Hostelworld.com

HI NYC Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
89% 4693
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.7

Great Hostel. One block from the subway makes it really easy to get to Mid and Downtown. Facilities are great. They offer loads of interesting, original tours and the staff are incredibly helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mvsc_ca649
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

This place is great. Plenty of common areas to relax or meet a new friend. The beds and rooms where clean and it was easy to make a new friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.6

A great hostel with a great atmosphere. There were plenty of activities every day and night of the week for a wide range of interests! The cafe on site also had great food and coffee for reasonable prices but there was a kitchen if you would prefer to cook your own meals. The beds were comfortable and the room had dividers giving you privacy if you so chose! One issue was that there was no alcohol allowed. Brilliant hostel and would recommend to anyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I've never been in a hostel before, but it was a really nice surprise to find such a good staff, the clean bathrooms, the comfortable beds and rooms and all the cool amenities they had to offer. If I ever travel again I will come back to the HI NYC, and of course I highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
10.0

dave and his team are fantastic. they are positive, personable, and professional, thanks you all for taking great care of me dave c :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.3

Overall it was pretty clean and nice, just the women's bathroom on my floor was a little dirty. Also the floors are super thin so it gets very noisy in the morning when everyone is running around getting ready (though I'm not surprised considering its an old building). The kitchen is great; by far the best kitchen of any hostel I have ever stayed in. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
9.7

The location was great! I arrived at 4 am and still felt the area was safe. The staff was super nice and very helpful. They really went above and beyond. I've been to NYC a few times and this was my favorite place to stay by far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.6

The positive, It was a good and secure place to stay and staff are very helpful even if you don't ask questions, like Zack( If I get his name right, braded hair). 4 negative that I would recommend improving 1. the elevator is really slow and button #1 light doesn't come on. 2. no standing or wall jacket hangers 3. I stayed in 105 and the lodgers above me are jumping up and stomping their early morning, like 1am 4. no direct phones to talk to front desk Thanks, ~Gus

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
10.0

great place to stay very clean and close to everything the staff were fantastic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.4

Very friendly and helpful staff, one block from subway station and fantastic facilities. Hostel offers lots of events and tours for you to be able to meet other people and see the city. Very nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.