Hostelworld.com

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Located at 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa.
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
Canada
Ottawa ON K1N 7B9 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario
86% 1484
45.4249164 -75.6885480
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd May 2016
8.0

Real jail atmosphere, so real that you realy slip like a convicted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.3

The lack of usable WiFi made me feel like I was in prison. No social atmosphere. Kitchen and showers are nice though. Staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel, with plenty of history and a convenient location. The only bad thing I could say about this hostel is the wifi is terrible, it constantly drops out even in the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rvarvelo7316
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Great experience. Location is great, just 3 blocks from Parliament.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • contactblair6374
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

The jail cell room is great and exactly as described on the website: a room with a bed and a small space to stand near the door. Great price for your own space, but without a fan it may get hot in the summer. Totally loved my experience at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.7

You should stay at the Ottawa Jail Hostel to be able to say that you spent the night in a jail. Other than that important reason, my stay was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the wifi worked well, there are lockers in the rooms and as a bonus breakfast is included in the rate. The location is central and walkable to parliament hill, the byword market and the canal. I would most definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2016
10.0

This was a really cool experience... it was walking distance to parliament ..the market... the mall ..the breakfast was GREAT! ...I took uber to the lawndownes area and walked around .. enjoyed my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.3

I have stayed here many times. The main reason is the free breakfast. They actually have healthy choices like real fruits, eggs, toast and coffee. I also appreciate that they compost.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.4

The cells get really hot at night and can get a lot of noise from the hall. Yes, they are also extremely small but that's expected. Everything else is fantastic, had a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.4

couldn't write my whole review as wasn't enough space, short form here it goes. First time in hostel , LOVED our private tour we were so lucky to get in on after dinner, I think having the tour at night was the best as you went to bed thinking about all the stories. Told everyone about all the stories and they all can't wait to go now. Would have liked a little more night life as I have heard stories about hostels and it was a little on the "chill" side I was expecting a bit more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.