Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.9

The location of the Hostel is excellent, close to everything. The hostel was very cool, plenty of space and the tour of the jail was really cool. The breakfast was great including fantastic bagels. The dorm was nice and clean, a little weird layout but worked out fine. My only wish is that the bathroom on our floor had more than one toilet and one shower. Overall great place to stay in Ottawa!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexrobinson
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Staff were friendly and helpful. It was a bit hard to sleep because you can hear everyone else in the whole hallway as well as very noisy pipes. The free breakfast was amazing! Homemade fresh bagels! Location is insanely convenient, right outside the entrance to the Rideau Centre. Also highly recommend the tour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
9.4

Isolation cell is perfect for the introvert

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Interesting experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tonio514
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Of my own fault I lost my wallet and money and they safely kept it for me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
8.3

Very good central location within Ottawa. Unique atmosphere to stay in an old prison.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved my stay in the little cell. Great space to be in - no need for car to get to anywhere. Staff were wonderful and the other hostellers great fun. What a marvellous building too! Thanks for keeping the history and telling the story so well, Ottawa Hostels! I'll be back - and this time I'll take the Jail tour! Keira McArthur

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

A little noisy but, overall I enjoyed my stay! Great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
8.3

Excellent location, friendly staff, interesting jail tour, half-decent breakfast from 7:30 to 10:30. Dorms very spartan. Single rooms are literally cells. Do not expect silence anywhere. Sheets (provided) are both flat, so difficult to install onto mattress. No elevator (9 floors). Good security for hostel access. Dorms have lockers: bring your own lock. Too few bathrooms/showers. Maintenance lacking. Wi-fi doesn't reach upstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.7

My sister and I stayed here for one night and thought it was so cool to be able to stay in jail. Since all the rooms were jail cells they weren't completely closed off so you were able to hear everything on that level. I didn't find this to be a problem because everyone on our floor was very respectful of this and kept noise to a minimum at night. I think this honestly just added to the spooky jail experience. The staff were all very friendly and gave great recommendations for things to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.