Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.1

Obviously it's a secure place. It's a prison. It's a very interesting place to be, well located, and a good place to meet people and figure out what to do in Ottawa. The staff are super friendly/useful. The tour of the property is definitely worthwhile. The place could do with a little TLC, particularly the shower on the top floor. It's a creepy place (because of the building's history). I would be interested to go back and stay there again. The breakfast is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
5.7

Totally unacceptable conditions to be there with kids. More expensive than a regular hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
7.7

great location. good for one-day-stay, but not longer. after all, it was a prison.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
9.1

Very cool, very unique hostel! I wanted to stay here because I figured it would be a cool story to tell at home, and I was right! I highly recommend taking the tour of the jail, I learned a ton about the building and its history (but maybe take the tour after your last night- it creeped me out!) Staff was helpful, and everything was pretty clean. I loved having breakfast included, and the lockers in the rooms were nice as well. Great location- it was easy to walk everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
8.9

Great location.. super convenient and within walking distance of everything. 24 hour staff are very helpful - I went down twice in the middle of the night for a band-aid and earplugs, and both were provided promptly. If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep at night while you explore Ottawa, THIS is the place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.3

Great place to spend the night but, I can't imagine being stuck in Ottawa for more than two days would be much fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
6.9

Two significant drawbacks for me personally: 1. I have a painful back situation and the narrow cell and wiggly bed did not help my pain management. 2.The fact that I could not get a guarantee for a parking spot if I arrived way past midnight, and being given only limited and unspecific choices for alternatives, convinced me to look for a different place for the night.3. Location great; ambiance authentic; breakfast adequate, building and some facilities in need of repair/better maintenance

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
6.9

This is a very difficult place to give ratings to. An example is cleanliness; because the hostel used to be a jail, and the atmosphere is based around that fact, the washrooms weren't to the best standard, but it is done deliberately. The history of the hostel is fascinating. No queries there. If I'm in Ottawa again I will definitely be back. But it's not best for longer stays in my opinion. Definitely not a bad hostel in any sense, but people need to be aware it is not your everyday hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Hi hostel is was a great stay so close to everything within walking distance and the staff are really amazing they were so helpful made it a great stay there😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
7.4

I think that people should know that the pricing you have is a membership pricing. They charge you an additional fee if you are not a member or make you buy a membership on top of the booking price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.