Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.6

Greaqt place to stay in Manhattan, close to subway stations and the facilities are acceptable, no complaints about anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jdgirl
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.0

PRO:clean atmosphere.SOME really awesome staff. CON:safety not cared for. I walked home alone one night, a guy creeped on me on the sidewalk by the street, it's a city late at night not unusual. I stepped to the side to have a smoke & watched him creep on a bus full of young females​, they all made it inside safely.After​ I was done smoking he was standing by the door and almost mauled me. Inside, I told a staff member and she ignored me like I was crazy. Tipsy maybe, but not crazy. Not safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience in NYC. We appreciate your feedback and encourage you to continue to use hostels throughout your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
9.7

Would definitely stay again! Fantastic all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the helpful feedback! We hope you will get to visit us again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
10.0

The best hostel ever 🤗

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We can't thank you enough for your kind words. Come back and see us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel!!! The best I have ever stayed at. Facilities all seem new and everything is spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bunk beds, each with individual charger and reading light. Your own (large locker) which also has a power point so you can charge things whilst they are locked away. Fantastic group events on daily (usually three tours/events a day) so it was very easy to meet people. Made some great friends here!! Highly highly recommend!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Pros: Easy to get around using the subway and the hostel is right next to the 1 line. I liked that they organized lots of social events and the common areas were very nice. Meh: Rooms are nothing to write home about. Very basic hostel rooms. Basic communal showers. Cons:Staff were kind of rude. Quite hours not enforced at all with people yelling, running, and slamming doors as early as 6:30am and partying until 2am. Overall though it was a great for the price point.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hostel. Everyone here would like to wish you the best in your future travels. Come back and visit us again soon!

  • Ella_t24
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Nice rooms. Comfy beds. Nice outdoor patio area. Hallways are freezing from air conditioning - such a waste of energy! Did not need to be that cold!! Nice bathrooms. Didn't go on any of the organized nights out but heard they were good. Went to a comedy night in the downstairs theatre which was fun. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope you get to come back and visit us again soon. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. Be sure to visit more of our hostels around the world during your future travels.

30th Jun 2017
8.3

A huge, very busy hostel. The staff seemed nice, though because they're so busy I had minimal contact with them. Very good location within walking distance to Harlem and Central Park. The facilities are ok, though for some reason the aircon in my room always turned off at night which made the room feel like a furnace. Lots of organized activities and a pretty social atmosphere. Though I was pretty hesitant to stay in such a massive hostel, I would recommend this place and stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.0

The facilities at this place were rather good. Friendly enough staff. I wish there were some way to really enforce quite hours. Had a couple of noisy people in our dorm. All in all a great hostel, I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
9.4

Great value for my money and a nice place to stay in NY. The location is a little far uptown, but near subway lines and easily accessible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.