X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - New York City NYC Hostel Reviews

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3543 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The Hostel was nice. some stuff members wasn't so friendly. all together it was nice to stay in this hostel. For me it was really good, what i could buy some food next to the lobby.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall very pleased with the hostel. The staff and facilties were both very good. Friendly, helpful staff and clean modern bathrooms. Would recommend it strongly to anyone.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

perfect except for the female shower, hair in the drain for a couple of day. very good for the money.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Best thing was definetlz the walking tour with Jerry! everyone needs to do this :)

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Breakfast isn't free. Other than that everything was great!

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was an awesome experience! Everyday they give you options to do and to meet other people in hostel!

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Location is good 103rd street on subway line 1 and then one block left. Staff was very helpful. Atmosphere was pleasant. Bedroom was clean and bathrooms were also fine. Value for money certainly Facilities overall good. Kitchen part was excellent


86%

I've got very impressed by this hostel. Very clean, safe and the facilites are huge and well organized. Very friendly staff as well. There are lots of activites every day and night. When I come back to NYC, I will definitely stay there again.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a great place to stay. Dorms were nice and spacious, great cafe and facilities. Really recommend this!


100%

Ah-mazing hostel! Only downside comparing to others HI (like boston or chicago) is that it does not include breakfast.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A fine hostel, but so huge and institutional there isn't much of an atmosphere.


91%

Great hostel. Well maintained. But again, just as I was told, you won't get your typical hostel feel there as it's just too big. This despite managements best efforts of organizing night outs. Regardless still a good quality hostel.


91%

The staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful during my stay. I was travelling with a broken leg but the elevators and handicap accessible bathroom and shower made it much easier for me to get around comfortably. I stayed in a 6 person mixed dorm room. The beds were comfortable to sleep on and sheets and blankets are provided (additional blankets were also stored in the room), along with one towel. The lockers in the room were big enough to store a carry-on bag. Overall, loved it!!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel in general, I would recommend it to people going to New York. Wasn´t cheap but looks like there are no good cheap hostels in NYC.


94%

This is probably the cleanest Hostel I've stayed at to date. The facilities were well maintained, there were plenty of showers and toilets so I never needed to wait. The staff were really friendly and helpful though it is easy to feel impersonal given the size of the Hostel, however, they do make up for it with plenty of events day and night.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect kitchen. Perfect activities, This is my first time in hostel, Brilliant place to spend time here (I stayed in The manhattan hotel at time square a night before coming here, i thought the hostel would be worse than that, but sincerely, it is super clean! And know what? The staffs are better than that hotel) Itms not far from attractions, I also see families book for this. Great value and great time to stay. Will come back for sure! Really recommend!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • adarin
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great facilities. Everything a good hostel should be


77%

Had to change rooms after two nights because I was placed in a mixed dorm when I had specifically booked a female only, but other than that it was all good.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

i heard that the neiborhood is unsafe but i think it is all right. though it is not close to the tourism places, the subway station nearby provided conveniant ways for tourists. in general, a nice place to stay.


94%

Perfect in almost every way. The only issue I had was the water pressure in the shower- it was laughable. Plus, you need to shower in the afternoon or evening if you want warm water. Also, make sure to bring your own towels.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(117 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback