X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI NYC Hostel Reviews

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4077 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Huge hostel! The staff were fantastic and there's lots of activities (tours, pubcrawls etc) that you can join in with. Because it's so big, it's a little difficult for solo travellers to meet people. The evening cafe staff were really friendly.


100%

No complaints! Very pleased with my stay all around


80%

Everything was great staying here. The only problem was the corners of the walls where the beds are placed had a lot of dust which made my allergies kick in.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Actually a very nice hostel! The facilities were great, and the staff that I encountered were all wonderful(especially the cafe staff). The downsides: the location isn't great. It's not really a "bad area" as it is more of an inconvenient area. Not the easiest to get to from the airport. Also, as a solo traveler, the "vibe" of this giant hostel wasn't conducive to meeting people. Everyone was off in their own corner, their faces buried in phones. Even I was guilty of this eventually.


77%

This was my first time to NYC and being away from home ever! I'm 19 years old from Colorado and really enjoyed my stay. I was super nervous about hostels being "to good to be true" but they lived up to the expectations. The NYC people come off as rude but that's their lifestyle...the hostel staff is the same way but they did provide a fair amount of traveling knowledge. Place is clean and I met some awesome travelers! Pool table is the best way to get travelers to talk! Recommend for more youth


86%

This hostel had a major facelift comparing it to how it used to be 8 years ago! It's excellent except that its a bit expensive & of course the elevator extremely old & slow.. they need to get a new one, better yet have 2 installed - it takes forever to wait for it...


97%

Everything you want in a Hostel, great place


69%

Nice hostel to stay in but the corridors to the rooms are not pleasant at all. Staff were overall quite nice and if you want to get a lift to Newark Airport, do NOT book with the service recommended by the hospital called SuperShuttle. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE. They left me at the hostel with no ride to the airport.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff at the HI NYC. These guys are a ton of fun. Loved the comedy club/night club lead-tour.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Being such a large hostel it can be a bit harder to meet other solo travellers, there are events organized by the hostel each day or night, though. There's a great outdoor terrace for the smokers on the 2nd floor, it's not well marked. This time staying here I found my room ridiculously narrow - this made it hard to negotiate backpacks and suitcases and there really was room for only two people to get their gear sorted for the day. Still a fantastic hostel!


89%

I was put off from booking this hostel initially thinking it may be a party hostel with it being advertised as the biggest and best in new york with lots of social events, but my suspicions were quickly put aside :) a lovely stay with room for everyone to do their thing. To improve: work on the kitchen - protocol is unclear on washing or using the dishwasher and how to store food, perhaps provide boxes like DC or Boston. Provide free breakfast. Improve wifi at either end of the day.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

They should upgrade the elevator!!


71%

Everything was great except the location did not suit my interests and the facilities within the room could be improved. The room was very stuffy and the air con was not very easy to use. Also, there were not enough power points in the room. Reading lights and power points at each bed would improve the experience a lot.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was perfect !!!!! Staff was super nice, beds clean and comfortable. Vibe was AMAZING!!


89%

Everything was great, except there was only ICE COLD water in the shower. This is at 6 am, before they could possibly have run out of hot water. It was unpleasant. Otherwise great hostel!


97%

Morningside Heights, featuring Columbia University, is only six New York blocks north of this extraordinary hosteling facility. The Bronx itself is not that far either, right up Amsterdam Avenue then down a hill to the 207th Street bridge to University Heights and Fordham Road on the Bronx side. And you thought you knew New York! The elevated rail from the hardscrabble chase scene in The French Connection is partway east up Fordham Road.


74%

Hostel is MASSIVE. Not a very personal experience, runs more like a full size hotel. It's not necessarily a bad thing, just different than most operations. Only real negative was the bathroom/shower facilities. They were not as clean as I expected them to be as they were not in line with the extravagant standards invested in the common areas.


86%

Everything was good, wish the checkout time could be moved to 12 noon, I am here on vacation and don't want to be rushed through.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

some staffs I have met there are so annoying and rude. at the time I got there right away, they treated me bad and I felt they looked down on me. the air conditioner can't be controllable by guests and it was so noisy.


100%

loved my stay ...

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(131 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback