Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House Located at 1026 North 9th Street, , Phoenix.
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
USA
Phoenix Arizona 85006 1026 North 9th Street
86% 179
33.4596159 -112.0623980
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.6

This place SERIOUSLY needs an air conditioner. The people are nice and the beds are fine for a couple of nights. Bathroom situation sucks, cos there's like only one. But that shower is fine. Just so bloody hot. Place might be better in cooler weather. Lovely staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
7.7

The place is nice, and the people ruling it are extremely nice. The ratings are not too high, but that's nothing to do with the hostel, but maybe with the location. Phoenix is not the most hostel-ish city in the world. Downtown does not really feel like a place for a hostel, so it's normal to walk some 15 minutes to reach it. Still, recommendable, I would certainly come back if passing by Phx.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jun 2016
7.7

Very basic hostel, but I'd say good value for money, location is just outside downtown, usually far to hot to walk to downtown but uber is about $5. Shops and places to eat a short walk away too. Good place to stay if passing through or here for just a couple of days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.1

Stayed mixed dorm. I found ensuit bathroom with two toilets and showers hard to use as it was not very private. Staff were friendly and helpful. Guests were friendly too so I had a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.1

Great vibes, cool spot and the staff are awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
5.1

check-in girl totally unprofessional (arrives late and takes her time, can't get any information about the city from her). Not very clean place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.1

It has a cool vibe, with clean rooms, easy street parking, and friendly staff. It is really well placed, with a ton of interesting places to go within walking distance. My only criticism was the bathroom situation- there isn't a lot of privacy and the bathroom/showers aren't gender specific.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.3

The staff was kind, informative and accommodating. There were some discrepancies such as no paper napkins and paper towels which I found odd. Also, construction in surrounding houses start before 7am making for a difficult night's sleep. It is close to downtown Phoenix attractions and everything you need is within reasonable walking distance ~ 15 mins or so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Good location near some cool restaurants and the Roosevelt arts/culture precinct. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hostel is well kept. Easy to get to from the airport - Uber ride was about $8.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
10.0

The Metcalf House exceeded expectations. My flight was delayed and they coordinated a late arrival for me. The staff was extremely helpful in providing local information and exploration ideas. The hostel was clean and despite being very full, it was a respectful environment. Keith, Katie, Alley, and Eduardo work very hard to make all guests feel welcome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.