and visit us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.6

+ : nice organized activities, clean dorms. - : Too big, poor atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.4

I really loved tours and group activities!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with our hostel and its tours and facilities. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and generous feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
6.9

This is seriously the loudest hostel i have ever stayed in... Between the extremely loud heater that switches itself on every five minutes, the squeaking bunks (both in the room and the room above) and the thudding through the hallways, i've never had as much trouble trying to sleep. The elevator also needs a serious upgrade, you can stand there for at least 5 minutes waiting for it to get to you. Aside from that, the hostel is quite nice and in a reasonably decent spot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your terrific feedback and suggestions following your recent visit to our hostel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed thoughts. Our staff hopes you will continue to use hostels throughout your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
7.4

The hostel is further away from middle town, but it is located near subway stations which makes it easier to go around. I think the price is expensive (paid 52 dollars for a female delux room) for what we get, 35 dollars would be more then enough ( I stayed in a Marriott at the 58 street for 100 dollars two people). The room, toilet and showers were clean. The wifi works in the rooms and they have activities for lonleny travelers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hostel. Everyone here would like to wish you the best in your future travels. Come back and visit us again soon!

28th Jan 2017
8.9

El mejor hostal en el que me he quedado, es la segunda vez que visito Nueva York y definitivamente volvería aquí, el hostal súper bien, el personal increíble, todo muy bien, obtienes definitivamente lo que te anuncian y más.... la locación está un poco alejada de midtown pero con el subway a una cuadra es el menor de los problemas... Súper recomendable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hostel. Everyone here would like to wish you the best in your future travels. Come back and visit us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.7

Overall, I thought this was a great hostel that was clean, modern and had a lot of social activities organised. However, stealing seems to be a massive problem at this hostel and if you're planning on staying here you should be VERY careful with your belongings. I walked in on housekeeping going through my handbag and the people at the front desk refused to take it seriously because "nothing was actually taken". My winter coat also went missing from the kitchen and was never returned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate hearing from you very much and our management team can assure you that our staff will be coached to be more careful when working around guest's items. Our entire team would like to wish you the best in your future travels. We encourage you to come back and visit us again soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.