Hostelworld.com

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Located at 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa.
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
Canada
Ottawa ON K1N 7B9 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario
87% 1506
45.4249164 -75.6885480
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.3

Great place downtown! Loved the rooms and atmosphere of the place. Didn't love the cubbies in the room because they didn't lock, and I wasn't sure if there was a location to even lock your bags away, so that was the only reason I didn't give it 10/10. The price was great and staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

This is great hostel wel located in Ottawa. The only thing I found was that it was quite quiet but that could be that I was there not in high season. I would definitely recommend it. If you reall want the jail experience stay in one of the single cells. I didn't and I regret it. And definitely do the free tour, very interesting. Just maybe not on day one...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Wifi reception is not good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clmntlfbvr1453
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 57 reviews
10th May 2016
8.6

The whole prison situation is fun and adds to the place but the place is noisy (you hear people walking in the corridor as if they were walking in your room and if someone speaks on the other side of the floor you'll hear their conversation from the comfort of your bed - everybody tries to keep it quiet tho). Beds are mildly comfortable (latex covers not my thing). For the positives: great breakfast, great staff, great location (everything is walking distance). Great for a couple of nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
8.6

The hostel is very good and if you want the privacy of your own cell/room you can get one for pretty cheap. The cells are very narrow, but I found it to be more than satisfactory and a novel experience. There wasn't much going on though socially though, but I wasn't looking for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.9

Staff was nice, room was clean. Wifi isn't good in room but common areas work fine. Location is great, I was able to walk around anywhere anytime. Would recommend and stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
8.0

Real jail atmosphere, so real that you realy slip like a convicted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • callumstevens91879
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Decent hostel. Only in Ottawa one night so can't fully comment. Would have been different if I was there at a weekend, but I wasn't!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.3

The lack of usable WiFi made me feel like I was in prison. No social atmosphere. Kitchen and showers are nice though. Staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel, with plenty of history and a convenient location. The only bad thing I could say about this hostel is the wifi is terrible, it constantly drops out even in the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.