Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Sep 2017
8.6

Overall, good value for money: Rooms - this is the size of a prison cell, which fits a bed and pretty much nothing else. It can be a bit claustrophobic (especially with no window), but is an interesting experience if you stay for a night or two. Cleanliness - it's ok, hostel-style. Showers may be a bit dirty after several people have used them, but the rooms (cells) are ok. Breakfast - it's great: muffins, toast, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice. Staff - very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
7.7

Great experience! Do it! Outside needs work (clearer sign - can't tell it's the right hostel, seems almost dodgy - sell it more!). The staff were not friendly or welcoming (observed the same irritated behavior toward others as well, on various occasions ) - made out as though it was an inconvenience our being there - it was noticeably off putting. Greatly lacked in customer service, priority. Good thing the building is so cool. Cell worth the experience. Shower's - great pressure, so much space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

I enjoyed the stay, staff was nice, rooms were clean, had some great roommates and the location was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
5.7

the double deck bed that I am in is squeeking... and I felt itchy when I slept there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
9.7

It is a really cool place to stay, walking distance of many attractions, lovely people and for a hostel it was wonderful compared to others I have stayed in. If you don't like noise and you don't like sharing, don't go to a hostel. It's pretty much garaunteed. I had no problem with noise anyway, and was amazed at the different ages and people staying there. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Enjoy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2017
9.4

Overall had a great experience. The hostel itself was pretty cool (being able to stay in a jail in all). When I stayed there, the bar wasn't open and it was not very lively but that may have just been our timing. Overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2017
8.0

Quite cool staying in a refurbished jail, but you need to remember that when you're booking a room. There are no windows, so not for the claustrophobic. Rooms, bathrooms, showers, kitchen very clean. Basic breakfast included. Limited parking, but available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
8.3

Very friendly people. Excellent service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2017
8.9

It is a really cool place and they put some thought in to it. It was a good location even though the bus station is far away. But it was easy to take the bus from the bus station to the hostel. The breakfast is toast etc, quite okey. Staff was okey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
9.4

Staying in such an old building, let alone an old jail...wow. Such an amazing, cool experience! The staff was awesome! The room was better than expected! Thank you so much for everything! I will be returning! And going to other HI hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×