Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.7

Really great hostel, super friendly staff and cool building with actual jail cells and some historic value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
9.1

It's right in downtown across from the mall so the location is awesome. The wifi is strong. I couldn't try to breakfast unfortunately as the cook was an hour late in prep. Everything feels very secure. The outside is a little sketch but it's ok. Bed was comfy and showers were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

The staff weren't very friendly when I checked in and had questions about Ottawa. The jail tour was well worth the stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.0

It was cool to stay here but the rooms could've been better. Like my lamp had fallen out of the wall near my bed and was just left there... but overall the facilities were good and the tour of the jail was really interesting. The staff in general were ok and the free breakfast was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JoelsAccount
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Jul 2017
6.0

HI is pretty consistent with poor service across their locations. The $5 non-member charge is disrespectful and a bad faith business model. This location is amazing in a lot of ways; the jail has mostly been preserved which is a great element. This location however has obviously cheaped out with fans to cool the rooms, bedding and access to electricity within the rooms. Staff would not let me or anyone check in until 3PM sharp (I tried at 230PM) which goes against hospitality industry courtesy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel and would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sadidrahimi
  • Afghanistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.3

Staff was okay. My floor got raided into and every valuable electronic was stolen so their safety isn't the greatest. But it was clean and breakfast was great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
10.0

WHAT an experience....almost like being a Time Traveller! This hostel is steeped in history & really gives you an opportunity to imagine what it must have been like to be confined to a prison cell...although the modern-day accommodation is comfortable & caters to all our modern whims...freshly laundered linens & towels; heating & electricity: showers etc; TV/DVD player & books in the common areas; decent breakfast; secure parking & great staf Fantastic location, right in the heart of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
7.4

The hostel itself is as described. I had done my research before booking and was aware of the size of he room and the fact that there were openings in the door. However, I was not prepared for the hallway light to be on all night shining in my eyes as well as the neighbouring cell's occupant to be coughing up a lung all night. I can not sleep with earplugs. I did not get a wink of sleep which put me in a dangerous situation driving home to Toronto the next day. The tour was average, breakfast ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing place!! The staff was so nice, the location perfect, a few blocks away from everything, the breakfast delicious, the rooms clean but small, which is part of the experience since this place used to be a prison!! The free tour was really well done and educational, the showers and toilets really clean!! Amazing experience you must enjoy!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.