Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
88% 5040
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aoifepat9189
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.4

The air-conditioning unit in the room was incredibly noisy- as in I couldn't even sleep. Especially because it kept going on and off so just as I was dozing off, it would kick in again! I only stayed one night but the place didn't seem to have much of an atmosphere. Clean bathrooms but not very many toilets or showers. Location was OK in that it was close to Central Park but it was quite far uptown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Hostel has everything you need and more, with great facilities including good wifi in every room. Staff weren't great and there was often a long queue at the desk that took a long time for the staff to clear. Good hostel though, would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Great hostel to meet people as a solo traveller. The bbq and pub crawl nights were a lot of fun. Bathrooms, beds and all facilities were spectacular. Great proximity to the subway. Would definitely stay here again. Somewhat strange with the various age groups from children's to elderly adults.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.1

Ok for facilities but not great for solo travellers looking to meet people. Staff always busy so not v helpful. They run a weekly bbq & pub crawl and a few tours that leave fairly early in the morning but if missed the hostel itself isn't that sociable, with a few communal areas (such as a pitch black TV room) but no bar/mixing area. It was located well for access to manhatten via subway and given how expensive NY is its not too much, but still the lowest value for money HI place I've stayed in

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
7.1

We live in room 402, and the air in the room is really bad. The room is very old I have to say. However, the facilities for in the first floor is good, staff is kind, too. If you decide to live here, I have to say room 413 (4 dorm-beds, one double-person bed) is satisfying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.7

For whatever reason by booking became a split reservation. So I had to check the day after and wait to 4pm to check in again. Apparently this happens often (as I found out other people experienced the same thing). I was so tired that I just didn't battle it. the rooms are fine, clean and value for what you pay. Location is great with the subway just a block away. Good place to meet people. Checking in is the worst experience ever! So long and so slow. Overall a good stay for what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
10.0

absolutely loved the huge kitchen! also the entertainment at night was awesome--go Max!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.1

Super clean, great patio to hang out on. Cafeteria food was cheap and so delicious! Great location, easy to get to subway and quick to the airport too. Only downsides-we got there at 8am and our room wasn't ready till 4pm, but they stored our bags for free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed at the Hi NYC hostel for 2 night in August, in a male dorm. The dorm was very clean, the beds are really comfortable, you have personal lights and sockets (even with USB connections!). Being summer, the AC saved my life at nights! The bathroom facilities are great! With hot water in the shower always. The hostel has a cafeteria, kinda Starbucks, where you can by food wether for breakfast or any other meal. Staff is very friendly! Go for it for your next trip to NY

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.4

I absolutely loved staying here! Such an awesome, young, international crowd! The facilities were great. It is a HUGE hostel, but it was still easy to meet people. The subway is really close, and central park is just a short walk away! I had a lot of fun all three nights I was there! My only complaint would be that it is crazy expensive, but that's Manhattan for you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.