Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, right by the waterfront and just across the bridge from Old Town. Staff so friendly and very helpful with recommendations. Be aware that the hostel is a good 20min journey from the airport so be sure to book a shuttle because a taxi will be very expensive. There didn't seem to be a whole lot going on in Nanaimo, but perhaps I didn't explore enough. The hostel was quiet and there seemed to be quite a few people living there and working nearby. Overall a great hostel though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st May 2017
9.7

This hostel was so clean and comfortable. The female dorm where I stayed had cupboards with latches and a hole for cords so you could use to leave your phone charging, which was convenient! They provided a towel, and each floor had three private showers. The staff was very welcoming and had great suggestions on what to do, and genuine love for the area. The communal room/kitchen lent itself very well to mingling and chatting with other guests. There was also a trunk full of table games :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.9

Our room was very clean and the mattress was fresh. It was however right above the street and it was a little noisy. There was no AC in the room but the entire building was a good temperature. Incredible value and the kitchen facilities were great. I would highly recommend the Painted Turtle to a friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th May 2017
8.6

Had a lovely quiet stay here for a few days. Hostel is well located and very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Friendly people, nice location wonderful atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place. Generous and caring staff. Will recommend it to my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
6.9

The place was nice but the guy who checked us in was slightly incompetent. We arrived late at night and asked him if there was any fast-food places in town, i.e. subway, takeaway pizza etc. He said there were NONE, only restaurants. We went for a short walk and found MANY fast food places. We were slightly surprised that he did not mention any of them to us. Apart from that one unusual incident, I guess it's pretty nice. Our room was lovely! And the living area is nice and clean too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
6.0

This hostel did the job eg. more affordable accommodation (I was in town for a conference and didn't want to pay the pricey hotel rates) but it wasn't anything special. The location was great, really central and across the street from free weekend parking. Downsides: grubby carpets, rickety beds and pretty lax security from what I could tell. It's been a few years since I've traveled but I've been to many hostels in my time in Europe, Mexico, Australia and North America. This one was average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
6.9

Generally a nice place, would need to stay longer than one night to unlock the Turtle's character

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Good location, friendly staff and very clean. One of the better hostels I have been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.