Hostelworld.com

HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House Located at 1026 North 9th Street, , Phoenix.
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
USA
Phoenix Arizona 85006 1026 North 9th Street
86% 169
33.4596159 -112.0623980
HI Phoenix - The Metcalf House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.1

Great vibes, cool spot and the staff are awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.1

It has a cool vibe, with clean rooms, easy street parking, and friendly staff. It is really well placed, with a ton of interesting places to go within walking distance. My only criticism was the bathroom situation- there isn't a lot of privacy and the bathroom/showers aren't gender specific.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.3

The staff was kind, informative and accommodating. There were some discrepancies such as no paper napkins and paper towels which I found odd. Also, construction in surrounding houses start before 7am making for a difficult night's sleep. It is close to downtown Phoenix attractions and everything you need is within reasonable walking distance ~ 15 mins or so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Good location near some cool restaurants and the Roosevelt arts/culture precinct. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hostel is well kept. Easy to get to from the airport - Uber ride was about $8.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
10.0

The Metcalf House exceeded expectations. My flight was delayed and they coordinated a late arrival for me. The staff was extremely helpful in providing local information and exploration ideas. The hostel was clean and despite being very full, it was a respectful environment. Keith, Katie, Alley, and Eduardo work very hard to make all guests feel welcome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

I was just staying one night. Everything was very clean and the staff was nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leeharding862735
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, amazing staff, Josh and Ally made my trip even more awesome, the location is not far from downtown, easy to walk to and so close to the airport, I felt very safe around the hostel, small hostel and met some great people. very clean and would stay here again in the future, top hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
8.6

We arrived late and left early, but a worker, Sam, was extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was warm and artsy and we enjoyed our short time there very much, Would highly reccommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
9.4

Great Staff! Very helpful and welcoming! Location is very convenient and there are all facilities you might need (kitchen, washing machine, outdoor patios, common room, computer with printing possibilities). I stayed in the private room, but there are several dorm rooms too. Restrooms and shower rooms are shareable. If you don't mind that, it works well! After all, it's a hostel and very convenient for backpackers and budget travelers! I would stay there again if I go back to Phoenix!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2016
9.7

Very good experience in this hostel! Clean and tidy. The staffs are warm and gracious. The atmosphere of the hostel is very relax, I felt I just go to an old friend's home. 非常棒的住宿體驗。简朴的小房屋,设施也并不豪华,但干净,整洁。员工热情,整个旅馆有一种放松的气氛,有回到家的自在的感觉。

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.