Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
87% 5329
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Dec 2016
8.9

Hostel itself was great. Lovely kitchen and cafe, clean bathrooms, beds and large lockers with plugs, nice large room and good bunks. The only issue was our room didn't have heat. We reported this issue multiple times and it was not resolved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Excellent, all things are good and well maintained. Lovely staffs, abf staffs and overall. Very much satusfied, Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michaelroosevelt429
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Nov 2016
10.0

This is my second time here and will come again for its staff, location, rooms and service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
10.0

My first time staying in a hostel and staff was very helpful.train station is only a block away.cant wait to go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
8.9

great place, very well equipped kitchen, easy to get the express 3 line uptown from Penn station or Times Sq to 96th & Broadway then change to the 1 and get off at 103rd Street...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, safe, definitely a good place to stay for a solo traveller.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
9.4

I'm usually not one to write reviews let alone stay in a Hostel but I gotta say it was definitely a nice experience. Clean, friendly staff, convenient location and plenty of room to have down town even outside your bunk bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
9.1

the space was so cute, the staff was so helpful, the people were very sociable and i sincerely wish i stayed there longer than a night!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.0

Loads of bathrooms down the corridor, never had a problem with waits. The place is huge and I lost my friend countless times looking for her. Buzzing atmosphere but I recommend a quiet area, all areas have music so nowhere to chill and read. Also tour was cancelled 2 mins before it was due to start so wasted our time getting ready for that. Good kitchen facilities and nice cafe if you aren't having the extra breakfast option. Only one very slow lift, which is bad for a place this huge!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.0

Good location with decent facilities. My only two issues were a very noisy aircon and very squeaky bunk beds. If you a light sleeper this could be problematic,

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.