Hostelworld.com

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel Located at 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa.
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
Canada
Ottawa ON K1N 7B9 75 Nicholas Street, Ontario
87% 1528
45.4249164 -75.6885480
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location. Slept well. Need double bed sheets as sheets given just width of mattress. Couldn't tuck in at sides. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
10.0

We stayed one night at the Ottawa hostel in hopes of seeing of hearing something paranormal. Although we did not experience anything out of the ordinary we did enjoy our stay none the less. We can cross this off our bucket list :) regards Sandra V

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th May 2016
8.0

Very good hostel in a great location. Great experience having the chance of sleeping in a cell of an ex prison. I think facilities and cleanliness can be improved, although I understand the lack of space for the facilities part...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.3

Great place downtown! Loved the rooms and atmosphere of the place. Didn't love the cubbies in the room because they didn't lock, and I wasn't sure if there was a location to even lock your bags away, so that was the only reason I didn't give it 10/10. The price was great and staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • terri01859067
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.1

Very cool building in a good location, near byward market, great shopping, good bars and restaurants and near the canal. Great tour offered at 11am everyday that I would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

This is great hostel wel located in Ottawa. The only thing I found was that it was quite quiet but that could be that I was there not in high season. I would definitely recommend it. If you reall want the jail experience stay in one of the single cells. I didn't and I regret it. And definitely do the free tour, very interesting. Just maybe not on day one...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
10.0

Great location, clean and well organized. authentic jail experience. Rooms are small - they were prison cells

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Wifi reception is not good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
9.7

Fantastic staff (super helpful when we arrived really tired from an overnight journey and helped us by getting us checked in early). The free tour is a must and made the stay well worth while. It's an interesting and fun experience and I would recommend it to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clmntlfbvr1453
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 67 reviews
10th May 2016
8.6

The whole prison situation is fun and adds to the place but the place is noisy (you hear people walking in the corridor as if they were walking in your room and if someone speaks on the other side of the floor you'll hear their conversation from the comfort of your bed - everybody tries to keep it quiet tho). Beds are mildly comfortable (latex covers not my thing). For the positives: great breakfast, great staff, great location (everything is walking distance). Great for a couple of nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.