Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
88% 5475
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.4

Very convenient location, a few blocks walk from central park and right near the subway so great to get around. Very nice bathrooms, very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.9

I have been to a number of hostels while traveling and this hostel was one of the best! I strongly recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything was great. There's a lot of activities organised by the hostel (the Met tour with Nadja was awesome, and Jerry's walking tour was very... interesting) and there are lots of places to just chill in the hostel, both communal and solo. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming. It just seems to be a place which attracts a good range of people, so if you're a rager or a nanna you'll be fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

This is definitely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. Multiple floors, multiple bathrooms available on each floor, and many places to hang out and meet other people. Very clean and safe in a "good part of town" according to my uber driver. There's a subway stop a block away that was very useful when I went to the Statue of Liberty and also when I was traveling to Newark to catch my flight home. I greatly enjoyed my time there. The bakery/coffee shop/sandwich shop was amazing for a quick bite

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.6

Definitely recommend it, specially for the facilities, and the activities of the hostel. Great one!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Cool place ! They should clean the rooms every day !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

The best hostel ever.I never expect there would be a hostel that looks like a hotel. So clean and neat and everything was good..oh except the fact that some shower boose did not have a hot water. But only few did not!Overall very worth to stay in this price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.3

Enjoyable stay. Good value. Room.air conditioner was like sleeping in the same room.as a locomotive regards the noise. Lucky I slept well. Bed was a bit short if over 6 foot. Very good and clean facilities though. Jerry's walking tour is a must.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
10.0

This is my go to Hostel/Hotel while in NYC, even though i have friends living in Manhattan. It's just the place to meet new people every trip, relax, and have fun activities to do, enjoy comedy night, and just easily get around. I stayed on the 1st floor, premium dorm, for the first time and i was not disappointed, Immaculate, Thanks HI-NY! You Rock!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Not the best atmosphere I've experienced but could have been down to time of year, as a hostel though it was fantastic. Great staff and really tidy. Plenty of common areas and a nice place to be. Location is really close to subway stations that can have you outside empire state in 10 mins. As a travel agent will still recommend!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.