Hostelworld.com

HI NYC Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,770 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,770 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
89% 4770
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.0

Nice clean friendly hostel. Comfy beds, large storage lockers and good showers. Located close to the subway. Slightly noisy location, but would be expected on a main road in New York.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.1

I mostly used it as a place to keep things and to sleep but it had everything I could ask for in accommodations and more. Activities, a nice outdoor, LARGE, patio area with ping pong. A little theater. What if call two living rooms for chill areas and on site cafe. It's very close to one subway stop that takes you mostly where you want to go. And a second within easy walking distance. It's also close to Central Park.l a plus for me. Clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2016
8.3

I can't knock the facilities, brilliant. The free breakfast is basic but does the job. They do have a wonderful breakfast bar if you're willing to pay, fresh fruit, yogurt, cooked breakfast. You are reliant on the subway to get places quickly as it is a long walk from the hostel to Times Square! Tube station not far away and one plus point to being so far our... It's quieter! Washers & dryers coin operated and simple to use, change machine available. Computers and printers easy to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

It's a really good hostel, stuff here are very nice and I met some good roommates!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.4

This hostel was pretty great in every way! Awesome historic building with some nice private outdoor space, nice large communal spaces, all the amenities we needed (breakfast cafe available w/ really reasonable prices, luggage storage, wifi, lockers, etc). Bathrooms were really clean, and I didn't encounter too many problems with finding a shower stall or mirror space. It's a bit far away from some attractions, but it's right on a subway line and it was really easy to get around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.1

Had a great stay here. Friendly staff and the bathrooms always kept clean. Rooms comfortable. Only thing which was slightly disappointing was having to move rooms halfway through the stay due to them needing the room for a group booking. Will definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
7.7

Room was very messy the other girls left underwear,socks,clothing all over the floor as I only stayed one night it was ok had I been staying longeri would have complained but ur hostel is fantastic otherwise I really enjoyed all u had to offer and the bbq on the Thursday night was a lovely way to meet people as I traveledo on my own so thank you for making my holiday a redeemable one Your sincerely Linda Byrne x

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.7

The Female deluxe dorms were amazing. Staff was more than helpful. Wifi didn't get to all the areas properly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • facuzarate
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
10.0

It was a perfect hostels for me. Good location, very clean, good rooms and bathrooms. Metro is only one block from hostel. Probably is too big and is hard to know another traveller but if I have to come to ny definitely this is my hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th May 2016
10.0

I stayed there a week ago and I came back... Excellent hostel! 10 stars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.