Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Nanaimo, Painted Turtle Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2017
7.7

Not very communal or social in terms of the people it attracts. But I am a 21yo traveling around looking for fun things to do

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.0

Lovely and clean. Staff are very helpful. Great location. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
9.4

We really lucked out with the Painted Turtle, it was so central and close to the waterfront and the Old City Quarter. Clean room, great kitchen facilities. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.4

Local and downtown near the harbour, an easy 10 minute ride from the Ferry Terminal. Comfortable and homely kitchen and lounge that is well maintained with a great recycling and rubbish collection system. Room was clean, and bed comfortable. Very reasonable and affordable for the price offered.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
8.6

very close to town and central things to see, and to shops as well. bus from ferry terminal stops right outside the door. rooms were a little squishy, and the top bunks were very hard to get in and out of. other than that, it was a great place to stay, and it was obvious that the staff took a lot of care to keep the place clean and tidy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jenacy7564
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Over all great stay. The bathrooms are in the hallway but they were always clean. You could do laundry all night if you just shut the door. The commons room with the tv is awkward bc there are no couches just tables and chairs. The kitchen had couches so that's where everyone hung out. Young and old stayed in the hostel and thank goodness no kids. Great location and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Jul 2017
6.3

Fine place for a cheap and functional stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Very clean hostel close to bars, marina etc. Kitchen was very clean and well furnished. They also give you a towel which is definitely a plus !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
7.1

I actually really like this place, but our room was overbooked and it significantly lowered the quality of my stay. There was an extra bed in the middle of the floor which made it impossible to walk around or have decent storage. I found myself stepping on this poor girl's phone and losing my things amongst the clutter. Not worth the $30 a night with those conditions, especially during summer weather. For this incident, and no refund, I likely will not be coming back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
7.4

Average hostel. The only thing above average is the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.