Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 5708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 5708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
9.1

This place is in a really great location - so close to the train line (2 minute walk if that!)! Very clean and positive atmosphere. Plenty of activities on offer with helpful staff to get you to wherever you need to go. New York Tip: If you're there for a decent time the 7-day metro card is well worth it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.7

I had an amazing experience at HI NYC. Coming from San Francisco, I expected it to be very expensive but the price per night was very fair. There are many events that the employees of the hostel put on, from pub crawls, to night tours, and meditation hour. They have a huge kitchen downstairs with freezers and fridges for food storage. Also, there is restaraunt downstairs if you don't want to cook. Travelers from all over the world come here, and majority are 20s to 30 year olds. Loved this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
9.1

Amazing. Close to the subway, uptown, right next to Central Park. The staff is lovely and willing to help with any question. Best hostel I've stayed in! Thank you for the experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.9

I enjoyed very much my stay and would come again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
9.7

This place was my first hostel visit. Decided to stay here with my brother and best friend on our first visit to NYC and we loved it. The facilities were clean, the location one block away from the 103rd st station and close to central park was convenient, and we had a blast going on the group activities. The only criticisms are the rather slow elevator (plenty of stairs though), the lobby being a tad too warm, and that it would be good to secure the bunks to the walls to minimize shaking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our staff is already looking forward to your next visit! Be sure to check out more of our hostels around the world. We wish you the best in all your future travels.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.4

Enjoyed our stay very much. Clean and neat and a wonderful atmosphere. Really cool activities was provided.Staff is very friendly and helpful. Was great to have big lockers where we could store our baggage safely. The food at the cafe was really nice and much cheaper than at other restaurants or shops. We would recommend staying at HI New York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Great location, great facilities, great staff. There is a cafe that stays open until late. Lots of room to chill out in the common areas. The beds have a privacy screen, a light and personal power point, and a locker is in the room and you provide your own lock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

Great location and facilities. Couldn't really ask for much more from a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th May 2017
9.7

Close to the park. Good showers. Good value for money. Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the helpful feedback! We hope you will get to visit us again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Great location with four subway line close by. Nice rooms & shower and a great bar downstairs to boot. Great views from the rooftop as well really can't fault this place at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the helpful feedback! We hope you will get to visit us again soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.