X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - New York City NYC Hostel Reviews

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3607 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really good experience. Management was understanding, every staff member I interacted with except for one lady at the concierge desk, were great and very friendly. It was safe clean with a really good atmosphere. A lot happening to entertain you but at the same time you could work there. Location was pretty good, subway is a block away as well.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There is many reasons to stay at this hostel and the main reason is the location and that the hostel is incredible big. As you probably already know, this is a Hostelling International hostel, meaning that it's a bit higher standard and a bit more pricey. See whole review at: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60763-d121994-r216500137-Hostelling_International_New_York-New_York_City_New_York.html


49%

Rude staff . Avoid this place at all cost

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I only stayed one night, so I don't really have much to say about the facilities. It was close to the subway station, and the staffs were friendly.


80%

I would recommend my friends this hotel once they plan to visit NY. Good location, friendly staff and cleanliness

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location is a bit far from the airport or from the train station and you need to do some stair climbing from the subway station to the ground floor. But the ladies at the tourist counter are really really helpful and their help was useful and practical for me to explore this city. This hostel is clean and well maintained which I would like to stay there again.


100%

a bit pricy but a wonderful hostel, one of the best i've stayed in. different walking tours everyday of the week, the free ones aren't so good but don't miss Jerrys Grand Tour, it is a must! you wont regret it $10 for a 14 hour walking tour that covers so much. groceries store around the corner, Starbucks, restaurants all nearby, Times Square a short subway ride away, Central Park is walking distance


71%

check in at 4 is really too late , especially when you have long flight . location is a bit far from main attraction , but close to metro station


77%

The facilities were always clean and fresh, and the free breakfast was always given. I have no complaints in regards to the service that was provided.


80%

It would be great if there were more power points in each room and separate bed lights as in other hostels making it easier and more roommate friendly when coming in at different times.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Love the hostel and the little bakery shop downstairs. Great location with an easy walk to the nearest metro station and restaurants on Broadway. The bathrooms are good and the rooms are very secure. The only downsides really were that breakfast wasn't included like in Boston and that the lifts are very slow.


91%

Loved this place. Great facilities and rooms. Good vibe despite the size


89%

The staff seemed confused about a lot like where we get our towels but that may be bc the place was HUGE. I was only staying 3 nights but they said I would have to switch rooms midstay. After some arguing they solved the problem. Great location right on the 1 line. Plenty bathroom space and AC. I really trust the HI brand.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean hostel, which is close to the subway on the upper west side. I had a problem with air con in the middle of the night and the staff moved me room which was much appreciated.


20%

I think that Zach and his manager on duty Patrick are horrible representatives and do your establishment a disservice.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, really good, fun place to stay. Meet some great people and loved all the organised activities.


91%

Excellent hostel in New York City. A little way away from the things that you're probably there to see but you can walk of you're up for it or take the subway on the next block. A few local bars that decent also, particularly the Five Lamps Tavern. Receptionist very thorough and welcoming upon arrival.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Aside from the security, cleanliness, and all other necessities, I truly appreciated the guided tours. I LOVED the Central Park tour by Michael -- he was awesome. Gave us the best photo shots and lots of info with some laughs. He was a good one. Good time with Max , too & really enjoyed the shows. The Pacha tour was great. Having things to do made all the difference for me. Gave me an opportunity to learn the city and make new friends. I wasn't stuck doing selfies. :)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, good dorms (not too loud, etc.). If you want a really good cup of coffee there's a place called Birch a few blocks away.


77%

good hostel, very social if travelling alone. close to transport and all the popular locations in new york. would definitely recommend to others.


(136 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback