X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Reviews

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1031 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Horrible experience. Lived in a tiny jail cell. The bar downstairs roared until 2 or 3 am. Do not feel safe in that place. This hostel really sucks.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Look a little bit claustrophobic was fun though to sleep there


74%

My booking was messed up because the room I booked on hostelworld wasn't actually available in the hostel. The hostel offerred me another two rooms. I chose one of the rooms and they said it wasn't available. (This was a long back and forth as we were travelling around at the time). Finally we ended up with a room with more than enough space which was good.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Place was really cool and unique! However, it was extremely hot in the room we stayed in. It was on the top floor. Apart from that the stay was perfect.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Nice hostel, the atmosphere is original. I was however quite disapointed by the hostel's booking system and the quality of the reception. I initially booked and paid the deposit for 2 rooms, but when we arrived, only 1 room was available. The lady at the desk barely apologized and could only suggest us extra beds in a dorm. After some confusing "explanation", we ended up paying for 1 room and beds in a dorm (with the deposit amount I initially paid not being deducted).


94%

Enjoyed our stay and highly recommend hostel to other travelers. Central location is excellent, prison atmosphere is cool (not spooky but it makes for some neat photos), and facilities are clean and include kitchen, laundry, common room, and a bar (Mugshots, seemingly very popular not only among hostel guests). As a "warning": We had booked a "cell" and got "upgraded" into a suite with its own bathroom. While convenient, there is no "prison cell" feeling to these rooms - if that's what you want.


97%

The hostel is in a good location in the center of town, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. The hostel itself is a rather unique and an interesting experience. Their is a possible noise issue during the night since the rooms have open air vents to a common corridor.


94%

nice clean showers. no air conditioning and it was 25-30 degrees celsius and i wanted to die.


77%

Great location, good breakfast, very friendly staff and clean. It is an interesting experience to stay in a jail ;-) But the music at the bar at night till 3 in the morning is incredible loud. No chance to sleep even if you are wearing earplugs.


77%

A good hostel, beware of the light coming in the jail rooms when trying to sleep, and one side of the building is a lot quieter at night! But a good hostel, guy on reception was great at moving me to a different room so that I could meet people! A good breakfast too which is a great start to the day!


63%

This place is like an attraction itself more then a hostel. It is different experience to sleep in an old cell where the doors are in thick steal and the corridors is long and sad. See full review at: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g155004-d253895-r213928093-HI_Ottawa_Jail_Hostel-Ottawa_Ontario.htm


86%

Very good location, but one problem: On weekends it is very noisy up to 2am because of a karaoke-bar next to the hostel. There should be some "noise-protecting" elements between.


94%

Great location. Super clean. Beds are comfortable. But on Friday and Saturday nights be prepared for very loud music until 2 AM. Bring your earplugs.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

loved your unique hostel

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Location was great for catching buses & walking to interesting places, but that was quite a surprise to have live bands playing outdoors right next door - & on Friday the 13th the music was extra loud & went on for a very long time. Staff did not seem to impress upon people that they really needed to take into account that other people were trying to sleep at night.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

One of the oldest building in the town made in 1830's or before.... Also known as haunted place where one can experience in real when stay....... If you are thinking of experiencing something new then should stay in this hostel.... very protected and cool place.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is unique, a very different stay. I would recommend it.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect location right in the centre of Ottawa.I booked a single cell and it was really small - space for one bed and a small luggage. It might be a problem for some people with claustrophobic problems. Also, next door is a very popular club so it is quiet noisy until early morning hours. Don't forget the earplugs. Otherwise it was a nice stay.


80%

Great price for the location and nights to stay. Watch out the little bugs that may appear on the arch wall


80%

Very good location and clean. The setting is wonderful, It is a former jail!!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Ottawa Hostels

Please give us your feedback