Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Located at 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa.
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
Canada
Ottawa ON K1N 7B9 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario
84% 1722
45.4249164 -75.6885480
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
7.7

What a wonderful experience. The tour of the facilities added to the experience. Everything fun and enjoyable is within walking distance. The picnic benches outside is great for a rest, a snack, and fresh air. Even though I was in a cell,I was warm, comfortable, and slept like a baby. The breakfasts were included, wholesome, included protein, and had plenty of variety. Creepy, gothic, and chilling is fun.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Its very central, parking was available which was nice for us. The cells where surprisingly warm and quite hour was observed. It was a fun experience. We did miss sharing drinks at the Mugshot bar as we did not know its times of operation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

This was a wonderful adventure! Fantastic vacation and super people. You are doing a great job in redeeming what was once a terrible place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel!!! Location is great, and all members of staff are very kind. I stayed in a 8-mixed bedroom which had plenty of space, had lockers, was pretty clean and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen and common areas were new and clean. Free breakfast is included with the price of the room, and the breakfast is nice. The only thing I did not like was the WIFI connection which was really slow and sometimes did not allow to connect from some devices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Great, quirky place to say. I would definitely recommend the ghost tour, but if you want a good nights sleep I'd do it the day you check out! Spooky!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Nov 2016
5.7

The staff here obviously don't enjoy their jobs- I got there half hour early and then waited to be handed a key, even though the room was ready. As I sat waiting ,got 2 listen 2 staff dropping f bombs repeatedly( all staff had their phones glued to their hands). The bthrms are the worst I have ever seen in a hostel. 6 floor- female only but male guests came and used it while I was showering ,the shower with no place to put your stuff and just a flimsy curtain for separation .location great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Nov 2016
8.9

It was a nice hostel, friendly staff, the tour of the jail at 11am that runs daily is worth while going. There wasnt much of an atmosphere or many people in the common area after 8pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel! Great experience staying a prison. The pub-crawl Friday night was great, as I was a self-traveller, it was a good opportunity to meet new people. I think that Saturday night should have a plan also. The hostel location is perfect, staff was good, and the price was good for what they offer. Don't miss the Jail tour, offered everyday at 11am, make sure to get your daily code, as they change everyday. Check-in at 3pm was a bit late..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.4

It's a great hostel. It's very well equipped, the staff is awesome, it's very safe, it's fairly central and the atmosphere is really chill. HI is a good brand and you always get a respectable establishment. Hostel visitors; I ask you to please treat everyone and the facilities (in all hostels and places) with respect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
9.1

This is a unique experiance. If you can put up with the obvious noise generated in the hostel, you will be ok. Good breakfast, helpful informative staff. The jail tour was excellent. The location to the town was also very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.