Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
HI NYC Hostel Located at 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York.
HI NYC Hostel
USA
New York NY 10025 891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403
88% 5161
40.7984931 -73.9671277
HI NYC Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Sep 2016
8.6

A good hostel in NYC - easy place to stay, clean, comfortable much better atmosphere than other hostels here in the city! The only downside is the check in lines are horrible - (hint) other than that it is a great place to stay. Location is inconvenient but there is the subway and or citibike!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
2.0

Booked three beds for one night and two for another. When I called to check my booking on the way to the hostel, they said they had no beds left. Hence my scathing review.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
6.3

Bad reception staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2016
6.6

Really bad smell in the room. Like crazy bad, stayed one night and no way we could've stayed more. Bathroom was great. AIr conditioner didnt work and we said at the reception, got fixed in the morning (but at night was terrible) Pretty expensive and the rooms are really small. Not to bad bad defenetly not the best hostel..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Probably the best hostels in the USA. The only thing it's the first time I needed to pay for locker In order to instore my stuf after check out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Shakyjake1989
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.4

Amazing experience! Totally recommend! And you also get a free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Its first time to me to book in hostel it was nice and I will come again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Hostel is really clean and safe. The location is awesome really just 1 block away from a subway station where you can get to the main points of Manhattam. My room was confortauble with good bed, pillows and a spacious locker to store my things. Only bad thing for me is that there's not a alcohool drinking bar inside the hostel, what makes harder to interact and make friends with other travelers. Also i think there should be more group activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
10.0

I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay. I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.0

I have never stayed at a hostel before. I had a nice time...the staff was friendly and professionally. They seem to be interested in my stay being good. I think the facilities was nice...eating areas, theater, networking rooms etc. I did not think the beds were comfortable...did not like quality of pillows & linens I would expect average... this was not average. I thought the value was okay...but based on the sleeping rooms... I felt should be some cheaper would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.