Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse Located at 121 Bastion Street, Vancouver Island, Nanaimo.
HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Canada
Nanaimo BC V9R 3A2 121 Bastion Street, Vancouver Island
86% 206
49.1663800 -123.9373890
HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.6

Great place to stay!! Make sure to lock your door every time though, doesn't lock automatically. All the staff were so super friendly and really polite, especially rose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.3

Atmosphere was terrible , kids yelling and vaccum going at 7pm. But the bar below the hostel was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel. Pretty good and safe area near some nice shops. Rooms were cute and quaint, bathrooms were great. Nice staff. Super comfy beds!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Everything was fine, nice and rather clean. But at night it was impossible to sleep, it was too hot in the room and too loudly outside. They don't have air condition in rooms, when you open window is so loudly, we don't like it!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.4

This place, the kitchen looks amazing. We love Nanaimo's sunset, and this hostel is just in the middle of everything. I would recommendet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
7.1

The stay at this hostel was okay. I have stayed at a lot of different hostels and this was not a particularly stellar one, but not terrible either. The bed was really uncomfortable (I could feel the bedsprings through the mattress) and there was no outlet close to my bed to charge my phone. The room was really hot, no A/C as far as I could tell. For the positive, my travel plans got delayed and they only charged me for one night even though I had booked two. It is also in an excellent location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
7.1

Bus ride from ferry. Close to a grocery store and a few restaurants. Average really but not bad would stay again if needed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2016
4.9

I looks like there people living here. We thought that was strange for a hostel/inn. The room window was broken and we were sleeping next to a outside fan. That made a lot of noise. The staff were not that friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.