Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI NYC Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 6146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 6146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Sep 2017
5.7

Honestly such rude reception staff. I saw one last I think Esther rolling her eyes at an Asian group due to a language barrier and she looked to me laughing like I would join in. Disgusting, she just felt like she was right and no one could understand her. But she didn't try to help, at an international hostel she needs to change her attitude. The events were good and its close to the subway but out of the way in NY really for tourists.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay. The facilities on site were everything I needed and the tours of Central Park and Brooklyn were a lot of fun. Only complaints are the noise coming from the bathrooms (the doors are all on hinges which cause them to slam, this is loud if you're anywhere nearby) and the pub crawl on Thursday being rather poorly organised.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
9.1

Awesome place! It is a pretty big hostel which is great because they always have tons of events going on. I went on a pub crawl that the hostel was hosting and got drunk with some Australian guys, got kissed on the cheek by a very cute German gal. It was just the most fun I've had in a really long time. =)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
8.6

Great place to stay, facilities within this hostel are brilliant, the garden was lovely and loads of events are taking place in there. Subway just across the street. Overall a great experience just our bedroom window didn't close and the room was facing a very busy road and lots of car noises at night. I would recommend it, but I considered a bit expensive for a hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, meet people and see the city both day and at night. Social events everyday make it easy to make friends and do things in the city that your normally wouldn't. The hostel is better condition than some of the hotels I've stayed in and it was half the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Sep 2017
8.9

Great place to stay, although a bit pricey, but it is NYC after all. Staff are fantastic and always helpful! Had a large 8 room with a good amount of space that it didn't feel cramped. Always activities going on that try to encourage mingling

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
8.6

Considering that the price you pay is mostly due to it being in Manhattan, this is a good hostel. It's the third HI I've stayed in and sadly, it's not the best. But it still beats a lot of other hostels! Great facilities for socialising, tours and trips run every day, breakfast is good, the kitchen is big, the rooms are okay. I went to the free comedy show and loved it! Definitely recommend it. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
8.0

Really nice hostel with great facilities! Nice communal areas, social calendar, cafe. Would definately stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2017
9.1

It was my first time staying at a hostel , it exceeded all of my expectations. The female washrooms I felt the Guests should have been able to clean up their hair a little bit more that would be a only complaint. The cost of food on site was reasonable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Good location, good staff, good value for your money, very close to a subway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×