X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI New York City NYC Hostel Reviews

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3913 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was a great hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was great that there was 24 hour access. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom and kitchen had good, clean working facilities. Plus there were loads of events going on. Good location too


80%

Nice place! The storage isn't for free and quite expensive.


80%

It was good

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I have pleasant experience in the hostel. I did not have any problem getting there. The young boy that was in the reception was very friendly ( I forgot his name but he is from DR). The room and the bed were clean the same as the toilet. I did not have much time to walk around as I stayed in NY for only one night but I reckon everything was clean. I slept in a room with ten other guests. All of them were friendly and quiet/ respectful. I am very happy with my choice. Thanks heaps

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff thrives on providing the best service. Thank you for choosing us. See you soon.

100%

if you can stay with 4 people thats great for you just like prison camp

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean hostel. It was in an okay location for the price and the staff were very nice.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel would defiantly recommend to anyone staying in the big Apple :)

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your recommendation. Hope to see you soon. Thank you...

97%

Great Hostel, with a lot of activities for everybody.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to provide activities for everyone to participate in. Thank you.

89%

The wifi is unreliable, i had better wifi in Mexico. Other than that great hostel.


74%

Pros- clean, excellent shower facilities and wifi, good security, easy to find, really close to subway. Cons- no breakfast included. Uninterested staff - people drinking in the corridor outside my room when I arrived after a long flight at 2 am, people shouting in the smoking area right under my window at 4am and staff did nothing until I went downstairs to ask. I understand it's a hostel and not a hotel but other hostels are far better at maintaining a pleasant atmosphere for everyone.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do provide breakfast for the premium dorms and offer breakfast at a discounted rate for regular dorms. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and plan to use this as an opportunity to coach our staff and improve the quality of our guest servcie. The next time will be even better. Thank you...

77%

I really liked the staff at the hostel cos they're all super funny and friendly! The location wasn't bad - relatively safe area but just a little far from the midtown/downtown area. The first night I stayed in a room where the heater wasn't on so I froze to death... also I felt like some beds were placed way too close to the door, which caused lots of troubles when people were trying to sleep but other residents kept slamming the door right next to them. Also why isn't breakfast free?!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I will tell the staff how much you like them and to keep being funny. Sorry the room was cold, but we have the heaters that you can adjust. We do provide free breakfast with our premium dorms and offer discount on breakfast for regular dorms. See you soon. Thanks....

100%

Accommodation can be prohibitive when visiting NYC but HI NYC made it possible for my daughter and I to visit one of the most remarkable cities in the world in a manner that we could afford. I will definitely stay in this hostel again. Easy access to everything NYC. Very clean and comfortable. Money aside, staying in a travellers hostel environment like this one is an experience worth having.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy we were able to accommodate you and your daughter here with us. It was a pleasure having you. Come back again to see more of the city. Thank you....

66%

The hostel is nice, there is not much to do around, you need to take the subway downtown, the lift is the worst, it takes ages. Very clean I should say.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive feedback. We do offer many guided tours to many attractions. Sorry about our slow elevator that's why we encouarge the usage of the stairs. Come back soon. Thank you...

97%

My room had a sink, shower, and toilet! I've stayed in lots of hostels, but that is a first. This is also the only hostel I've been to that has a bar. Very good price too. Location is good but not great...definitely nothing to complain about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, but we don't have a bar. We do have Welcome Parties during which we provide 2 free drinks to guests over 21 yrs old. Thank you....

83%

I miss parties and games during my stay. They don't sell beer! =[

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately, we can't sell beer, but we have Welcome Parties in which we provide 2 free drinks. We also have Pub Crawls and Pub Nights. Sorry you missed the parties. Need to return soon and join the fun. Thank you...

97%

I had a great stay here! The facilities were good and the staff were really friendly! The atmosphere was great too and there was good opportunity to interact with people from other places! Really enjoyed my stay there!

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great feedback. Happy everything went as planned. See you soon. Thank you....

77%

Them price is not low but NYC...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive attitude. We are the largests hostel in North America and at the same time try to offer the best possible rates to keep us going. Thank you.

91%

The hostel was very good and we really enjoyed our stay, the film crew taking up the whole dining area upstairs was a little annoying during our stay but they were able to work around them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the inconvenience with the film crew. Glad you still had a great time and enjoyed yourself. See you again. Thank you.

91%

Although this is a big hostel, it was still really easy to meet people. They have a large common area with a pool table and organise great outings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
One of our goals is to have people mingle and meet new friends. Glad you were able to do that. Thank you for staying here with us and giving us the chance.

94%

This was the first hostel I ever stayed at in the US as I usually stay in hotels. The building was great. The rooms were spacious. The bathroom was clean. There was tons of common space with chances to meet people. Super close to the subway. Helpful with questions about what to do and where to go. Great place.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback