Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House Located at 1026 North 9th Street, , Phoenix.
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
USA
Phoenix Arizona 85006 1026 North 9th Street
81% 204
33.4596159 -112.0623980
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • d4r7hur5508
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.4

Everyone made me feel very welcome. I had a great time! Hope to stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
3.1

Screen missing in window in bathropm so bugs could fly/come in. Saw a lizzard run past me in the living room underneath the couch (the floor has a whole in it hidden underneath the living room couch). Could not get hot water for a shower. Worst stay of any I ever had in my life. Had booked for a week but left after one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
5.7

It didn't meet my expectations.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2016
9.4

Very impressed. The two young ladies managing the hostel provided excellent customer service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
10.0

The Phoenix Hostel (Metcalf House) is a lovely house located conveniently in the downtown Arts District. Just blocks from the Light-rail that takes the traveler throughout the region. House is large, with a courtyard that is delightful for a morning cup of coffee or evening respite. Piano, TV room. Friendly international travelers. Comfortable rooms, with adjacent bath & shower. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
5.1

Minor problems: (1) atmosphere not very friendly, but maybe not their fault and true in lots of hostels in the US. (2) To get to only bathrooms I had to walk through a different dorm. Very awkward. Big problems: (1) No lockers or safe storage. Bad in any room, but worse if you are in the room connected to the bathroom -- people have the door code and walk through all day and night. (2) Dorm smells bad. I left and moved to a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.4

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Great atmosphere, lovely staff and awesome weather! It's walking distance to Chase Field and has a real home-y feel. Gladly stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
9.1

This hostel place was beautiful and nice. I would like to sleep over there again in the future when I visit in Phoenix.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Friendly staffs. Uber was good to get to this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.6

This place SERIOUSLY needs an air conditioner. The people are nice and the beds are fine for a couple of nights. Bathroom situation sucks, cos there's like only one. But that shower is fine. Just so bloody hot. Place might be better in cooler weather. Lovely staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.