Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Located at 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa.
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
Canada
Ottawa ON K1N 7B9 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario
87% 1570
45.4249164 -75.6885480
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed staying here, a friend and I booked a 4 bed room and we got a guards' room. Beds are comfortable the atmosphere of the old jail is a lot of fun and the free tour was brilliant. Walking distance from most of the big attractions. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel and incredibly interesting. Not very often that you get to stay in a jail. My only complaint is that there aren't too many events or opportunities to get to know other hostelers during the week and the bathrooms are not very clean. I suppose that is in line with the "jail" aesthetic but it could be better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.3

We were booked to stay 5 nights and left after 2. It's a novelty hostel - cool for a night or two. The cells were very tiny and claustrophobic. Was also very warm - no air con on the bedroom floors. Maybe other rooms were nicer - we stayed in a single cell and twin cell. The staff were very accommodating about refunding our last three nights. I'm glad we tried it for the two nights! Excellent location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Jail Hostel is an awesome place to stay while in Ottawa or when visiting the surrounding areas. Besides you are staying at a heritage place, its location allows connecting with the main transportation and all the worthy places to visit in downtown Ottawa. The staff is very friendly, kind and well prepared to answer questions or give help concerning your trip. The facilities are quite clean (not all hostels can presume about this) and breakfasts are very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Really unique hostel in a great location for getting around Ottawa. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I often have trouble sleeping in hostels for the noise, but that wasn't a problem here--the walls are two feet of solid stone. The lack of AC can be stifling in the summer, because the facilities obviously weren't designed for the original occupants' comfort, the wifi is spotty because the walls are thick. I would recommend it if you're at all interested in the building, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Great concept but rooms can be claustrophobic and hot especially over the summer since they were former jail cells

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Staying in the old jail was an unforgettable exierience. I would really recommend sleeping in and joining the tour at 11am

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
8.6

All the rooms should be cell like. Regular rooms in an ex-jail hostel ruin the atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

It is a great and unique hostel in a jail setting. Stayed in a private room (cell), which basically the room is the space of the bed. It is located in a very convenient place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
8.3

My friend and I had an amazing time at the hostel. We were in town to see Red Hot Chili Peppers and thought the jail would be a great place to sleep. The staff were kind and the tour at the end of our stay was informative and fun. Only downside is the parking lot was full the first night but it wasn't a big deal because there's another one at the shopping centre across the street. I'll be coming back to the jail hostel for every future Ottawa trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.