X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI NYC Hostel Reviews

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4146 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

So good to be away from the busy part of the city and right next to Central Park. AC didn't work one night but they had it fixed in the morning.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything exceeded my expectations. The neighborhood added to the atmosphere

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Expensive but lots of places are in NYC. great location for us, subway just 1 block away but quiet area to sleep. staff were brilliant! loads of free tours and stuff to do. clean with good showers. good cafe too not bad prices.


94%

I had a great time at this hostel. It is really clean , comfortable beds, and super clean bathrooms and showers. Loved the bbq. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. Close to the subway which is great.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The air conditioning wasnt that great. In NY n the summer, it needs to be better. Not sure why it wasnt. The beds were Ok, not as bad as I thought they might be, could be a little softer, but overall they worked. Great set up for different activities. I would for sure consider staying here again.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Probably the nicest hostel I've stayed in. The internet was poor at times. Security was lacking as you could easily tailgate anyone into the hostel and the staff wouldn't question it. Really nice to have bathrooms outside of the room. Locker size was more than adequate in the rooms.


91%

Huge hostel! The staff were fantastic and there's lots of activities (tours, pubcrawls etc) that you can join in with. Because it's so big, it's a little difficult for solo travellers to meet people. The evening cafe staff were really friendly.


80%

Staff not as friendly as in smaller hostels, but probably because are extremely busy. Too many groups; they easily 'overpower' single travelers looking to meet new people.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I feel at home in a place for people on the go. It was easy to book. I feel rested after a long haul from Asia

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

No complaints! Very pleased with my stay all around


80%

Everything was great staying here. The only problem was the corners of the walls where the beds are placed had a lot of dust which made my allergies kick in.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel. Great tours and activities.


80%

Very nice hostel. Only issue is how antisocial it was. We were there on a Friday night and were looking to be social with the hostel guests and nobody was interacting. It was bizarre. Very cleanly and safe though.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Actually a very nice hostel! The facilities were great, and the staff that I encountered were all wonderful(especially the cafe staff). The downsides: the location isn't great. It's not really a "bad area" as it is more of an inconvenient area. Not the easiest to get to from the airport. Also, as a solo traveler, the "vibe" of this giant hostel wasn't conducive to meeting people. Everyone was off in their own corner, their faces buried in phones. Even I was guilty of this eventually.


69%

Very large, secure and clean place to stay for a few nights in NYC. It did, however, lack atmosphere. Despite a lot of people staying there, aside from those who already knew each other, it felt like nobody spoke to each other in the cafe area, and it took some work to start conversation with people in the room. The hostel does have a well stocked cafe which I found extremely useful during my stay. Overall, this hostel is much too expensive for what it is, and next time I will choose a hotel.


77%

This was my first time to NYC and being away from home ever! I'm 19 years old from Colorado and really enjoyed my stay. I was super nervous about hostels being "to good to be true" but they lived up to the expectations. The NYC people come off as rude but that's their lifestyle...the hostel staff is the same way but they did provide a fair amount of traveling knowledge. Place is clean and I met some awesome travelers! Pool table is the best way to get travelers to talk! Recommend for more youth


91%

Amazingly helpful staff, lots of activities every night and great location! Close to subway and Central Park. Maybe a bit too far up but it's away from all the tourists near 59th/bottom of the park so I like it that way!! More expensive than most, but a good place to stay for a few days. Can be filled with campers and kids over the weekend so watch out for that. Would be 100% if it had a bar as well!


86%

This hostel had a major facelift comparing it to how it used to be 8 years ago! It's excellent except that its a bit expensive & of course the elevator extremely old & slow.. they need to get a new one, better yet have 2 installed - it takes forever to wait for it...


97%

Everything you want in a Hostel, great place


69%

Nice hostel to stay in but the corridors to the rooms are not pleasant at all. Staff were overall quite nice and if you want to get a lift to Newark Airport, do NOT book with the service recommended by the hospital called SuperShuttle. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE. They left me at the hostel with no ride to the airport.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(147 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback